Still shaking my head

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:12
ThreadID: 41989 Views:3214 Replies:11 FollowUps:21
One of my bros was at TomGroggon as St Johns Ambo for the bushfire guys last week. All done up in his uniform and with offocial vehicle etc.
He got a nice little envelope under the windscreen wiper from a Ranger, advising him that the vehicle wasn't sporting a pass !
Boo rocracy gone mad or a good giggle ?
What exactly did the ranger think that the vehicle was there for, sightseeing ?

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:20

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:20
He wouldn't be above the law, now would he...LOL

:-)
AnswerID: 219785

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:22

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:22
No more than any other emergency vehicle I guess.
FollowupID: 480349

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:22

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:22
Must have thought (probably the rangers first problem) he was there for a free feed ;)

It should be able to get sorted out, contact the shire once the incident cools down and im sure it will get sorted, and hopefully the ranger wont do such a silly thing in the future.

still, worth a bit of a giggle
AnswerID: 219786

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:24

Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 23:24
It was sorted...at a higher level apparently.
But if there's a bushfire...and there's any sort of emergency vehicle...how many marbles do you have to have ?
FollowupID: 480351

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 09:02

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 09:02
apparently not too many :)

glad to hear it was sorted
FollowupID: 480403

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 00:26

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 00:26
Two would be a start --- .
Reminds me (but just a little), of the quarantine bloke bloke who confiscated our tent poles.
AnswerID: 219799

Follow Up By: Member - John - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 09:30

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 09:30
One has to ask, why?

FollowupID: 480411

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 22:14

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 22:14
Jeff, he probably confiscated the tent fifty cars ahead of you. Got a new (to him) tent.
FollowupID: 480821

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 22:33

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 22:33
That's it!! That is IT!!

I could never figure out why that guy took our tent pegs but didn't notice the oranges and honey we had on the front seat!!

Jeez - some blokes are real clever eh!!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 480830

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 06:45

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 06:45
Footloose,

Some crazy things happen.

I know of a number of times we would have ambulances ticketed while the paramedics were inside buildings providing care to patients etc. Mainly at the hands of council inspectors.

A little bit of common sense would be good at times.
AnswerID: 219804

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 07:28

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 07:28
You only need to know how too write to be a council ranger/parking Nazi, no common sence needed for that job!!!!!!

As for the NPWS Ranger, seems the Kosi guys might think their a cut above the rest of N at Parks, maybe why there's a seperate pass for Kosi.

FollowupID: 480384

Reply By: GU - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 09:24

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 09:24
Don't they just love it.

I'm in the tree clearing industry and the company that I subby for have many council contracts east of Melbourne clearing the naturestrip trees from over head powerlines and uplifting for traffic and pedestrians.

The boys go along in the cherry picker, cut the trees, and I follow along and chip up the branches.

In the past 2 years we have been booked once ( I didn't see the inspector put the ticket on the windscreen) for parking in a no standing zone whilst performing this task for the very same council who hired the inspectors to book us. At the time I would have been standing behind the truck feeding branches into the machine. So no doubt he would have seen and heard us working and simply walked to the front of the truck and wrote out a ticket when it should have been obvious to him what we were doing.

We wrote a short and too the point letter to the council and they big heartedly said that we wouldn't have to pay the fine THIS TIME. That's fortunate for them because they may have found a lot of there prize trees suddenly looking very sick.

Another time, different council, an inspector come up behind us whilst doing the job and said how long are you going to be here. We said, we shall be here for as long as it takes us and not a moment sooner. Your (the inspector's) council has employed us to cut the trees and I would like to know on whose authority you are acting on in requesting that we move on. I asked him who his superior was so that I could remind him that under the Tree clearing code of Practice, we are acting under a Victorian Govt. Statute of Authority that is above his Local government parking restrictions, so long as we abide by the Vic Roads OH&S requirements.
He would not give me the person's name that I requested and just told us in no uncertain terms that he wanted us gone.
Now we have been doing this council's trees for years and know that if there is a problem during the day with say clear ways, school pick ups and the like, we can adjust our time at the site to eliminate any traffic disruptions. But none existed in this case, he was simply some a***hole trying to flex his muscles. He was a very big man and was no doubt used to pushing small people around. Today we pushed back and certainly made sure we were in no hurry.

On the other side of the coin, however, is my brother's story.

He was involved in the construction of the Collins Place Twin Towers project, Melbourne, I think in the mid-late 70s. The boys on the job there had a very early start and used to park where they could and if I remember correctly they weren't too concerned about any time limitations. They were members of the BLF (I'm not condoning this by the way) and considered themselves untouchable.
In those days, the traffic nazis used to get around in little Morris Mini mokes, if you can remember those with the rag tops.
The boys starting get booked for staying too long at there parking spots and they weren't happy, so they had there superiors request the Melb. City Council to show some slack and let them stay longer (I know what your thinking) without any infringement. The council declined their request.

So what the boys did was wait until the Mokes pulled up and the traffic boys walked off. The building boys would then starting playing the "let's drop a brick on the mokes" game. I know what your thinking, I'm just telling you what happened.
However, the traffic boys persisted only too find later on that when they came back to get into their mokes there was no room for them as the vehicle had been filled with concrete.

Parking was never a problem for the entire area after that until the building was finished.

True story. One day when someone starts talking about VIc Rail I have some good accounts to tell from another brother who was a station master for 40 years.

AnswerID: 219820

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 10:02

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 10:02
GU, I spent three weeks at the Commonwealth Games last March doing work for the event sponsored by the State in the Games Village. One afternoon I had to park on the street - Sunday, late. I put some money in the meter and went to get some more change but was a little slower than I imagined but showed good faith and inserted the money on my return. I didn't find the sticker until a week later when I had to operate the wipers.

Despite a good pleading letter it was a "pay yur $50 mate" response. I don't know how much that volunteering effort cost me but the city doesn't care two hoots if it's more!
FollowupID: 480417

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:36

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:36
I know there are millions of stories like these but I had to tell this one.

Worked at a shop on bridge rd, outside the front of the shop is a loading sign so we can unload goods into the shop, the guy walks up as I am unloading, tells me I am going to get a fine, I explain that this is my shop and I am unloading. He does not care, I say fine and get in the car to move for him, he starts the ticket writing process, I start to drive away, he FOLLOWS ME ONTO THE STREET TO GET THE CARS DETAILS WHEN I WAS OUT OF THE PARK!!! I get a ticket weeks later. I paid it in full no questions, you cant escape from these people. The only way to do it is no one in all of vic ever pays a ticket, the cant throw the whole population in jail can they?
FollowupID: 480461

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 09:36

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 09:36
Fascinating replies, thanks guys. I didn't realize that councils employed so many useless twerps :))
AnswerID: 219822

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 10:24

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 10:24
Part of the Job Description I'm afraid.....
from building inspectors to parking cops
FollowupID: 480419

Follow Up By: nickoff - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 10:26

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 10:26
Not every fool can be employed in federal or state government positions, so councils get the pick of the worst. Unfortunately we get to see more of the council employees in action in your own local area.
FollowupID: 480420

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 12:13

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 12:13
I am sure there are similar accounts to be told by the "idiots" on the other side as well. Surely they cannot all be such low feeders as you guys seem to suggest??

I wonder who prunes the street trees in my Council??
AnswerID: 219853

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 12:54

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 12:54
There's enough stories here to suggest exactly that. Not everyone who does the job can be an imbicile...but they can work towards it.
I was told of an organization not far away who couldn't get stable young people to live in the bush and train to run their plant. No education or experience needed, just great work ethics and a willingness to relocate. They had 18 positions availiable, and were paying $58K. The positions were snapped up.
If those people can earn that sort of money, why would anyone join the council (except for fun and profit :)
FollowupID: 480445

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:37

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:37
Footy, accepting your argument I can only suppose that it's all gunna turn to sh#t as we age and the few young people around take over the helm. Now there's an argument to work until yer drop!!
FollowupID: 480567

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:49

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:49
Leigh
There are quite a few middle aged parking morons and rangers etc. Its not an age dependant thing.
Your mind and body will go as you age. Grey hair makes you invisible. The biggest trips you do are to the doctor yadda yadda, so in that respect yes its all going to turn to mud.
One day you'll look in the mirror nd see an old person. Young people will just look straight through you :)))
So enjoy life while you can...there's no second chance.
And if you're rich, park anywhere...its only money
FollowupID: 480577

Reply By: tuck 01 - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 12:55

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 12:55
Footie
Early in December, I was part of 2 CFA strike teams that travelled from Geelong to the the Gippsland fires. I was driving our brigades 2nd tanker, which happens to be a brigade-owned unit. This means it is registered in the name of our ex-captain rather than the CFA.
We naturally travelled the most direct route, which included the CityLink (tollway) tunnel through Melbourne. I remember thinking at the time that the CFA must have some arrangement with CityLink because none of the units would have an e-tag.
Sure enough, a couple of weeks ago our ex-captain received a fine in the mail for the fire truck using the tollway without paying.
He passed it onto CFA who paid the fine instead of highlighting the idiocy ogf the situation. I wanted to publicise the event, but I'm on strict instruction not to make a fuss.
(I guess it's alright to share this story with just you; make sure you don't tell anyone else.)
So it's not only council goons who lack any degree of sense.
Tuck
AnswerID: 219866

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:02

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:02
What is it with these guys ? Did someone delete the phrase "common sense" from the language when I wasn't looking ?
FollowupID: 480449

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:15

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:15
They must have Jim They must have!!!

Pretty bloody despicable.

FollowupID: 480454

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:33

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:33
It begs to ask the question "how common is common sense?"
FollowupID: 480460

Follow Up By: tuck 01 - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:48

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 13:48
I think your tag line sums it up pretty well for some bureaucrats and their organisations Mike
FollowupID: 480464

Reply By: Rocky_QLD - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 15:42

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 15:42
You should remember that these opeople are good Public Servants and can't think for themselves.
AnswerID: 219915

Reply By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 23:45

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 23:45
My battalion and supporting elements deployed to Somalia in 1993 for 17 weeks.

Over 1000 soldiers all up.

Upon our return to Townsville the customs officers at the airport confiscated everyone's army issue rifle bayonet ! They claimed that as it was a double edged weapon it was illegal in Australia !

Took about a week before the lightbulb came on in some dills head and the bayonets were returned.

Really makes you wonder doesn't it !

Cheers ... Taz
AnswerID: 220068

Follow Up By: GU - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 19:17

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 19:17
Unbelievable Taz and Milka.

Funny isn't it? We used to hear silly stories about the USA and you would say, "yeah well, it could only happen in America".

I think we better add our country to the list.

FollowupID: 480782

Follow Up By: RichieK - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 11:19

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 11:19
A bit off-thread but i used to deliver cakes and croissants etc to Garden Island naval depot in Sydney. I'd wait in line at the gatehouse while all the uniformed naval staff in their naval liveried vehicles were all photo-ID checked at the gate. I'd then drive up to the gate in my plain white van (with no windows in the cargo area), let him know I was here to deliver some food, and it was "No worries mate, through ya go!"..My ID was never checked, my van was never once inspected. ..this went on for years!!! i could have been carrying anything in the back. I bet its a different story now (but sometimes I wonder..)
FollowupID: 480921

Follow Up By: Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 22:32

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 22:32
Yes security has allegedly been significantly increased at all military bases however the security is usually provided by a civilian firm.

Hopefully you can no longer access a base by waving your Phantom Fan Club ID card at the guard. ( A mate of mine was responsible for the security of a Sydney base and waved that card at a guard he didn't know.... got waved through just because he was wearing camoflauge....)

Cheers ... Taz
FollowupID: 481079

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 23:51

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 23:51
Ref: gate check.
Nice one TMQ.
I really do wonder who's up who in this mucked-up era. Mind you, I know damn well who's paying at the moment, and it ain't the Rich Bitches. But don't they realise that their progeny may need the same resources as our (unworthy) offspring?
AnswerID: 220505