Me Buying Generator??

Submitted: Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 18:30
ThreadID: 42020 Views:3526 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Son tells me today he can sell me GMC 850 watt gen for under $90. Says it has 2 year full replacement warranty, if it dies they give you new one. I dont think even I,
stingy as I am will be able to resist. Will then have to take more toys on Kimberley
Kaper...grumble..grumble..:0)...oldbaz.

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:13

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:13
At that price Barry it would be hard to resist. Just carry a long extension cord and put it a long way from other campers. They are noisy suckers.
AnswerID: 219970

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 14:30

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 14:30
Thanks Norm, good advice...oldbaz
FollowupID: 480730

Reply By: 3F62 - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:18

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:18
Their great even if not used for camping. We use ours via ext cord for running a small 150watt flood light during a blackout, lights the hole house or even keeping the tucker box freezer on......... cheap insurance with lots of uses.........

AnswerID: 219974

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:22

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:22
Look mate... You Get What You Pay For - you should buy a Honda for $1500 - much better product [irony :)]

My 550W GMC is still going strong after about two or three years of light use - cost me $98. If it dies tomorrow I'll be happy with it's performance.

AnswerID: 219975

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:35

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 19:35
Go for it , you will wonder why you didnt buy one before , 3 things to do to the GMC 2 stroker ....1 rip out the factory spark plug and replace with an NKG or Champion .. 2 fresh as possible fuel at 50:1 ,, switch off fuel tap and run carby dry prior to storage or non use even for a day or 3 .... you wont be dissapointed.
AnswerID: 219981

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 12:46

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 12:46
Alloy c/t .............
Agree ................ but I have been "switching mine off" without draining it ......
draining will presumably stop the fuel from 'gumming?'
FollowupID: 480711

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:06

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:06
You know, it doesn't matter what (cheap) price you can pick one up for.
You gotta have a specific use for it.

18 months ago, my brother gave me a Gennie that he got (bought cheaply) from his local CFS unit he belongs to as they were upgrading their equipment.

"Thanks" I said and promptly fired it up to see how easily it started.

Since then, it's sat on the floor of my overcrowded garage, unused but not forgotten because I trip over it every time I go in the shed. I've just got to find a "spot" for it. The fuel in it has probably gone off as well. I just cannot think of a practical use for it, unless we were to have a prolonged power outage at home.

Regardless of anything else, it just takes up too much valuable room in the vehicle, or camper, for me to bother with and that's even assuming I could even put up with the noise while camping. That's why I go camping, to get away from the noise of everyday life.

Basically, I find I don't need another power source in the bush. The small solar panel I have (40 watt) works remarkably well for what I use it for and should I find I need an alternative power source to charge the "Thumper" because of a distinct lack of sunlight, well, I figure the Jack has a much better muffler on it anyway.

AnswerID: 219990

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:21

Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 20:21
I have an Amateur Radio which draws about 20 amps, on maximum power, from my AGM battery so I use my gen to recharge the battery every 3 or 4 days. As I always camp in the middle of nowhere the noise is not an issue. But I do agree that unless you have a specific use a gen (and the fuel etc) are just an uneccesary item to lug around. I cannot imagine using one for lighting etc.

FollowupID: 480563

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 08:32

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 08:32
Draws 20 amps ??? i work with 10 Kw 3 phase motors that dont even draw that -- lmao you sending signals into space ???

Boc

FollowupID: 480660

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 08:52

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 08:52
Ever tried running your 3 phase motor off 12V (using an inverter)......much more than 20A :-)

FollowupID: 480665

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 17:02

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 17:02
>lmao you sending signals into space ???

Sure am :)

And so are you if you use a UHF CB - all radio (TV etc) signals above about 40MHz will go through the ionosphere and head off for ever into the deepest reaches of space.

Next time you're bogged just put out a call on your UHF CB - wait a few light years and some alien is bound to hear it and zoom down to give you a tow :) If fact there are probably a few up there right now wondering what “10/4 good buddy” means!?

FollowupID: 480760

Reply By: phil - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 12:17

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 12:17
A really good price. They are about $160 at Bunnings.

Where is he (your son) getting it. I would also like one at that sort of price!

Phil I
AnswerID: 220147

Reply By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 12:37

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 12:37
Hi, Barry ...............

Me, too ...........
I have the GMC 850 unit and it runs like a charm, every time.

As I go relatively remote looking for the elusive gold bits, I rely heavily on safety/survival things to ease my mind ..............
a loss of battery power is really the pits to me, so my little GMC is used solely for charging ........ at the moment, anyway.
BUT, can be used for grinders/cutting, re-charging cordless drills, stuff like that ................. even your microwave/casserole cooker/hairdryer/vacuum cleaner/
and other essentia stuff.

Like others have said before ......... clean fresh fuel, change the plugs to NGK and you're well on the way. Mine runs all day on one tank of fuel .... truly !!

NOISE : not really much different to any other generator, despite what the specs advise. I just tuck mine behind a bush/tree/where-ever and live with it.
Mainly start it when I leave camp for the day, still running after a day in the field, turning it off for 'arpienoon drinkies' only if neccessary.

Have heard that you can extend and re-direct the exhaust outlet to expel into a hole dug in the ground ......... just haven't got around to looking at the mechanics of it yet.
And yes, for me anyway ........... the benefits far outweigh any downside .........
BUT admit that storage/carriage can be a problem for some ............

Me, I'm a Troopie bloke .............. it don't matter to me !!

AnswerID: 220152

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 13:33

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 13:33
Gday All

I'd buy one at that price too.... Agree with the turn the fuel off and empty the carby, same with most pre mix 2 stroke engines. Beware of the voltage spike as it runs out, the cheapies have poor voltage regulators and a 2 stroke running out of fuel sometimes revs like hell, resulting in a bit more than 240 volts.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 220158