Buying & preparing a used Troopy

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 18:52
ThreadID: 42056 Views:9371 Replies:13 FollowUps:9
Me and a mate are looking at taking 12 months off work and travelling around the country, with a $25,000 budget for the vehicle and fit-out.

We are looking at the old trusty Troopy, but due to there being so many variants out there, need some help in picking the right one. Also, any hidden issues or problems to look out for when we start hitting the saleyards. What is the best year/model for around the $17,500-$20,000 mark.

I would love to hear what you would do on this type of budget, to get this vehicle ready for such a trip. Already planned is to remove the rear seat and make up some rear drawers/bed area, roof rack and side awning.

Any advise is appreciated.

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 19:22

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 19:22
Pajboy,

Give me a call 0414 995441

AnswerID: 220227

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:06

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:06
Let me guess, you're retiring a troopie and trying to tell it??!!
FollowupID: 480791

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:13

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:13
D-Jack,

I could tell but would prefer to sell it

FollowupID: 480793

Follow Up By: PAJBOY - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:18

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:18
Wayne,
I'll call tomorrow.
FollowupID: 480808

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:26

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:26
hee hee hee oops!!!
FollowupID: 480811

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:14

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:14
Pajboy,
For your budget, go for the 1990-1999 troopies with the diesel 1Hz motor. Should have plenty of money to spare after the deal and fitout. Stay away from aftermarket turbos. You'll have the choice of 3,6 or 11 seaters. Sounds like you just want the front seats anyway.

Re fitout,
Just fit a false floor (12mm ply) in the back and a cargo barrier up the front. If money is an issue, just slide the recycling crates underneath with your spares. food, clothes etc.

If you want to spend some $$$ then you can fit full length drawers in the back (about $2k). You'll need to fit a 40 litre engel in the back; and a dual battery tray under the bonnet. Take a tyre pump in a box. And strap a spare 750R16 casing onto the split rim spare (if you have the split rims). Water can go into 3x20litre jerries and use a syphon hose and tap to access it. If money is no issue, you can buy a 45 litre rear water tank that goes under the rear. Plenty of other bits, but can refine these after you've got the vehicle.
AnswerID: 220237

Reply By: Red One - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:24

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:24
Nice & simple Phil,
Nice One
AnswerID: 220239

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:26

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:26
Its a pretty standard 1st 4wd fitout - did that to a troopie, 60series and a Prado before I got fancy!

FollowupID: 480810

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 23:52

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 23:52
Agreed. The K.I.S.S. principal in action.

You don't need all this fancy crap. I've got it all and reckon you're better keeping the money for fuel and beer.
FollowupID: 480849

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:52

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 20:52
G'day mate check out the trader for some good troopies.
Happy tour'n.

Tour Boy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 220246

Reply By: PAJBOY - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:19

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:19
Thanks guys for the info so far. It is hard, but fun, starting with a blank canvas.
I like the idea of a Diesel 5 seater 75 model. Thanks.
AnswerID: 220253

Reply By: SD - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:56

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 21:56
Excellent choice of vech, My little bit of advice would be, if you have the cash steer clear of dealers simply that if you buy a vech for $20000 it is probably worth say... $17000, obviously dealers have to make a living and charity begins at home. I recently sold my old 8/92 280000km troopy for $12000, private sale up here in Gove N.T. The vech was straight and honest but a bit tired, all original right down to the wheel bearings. Bought an 12/02 32015km troopy for $32100. Ex RAAF vechicle, Pickles Auctions. Have a look at their web site, they list vechicles with photos from all over Australia. Even if your not buying, its good home work.
AnswerID: 220266

Reply By: Member - Fizz (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 22:34

Tuesday, Feb 06, 2007 at 22:34
Be patient and wait for the right one! Last July I got a 1996 HZJ75 with 190,000km for $17000 - out of the local (Coffs H) paper. Apart from a few minor body dings, it's in fabulous condition, the last owner a lady (50s or 60s) who drove it round Aus birdwatching.
If you are after cargo drawers, ring Paul at Trek Tech (08 8264 1454 - Adelaide). He's doing a full length (2m) set for only $1500, and a fridge slide-out for $280. I got onto him from other people's comments on this site, and they all seem to be very happy with his product. I also got the rear under-body water tank ($300) and a Milford cargo barrier ($270) from the ExplorOz Tader.

Graham.
AnswerID: 220274

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 06:30

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 06:30
Mate, my 99 78 series is only $18500 in the trader 137000km
Tour Boy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 220308

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 09:08

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 09:08
There's a useful Troopy forum at
autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/troopyoz/
Suggest check it out, including the photos and files areas where you'll find lots of ideas for fitting out a Troopy. Worth copying your post there too. You'll have to sign on as a user, but it's painless and free,

HTH

AnswerID: 220334

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 12:11

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 12:11
what about a '94 troopy, 6cyl, diesel, 5 speed, with the high roof ??
Has double bed, cupboards, plenty of storage and the kitchen sink included lol
AnswerID: 220375

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Feb 08, 2007 at 12:00

Thursday, Feb 08, 2007 at 12:00
Woops, had a change of mind, will wait till the new 70 series is truly 'tested'
FollowupID: 481164

Reply By: PAJBOY - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 15:13

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 15:13
Again, thanks for all the info. We are about to sit down and come up with our must have/might need/would like list of mods for the Troopy.

Must have: Bullbar - Spotties - Headlight upgrade - Winch - Dual batteries - Suspension upgrade - ARB roof rack - snorkle - uhf radio -

Might need: Roller drawers - water tank - side steps/protection rails -

Would like: Twine shower - diff locks - chip upgrade - Codan HF

Already have: Camping and recovery gear - 40l Engel - epirb - first aid kit - fire extinguishers - fishing gear -

Any other suggestions ???
AnswerID: 220403

Reply By: Member - Lis & Paul (NZ) - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 19:16

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 19:16
We are looking at doing similar - arrive Mar in Brisbane to find a vehicle we want a diesel troop too but it seems its going to be about 20 years old given our budget of a bout $10k I've lived in the bush before I dont see the point of spotties and a bullbar unless you plan to drive at dusk/night - with 12 months I have no intention of driving past 4pm at the latest!

how important is a snorkle - a lot of the vehicles dont have them and I assume that if they have been driven for the first 10 years without one adding one later isnt going to help the engine I know they are good for water crossings but we really dont have the experience for really deep crossings !

My essential list is : in order
lots of water containers
fire extinguisher
cargo barrier
tie down points - I think these might be standard ?
5 good tyres and a puncture kit
tyre guage and pump
eskie - probably 2 (saves having to do the dual battery thing)
snatch strap & shakels
shovel
something to use as sand mats
misc tool kit with some spare hoses and stuff
big tent want to be able to stand up in it
queen size bed & airmattress
table and a couple of chairs
torchs maybe a battery lattern
some sort of stove - probably coleman fuel
food and kitchen stuff
clothes
laptop
GPS
cellphone
UHF radio - maybe
epirb if we can get one cheap - havent seen any for sale 2nd hand yet

AnswerID: 220453

Follow Up By: PAJBOY - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 19:56

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 19:56
Mark,
A bullbar, spotties and a snorkle are a MUST for anyone hoping on touring Australias outback and coming back alive.
BULLBAR - Protection against animal strikes at ANY time of day - protection of radiator and a place to mount your spotties, aerials and winch.
SPOTTIES - Agree, that driving at night is dangerous, but sometimes it has to be done and standard headlight globes are next to useless in the outback.
SNORKEL - Just because someone has owned a vehicle for 10 years without one, they may never have taken it off road. The snorkel is another MUST, due to the amount of dust we have and also for water crossings that spring up during the lightest of rainfalls.

Sorry to go against your thoughts, but you if you intend on taking on our outback, you will have to come prepared. The rest of your gear is spot on.
FollowupID: 481041

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 21:08

Wednesday, Feb 07, 2007 at 21:08
Hi Payboy,
I was wondering how long it would be before the travel bug bit again, anyway good luck with rhe project
Regards Pete
FollowupID: 481055

Reply By: steve&anja - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 14:55

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 14:55
This may help I have traded 7 landcruisers over the last 6 years for my tour business. My best deal was done about midday on Saturday at a dealership ,I finally found the best troopy in Darwin so I told the sales man that he didn't have to sell me the car but he had to sell my deal to his boss. They wanted 30k for the car I had 27k to buy one seeing as their mark up is between 3-5k I told him I would buy it there and then no loan chasing no humbug just cash right here right now. Result I got 3 grand off the car they got 27k weekend turnover.

PS buy a diesel with twin tanks a snorkle is a must (dust and water crossings ) spotlights You will drive at night a 3/4 length roof rack not a full length take the spare wheel of the carrier and put it on the roof (saves rear door hinges) put a ladder on the spare wheel bracket.
AnswerID: 222461