Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:58
Wayne-o
Fellow legends,
I have a suspision that my GU3 TD-6 4.2 iTD is lacking power. I have done some self tests and would like some feedback from owners with similar setups, tyre size etc.
Questions:
1. What is the vehicles max speed (or should be with 285/75R16's fitted)?
2. Where does the accelerator sit at 110kmph. ie, on the floor, just off, half way etc?
3. What's the fuel consumption in hot weather at 110kmph?
Appreciated........
Wayne-o
Reply By: SA_Patrol - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:08
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:08
If you have gone from 265/70 r 16 to 285/75 16 then thats why your lacking power.
At 110 I'm reving at about 2500 rpm.
Accelerator is between halfway and middle I think
Fuel is hard to determine , roofracks, headwind, all play a part in economy.
Do you have all terrain or Mud tyres ?
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:05
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:05
BFG all terrain
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:18
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:18
Hi Wayne,
Max speed, about 160.
Fuel, about 14.5lt/100km.
Accelerator depends on too many variables but
mine is nearly always flat LOL!!! seriously.....about half or less in flat country at 110
Regards Trevor.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:06
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:06
gee 14.5.......mee never get that good, usually 16, maybe 17 lt per 100
Reply By: texaspete - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:04
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:04
G'day Wayne-o, I have the same (04 model) TD4.2 and share the same concerns... Case in point; the other day I was driving up a mates driveway in the hills, it's between a 30 - 40 degree angle (maybe more??) and the damn thing nearly stalled on me! I'd only had it 3 weeks by that stage too so got a rude shock. Enough about
mine - in relation to your questions, I have a full size ARB HD roof rack on the top and dual wheel carriers with 265/70 R16 Cooper AT's and
mine sits on about 2500rpm at 110km/h as
well, like SA_Patrol's. In terms of where the accelerator sits though I must admit I haven't noticed - about half to 3/4 the way I think. I'll make a mental note next time I'm on the freeway to check.
In terms of fuel consumption, I've just finished my first full
tank since I got it tonight and I got 485 km's out of it city driving - only some 110km/h stuff though but in reasonably hot weather (I live in
Perth). That included a "test run" up Greenmount
Hill straight after I filled up though so that might account for a little bit - I gave it a bit of flat foot to see if it struggled like my old GQ non turbo 4.2. What a world of difference! Anyway's I hope that gives you something to compare against.
I'm having a 3" turbo exhaust and new dump pipe fitted this Thursday and having it's 60K km service next week too - I'm hoping that will go some ways to alleviating my concerns; we'll see and I'll keep you posted if you like.
Oh, and I plan on putting some 285/75 R16 muddies on it in a few months too... so will be watching this thread with interest on anyone's feedback.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:12
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:12
cheers,
i live in
karratha, and i think the heat and humidity has a lot to do with it. When i dorve to
perth for christmas, as it got colder the performance increased considerably.
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:31
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:31
Hi texaspete, we have a 99 GU 4.2 and when we go up Greenmount we can make it up in 4th gear no problems, however we have only one spare on the back, we have taken our roofrack off but we have long range tanks which when we can get a good price for diesel we do fill up and it does have an affect but we can still get up in 4th. Now Lesmurdie
hill is a bit different, if we can get a bit of a run up and no-one decides to jump out in front and then travel at 60kmh in front of us, we can get up that one in 4th but only just.
Wayne-o you are correct, we have noticed climbing the
hill it always seems to go up a lot easier in the cool of the night as opposed to the heat of the day.
D&B
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:23
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:23
Like the others have said, there are too many variables IMHO, to be able to answer most of the questions.
The 4.2TD does have a reputation for being a bit dohey. The bigger tyres would contribute to this to a big degree.
I reckon I "may" have had
mine up to about 160k/h one one occasion.
I've never been able to get my face/eyes down onto the floor of the driver's footwell to see where the bloody accelerator pedal is sitting when I'm doing 110k/h (I hope nobody else tries to do that when I'm on the road within about 5 klm of where they are when they try to do it!!!!! hahaha)........
Fuel consumption: my 4.2TD had a full ARB roof rack, dual wheel carriers and loads of other stuff, including muddy-type tyres, for most of it's life. I used to use 15.5L/100 klm average over the truck's life........used more when pushed hard or towing etc, used less when driven sedately, no head wind etc.
My advice would be to get the pump and injectors "done" as a priority. I bought my GU brand new in 2000 and thought the same thing as you. I took it to a mob (father and son) at Berrima in the southern highlands of NSW when it only had about 20,000klm on the clock. They re-set the injectors and gave the pump a tickle. After the tune-up, a
hill I'd had to go up in 3rd gear with a running start, was easily taken in 4th and revving enough to just about require a change into 5th. The injectors do not have their spray pattern set in any way at the factory; this needs to be addressed as a priority.
Air filter needs to be kept clean;
snorkel is a great idea for many reason, not the least of which is the 'ram' effect to help get a bit more air into the engine's breathing system.
Exhaust needs to be opened up with a new dump pipe and 2.5 to 3" system and less-restricive muffler (no cat converter).
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:51
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:51
Geez Bloke
My olde GQ, stock standard with 331,000 on the clock, cruises these days(minus roofrack), at 110 getting 12.8/100. Uses a bit more with the trailer in tow.
The other day I wound it up by mistake down a
hill the other side of
Hawker and found meself doing 128 on the GPS!!!
Looks like I have just run it in now............LOL
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:09
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:09
i think the tyres have made a difference, and i reckon its thirsty, but i am worried, although it just, last week had 80k major and mechanic says its all sweet, and drives like it should.......they all lie i reckon, cant trust anyone, i just want it good again, but im in
karratha and no one really to work on it.....tunig wise, no dynos here!
Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:10
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:10
GQ Ford Maverick trayback with non-turbo TD42 Nissan motor, 7.50R16 split rim tyres - flat out, "fully overloaded", towing a camper trailer, chasing a drilling rig to catch it before it got to
Cue - 165kmh!! Fuel consumption? - Don't look! Black smoke? Don't look in the mirror either!
Same truck - half loaded out of
Leonora, on dirt road, trying to catch my non-reflective prospecting mate before he went too far north. into
the desert, after he missed my
bush camp - peaked at 170kmh! My mate (at the time) in the shotgun
seat said he would never go in my truck again! Which suited me fine as later on he 'did' me for a cuppla grand in gold!! I hope he's reading this back in
Canberra,,,,,,,,,,
I can clearly remember him screaming at me to stop and let him out or he was gonna jumpo out!! Yeah, yeah - at 90MPH!! Be my guest,,,,,,,,,,He was nearly crying when I finally caught up with my mate. What fun, what a jolly jape,,,
What luck,,,,,,,,,
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 07:42
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 07:42
I hope your not expecting anyone to be impressed with what you did.
I for one think that speeding in a fully loaded 4WD towing a trailer is stupid.
Baz
Follow Up By: sastra - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 10:00
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 10:00
My job unfortunately takes me to incidents when idiots like you fxxx up - with tragic results.
It's not at all funny when your stupidity brings devastation to innocent third parties.
I've witnessed many stupid driving/towing acts in our
camping trips and always pray I don't meet idiots like you who will wipe my family out.
Speed limits exist for towing and one can only hope the majority on this
forum respect each other enough to comply.
Yes it does sound like preaching but then not everyone's job dishes up road trauma so graphically as
mine.
So Bilbo I'd like to see you disappear to a grimy
forum to which you would be more welcome.
Drive safe
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 10:40
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 10:40
All a long time ago, a younger man, a younger fool perhaps. We all had monents of madness back then. Or were you dull colourless and boring as a
young man?
These days, I wouldn't be impressed with it either.
You were
young once no doubt so spare me the lectures. It was done on station/mining roads that are never frequented by "families with camper trailers". Sensible people wouldn't take families out there in summer as "Touristville it isn't".
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 11:42
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 11:42
I'm trying to figure out "why" you posted it, i mean, it doesn't really have anything to do with the thread subject.
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 12:39
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 12:39
Baz,
The original poster, Wayno asked,"1. What is the vehicles max speed (or should be with 285/75R16's fitted)? "
Go back 'n have look. (Or were you too busy looking for someone to have a go at? Such as me?)
My answer was that I tried to tell him what I'd managed to coax
mine up to.
I wasn't expecting anyone to be "impressed", I was merely telling Wayno how heavy the load was and what could be done if you really wanted to push it. No plaudits were expected. But neither did I expect the moralising.
Or maybe I did expect the moralising. There's always a few folks lurking around just waiting for a chance to tell the world how perfect they are. They've never been drunk, never smoked ganja, never broken the speed limit even by 3 kmh, never used bad language, never parked in No
Parking Zone, never been
young, never sat in a
seat on a bus when an older person was standing, never hidden something from the taxman, never ever done anything wrong in thier whole lives. They were born aged 65, know it all and cranky. Have you noticed any of these types around here Baz?
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 13:36
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 13:36
Far from perfect mate, and you'll notice i didn't personally attack you, that's not my style, and no never parked in a "No
Parking Zone"
My mistake about the how fast thing tho, still fully loaded and a trailer flat out, come on ya gotta admit that's a bit over the top.
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 13:43
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 13:43
Baz,
It was indeed over the top. Way over and I would be the first to admit it. There were "expensive circumstances" involved with chasing the drilling rig.
The other was just a,"Catch him or were really stuffed" situation.
No excuses though - just younger and stupider.
Bilbo
Reply By: Batboy - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 07:42
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 07:42
Wayne, I run 33x15x12.5 at the moment so same size as the 285's just wider
I do 2200 rpm at 100klm I'm not really sure about 110 as i dont normally travel that fast.
Accelerator at 100klm about third
Overall fuel over full tank is usually 16klm/l with a mix of city plus motorway
Almost as soon as i bought the car I put the MTRs off the GQ on (33x15x12.5) and have just put the original tyres back on as we won't be heading bush for a good few weeks and man what a difference! She pulls up hills so much better its not funny so much so I would rather stick with the smaller tyre. I reckon thats where your powers going. It didn't affect the GQ as much for some reason maybe because it was non turbo.
Jim
Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 07:54
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 07:54
HI there --
i have the 2000 4.2 turbo diesel - and my little puppy gets to 110 very easily and quickly using both Biodiesel ( 100%) and or dino diesel - as others have mentioned about1/4 to half throtal about 2200 RPM
as for fuel efficiency - totally crap around city ( i get EVERY SINGLE RED LIGHT , even the paderstrian activated ones with no padestrians)
anyway recently done a trip from
sydney - bundy - with car fully loaded up with misses - 2 kids - all our gear for 10 days, plus the Waco 80 litre fullystacked. we made it to the qld Boarder on a tank( inc sub) via the
new england on the way up - and pacific on the way back ( was about the same )
Now for your power loss - i was having power loss issues also - my RPMS would not go over about 2500 - 3000 when trying to go full noise - ended up being the small filter that is inside the fuel pump ( as told to me from another member of this
forum) it was partially blocked preventing unrestricted flow of diesel. maybe this is the problem ? It easy to find just follow the fuel lines from your filter and it will take you to it --- then just undo the banjo nut ( 17 mm and a long extention will be needed) take banjo nut out - and keep the 2 brass washers ( or alamunium) they can be reused - then remove the spring - then using cotton tips try to "dig" out the small filter ( in about 1 inch ) hopefully this is a simple fix and that is the problem. just remember when you put it back together do not over tighten the banjo nut - its those washers that do the sealing - not how many thousands of newtons of torque you can apply - nip it up -- then tighten maybe 1/4 turn - the thread in the pump is brass - so best not over do it
hope this is of some help
Boc
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 07:52
Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 07:52
Hey Ozboc,
Was looking for this filter this morning. At the front of the pump there is a banjo, the bolt goes in nearly vertically. Is that the one?
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 08:33
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 08:33
GQ with after market turbo.... last September we did a 3 week trip towing our trailer around the
New England Tableland. Top speed, 130kph is as fats as I took it, in an overtaking lane.... had more to go but that was plenty..... 110kph revs at about 2200-2400rpm, accelerator about 1/2 way, fuel consumption;
18l/100ks with roof rack and dirty air filter
16l/100ks with roof rack and clean filter
15l/100k's without rack and with clean filter
14l/100 with load but no trailer
Make sense?
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 08:34
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 08:34
forgot to mention 33 X 12.5": mud terrain tyres.....
Reply By: Truckster. - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 10:03
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 10:03
"i live in
karratha,"
There lies your problem.
Mine is a pig on hot days, very flat, and laggy, and on cold days is a totally different truck...
Go a
water to air intercooler :)
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 10:59
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 10:59
in
karratha hey....havrnt seen your exploreoz stikker....ha ha
Water to air you say......did you do this.....any difference??
Follow Up By: Truckster. - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 11:49
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 11:49
wouldnt live there if it was last place on earth!
water to air helps the IC keep cooler, thus improving the air going in.. worth the money - but arent cheap.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 12:35
Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 12:35
oh...i thought it was the last place on earth.....bugger someone lied to me....ha ha....only here for the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
might keep the water to air in mind....cheers