CDMA Network closing Jan 2008

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 21:48
ThreadID: 42433 Views:3111 Replies:9 FollowUps:21
At last we have a date by which we will need to change our CDMA phones for NextG.

"The telco recently announced that its older CDMA network - once the only mobile choice for residents in remote an rural areas - would be switching off in January next year."

Site Link

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 21:53

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 21:53
Telstra gave me a NextG phone for free a few weeks back. It works well and is very clear when receiving calls. I do find it a bit small but on the upside it can fit in ones top shirt pocket. This new phone is a ZTE F850 and I see it is made by Qualcomm who also made my old CDMA which lasted 5 troublefree years.
AnswerID: 222361

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 22:56

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 22:56
those telstra people are so nice just giving things away.. wish they would give me a phone.. :P
FollowupID: 483220

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 23:01

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 23:01
just ask them
FollowupID: 483223

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 23:08

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 23:08
my missus has one reception seems pretty good. It works out at site where gsm doesnt. $70 per month and over $500 worth of calls
FollowupID: 483227

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 23:11

Saturday, Feb 17, 2007 at 23:11
so wahts the opening line- Hi there teenager.. give me a phone?

LMAO
FollowupID: 483230

Follow Up By: Oz Travellers - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 09:04

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 09:04
Do you reckon that they will give me a new replacement for my "prepaid" CDMA phone?Sparky
FollowupID: 483257

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 09:13

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 09:13
All these questions!! I don't work for Telstra...RING em yourself and find out.

I was ringing up to complain about an error on my bill and ended up getting a new phone.
FollowupID: 483261

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 09:55

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 09:55
Oz Travellers, I believe that you will get one for free. Aquaintences have received one and I think they are sending them out in alphabetical order. Our prepaid hasn't been replaced yet but then our surname starts with P Might have a bit to go yet.
FollowupID: 483267

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 10:09

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 10:09
Funny, Mr Lexic, but your surname starts with a L. Dunno where you got the P from. Or is that something to do with Dyslexia??????
>
>
FollowupID: 483269

Follow Up By: tricatic - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 10:37

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 10:37
I think you'll find your new phone is made by Zhongxing Telecom Equipment ZTE The company is based in Shenzhen, China.
FollowupID: 483273

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 10:42

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 10:42
Probably owned by Qualcomm then
FollowupID: 483274

Follow Up By: tricatic - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 10:50

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 10:50
Did you click the link? www.zte.com.au/main/index.htm
FollowupID: 483276

Follow Up By: tricatic - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:04

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:04
QUALCOMM and ZTE have numerous licensing agreements dating back to 2001. You can read the press releases here
FollowupID: 483281

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:35

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 11:35
So I was right in some aspects of the phone. I had seen Qualcomm mentioned somewhere in paperwork I received and seeing as my old CDMA was made by them I was pleased to have such a quality built phone. Time will tell if it lasts the distance. I only use the phone sporadically.
FollowupID: 483287

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:32

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:32
From the Weekend Australian Financial Review Feb 17-18.

According to the analyst reports on Sol's first half profit details.
As of last Thursday Telstra have migrated 415,000 users to the Next "G" Network but still have 1.6 million rural users who are on the rural CDMA network who are still to shift.

And according to Thursdays accounts it does not appear that to many are keen to make the jump.
Trujillo maintains thats because the handset accessories required by many CDMA customers such as car kits have not been available.
However industry sources say those users simply don't want to watch Foxtel and download music videos to their phones.

AnswerID: 222441

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:53

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:53
"industry sources say those users simply don't want to watch Foxtel and download music videos to their phones."
YES perfecty happy with the functions of my 4 year old cdma Kyocera
FollowupID: 483481

Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:36

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:36
Telstra will exchange CDMA phones and broadband cards.

I have a CDMA phone on a current Telstra Plan - they will allow me to cancel the plan at no charge if i take out a Next G plan. The Next G plans look similar to my current plan.

Also - they will be replacing all CDMA 1X EVDO Broadband Cards with the Next G Broadband Cards at NO CHARGE. They have not given me a completion date for this Rollout.

Enjoy
Gav

Disclaimer : I dont like Telstra - but there Wireless Broadband Coverage is as good as were going to find in Australia.
AnswerID: 222442

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:49

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 12:49
I've enquired about changing my Qualcomm CDMA (the original CDMA phone when CDMA was first setup) over to next G at Telstra.
As yet there are no car/handsfree kits, no high gain antenna connections and they seem to only have flip type phones.
They also require me to change to $30 or $40 a month instead of my current $10 a month plan. In their dreams!!!
The problem is that around here (northern sydney) and up along the mid north coast of NSW I find a lack of signal to be an increasing occurrence due to next G being phased in.
I'm like all those people in the bush, only want it for occasional phone calls, they can stick their foxtel etc where the sun don't shine.
AnswerID: 222445

Reply By: joc45 - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 13:47

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 13:47
Just wait till towards closing of CDMA. Telstra are at present not offering pre-paid phones (what I have), and are only offering expensive plans to replace the pre-paids. While there is a shortage of instruments, there will be few bargains, and limited accessories. I understand that Nokia are still to come up to speed with phones for Next-G, and we won't see them for some months.
From the info I'm getting, the Next-G phones have better sensitivity than CDMA (prob more to do with software than receiver hardware), and up to 200km is being mentioned.
I take two pre-paids when I travel; CDMA and GSM. Receive calls on the CDMA and make calls on a cheap GSM. Only make calls on the CDMA when nothing else will do.
Gerry
AnswerID: 222459

Follow Up By: foxtel - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:45

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 20:45
and up to 200km is being mentioned.

ONLY WITH A BOOSTER TOWER, NEXT G NORMAL TOWERS HAVE A RANGE OF 140KM AND CDMA HAS 160-180KM
FollowupID: 483369

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 16:59

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 16:59
I went to Next G from CDMA.

For signing up to a $40 per month deal I get a free LG TU 500 phone, free LG hands free car kit, 12V charger and external earpice set up. The hands free kit hooks straight up by hard wiring to my existing RFA 1795 aerial. The best bit is I get UNLIMITED FREE calls between me and my wifes phone.

Saves me a packet and is far superior to the old CDMA.

What's not to like? Next G will only getter as time goes on whereas CDMA will only get worse.
AnswerID: 222481

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:51

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 21:51
same here.

I took up the LG on offer and have been very impressed with it's coverage thus far, including a few places that my CDMA wouldn't work.
FollowupID: 483384

Follow Up By: Diver1 - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:45

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:45
So what is a good phone to get at the moment cos Im needing to change mine over and can you get one with a car kit, not just the hands free thingy???

Nokia brought out 2 phones but they failed.....and the one they are bringing out soon will cost over $1000 .....

Laura
FollowupID: 483478

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:56

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:56
where did you get that unlimited calls deal to your missus? mine has just got a next G and has a $70 plan $500 worth of calls or something. Now she is in kal it sounds handy
FollowupID: 483482

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 11:10

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 11:10
Diver 1, the LG TU 500 is the one you want. I went on to a $40 plan and it came for free. The beauty of this car kit is you can hard wire, not patch, a vehicle mounted external aerial which boosts reception significantly.

Davoe, I have an ABN. Put both phones on the same account and you should be able to get two LG TU 500's for $40 each with car kits. By arranging it this way all calls between these mobiles will be free for a maximum of 10 minutes per call. If you want to talk longer simply hang up and call back. The cost savings are massive.

Now I have to put a disclaimer as I haven't done any big trips since I purchased this phone, but so far it works a treat everywhere whereas my CDMA would fail.

If you don't have an ABN, consider getting one. They do not cost much. I used to do similar work to you and went in as a sub-contractor meaning I could claim vehicle expenses, communication costs etc. Talk to your accountant first but you may find significant benefits in this structure. Depends on your employer too.
FollowupID: 483487

Reply By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 17:55

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 17:55
Hi Mike,
My ZTE Next-g phone is a heap of bleep e compared to the 3 month old Nokia cdma it replaced. It doesn't have the range of my mates old cdma phone ( he could make calls when I had nill reception) and the battery life is very poor (two calls from a poor reception area and she's dead mate. The phone is not as nice to use as the old Nokia either! If I were you I'd wait until Telstra replace more of the CDMA base gear with "next-g" (coverage will improve so they say) and then avoid getting the zte. A friend has an LG Next-G which he is quite happy with.
Doug
AnswerID: 222489

Reply By: MartyB - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:08

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:08
Is anyone on Optus CDMA?
If so what are you being told and offered?
Marty.
AnswerID: 222571

Follow Up By: djm67 - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:30

Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 22:30
Can't help you with answers to what Optus are offering, but all Optus CDMA is simply airtime purchased from Telstra.

Telstra are the only operators of the CDMA network.

So once they switch it off, that will be it for all carriers.
FollowupID: 483393

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:53

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 10:53
Optus will try and migrate you to their 3G GSM service as they have no CDMA of there own as mentioned above.

Telstra are not offering Next "G" access to their competition so you either move to Telstra or continue you're support of a foreign owned company with a service that won't work outside the capital city's.

FollowupID: 483480

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:29

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 14:29
Decided to go and check for myself at the local Telstra shop in Brissie. Needless to say that if I thought this would be a feel good exercise I was dissapointed.

Tried to find out when my plan expires - no luck it is in my wife's name (can't talk to me about that!). Getting past this, yeah no problem we can change your less than 2 year old phone at no cost and keep the same plan (not sure if this is a fact because I have a $10 plan and all I've seen is $20 references) but all the peripherals like the arial, car kit and installation are my problem.

Then she advised me that if I let the plan lapse I would be out in the cold - well this is a red rag for me. This has got to be an ACCC matter surely they can't get away with standover tactics like that? I mean swap or be damned, I know in most industries this would be regarded as restrictive practises.

AnswerID: 222675