Kimberly Karavan
Submitted: Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:16
Darcy
Sorry I got the heading wrong in my first post and someone was kind enough to point it out.
I have read and appreciate the
feedback about the KARAVAN. I have seen one in the show room as we are thinking seriously of buying an off road van (not to go hell and back but at least something that is versatile and not fall apart on the corregations).
We have had a Kombi with three kids and also travelled in the US in full Motor
home plus many years of camping.
I am currently torn between two extremes the KARAVAN and something like an 16-18 foot Bushtracker - I know they are very different and that is the issue. At the end of the day they are pretty much (or close) to the same price (at least for a second hand BT) - but I would need a bigger car for the BT. But these are not really nmy concerns at this point.
Has anyone here travelled in the Karavn for an extended period - say 2-3 months and how have you found it - did the lack of space and small kitchen get to you in the end? I know this is not an issue in the BT.
Has anyone travelled in the top end or outback where the flies etc drive you crazy if cooking outside and so need the full annex each night or cock inside? I know I can
cook easily in the BT with a full gas stove.
I note that some people have suggested a bigger towing vehicle - what has been used so far by contributors? and how have you found it? Do you really need to go to a Patrol / LC? I know I do if I go to the BT.
Thansk.
Reply By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:48
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:48
Darcy,
I've got one and so far only three shakedown trips. Just got back a couple of hours ago. Only twenty minutes from
home.
I think with more than two people in it you may go stir crazy. I'm single and no kids so obviously my judgement may be somewhat skewed.
Putting the annexe up and down each day if travelling would be a real pain I think.
I've got a 120 Prado with V6 at at nearly two tonnes wet I can feel the extra required to pull it. In saying that it tows
well but I do seem to be experiencing some pitching. Maybe the air levelling
suspension on the prado isn't exactly right for the job. I do have a set of drawers and barrier/shelving in the prado as
well.
I am thinking a diesel might be a very good way to go in the future.
Realistically I've only towed about 100km's each way on the longest trip so far and one of these was on dirt along a sigle lane very windy road (30kms) down to Wollondilly River Station (near Mittagong in NSW) and this was no problem.
With a BT me thinks you need a cruiser or equivalent at least (3500kg) cause they are big and heavy. Even the 16 footers are up around 2000kg's.
With 5 people storage space might also be a concern. What with all the bits you might want, or rather the kids!
Anyway for me and one other so far so good.
Garth
Reply By: Darcy - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:58
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 13:58
Thanks, no only two of us now - but I know what you mean, I would not consider it "family friendly". I know the road you mention, and the feed back I am getting and what I have read on this site does suggest a diesel no matter what way I go. I was thinking Prado but am now beginning to realise it may be a Patrol or LC.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:52
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 16:52
G'day Darcy. We pondered a B/t, a Trackmaster or a Kedron actually. We, I guess were never serious about that, just thought they may be in our future. We didn't think a caravan of any sort was within five years until we saw the KKaravan. Since our order and the purchase we have heard of some of the heavier outfits that have suffered price depreciations. Saw a 22' Bushtracker in
Melbourne that had been purchased for $35k s/hand I was told by the dealer where I saw it. We thought the Karavan fitted more with our interests and had the innovation to move forward with.
I am in contact with some other people with the KK, towed as Garth says by a Prado, a Disco, but to change, and a GQ Nissan, and our Patrol GU Ute. Another ordered one, to be towed by a diesel Prado.
We haven't travelled anywhere for an extended period so far but have erected the annex occasionally for an overnight stay, just to have the practice. It is easy for a couple of days. Don't usually erect it for an overnighter. If you wish to talk my mobile number is with the rig
pic, and the email addy too.
Follow Up By: Carl & Kaz - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:59
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:59
John, a 22' Bushtracker for $35k? Not a chance mate! I've been looking for a 21' BT for over a year and there is nothing on the market in that size for under $65-70k, most usually over $75k. If I ever saw a BT for $35k I would buy it sight unseen! I think the dealer you were speaking to must have had a forked tongue!
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:52
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:52
The dealer had nothing to gain. He wasn't interested in buying or selling one, he wasn't a caravan dealer. He was just fixing on a generator box for the new owner -
well he may colour his values of course. I didn't bother to
check the age but I know it was big and HEAVY at 3.5 tonnes. That is the worrying point with such beasts. I wasn't interested in it, it was just the observation.
Have fun Carl and Kaz, particularly when you will be paying greenhouse taxes for pulling them within the next three years, just to make you realise where the carbon is going. They will only go up as the heavy gear goes down. You reckon that fuel was expensive a few months back, just think about the future because the shift will have to be to renewables.
Reply By: greggu - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:35
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:35
darcy
like you we are looking hard at the KK karavan and like most of what we see but
have a couple of issues - one with the diesel cooker inside the van as we dont like the idea of a diesel smell hanging around - and also with the fact that the karavan when popped does not have very good noise sealing attenuation and some caravan parks and some off road
camping area can be quite noisy at times and if you have a caravan its quite handy to close the door and put on the AC and lose the outside noise when you need to - as one cant always
camp off road and away from the maddening crowds.
mate as regards the bushtrackers they are bullet proof and built like a tank and weigh as much as a tank - even a toy 4.2 diesel with a dtronic struggles to tow them anywhere even midly off road - my friends have an 18 ft bustracker bought 2nd hand for $55 K in 2004 and they tow it with a new f250 and forget about taking them on a beach
if touring for a long time say many months or years then we would have to think hard about the bustracker if we continue to do just doing short tours of a few weeks or couple months then maybe it will be the kk karavan
just my current thoughts
incidently we do have a kk mariner classic kamper with boat carrier etc so not totally without some minor off road and touring experience
all the best greg
sadly the perfect compromise is yet to be found
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:54
Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:54
Darcy - From someone with an 18' older Bushtracker - towed with a Patrol 3 ltr td auto.
Depends what your plans are. We did small holidays trying a variety of camping; tent, canvas cover on back of Landcruiser Ute, wind up caravan with slide out beds. OK for short summer holidays, but all a bit of work when stopped, problems if it rained, not much room for luggage for longer trips. Not the way to go for long holidays or the big lap; nor for any wet or really cold weather.
Getting older and wanting it easy, we chose a BT; everything is ready when we stop, no hard work or any setting up at all. We were able to stay inside when we stopped at a spot where droves of vicious man-eating midges came around at dusk - we just locked 'em out and stayed inside (inside bathroom a real bonus that night). Plenty of room for clothes for all seasons, supplies for several weeks without needing to go shopping, fishing gear, tools for most emergencies, self sufficient with
solar power and batteries.
It is very strongly built, but that comes at a price - weight - and it should be towed with at least something like a 4.2 litre Cruiser. The 3 ltr Patrol does the job nicely, but nothing to spare in extreme conditions, and we are wearing the motor and auto gearbox to no doubt an early grave. Hence my desire to see a V8 in the Patrol.
There has been a BT advertised on rvpoint.com.au at $35,950 for quite some time - really makes you wonder why, as whenever one is listed as for sale on the Bushtracker owners website it gets snapped up quick. Someone was going to visit us today, but they advertised their 18 footer for sale as they are upgrading to a new bigger BT, and it was purchased immediately, so they had to go straight
home to get organised for hand over the day after tomorrow.
If you want to take short holidays in good weather, the KK may be OK. If your are planning long and/or all climates travel i know which option of would choose.
Reply By: Gronk - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:26
Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:26
I only have a KK CT, but I like the idea of only towing around a ton behind me and having the flexibility of being able to duck down any side track for a quiet place to
camp .
If I was to update, it would be to something like the K Karavan, which although it weighs in at approx 1.7 plus tons it still goes "anywhere" and a normal 4x4 can still tow it.
The bushtrackers are fine for those that choose that sort of camping but I still prefer to
cook and relax outdoors. ( maybe I'm not old enough yet !! )
Has anyone seen or heard about the Innovan ??
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:50
Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:50
Some
Sydney friends were going to look at the Innovan Gronk, but I am not sure that they have done anything abou it since. They pointed us to the site but Heather had a look at the site a while back. It is
well constructed. The pics are clear. I thought you do a lot of living outside with it, without the option as easily as our unit.
Looking above, I think the comments have been very clear and without bias which is great.