1080 Baiting

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:16
ThreadID: 42528 Views:7495 Replies:19 FollowUps:36
Hello,

Can anyone give me the run down on baiting, what parts of WA are baits laid generally and why.

Reply By: Chucky - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:51

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 17:51
I've got no info for you, just a deep hatered for 1080 or any other bait.

I lost my dog 6 motnhs ago through a 1080 bait.
It was on private property, but as a 4wd park we were camping in a designated spot.
I was just thankful it wasn't one of my kids that picked it up and played with it.
AnswerID: 222946

Follow Up By: rest needed - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:05

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:05
Sorry to hear that mate, we would be lost if any harm came to our dog, he is a very big part of our family as im sure yours was.

I dont know anything about these baits, obviously they are there for a reason though you would think there would be signs posted to warn would be campers and children of the dangers.

FollowupID: 483788

Follow Up By: Sparkie C - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:42

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:42
1080 is a necessary evil when you witness the damage a couple of dogs can do to 4 young calves in just a few minutes you can understand why it is used (all had to be destroyed). It is impossible to imagine the damage they could cause a child.
We have 1080 used around our area but authorities require signs on all property boundaries and collection of unused baits after a set time. I estimate I lost $5000.00 to wild dogs last year,so we have to do something.
Sparkie C
FollowupID: 483808

Follow Up By: Sparkie C - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:48

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:48
South East Queensland there are lots of baits in the forestry area so train your dogs not to touch or use a muzzle.
PS dogs are not allowed in forestry areas.
1080 is not normally a problem to humans , so I'm told. It only effects canines.
Sparkie C
FollowupID: 483812

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:05

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:05
In a past life I was an Ag dept employee using 1080 for rabbit, feral pig, fox and dog control in WA.
Don't believe that 1080 is harmless to humans, it will kill you if you ingest a sufficiently 'large quantity' and a 'large quantity' is not that big.
It does NOT only affect canines, most domesticated animals are more or less susceptible but the carrier material (dried meat for dogs & foxes, grain, usually oats, for rabbits & feral pigs) does give an element of selectivity in the field.

Best advice is to leave pets at home, failing that ,muzzles and training not to pick up stuff will help.

FollowupID: 483909

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 13:31

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 13:31
Nasty stuff, no antidote and a tiny dose will kill a dog. I used to do sweeps through 1080 dosed areas (rabbits) cleaning up the strays. For my dogs I fitted a length of chain which clipped on one side of the collar, went through the mouth (like a horse bridle bit) and attached
to the other side of the collar. This prevented them from ingesting any deadly remains but allowed them to drink. A proper muzzle a la greyhound would be much better.
T.R.
FollowupID: 483998

Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:08

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:08
Im not sure about WA but NT they could be anywhere!
Dont let your dogs or kids pick up anything!
They can be laid from the air so they get pretty scattered.
AnswerID: 222953

Follow Up By: rest needed - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:12

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:12
Great, thats not what i wanted to hear.
I hope its not the same situation down here, how the hell are you supposed to camp safe with that crap lyin around.

cheers mate :)

FollowupID: 483790

Reply By: RupertDog - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:15

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:15
Rest needed,

Try CALM (or whatever they call themselves this week). They should be able to advise if baiting in Nat PArks, or who to contact for more accurate info.

1080 is a "naturally occurring" poison that is ineffective on native animals, but serious for wild dogs and foxes. Supposed to be signs and warning up on entry points to baited areas.

I believe that some areas are aerial baited so accuracy might be a bit off. Apparently works very well, and seems to reduce wild dog numbers in a cost effective manner.

Unfortunately, not able to recognise a the difference between a wild dog, and the family pooch.

Sympathies with those who have lost pets to 1080.

RupertDog
AnswerID: 222956

Follow Up By: rest needed - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:18

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:18
Thanks mate will give em a shot, see if i get get any sense out of em

Craig
FollowupID: 483794

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:40

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:40
RupertDog "inefective on native animals", where on earth did you hear that ? It kills anything that ingests it. Perhaps some native animals don't like the smell and do not eat it but any animal that does will die.
FollowupID: 483823

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:11

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:11
RupertDog "inefective on native animals", where on earth did you hear that ? It kills anything that ingests it. Perhaps some native animals don't like the smell and do not eat it but any animal that does will die."

No it doesn't - think it was mentioned before - 1080 is a naturally occurring poison in some plants that native Australian animals have an immunity to. Highly effective at controlling foxes and to a lesser extent feral cats.

If you are interested read this from WA DEC website

Western Shield, the Department's leading nature conservation program, is safeguarding Western Australia's native animals. Launched in 1996, it is now the biggest wildlife conservation program ever undertaken in Australia.

Western Shield, winner of the prestigious national Banksia Award for fauna conservation in 1998, is working to bring at least 13 native fauna species back from the brink of extinction by controlling introduced predators, the fox and feral cat.

Introduced predators have been making a meal of Western Australia's wildlife, contributing to the extinction of 10 species of native mammal, and forcing dozens more to fight for survival.

The main weapon in the fight against the fox and feral cat is use of the naturally occurring poison 1080, found in native plants called gastrolobiums or 'poison peas'. While our native animals have evolved with these plants and have a high tolerance to the poison, introduced animals do not.

Western Shield makes use of this natural advantage.

In the southwest forests, scientific research and monitoring has shown that where baiting has reduced fox numbers, there has been a dramatic increase in native animal numbers. Trap success rates for medium-sized mammals in the jarrah forest of Kingston Block, near Manjimup, reflect a seven-fold increase since baiting began in 1993.

The key to this success - predator control through baiting. Western Shield involves aerial and hand baiting on almost 3.5 million hectares of Department-managed land. Baiting operations take place four times a year throughout the State from as far north as Karratha to Esperance in the south. Smaller nature reserves are baited more frequently.

770,00 1080 baits are dropped from a twin engined Beechcraft Baron aircraft each baiting operation.
Baiting happens every three months.
Each baiting operation the plane flies 55,000km, which is more than a 40,000km round the world trip!
Each hour 1000 baits are dropped.
Each bait covers 20 hectares.
Quarterly baiting takes eight weeks. The plane is in the air eight months a year.

FollowupID: 483874

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:14

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:14
Kiwi Kia - 1080 is a naturally occurring substance, and native animals do have a natural immunity. For this reason, other dog bait poisons have been discontinued.

FollowupID: 483876

Follow Up By: RupertDog - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:28

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:28
Oops.

Poor choice of words.

1080 is a naturally occurring poison that is not attractive to natives. They have a natural immunity, but I suppose if enuff is eaten, even natural immunity won't save them.

Still best to avoid with the family pooch, and kiddies who may be a bit adventourous and happy to put anything in their mouths.

RupertDog
FollowupID: 483882

Follow Up By: Nick R - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:47

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:47
1080 carrot baits put out for rabbits knocked over a fair number of wallabies on one baiting program near here.

Oat baits are used now instead of carrots, from what I hear they aren't nearly as effective........

Dogs taking baits is one thing, I believe if a dog eats something baited with 1080 I believe that can knock them over too.
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 483906

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:00

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:00
Hi Nick R - following on from the previous extract on native animals

The same species of animals in south-eastern Australia, where the toxic plants do not occur, are much more sensitive to 1080.

So it seems 1080 immunity is only in WA.

It also sounds like your bunnies are like the US cartoon characters and find carrots irresistible. I think that we are no longer allowed to trap bunnies and kill them humanely and use them for food (my father spent years keeping the dogs well fed on rabbit) - but they can be poisoned to die a much slower death.

FollowupID: 483908

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 07:26

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 07:26
I think that the misconception here is the amount required to kill a non-target animal. If the level of 1080 in a bait is strictly controlled then I agree that many animals may not ingest enough poison to kill them, but, they are not immune to it, they just have a tolerance to small amounts. The target animals have no such tolerance.

KimPrado kindly provided the following link (Tassie not WA);

Site Link

Quote;
"Poisoning of non-target animals may occur with 1080 baiting. However, the impacts are either localised, or limited to individual animals and do not result in significant adverse effects on the non-target animals at a population level."

One of the benefits of using 1080 is that it can break down in a bait if a certain amount of rain occurs or after a certain time period. I am not being specific here as I have personally witnessed a few hundred sheep die after they were allowed to graze an area that 'by the book' should have been safe. Baited chopped up carrots had been topdressed by aircraft a few weeks earlier and there had been significant rain. The official reason was that the baits had dried in hot sun and had then repelled the rain and so still contained the poison.
FollowupID: 483938

Reply By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:41

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:41
From DEC Website - http://www.calm.wa.gov.au/

Dogs, on a lead, may be taken to certain areas within regional parks around Perth, most State forests (except Dryandra Woodland in the Wheatbelt, which is a sanctuary for Endangered animals) and parts of Lane Poole Reserve near Dwellingup.

However, DEC has a policy that dogs are not permitted in most national parks, conservation parks, nature reserves, marine parks and marine nature reserves, although dogs are allowed to travel in boats in marine parks and marine management areas. Places where dogs are allowed in parks and reserves will be signposted and dogs will need to be kept on a lead.

Visually impaired people with guide dogs can take their dogs into any DEC-managed area.

There are many reasons for restricting dogs and cats in national parks and reserves. These include the need to protect indigenous fauna as well as consideration of the rights of other park users.

In addition DEC runs Western Shield, a major campaign against feral predators. Foxes and cats have already contributed to the extinction of 10 native mammal species, and threaten many others. Western Shield aims to reduce feral cat and fox populations through baiting programs using 1080, a poison that occurs naturally in WA and does not harm native wildlife.

However, dogs and cats are very susceptible to 1080 poisoning, for which there is no antidote. Warning signs are placed prominently around baited areas but you should check with your local DEC office to find out which areas are currently baited. Dogs should not be allowed to roam in areas that have been baited, so to ensure their safety please leave them at home.

Cats are prohibited on all DEC-managed land because of the risk they pose to most native fauna.

If in doubt as to whether you can take your dog onto CALM-managed land, contact your local DEC office.

Where you can take your dog
Here is a list of DEC-managed sites, as well as some shire reserves near DEC-managed lands, where dogs are permitted:

ALBANY
Dogs may be taken to:
(east of) Nannarup Beach,
Goode Beach to Mistaken Island,
Frenchmans Bay,
the east side of Cosy Corner,
the eastern end of Middleton Beach, and
Sand Patch.
Dogs must be on a lead or with the owner at all times on City of Albany-managed estate. Check with the City of Albany Office for further details.

BLACKWOOD RIVER AREA

Dogs may be taken to Wright’s Bridge on the Nannup-Balingup Road, and several smaller camping grounds. Contact the local DEC office on (08) 9752 5555.

ESPERANCE
Dogs may be taken to shire-managed beaches at:

Starvation Boat Harbour,
Munglinup Beach,
Quagi Beach
designated Esperance townsite beaches,
Wylie Bay,
Wharton Beach (Shire section of beach only),
Little Wharton,
Duke of Orleans Bay,
Membinup Beach (4WD only),
Alexander Beach (4WD only),
Kennedy’s Beach (4WD only), and
Israelite Bay (4WD only).
Dogs may be taken to the DEC-managed Helms Arboretum.

GOLDFIELDS
Dogs are permitted at the Arboretum in Kalgoorlie.

JURIEN to MOORA
There are several areas within the Jurien Bay Marine Park adjacent to shire-designated animal beaches where dogs and horses are allowed to swim. Dogs are allowed to travel in boats in marine parks.

PEMBERTON/MANJIMUP
Cleave Road,
Carey picnic site on the Vasse Highway,
Big Brook Arboretum,
Moon’s Crossing,
River Road Bridge,
Northcliffe Forest Park,
Brockman Sawpits,
100 Year Forest,
Big Brook Dam, except around the beach area, and
Windy Harbour Shire Reserve – but dogs are not permitted in the camping grounds.
WALPOLE
Between Walpole and Denmark, dogs can be taken to shire-managed beaches at:

Peaceful Bay,
Boat Harbour, and
Parry’s Beach.
This does not include areas of National Park or Nature Reserve adjacent to shire land.

YALLINGUP-MARGARET RIVER-DUNSBOROUGH
Dogs may be taken on a lead to:

Yallingup Beach,
Smith’s Beach,
signposted beaches around Dunsborough, and
signposted areas of Bramley National Park.
PERTH HILLS
Dogs are allowed on a lead at:

Lane Poole Reserve, in 8 camping areas and 2 picnic areas*:

Baden-Powell,

Tony’s Bend,

Charlie’s Flat,

Yarragil,

Chuditch,

Nanga Mill,

Stringers

Nanga Townsite

Island Pool* and

Baden-Powell*
Marrinup,
Oakley Dam picnic area,
Scarp Pool picnic area, and
Goldmine Hill picnic area.
For more information call (08) 9538 1078.

PERTH REGIONAL PARKS
Beeliar

Dogs are permitted on a lead and under effective control in all DEC-managed areas of Beeliar Regional Park except for Thomsons Lake Nature Reserve, Harry Waring Marsupial Reserve and the wetland and water bodies managed by DEC.

In relation to dog access in areas managed by local government, please contact the City of Melville (9364 0666), City of Cockburn (9411 3444) and the Town of Kwinana (9419 2222).

Jandakot

Dogs are permitted on a lead and under effective control in all DEC-managed areas of Jandakot Regional Park , except for Banksia, Modong, Wandi and Piara Nature Reserves.

In relation to dog access in areas managed by local government, please contact the City of Cockburn (9411 3444) and the Town of Kwinana (9419 2222).

Herdsman Lake

Dogs are permitted on a lead and under effective control in all DEC-managed areas in the Herdsman Lake Regional Park, except for the areas surrounding the Herdsman Lake Wildlife Centre and the wetlands and water bodies of the park.

Please contact the City of Stirling (9345 8555) in relation to dog access in areas of Herdsman Lake Regional Park under its control.

Yellagonga

Dogs are permitted on a leash and under effective control in all DEC-managed areas in Yellagonga Regional Park except for area 19, which is off Duffy Terrace and illustrated in the Yellagonga Regional Park Management Plan 2003 -2013; and the wetlands and water bodies of the park.

In relation to dog access in areas of Yellagonga Regional Park managed by local government, please contact the City of Joondalup (9400 4000) and City of Wanneroo (9405 5000) for further information.

Rockingham Lakes

Dogs are permitted off-lead in gazetted Dog Exercise Areas at Cape Peron, bounded on the east by Hymus Street and extending around the coast generally in a westerly direction and then in a southerly direction and bounded on the south by Boundary Road.

In the remaining areas of the park, dogs are permitted on a lead and under effective control except at Port Kennedy Scientific Park and the wetlands and water bodies of the park managed by DEC.

Please contact the City of Rockingham (9528 0333) in relation to dog access in areas of Rockingham Lakes Regional Park under its control.

Woodman Point

Dogs are permitted on a lead and under effective control in all DEC-managed areas of Woodman Point Regional Park except for Woodman Point Nature Reserve, Woodman Point Headland and on the grassed areas of John Graham Reserve.

Please contact the City of Cockburn (9411 3444) in relation to dog access in areas of Woodman Point Regional Park under its control. Dogs are not permitted on the beaches adjoining the park.

Canning River

Dogs are permitted on a lead and under effective control in DEC-managed areas of the park apart from the following:

Areas 2 and 4 – Bannister Creek and associated wetlands and flood plain;
Area 6 – Surrey Road Salt Marsh;
Areas 8 and 9 – Wilson Wetlands;
Area 17 – Nicholson Road Billabong; and
Area 20 – Canning River Islands.

AnswerID: 222965

Follow Up By: rest needed - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:50

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:50
Hooly dooly,

thats some info mate, thanks for that appreciate your efforts.

Cheers :)
FollowupID: 483800

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:54

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:54
Cut and Paste is easy - do it all the time for my report writing - but dont tell the clients.....

FollowupID: 483801

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:57

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 18:57
My suggestion, as these baits can be nearly anywhere, invest in a decent muzzle. The wire cage types are good as it will still allow you pooch to drink, but not to eat any nasties off of the forest floor. I paid nearly $60 for one, but in my books, is much better than personal heartache that would follow the eating of a bait.
AnswerID: 222973

Follow Up By: kimprado - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:36

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:36
I agree with Hairy and Mike

Don't take your dog anywhere that could put it at risk. This includes ticks and, wild dogs that are becoming a real problem in some areas.

I miss my dog when I go away, but at least I know she'll be safe at home.

If you do decide to take the dog, there are a number of pet friendly muzzles on the market.

It all depends on the type of travel and camping your contemplating.

Kim
FollowupID: 483807

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:21

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:21
Pretty much the same over here (Vic) plus dog traps in forests and parks.

In years gone by it was common for farmers to throw out blocks of meat or food laced with 1080. It was fairly effective but problems would occur when a bird or scavenger picked up the bait and moved it to another part of the property or another farm all together prior to its demise.

The baits now have to be burried a minimum depth to reduce this likelyhood.

I would expect some baits to be moved by birds etc when aerial baiting is used and baits just lie on the ground. For this reason I would recommend a muzzle on your pooch.
AnswerID: 222977

Follow Up By: kimprado - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:53

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 19:53
Further to my ealier post have a look at:

Site Link

Kim
FollowupID: 483814

Reply By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:32

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:32
We have just had one of our property's baited with 1080 today.(By a Gov body)
For Rabbit's ! what a bloody mess they make.
Signs erecteed every where.
I would also hate to loose my dog but who ever is doing the baiting should also ring all neighbours and erect sign's.

Regards Jeff M (SA)
AnswerID: 222996

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:15

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:15
Jeff, in WA when we do our own wild dog baiting, we have to notify all neighbours as a condition of the permit. Baiting for rabbits - did they use grain? If so, less risk for dogs, but i would still us caution. (My dog loves eating lupins.) At least you have a government that still cares about the land. Our government seems to have thrown all control of any nasties back to the people.

FollowupID: 483983

Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:19

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:19
Met the Gov guy out at our property today to check the kill.
He found 4 dead rabbit's which he removed so no dog's could not get poisoned by eating the dead rabbits.
He said for every rabbit found dead test's say 8 dead underground.
He did use grain he said 4 pieces of gain to kill one rabbit.So deadly gear 1080.

Cheers JeffM (SA)
FollowupID: 484074

Reply By: Old Gold - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:33

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:33
G"Day a lot of the station people bait dingo's. We had a huge problem with the dingo's coming into town.It would nothing to see three or four walking the streets.We lost our cat to them they slso killed a few dogs and injured many more.Some of the dingo's were shot.The stations are not allowed to bait with in ten ks of a town.Sorry about your dog i have to be real careful when i take me ol dog out bush now !

AnswerID: 222997

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:42

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:42
To my disgust, 1080 baits are very much Australia wide.

Last year we drove the Western Deserts and had to very aware of where our dog was at any time. Baits are laid out on the Canning Stock Route as well.

My opinion is that it is a stupid, lazy practise. I would rather see genuine Fox and Dog Trappers and shooters out there, plying their trade and getting statistical results. That way more people could be employed as well.

I am still to be convinced that it is not harmful to other wildlife, such as the birds of prey.

AnswerID: 222999

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:03

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:03
Beg to disagree, it has been very effective in helping populations of some endangered species become re-establish and increase. You can call it lazy and stupid but the fact is the areas required to be covered are enormous and economical (not lazy or stupid) techniques are required to effectively control feral predators. It may not be perfect but until something better comes along I'm all for it. It obviously disadvantages to a small minority of people but personally (with all due respect) I would rather see any Australian native species (Im talking the species not the individual animal) out in the bush that anyone’s single dog. I am lead to believe that Fox and Dog (and the rest) Trappers/Shooters are still employed in some parts at times so you can still rub shoulders and swap stories with them if you want.

FollowupID: 483839

Follow Up By: kimprado - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:37

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:37

I don't agree with you. A good quality shooter and trapper will clear an area without damage to indigenous wild life.

Willems right. It all gets back to money.

Kim
FollowupID: 483856

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:38

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:38

I respect your position, but will stick to my opinion.

We are all species on this planet. Some species have to manage other species. Some ways are the laws of the jungle. Other ways are by culling. Poisoning to my way of thinking is not the way to go. We abhorr poisoning of mankind, do we not?

I am not interested in your narrowminded approach on rather seeing the native wildflife out there than someone elses domesticated animal friend. It has nothing to do with the argument.

FollowupID: 483857

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:57

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:57
Hooley dooley - by jingoes by crickey - dont wont to get into verbal slinging match here as it would be too easy - anyway back to the subject - facts are 1080 is a VERY effective management tool for the control of some feral animals (eg foxes), as is culling by shooting for others species (eg Goats/Donkeys) - both methods (and others) are used today in various places - like it or not. "Some species have to manage other species" - very true which is why you should not take your dog into areas where 1080 is being use , if you do you should have it muzzled - if you don't you are "stupid/lazy" or both:)

FollowupID: 483864

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:11

Yes Greg

Careful management and not a narrowminded approach is the key.

Good night.
FollowupID: 483873

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:21

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:21
Very true - I look forward to the day when they have some method of effectively getting rid of all foxes and feral cats (for starters). Dangerous business though as I assume the only way would be to develop some highly effective species specific disease, like they did with rabbits but better.

FollowupID: 483880

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:23

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:23
Kim, unfortunately not much danger to the target animals either in a lot of the Victorian High country where the shooters have been brought back in again but at least there is a token effort. There is a Greens solution that has been proffered - to tame the wild dogs. I kid you not.
FollowupID: 483916

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 01:35

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 01:35
Shooters would have to be better! BUT
There is a hell of a lot of country shooters wouldnt and couldnt get in to and 1080 is a shiit load better than Strychnine.
I hate to admit to using it (Strychnine) but it was the thing of the time! We also planted Buffell!
I dont think 1080 is the answer and its too widely used (Ive seen pets die from it!) so I sit fairly neutral????
FollowupID: 483927

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:58

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 20:58
Rest Needed,

Try reading archived post number 37926, that I started last September. There's some good stuff in it.

This is the URL to it:

Site Link

I spend the whole winter in the WA bush looking for the "yellow metal". I can tell you that we have a very big problem with wild dog packs in WA. Last winter, it was on the ABC Radio News repeatedly about 2 big packs moving from Menzies to east of Kal and another from Wiluna to Laverton. The bulk of these were half breeds and dangerous and yet tourists were stll feeding 'em!! My litte mate goes everywhere with me out there. I never, ever, ever let him off the lead - but read my story on the other thread - bleep can happen even when it's on a lead.

There are new 1080 signs all over the place out there now, far more than I've ever seen in 20 years being out there.

If a dog takes a bait you've got about 20 minutes to make it vomit - use lots of salt water, force it down the dog, make him spew - otherwise it's a goner. You'd be doing it a favour if you can shoot it. That would break my heart but it's gotta be done. There is no antidote, none. 20 minutes is all you've got. It takes about 3 to 4 hours to die and it's not pleasant to watch. I've spoken with vets about this. They all say the same thing.

I did a lot of research on 1080 and how dangerous it is to dogs and also how dangerous it ISN'T to humans. An adult would have to eat around 15 kgs of pork in one sitting, from an pig that had died of 1080 poisoning to even get a little bit sick. People that mix baits have been made ill by not washing thier hands when mixing concentrated bait compound. I still wouldn't like a child to eat a bait though. It does affect native animals and birds but nowhere to the same degree as dogs. Dogs/foxes are specifically susceptible to 1080 bait. Other animals are far less affected but do suffer if they eat enough of it. A dog only needs to lick the bait for it to die. Also it can die quite readily if it eats any meat from a dead carcass from an animal that previously was killed by 1080, or eats another dogs vomit if that dog was 1080 poisoned. That's why it's a very effective dog killer. It can be 5 dogs with one bait.

1080 bait degrades quite quickly but its rate of degradation depends on the weather, rain etc. Anything from 2 weeks to 2 months.

I'll try and find some links on 1080 that I once had and put 'em up here.

Use a muzzle or keep 'em on a lead and watch EVERYTHING that he sniffs at. Don't let 'em lick anything at all.

Good luck,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 223007

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:04

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:04
Yep weve always been told the same by the vets here.
Heaps of salt water straight away and hope!
FollowupID: 483840

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:34

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:34
1080 link may offer some useful information on 1080.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 223021

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:11

As farmers, we bait to prevent foxes from destroying our lamb crop. We invest heavily in our business, and a 'crop' is our entire year's income potential. It is not practical to sit up all night every night and hope a fox walks past your gun sights.

Most baiting campaigns are held in autumn prior to lambing, and we try and coordinate this with neighbours to get the best results. They can take place at any other time of the year, such as now, when fox populations have built up since last autumn, and we have seen evidence of foxes on the farm (eg the scratch marks and fox droppings at the chook yard gate). In summer, i often loose an entire pen of chooks - the fox gets in and kills the lot - instinct is to do this to set up a pantry of food, but they rarely come back again. They can wipe out an entire breed in a very short time.

Regulations have made it such that now we have to obtain a permit from our Agriculture Department before we can purchase 1080 baits. This permit lasts for 2 weeks. We are provided with Dog Bait signs to put on the farm boundary or nearby. Baits are in the form of a piece of tough dried meat compound which must be tethered with wire (crows can move loose baits). Baits are stored in a locked cabinet (usually the gun cabinet). Of course this is dependent on the farmer following the rules completely.

We have lost dogs with baiting in the past, which is devastating. Our dogs are not only 'family members', but working dogs are and hard working 'employees'. These losses were most likely from baits moved by crows when baits were loose laid.

I don't know if aerial baiting still takes place in government forest land - it well may do. They drop small cubes of 1080 impregnated compounded meat. Native animals, such as the chuditch, are immune to 1080 which is a naturally occurring substance in certain plants.

Living in the agricultural areas, we are baiting for foxes. I cannot speak about wild dog (be they dingo or dingo/dog crosses) baiting or control in the pastoral areas.

AnswerID: 223035

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:50

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:50
Motherhen,

Native animals are not immune to 1080. It depends on the animal but there is a list somewhere ( I may have a copy) that indicates that dogs are top of the pile for susceptibilty, but it can affect roos, possums, birds etc, but to a much lesser degree. Meateaters are by far the worst affected. Its' something with the metabolism of carnivores and 1080 itself. Eagles are badly affected but these days they either live off road kill or hunt live wild animals. An eagle would have to be pretty desperate to pick a small 1080 bait. The main defense for native animals is the manner in which the bait is presented. i.e if the 1080 is on a piece of meat, a native herbivore such as a roo isn't likely to take it.

1080 is used to kill possums, but it's presented as impreganted into a cereal crop of some kind. Hence a dog wouldn't take it, but a possum would.

1080 is not an attractant in itself. It's the bait - meat or cereal etc, that's the attractant.

It does kill other animals, even humans - I believe there has been only one case of that though.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 483892

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:57

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:57
See Jacks link above for list of Species Susceptibilities...within which it states ..

The relative toxicity of 1080 to various animals is shown in table 1. Dogs and cats are highly susceptible. Next are all herbivores. Rats, wombats and man are less susceptible, while quolls, Tasmanian devils and nearly all birds have a high tolerance to 1080 poison.

FollowupID: 483894

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:17

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:17
Bilbo, without wanting to get fur and feather flying:

Many native animals in Western Australia have coevolved
with 1080-bearing plants and as a consequence, are often
quite tolerant to 1080: that is, they can generally eat some
plants or animals containing 1080 with little risk of being
poisoned.

Chuditchs are carnivorous, and strychnine which is poisonous to all and can go through the food chain is no longer used, in favour of 1080 for the above reason. This change has resulted in an increase in numbers of the previously endangered chuditch. Native animal numbers have increased because of reduction in numbers of feral predators since the 1080 baiting campaigns. This has got to be a big positive.

FollowupID: 483899

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:22

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:22
Mother,

You're quite correct. But to believe that native animals are totally immune to 1080, as some here believe, is incorrect. Native animals can die from 1080. It's just a question of how much they eat of it.

I'll see if I can find that list.

I see "Explorer" has provided some furher info also.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 223047

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:36

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:36
Mother and others,

Here's the list and a link to a good site. There are others but I've lost the links in
"My Favourites".

Site Link

Mainly about using 1080 for rabbit control: http://www.agric.wa.gov.au/pls/portal30/docs/FOLDER/IKMP/PW/VP/RAB/F08901.PDF

Shows a bit more about what you were saying, Mother about developing a tolerance

Site Link

For more info - a heap of it, Google = "1080 Western Australia"

Bilbo
AnswerID: 223051

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:44

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:44
Also,

If there's anyone on here that wants feral cats or dogs shot on farming property. I'd be willing to do it - especially the cats, I hate the buggers. I dislike killing things but I hate feral cats more,,,,,,,,,the next one wouldn't be the first,,,,,,,,,

I need the practice. I haven't used me gun for about 5 years!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 223053

Follow Up By: Rod W - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:28

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:28
Bilbo,

Did ya know that back in the 1800's the WA government of the day released cats into the wild to control rabbits... both flourished
FollowupID: 483950

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:40

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:40
Rod,

The current WA Government couldn't run a bath let alone a State,,,,,

Schools U/S, hospitals choked, police leaving the force in droves, crime gettingh worse, most highly taxed state in Australia, can't get a brass cracker out of Canberra, cardboard multinovas, corruption running rife,,,,,,,,,,,,,

So really nothings changed in 200 years has it?

Bilbo

AnswerID: 223110

Reply By: rest needed - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:10

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:10
Looks like i stirred up a bit of a hornets nest, definately a hot topic.

Thank you one and all for your comments and advice, it has given me a lot to think about and some ideas for keeping my dog safe.

Thank you for your time

Craig
AnswerID: 223116

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:26

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:26
Hi rest needed

As often happens, your thread did run a bit off track, so you probably had to wade through quite a bit to get any info on where and why (plenty of the why).

We had heard of caravaners who have lost their dogs when just making a doggy comfort stop at a parking bay (in other states). Although my husband misses his 'best friend' when travelling, and envies others we see travelling with dogs, we choose for several reasons to leave her at home with family.

Safe and happy travelling, with or without your doggy.

AnswerID: 223122

Follow Up By: rest needed - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:37

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:37
Hi Motherhen,

Yes indeed it is a difficult decission, but in the end we really have no choice we have no-one to dog sit for us, so i spose the only alternitive is to try a muzzle.

Craig
FollowupID: 483986

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 12:05

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 12:05
Craig, I'm your your pet will be safe if kept on a leash. We don't travel long trips with a dog, but she comes along on day trips. We generally keep her on a lead for comfort stops, and monitor he closely when she is sniffing the area.

Happy camping.

FollowupID: 483990

Reply By: ferris - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:42

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:42
Well, the 1080 debate has certainly gone round in circles with many varied opinions. I believe the government would like to ban it if they could, but 1080 is the lesser of two evils, and the safest, most effective method of controlling wild dogs. If it wasn't, some bureaucrat would have banned it for sure.

I don't know what the situation is in other states, but in Victoria, the baiting area is well signed and pink ribbons are placed within 10 metres of the bait.

Shooting and trapping wild dogs is not an easy task. A good shooter may get up to 20 foxes in a night, but wild dogs are far more cunning. Professional shooters and trappers, often only average one dog a day, and sometimes a good deal less. As for feral cats, they're almost impossible to destroy in the bush.

There is no nice way to kill an animal that looks good for the tv and chardonnay greenies. Wild dogs aren't to particular about how they kill a lamb either.
AnswerID: 223126

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:58

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:58
So true Ferris, I have been sickened to find a lamb or a kid with half its face eaten away and still alive, or an animal that has been run into a fence and become trapped, and eaten from the back end, while still alive. We hate foxes for what they do to our animals, but want them killed as quickly and painlessly as possible. They should not have been brought to Australia.

FollowupID: 483989