Cleaning Gerry Cans after full of water

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:26
ThreadID: 42537 Views:2725 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Hi everyone

We recently took the Spirit of Tassie over to Tassie for 3 weeks. I had to fill ensure that unleaded in one and diesel in another was removed and filled with water. Bugger.

I am now back on the mainland and want to refill them with the fuels for the rest of our trip.

It has been suggested that I need to:

- empty the water (done)
- rinse with metho as it will mix with any remaining water
- remove the metho
- allow the residual metho to evaporate
...then refill the gerry cans with the fuels.

Does this seem reasonable? Or is this unnecessary?

I want to do tomorrow, so any feedback would be appreciated.

Reply By: RosscoH - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:34

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:34
Hi Alan,
Just leave them upside down in the sun for a couple of hours, they will be plenty dry enough to refill.
Cheers RosscoH
AnswerID: 223023

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:44

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 21:44
Yep.....I'll 2nd that

FollowupID: 483859

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:03

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:03
Do not turn upside down - the vapour evaporates upwards (hot-warm air rises) and will stay in side. Just put in the sun right way up and they will dry out no worries....

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 483868

Reply By: Matt.D (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:08

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:08
As said above, leave in sun but I'd go filler hole up after they've had a good chance to drain. I've done this with a fuel tank also with no worries.

Cheers Matt.
AnswerID: 223032

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:25

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 22:25
Alan - I am sure the other guys are right, however being conservative and too fussy for my own good, I'd waste a couple of bucks worth of metho to be sure - there's a few nooks and crannies inside both steel & plastic jerries. FWIW.

Your hassles with "security" on the Spirit are a genuine nuisance and a cost to you, but can I tell of more funny experiences on the same trip.

Going south, the security bloke asked "Have you any sharp instruments?" Without thinking I said "No". I had completely forgotten the bread knife and the Stanley knife and the Swiss Army knife and the set of wood chisels in my tool box ... He did not follow up with obvious questions like"No bread knife?", so I decided not to modify my answer - and the ship did not sink.

Coming back i decided to be more open than that, but instead the question was "Any flammable liquids?" "Yes - a bottle of metho" "Put it in the disposal drum over there please sir." B*gg*r - wasted $2.75!

But knives are obviously not a problem heading north, nor metho heading south.
We are alert but not alarmed!! And the people who work on the wharf at Launceston never pay for their metho I'll bet!

AnswerID: 223038

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 08:42

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 08:42
if going camping in Tas...how does one get their camping gear over there...are gas bottles allowed to be taken across....how would you get on if you used a shellite as a fuel for stove and lights etc etc
FollowupID: 483943

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 08:52

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 08:52
They have a POL trailer that you put your bottles on and then pick them up on the other side. Don't know about the shellite though.
FollowupID: 483945

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:02

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:02
Gas bottles, unless bolted to a caravan, go in the trailer like John said. Throughout the trip, the trailer sits out on the rear of the vehicle deck in the open, away from everything but providing a concentrated source of fuel if it did go up! Anything else, if they remember to ask you, goes in the disposal bin.

You do need to read the TT Lines web site carefully for packing to go to Tassie - like SA they rip fruit and veges off you as leave the ship, for example.

Other camping gear is ok - I think the question about knives was silly, but again at worst knives, axes etc could be handed in for the trip. We didn't on either of our trips there.

The solution is easy - Devonport is big enough to have a couple of familiar supermarkets and lots of fruit and vege shops etc. Quite literally, you can be in the shops stocking up for the trip within an hour of the ship docking. You then have the rest of the day to drive to one of several desirable camping areas.

And - its worth the hassles! A trip to Tassie is great, mate!

Max
FollowupID: 483946

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:43

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 09:43
They have fruit detection dogs at the Devonport end too.

I wasn't too thrilled when the quarantine bloke wanted to look in the Waeco. It was empty and we had packed the Paj for the trip down to the inlaws, not for camping we planned a few days later so it was under a lot of other stuff.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 483952

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:13

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 11:13
Pete

That problem happens when you go into SA, WA and the funny diffuse area around the Murray /Murrumbidgee /Darling fruit growing areas called on maps the "Quarantine Zone". No one sets out the rules in one place, enforcement is intermittent and many a traveller has lost good fruit and veg, as well as having to unpack fridges that you are not using.

Its annoying until you have experienced them all and know what might happen.

And now your state of residence has come up with a new trick - they give you a card with a phone number on, and helpfully advise you to ring that number next time and they will tell you which fruit and veg you can bring in at the time.

The travel books should advise you take something else along on your trip - a Philadelphia Lawyer! Us - we take tinned fruit and veges. And keep the fridge accessible!

Quarantine is my little beef! And I am way off the thread sorry Alan.

Max

FollowupID: 483981

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 12:31

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 12:31
Ah yes the quarantine check points. I fondly remmeberr the NAZI I met one evening at the big tyre on the Milldura - Renmark road. I was in the work crummydore wagon packed solid to the back of the front seats with sound and cleaning equipment.

"Do you have any fruit and veg" she asks.

"Only an orange I dropped down the back in Adelaide last week" says I

Well ... 15 minutes later after unpacking the back I find said orange which is duly confiscated.

The she wanted to know exactly where and when I bought it, in considerable detail. 20 questins later I gave up trying to remember and made up the name and address of a fictional fruit shop in Adelaide.

All this time the traffic was building up behind me in the one lane line for cars and big semis were thundering through the truck lane without stopping.

Oh I feel like such a criminal - there was a second orange floating around there which I didn't tell her about.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 483993

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:25

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:25
When we went across, they were searching caravan fridges for alcohol drinks - not quite sure why.

AnswerID: 223048

Follow Up By: Auntie - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:05

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:05
When we arrived in Devonport, the car & van were searched again, as they were at Port Melbourne some 10 hours earlier ! I don't recall stopping anywhere in Bass Strait to have an opportunity to stock with contraband goodies.You'd reckon with those ships going back and forth across Bass Strait every day, they would have flattened a bit of it out by now!! It'd make the crossing much smoother!!
FollowupID: 484059

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:16

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:16
I think when leaving Melbourne, we were searched for petrol, alcoholic drinks, etc and on arrival for fruit and veges (no objections from me on that). Staff were polite at all times.

I really don't know the difference in the danger between a 20 litre jerry can and a car with a tank full of ULP, but we obliged and gave all our ULP away at the Melbourne CP. Everyone was running around trying to give away fuel, fruit and vegetables the night before leaving. Don't know about the searching the fridges for drinks bit - trying to protect the sales at the bar on the ferry? We didn't have any, so don't know if they confiscated it or what was happening. We didn't take our usual camp stove and small gas bottle this time, knowing that gas bottle would have to get special treatment. They wanted to know that the gas bottles fitted to the caravan were current - all we could argue was that they were the same age as the caravan.

FollowupID: 484064

Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 01:23

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 01:23
About time they declared Tassie as part of Australia and you wouldnt have all the customs problems!
Na, then again if they do that, bloody Mexicans will be allowed into the Territory without a Visa!
Even worse, theyll make Victoria a State!
But as for the fuel I would leave it upside down for an hour or so, put a litre of what ever fuel your going to use in it, in it, shake the craper out of it and fill it.
Youd get more water out of the bowser than you will out of your jerry.
AnswerID: 223071

Reply By: Auntie - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:08

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:08
When we arrived in Devonport, the car & van were searched again, as they were at Port Melbourne some 10 hours earlier ! I don't recall stopping anywhere in Bass Strait to have an opportunity to stock with contraband goodies.You'd reckon with those ships going back and forth across Bass Strait every day, they would have flattened a bit of it out by now!! It'd make the crossing much smoother!!
AnswerID: 223201

Reply By: kiwicol - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 18:20

Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 18:20
when we went over i had the trak shak camper on behind which carries 12 jerry cans all where empty and wasnt impressed about filling with water so asked at the ticket desk about this and was informed i didnt have to fill with water (so happy ) i had no problems taking alchol over as we met some chippies parked next to us in the street parking waiting to board 3 hours to fill in we got on the turps sitting next to our vehicles eskys full good time had by all got to first search no probs checked the fridge and esky took gas bottle didnt even worry about jerry cans, drove down wharf and back up next to ship in secure area was not impressed 2 hours later still there with cars lined up to end of wharf and low and behold no toilets in this area and nobody could get out really felt for the ladies as the blokes just peed beside their vehicle, and the dogs at other end are drug dogs diguised as fruit dogs, loved tassy but couldnt get over how exy every thing was everybody had their hand out. Col
AnswerID: 223597