4x4 Parts from Oz to Africa for my new Troopy

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:12
ThreadID: 42539 Views:3846 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
Hi guys, first post here!
Just bought myself new troopy in West Africa - HZJ78 n.a. 4.2. So many questions and no where else really apart from Australia to ask!!!
After fully kitting out a previous Defender, my only initial mods that I really want to do (i.e. usefull stuff) is transfer my compressor, get a full length roofrack, some really decent driving lights, maybe a floodlight off the back, a proper sound system and maybe a winch bar. Any other "essential" recommendations would be welcome?
Thought about aftermarket turbo and suspension (Land had OME) but decided just a waste of cash really right now. Anyone know of a good 4x4 specialist (not the ARB/TJM rip off "mega stores") that I could contact about high quality stuff to be shipped out to Ghana?

Thanks a lot !
Gil

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:39

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:39
what are you doing in Ghana Gil?
AnswerID: 223052

Reply By: gilghana - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:52

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 23:52
Hi Andrew, I am GM of a large timber company - but we are progressive (i.e. FSC controlled wood certified) and into all sorts of stuff from tourism to carvings to natural sweetner extraction. We run a fleet of 'cruisers and Nissans - my new troopy is to be my private expedition vehicle - have a Defender which me and the G/F love, but it has to go... amazing off road (diff locks and lifted etc) but as a serious trip tool I cannot be arsed with the unreliability issues. Although saying that we did one trip to Timbuctu which ended up with us leaving two girls on the Mali border with a 80 series L/C with a dropped valve and two girls to wait it out while we organised a replacement motor - Mali border to south Ghana in basically 24 hours with a busted turbo hose... Defender made it but had about 5 various breakdowns on that one...
Gil
AnswerID: 223056

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:57

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 00:57
gilghana
We have a great Member here in Oz called Willem and if he sees your post he will set you right ,He lived in South Africa, but I see you want high quality products, then I would surely recomend ARB Rhino Bars, [no Kangaroo's in Africa] so it has to ba a Rhino bar, If you want high quality then you must be prepared to pay, if not buy a lower quality that will break.

Doug

AnswerID: 223066

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:48

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:48
Ahem!!...... Doug

No idea mate. Have not had a call to ship stuff that way. And another thing. I left Africa in 1968....lol

And Ghana is about 4000km from South Africa, just in case you haven't noticed.

I am sure that he will be able to get some gear from South Africa as the cost from Aus would be prohibitive. And it would have to be airfreighted.

FollowupID: 484141

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 02:15

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 02:15
Personally I would ditch the high end audio system and put the money towards the suspension. There is so much noise happening in a troopy at the best of times that any sound system above the sh'box they come with is an overkill.

A sound system will not help your vehicles articulation when the worst comes to the worst.

Also noted that "tyres" were absent from your list.....
AnswerID: 223074

Reply By: gilghana - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 06:20

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 06:20
Cheers GaryInOz,
take your point about the suspension, but my thinking is the original Toyo set up is not bad out of the box - drove a 79 ute in the rainforest for a couple of years - my only real issue was with leaf springs protruding well below the axle - certainly clearance/articulation was nothing like a Defender with 2" OME lift and big tyres, but okay for expedition use I reckon it will do (for now!). The tyres I am a bit spoilt for choice - Troopies here come with a Dunlop copy of Michelin 'XS' Desert tyre on split rims. Not too much a fan of the tyre for general use (which includes mud/little bit asphalt/lots of gravel roads) so these will be changed sharpish. I then have the tantilising choices of Std 105 series steel wheels, GX steel wheels, Goodyear 265 ATs, 265 BF Goodridge MT, 235 road grippers - all 'cause we have a fleet of 105 cruisers and a few years wheel swaps and a big tyre store! Of course I guess there is a lot to be said for the 235s on the standard splits! (even have seen a set of 40mm rim spacers knocking around in the store...) Stereo - well my own feeling is that if noises are kept under control then it has to be done. Of course lockers would be pretty high on my wish list... Here you can't get factory ones so ARB would be probly innevitable at some point.
Cheers, Gil
AnswerID: 223081

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 07:45

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 07:45
HI Gil,

The big killer on getting stuff there is as always the freight unless of course you have stuff shipped there all the time with your work. Bottom line is with the major accessory manufacturers you at least know what you are getting. It is a lot of money to part with and then months later possibly when you get it it is not what you thought.

DAvid
AnswerID: 223083

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 08:49

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 08:49
Have you tried Northern Off road equipment :

5 Susan Street, Strydom Park, Randburg, Gauteng
Contact details
Telephone: 011 791 1611
Fax: 011 792 9395
Email: northernoffroad@intekom.co.za
AnswerID: 223090

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:35

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 10:35
Maybe a bonnet mounted LMG might be a good idea in Africa .

Willie
AnswerID: 223106

Follow Up By: gilghana - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:17

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:17
Willie - if you check the news you will see the loonies in Somalia / Sudan: weapon of choice : a .50 Calibre machine gun bolted to the floor of a 79 or 75 ute!! they reckon the hilux is just too soft, the Defender breaks down and they probably are not too bothered by IFS and airbags :-)
Gil
FollowupID: 484128

Reply By: Dustin - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 17:00

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 17:00
Hi Gil,

Talk to these guys: www.4wdservice.com.au

32 Alexander Avenue
TAREN POINT NSW 2229
CONTACT
Phone: +61 02 9526 1881
Fax +61 2 9540 2745

I forget the guys name, but I used to get my cruiser servcied here when I lived in Sydney, one time when I was there he was organising for parts to be sent to Africa for an existing customer on tour.
He can supply all Toyota parts and also all the extra's you could want and his prices were cheaper than dealing with Toyota / ARB / TJM directly.

AnswerID: 223193

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:47

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:47
Pretty sure it changed hands not too long ago !

Glenn.
FollowupID: 484069

Reply By: gilghana - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:18

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:18
Thanks for the advice guys - I will get in touch with your recommendations,
Gil
AnswerID: 223268