Fishing with an Engel

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:10
ThreadID: 42558 Views:4032 Replies:12 FollowUps:13
We have a Prado, caravan, tinny and little bulldog folding trailer.

I've just bought an Engel fridge/freezer and it will travel in the back of the Prado and it will spend most of it's time while we are away set on freeze with my fish in it.

A typical day's fishing is take the tinny to the boat ramp and leave the Prado at the ramp for 4-6 hours while I'm out fishing. But what do people do with their fridges while they are out fishing?

Do I take it out of the Prado and leave it connected to the mains at the caravan every time I go fishing?

I presume leaving the Engel set on freeze for 6 hours in the Prado flatten the battery.

Do people run a second battery just to run the freezer while they are away from the vehicle?

Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:26

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:26
Prob flatten battery, 6hrs on freeze you really need to be looking at a dual battery setup.

Also is engel only for freezing the fish? Whilst they are great freezers, it will take it longer than your home freezer to freeze a load of fish, which is fine if only fish in there.

if you have other frozen stuff in there and introduce 'warm' fish, it will tend to defrost your other stuff a bit before it catches up.

i have an engel and its great, but its definetly better at keeping frozen than freezing, especially large loads.

Also when you put a few fish in to freeze, its gonna run flat chat without cutting out for a few hours.

Might be inconvenient, but I'd be leaving it on 240 till you get a dual battery system.

Ron
AnswerID: 223168

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:30

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:30
If the fridge has been 'drawn down' to temperature, and it's not gonna be opened- pack some insulation around it (like a pillow)- keep it out of the direct sun & I'm sure 6 hours wouldn't be a problem.
AnswerID: 223169

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:46

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:46
A couple of points here Steve.
If you are keeping that many fish and you are out on the water for 4 to 6 hours, you need to carry an esky and ice to put the fish in when caught. That is too long for fish to be left out of cooling.

To run a fridge on freeze and be away from 240 V power for even moderate periods, I'd recommend a dual battery system. In an ideal situation, you might get away without it, but the real world is not ideal. If your Engel is a newer 40 litre model, Engel says they draw 2.5 Amps. Set on freeze during the day I reckon you have to base any calculations on the basis that the Engel will run full time (ie worst case). 6 hours x 2.5 Amps is 15 AH. If your vehicle battery is in excellent condition and always fully charged at the start of the 6 hour period, might be OK. But if you spend a couple more hours on the water, the battery is not fully charged or is a couple of years old, you might not be.

You could buy a cheap low voltage cut out. But while that might stop your battery from going flat, the Engel might cut out and get hot as a result.

In short, I'd be leaving the fridge connected to 240V or getting a dual battery system. I reckon for people with a fridge who camp more than a few times a year for a couple of days at a time, a dual battery system with good deep cycle battery is right up there in terms of priority.

I now carry two fridges. One a 70 litre combination fridge and freezer and the other a 40 litre Engel. I also have 330 AH of deep cycle battery power (all AGM) split between the vehicle and camper trailer and another 60 AH that I use to run the electric motor on the tinnie. You don't need that much, but we rarely have access to 240 V where we like to camp and fish.

By the way, we rarely keep more than a few fillets for the freezer. If we can't eat it today or tommorrow, we let it go. We just love the fishing. My wife caught her first ever barra (865mm) a couple of weeks ago. She reckons the thrill of letting it go was almost as good as the feeling of catching it. But that's just us. Pic of her with her barra in my rig profile.
AnswerID: 223172

Follow Up By: tricatic - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 17:50

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 17:50
It's a 40 litre model and it will be used to freeze burley, ice blocks for the esky on the boat and the fillets of some of the fish that we get over a 6 to 8 week trip to take home. I do release a lot of the fish that I catch, see here. We don't keep a lot of fish as there is only the two of us and we try not to keep fish in the freezer for more than 3 months.

FollowupID: 484052

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:52

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 14:52
We have taken an Engel as a camping fridge, then we we got fish, cranked it down to freeze to bring the catch home - BUT we chose to go to CP's with powered sites to keep the catch well frozen on the trip back. If you want to send a good catch home from a key fishing spot, you can use commercial freezer transport and storage.

With our present arrangement, the Engel runs off the aux battery in the Patrol, and stays on when the car is turned off. I haven't used it to bring fish home though; just as a fridge.

AnswerID: 223173

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:40

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:40
Like Norm I have two fridges, both 50 weacos and run one as a freezer. My setup runs of a second 75 amp AGM battery which I keep charged from either the car or from power. I find that I can park this way for a good period of time (not sure how long exactly) by having the car as cool as possible and having some frozer stuff in the freezer. We parked for a morning at Kakadu this way without a problem. I had a thermostat sitting on the top of the freezer to show me that it was always around -10 or thereabouts.

Our goal was to not have to move the fridge or freezer when travelling - too heavy.

AnswerID: 223183

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:58

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 15:58
Geez 2 x 50 fridges on a 75ah battery and one running as a freezer, surely thats a big ask?

You'd really need to be on 240v every night, I guess thats what you do, and just rely on battery for a few hrs here and there?

Interested as always..... nothing more,

Rgds

Ron

FollowupID: 484020

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:04

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:04
G'day Ron,

I know it defies conventional wisdoms but we figured we would be either driving, in a van park on power or camping remote with the genie. We only ever run the genie till 9 or 10 and switch it on in the morning some time. Certainly worked as planned, we could park at shopping centres, pubs for lunch and even more extended times for tours etc and we were not caught short for 3 months in the tropics.

FollowupID: 484022

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:12

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:12
If it works for you thats all that matters.

(Think on what a solar panel would do for you though, since I got mine I wonder how I ever camped without it.)

like I said, always very interested in how others run their particular setup.

Ron
FollowupID: 484023

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:13

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:13
PS Ron, I have a voltmeter and an amp meter and monitor the situation. I know in one instance I did get close to 10.5 V but I never once had an error code on the fridges. Also watching the drain I rarely saw the fridges operating at 8 amps combined.

FollowupID: 484024

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:19

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:19
It is very interesting. We are planning our next trip 4 vehicles camping remote for say 2 weeks. Three of us have gennies but we will try running just one for the lot. We all have fridges, chargers, second batteries will be interesting to see how much the Honda 20i will need to work. decided some time ago that the gennie option was for me for now.

FollowupID: 484028

Reply By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:00

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:00
I suppose if we look at this logically we would
1. Be arriving at the boat ramp in the morning with an engel containing frozen fish or whatever.
2. Being thermally quite efficient, if left all day with frozen contents and well covered from direct sunlight apart from ventilation needs for motor etc, the fridge would not be running continuously as some have inferred.
3. If power is a problem simply use a spare battery in the back of the Prado for day time power and recharge each night back at the campsite when mains becomes available.

KISS principal applies

As a general rule when using a fridge in this manner it is good advice to start the week off with prefrozen contents eg frozen water bottles and prefreeze the fridge at home before you set out. By removing the frozen water as the fish piles up, the prefrozen contents of the fridge will bring the fish down to temp a lot quicker than if thrown into an empty fridge set on freeze.
AnswerID: 223187

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:13

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:13
Onya John- keep it simple.!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 484025

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:16

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:16
Signman,
Perhaps I should have mentioned that the frozen water bottles coming out of the fridge can be used to keep the beer cold
FollowupID: 484027

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:20

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:20
"3. If power is a problem simply use a spare battery in the back of the Prado for day time power and recharge each night back at the campsite when mains becomes available"

which is what a dual battery system does, except you dont need to keep charging it up, vehicle does it automatically.

Ron
FollowupID: 484029

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:34

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 16:34
And Ron that would be if you have the readies to buy the dual set up in the first place at between $500-1000 and more importantly if the boat ramp is far enough away from the caravan park to actually get a charge back into the battery during the duration of the drive??????????????
FollowupID: 484031

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:23

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:23
John,

I bought my entire system from Derek at ABR on here for under $300 excl battery which I had.

That was fit myself, but its really only running a few cables nothing high tech.

I was quoted rogue prices like that too from major outlets, it can be done very affordably if your willing to get your hands dirty.

Your point about the time of driving is valid, but it will still charge up fairly quickly, I can hear my relay flick over once its charged and usually doesnt take a great drive unless really depleted.

I wasnt havin a go.....just pointing out that it was the same principle as your spare battery and charge it up, just less trouble.

Rgds

Ron
FollowupID: 484078

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:31

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 20:31
I'm with you on the prices Ron and am constantly amazed what people will pay to achieve isolation of the power supply. I'm sure there are lots of highly technical arguments regarding smart chargers etc but have been offroading for forty years the old manual way and never been let down yet. I similarly installed mine with the bruised knuckles etc etc and because I'm a bit old fashioned still run a Cole-Hershe type switch.

That way when I go to sleep at night, I can rest content that the batteries really are isolated one from the other.
FollowupID: 484083

Reply By: tricatic - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:06

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:06
Thanks for all the great advice.

After reading all this I've just realised that the boat ramps are never far enough away to recharge the vehicle batteries, and we are often in one place for weeks at a time without doing much driving.

So the KISS approach makes a lot of sense—run off a separate battery while at the ramp and recharge it at night. And it will be easier to recharge a spare battery in the back of the vehicle than to keep disconnecting the main battery under the bonnet.

Also unlike a lot of 4WD's the Prado doesn't look like it has enough room under the bonnet for a second battery.

AnswerID: 223200

Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:10

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 18:10
Id suggest that your fridge sitting in a hot car for 4-6hrs will suck the guts out of any duel or auxillary battery and also not a good security option!! Everyone knows that cars at boatramps are an easy target....most owners are out in their boats...hrs away.

I would be leaving it at the van park on 240V and enjoying the fishing without stress that your fridge will still be there and your Prado will start.

Enjoy!

AnswerID: 223202

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:01

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:01
Sounds like you have a solution Steve. Your web site has you with the porta bote. Your initial post here says a tinne and fold up trailer. Do you now have both or have you changed over to the tinnie?

As you can see from my rig profile, we travel with a 12 ft tinnie, 15 HP outboard and fold up trailer. Also carry a 40lb elec motor. We looked at the Porta Botes and I went crabbing in one at Darwin with a bloke I met up there (he had the boat, I had the crab pots - a natural union).

We went with the tinnie mainly since we will do a lot of travel in the top end. A tinnie is bad enough up there amoungst the crocs. A Porta bote is may well be OK, but I don't think I'd get Kathryn into one with crocs around. Getting her in the tinnie is hard enough!

AnswerID: 223210

Follow Up By: tricatic - Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 00:03

Thursday, Feb 22, 2007 at 00:03
Norm C

Last March I bought the 12' Porta-bote and fitted it with a 5 HP outboard.

In October I had some structural problems with the porta-bote that were eventually fixed by the manufacturer under the warranty.

I have been exchanging correspondence with a number of other Porta-bote owners who have also experienced similar problems with their Porta-botes. I lost confidence in the Porta-bote and became very concerned about it's long term viability and reliability and I decided to sell it.

Before I could sell the Porta-bote I had to wait for the warranty items to arrive from the USA and while I was waiting I bought the 12' tinny, 15HP outboard and folding trailer.

At the moment I have two new dinghies :-)

The polypropylene hull of the Porta-bote is very robust and is ideal for my style of fishing in the Murray. I troll very close to the bank or snags and the Porta-Bote's plastic hull just bounces off snags, or slides over them without damage. It's also perfect for sliding off the bank in remote spots where there are no boat ramps.

It only costs me $67 a year to register the Porta-bote so I may yet decided to hang on to it for when I fish the Murray and keep the tinny—which is much more seaworthy—for when I'm fishing in the sea.

The Porta-bote hull cost me $3,000 and I think I would be lucky to get $1,000 for it if I sold tomorrow. Rather than take that sort of loss it may make more sense for me to hang on to it.

FollowupID: 484161

Reply By: tonysmc - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:26

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:26
Something that hasn't been mentioned is the fact that a nice engel sitting in the back of a car would be the perfect target for scumbags to break into the car. I have been broken into a number of times and have never left a thing inside. I even use to leave the glovebox open so they could see there was nothing inside, but they would still smash a window. Now I just leave the car unlocked. Leave the engel back at the park!

cheers Tony
AnswerID: 223215

Reply By: time waster - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:32

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 19:32
And also with the engel once the fridge is frozen you can drop the dial back to 4 so the fridge will cycle using less power
AnswerID: 223218

Reply By: The Bigfella - Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:07

Wednesday, Feb 21, 2007 at 22:07
My sick sense of humour - I would fish with a rod and line as an Engel would be very hard to cast out in to the water. I would then use the Engel to keep the fish in.
Sorry but when I read the heading I had a mental picture of "Fishing with an Engel"
The Bigfella
AnswerID: 223264