Submitted: Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 08:32
Wayne-o
The 3" system from
BeauDesert exhaust arrive yesterday afternoon, all boxed up nicely and with every piece needed, gaskets etc. Got here in under a week, thats QLD to
Karratha WA, not bad i reckon.
Thought i'd put it on quickly before dinner last night....then i discovered the fantastic Nissan engineering! Man those bolts on the dump pipe are hard to get to....but once it was off, the new one went on quite easily.....note....really good spanners are worth every penny!!!
Well i finished up at one this morning....6hrs later, but was it worth it??? $1000+ & hours of work?? Absolutely....it's the best mod iv'e done to the truck and they really come out of their skin....or should i say LEAP!! Heaps of power on tap, turbo boosts higher and for longer, and no more back and forward through the cogs all the time....even up the hills!
It has a nice note...not loud, but intoxicatingly truck-like, and sounds nice with the loud pedal hanging around on the floor....but quiet in the cruise, which is good.
I could never hear my turbo before, but now....a sense erousing whistle leaks out from under the hood! Sounds fantastic!
All in all...the verdict....Worth every cent and i think is a must for anyone with this old but extremely capable donk....(just need to let it out of it's shell)
Cheers, off the land of ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
Wayne-o
Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 08:38
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 08:38
I LOVE my 3" BD, too! Good on ya Wayne.
Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 11:14
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 11:14
G'day Wayne-o
Glad you like the extra "omph" that the 3" and dump gives the old girls - I had
mine done here locally in
Tamworth NSW late last year and yes it makes a huge difference. Like you have found - lots less gear changing and that meaningful exhaust note too.
Enjoy the "new" 4.2TDi
JohnT
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Fleggy - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 12:02
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 12:02
Way to go Wayne-o! I had
mine (3" Genie & new dump pipe) done last week as I mentioned in a previous post of yours but was going to wait until after my trip to
Bremer Bay next weekend before getting back to you with my thoughts; but what the hell - I've noticed the improvement already too!! Particularly the turbo whistle. I couldn't here the turbo at ALL prior to the fit-out, but NOW... oooooh yeah, it's a sweet sound indeed!
I'm with Wayne-o, Craig D and John T on this one - if you can do it, get it done!
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 12:14
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 12:14
my only suggestion would be pay someone to install, or dont do it if you have to start at 5 the next morning for work!! ha ha.....with you on the whistle....gotta love the sound....must be boosting more...might put a gauge on tonight and see!! your thoughts?
Follow Up By: Fleggy - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 00:06
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 00:06
Heh, I wasn't sure what you meant by 'gauge' until I stumbled upon your post about the waste
gate being stuck! And now that I have read it, yeah it does sound like a good idea. I'd be very interested to hear how you go with it. I forgot to ask my mechanic this week if they could check what boost my turbo was running while it was in for a service and fitment of shocks/springs. Bugger.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 12:48
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 12:48
last time i checked it was 9psi and now just under 12 psi
Reply By: Shawn - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 13:01
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 13:01
It is definitely worth the skin off the knuckles, Hey.
Shawn
Reply By: Robin - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 13:10
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 13:10
Calm down Wayne
If you had of got the petrol 4800 GU you would have got the power and
still be able to hear the wildlife.
Added bonus is you get to see the cute chick who takes your money
at the servo more often to!
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 13:14
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 13:14
i agree, all that power will be nice, fuel consumption not so nice. But in my opinion, i love the TD engines....there just a little more truck like i reckon...ha....beside i can go fast and use heaps of fuel in territory turbo! ha
Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 14:21
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 14:21
Dam
Turbo Territory wins with the check out chicks
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 15:20
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 15:20
ha ha ha
Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 14:36
Friday, Feb 23, 2007 at 14:36
Wayne,
It would be helpful to
forum readers if you told us what you REALLY feel about it rather than beating around the bush ;-)
Glad you like it.
Reply By: mattie - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 15:52
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 15:52
does it have a similar effect on the 3l
MATTIE
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:43
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:43
Mate of a mates 3rd cousins wife's 4th husbands brother had the 3inch system put onto his 3lt Nissan and the effect was that it still blew up at 99,998.9klm ,was a series 1 but , LOL ,
Reply By: mattie - Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:49
Saturday, Feb 24, 2007 at 19:49
i like your cents of humor!!!!
MATTIE