Nissan 4.2 TD GU 3" inch Exhaust

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 11:56
ThreadID: 42672 Views:7922 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Can anyone who have had a 3" exhaust fitted an a new larger header to there Patrol 4.2 td GU I would like some feedback as to the amount of increased performance and is it worth doing. I am using mine to tow a 20ft van and I am not sure if its worth $1200 or not.Any info from owners who have this would be great to hear from you.Mine has 115,000k on the clock.
djpatrol
Back Expand Un-Read 0

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:15

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:15
$1200 sounds expensive, I know of one place here in Brissy selling it all for under $900. Last check was $670 for pipe alone but that was some time ago.

It is well worth the money if you get it for the right price.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 223837

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 14:02

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 14:02
Hi trevor was that price for the kit alone, or was it fitted cost.
djpatrol
FollowupID: 484712

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 15:47

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 15:47
Tep fitted exhaust only (no dump pipe) at Rob Bliss Exhaust in Geebung, but as I said it is nearly 2yrs ago so it may be a little dearer now ????

Trevor.
FollowupID: 484730

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:04

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:04
Thanks for that this kit is fully fitted with dump pipe so sounds it might be on target allthough I know that he has been pricy in the past but he makes his dump pipes.Also is well respected around and I know he supplies a lot around Aussie.
FollowupID: 484745

Follow Up By: madcow - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 07:54

Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 07:54
Crikey!! Mine cost $700.00 with the dump pipe and yes it's worth doing the lot. I need to get the rig dyno'd to get the most out of it.
FollowupID: 484836

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:22

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 12:22
Moggs just spent a little more than that and reckons its worth EVERY penny

AnswerID: 223839

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 15:56

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 15:56
dj P, I fitted a Beaudesert 3" system to mine over a year ago. You are talking the 4.2 td, but you talk header too I see. I presume you are talking about the dump pipe that comes out of the turbo?

I thought the best way to test any improvement was to test the 0-100kph and bearing in mind the weight I was carrying I still think is was a good way. The improvement was 16% off the time only two hours after the first test. The improved time is in the ball park of where Moggs was told I understand for the exhaust alone.

Make sure you fit the dump pipe as that is very restrictive on the 4.2 TD. I measured mine at 1.7" internal and it is hanging on the wall outside if you want to see pics.
AnswerID: 223875

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:08

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 17:08
John R
Yep full kit dump pipe included at $1200 fitted.
FollowupID: 484746

Reply By: Shawn - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 16:23

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 16:23
Worth every cent, it will be the cheapest and fastest improvement you do.
Do a search on here there id heaps on this discussion.
Shawn
AnswerID: 223881

Follow Up By: Shawn - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 16:24

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 16:24
Bloody spell checker.
"there is heaps"
FollowupID: 484737

Reply By: Fleggy - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 18:01

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 18:01
G'day djpatrol, I had a Genie 3" - including dump pipe - system fitted last week for $1200. I'm sure if I shopped around I might have saved a couple hundred (maybe more?) but this place was recommended to me by my mechanic so I didn't bat an eyelid. Worth every cent.

Fleggy
AnswerID: 223898

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 20:05

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 20:05
G'day dj Patrol

I had my 2005 engine done late last year - 3" pipe and a new dump. Came with a engine dyno and tune for about $1200.00. Worth every cent mate. An extra 1/2 a gear at least

John T
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 223925

Reply By: Moggs - Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 20:19

Sunday, Feb 25, 2007 at 20:19
Had my TD42 done by ATOC in Melbourne 2 weeks ago - absolutely wrapped with it.

They installed the Beaudesert 3 inch exhaust and dump pipe, boost controller valve, Thermoguard digital EGT, closed the turbo pipe cross-over blow off valve and did a tune (boost and fuel). Cost about $1,750 in total, including about 6 hours labour. Exhaust and dump pipe by itself was just shy of 1k, EGT was $265, boost control valve $125 odd, the rest of the cost labour.

I reckon you will get a good result just doing the dump and exhaust, but it is also worth getting the boost and fuel adjusted to make the most of the new exhaust. Mine now runs boost at 15 and has the fuel set at medium boost. Apparently on the Series 1 4.2's the pump can only be set at low / medium / high boost.

As for the EGT gauge, I am towing a camper and it was recommended to get it installed if towing. Not sure it would be necessary if you were not pulling a large trailer. If I give it a bet of right foot the EGT gets to high 300's - can't seem to get it much higher than 400.

The Patrol now runs brilliant. ATOC reckoned it was between a 25% and 30% increase - and I have no reason to doubt it. It is without a doubt the best thing I have done to the Patrol. The only thing now is to get used to the turbo whistle, but I can live with that :-)
AnswerID: 223928

Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 09:53

Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 09:53
hey moggs,
when you say the pump can only be set low med high boost, are you referring to the turbo or fuel pump...is this the same for GU3?? can i adjust it?
FollowupID: 484854

Follow Up By: pprass - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 17:18

Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 17:18
Moggs - is that ATOC Auto Repairs in Belgrave South?

Is the aim of this modification to get more power with the same fuel usage?

I had a 2.5"(?) system installed in my old GQ and apart from sounding like a sweet V8, it improved the fuel economy by just over 10%.

Has the note on your GU changed?
FollowupID: 484953

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:09

Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:09
Hey Wayne-o,

I was referring to the fuel pump on a series 1 TD42T. Not sure if it is applicable to a GU3.

pprass,

Yes, ATOC at Belgrave South. Aaron knows his stuff and is happy to spend time discussing different options and what you want out of your Patrol.

The note on the GU is a bit deeper, but not noticeably louder. There is however a definite turbo whistle now. My aim was to get more power, mainly for towing. Not sure re: fuel usage yet as I haven't done enough kms to compare. I'll be doing a run to Sydney and back early next month so I'll know then. Aaron reckons I'll get the same fuel figures if I drive it the way I used to. As the power is there now it is tempting to use a bit more boot, so maybe the fuel usage will go up a bit lol!
FollowupID: 485007

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:14

Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:14
Buy the beaudesert Dump, as most places will charge you a bucket of $ to make it, and then shop round for the rest of the system, you will save $100's... my 3inch system is $500 + $200 for BD Dump.

Is it worth it - the Dyno next to AWILL4X4's work got 10kw with just a dump and exhaust, no pump work. with pump work too, you can gain 30% on original.

if you really want power, go with a ballbearing turbo setup, which is round $5000 all up, then flog your stock system for round $1500 to recoup some of it. You can get up to 200kw at the wheels with that setup.
AnswerID: 224151

Follow Up By: pprass - Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:52

Monday, Feb 26, 2007 at 20:52
"You can get up to 200kw at the wheels with that setup."
You probably can, but does that include the cost of upgrading the clutch and brakes?

I called this guy who advertised in the Nissan 4X4 club magazine for a computer chip, but I found that it costs a lot more than just the chip to get the extra power. You then need to upgrade your clutch and some other parts that I forget now. a $1400 chip ends up costing $2,600! Still I was very tempted.
FollowupID: 485021