Member - Davoe (Nullagine)
I have not been that happy where i am working. mostly the
camp conditions and -
well there are quite a few reasons.
any way I have scored a job for about the same money on one of Australias biggest gold mines.
So How do i pull the pin. I was thinking of doing it the same way as last time where I basically said as per my contract i am giving 4 weeks notice and will finish on this day.
I reeeely dont want to be asked questions which i will so should i just tell them straight out i wont be discussing it and just assure them it isnt personal?
Always the most arkward part of starting a new job
Reply By: kangas - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:37
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:37
You dont have to tell them why you leave, but just tell them better pay and conditions is the main reason if they insist.
Reply By: Grizzle - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:43
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:43
Sounds like you know how to do it. Make sure you put it in writing but don't put reasons in your letter. Just put in the facts of your notice. It's not worth discussing your reasons if you are leaving. Just verbally thank them for the work and move on. You never know when either you may need to go back, or you bump into someone from there at another job.
Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:48
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:48
I agree with leaving in good terms, anyone can start a new job with good relations, but the really good people can also leave a job in the same way.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:52
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:52
itll be by email the contract says in writing so that will do. Boss currently is in
sydney.
i am reeeely worried they will make me a better offer. they are already talking about substantial share options if i am there a year (10 months so far)
i really dont want to stay as i took the job in the first place for the money and regretted it. Buuuut unfortunatly for me money does talk. i would relaly like to live in a
camp with tv, gym, pool and ensuite dunny etc not to mention the sort of food big campsput on
Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:04
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:04
I agree with what others have written re leaving on good terms. You don't have to put your reasons in writing.
Most companies do exit interviews these days. Usually a pro-forma by the HR person. I'd just be diplomatic about it and if it means better T&C's, say so.
Enjoy your new job Davoe!!
Reply By: Craigww2 - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:45
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:45
I have just resigned from my job, never easy. I just handed a letter to my employer stating the I am resigning from my current position and my last day will be ................ unless otherwise advised.
When asked why I said that I was moving into a position that would enable my family to have a better quality of life.
Then the subject was dropped.
Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:50
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:50
Give the 4 weeks notice and if asked, just be honest.
What they do with what you tell them is up to them then.
If they don't like what you tell them they might just tell you to finish up straight away and then they have to pay you in lieu of the 4 weeks notice.
Then ya can go 4wding for 4 weeks.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:54
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:54
nuh dont want to start on why i am unhappy there i may not stop. i would just rather say im not saying
Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:58
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 16:58
you can alaways do what one of my mechanics (and swmbo's brother i might add) did to me ...
ring up and give notice.....i felt like punching the cowards lights out....
any how as some one says above....better pay (make it high..very high in case they make counter offer) and conditions...much better conditions such as more a/l per year.....better to work smarter than harder
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:04
more importantly i am hoping to get my SHMBO work on the same site so i wont have to make like a preist for 2 weeks pluss at a time
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:36
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:36
oh for goodness sake Davoe, sex aint verything....
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:47
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:47
Yes it is!!!!
Maybe it been so long you have forgotton what it like??? lol
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:47
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:47
Yes it is!!!!
Maybe it been so long you have forgotton what it's like??? lol
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:55
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:55
No 1
John's got the hickup's
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 00:15
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 00:15
Richard just making sure he got the point...:-)
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 07:42
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 07:42
i get the point but do they ?
Follow Up By: whyallacookie - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:47
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:47
Davoe Your obviously not married 2 WEEKS! You poor poor thing.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:52
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:52
>oh for goodness sake Davoe, sex aint verything....
as an apprentice butcher my boss drummed it into me that one you miss out on is one you never catch up on........................
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:59
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:59
Its alright Davoe I understand where you're coming from.
Its all these old married types that don't follow. :-)
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:59
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:59
yes too true Davoe
but no need to make a pig of yourself
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 17:00
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 17:00
when he gets hitched he'll soon find out what were' talking about
Reply By: Grizzle - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:04
It sounds as if you have some loyalty to your employers. Is it too late to discuss your concerns with them and maybe get your conditions improved? That may not be possible but if you want to tell them things it should be before you resign. That will give them an opportunity to address the situation. If things don't change then resign and move on with absolutely minimum fuss.
Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:44
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:44
I agree with what G has to say on this.
There are far too many of us who simply turn our back and walk away when it gets a bit hard. Not saying that this place is Nirvana, but as an employee who seems to be battling with his conscience you will gain a lot more respect from the employer if you are up front and honest and you will also feel better within yourself. You don't have to get cross - just tell it how it is.
You say your boss is in
Sydney, he may not realise the long term depressing state of things at the
camp but either way if he is informed he at least he has the opportunity to fix it.
Having employed heaps over the years, I always thought more of the staff who moved on for personal gain or whatever reason when they could be honest about their reason for leaving, even if it didn't sit
well with me. Those that just shrugged their shoulders and looked at their feet whilst bidding farewell left me with a pretty poor perception of the individual and wonders of where I went wrong
My two bobs worth
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:34
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:34
Whe I left 4 out of my last 5 jobs I told the boss in person each time and then followed it up with a letter.
I mostly didn't state my reasons in the letter but did discuss them with the boss.
The 5th time I had a flaming row with the managing director, picked up my brew mug and walked out the door. I faxed my resignation in an hour later effective that afternoon. It cost me 2 weeks pay for not giving notice but it was worth more than that to me not to go back inside. The funny thing is we are still good mates and go camping together with our wives, we just couldn't get on at work.
Pete
Reply By: kimprado - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:49
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 17:49
Davoe
If your a
young fella, go and do it. Life is too short to be unhappy.
Kim
Reply By: Member - Raymond S (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:37
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:37
Daveo just do it, why be unhappy this impacts on your whole life & as said life is to short as none of us know what tomorrow will bring. As a paramedic of 30 years it has become very clear this is not a practice run this is reality so make the best of it & do the thing you choose. Be up front & don't let people sway your decision with money, try to leave on good terms don't burn your bridges as you may need to cross past bridges again some where in life.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:40
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:40
DONE!!
As per my contract I am providing 4 weeks notice of my departure with my final day being the 27th/3/06
Yours Sincerely
xxxxxxxxxxx
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:41
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 18:41
urrr lucky i hadnt quite sent it yet should read
As per my contract I am providing 4 weeks notice of my departure with my final day being the 27th/3/07
Yours Sincerely
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 19:24
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 19:24
Gee Davoe , that was short and sweet . Maybe you could have said thanks for everything etc even if you don't mean it .
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:00
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:00
Yes, Davoe. I think you have no real need to spell out the contract provisions. Just write a careful letter and make sure you are relaxed in what you are saying and when you present it.
You can tell a few porkies, like that you enjoyed working there and how good the relationship was. But be relaxed when you present it to them so you won't get angry at an unprofessional comment that may come from them. Just keep your cool mate, you never know their reference could be good for the next job or you may want to get on with them again. Leave on good terms.
They know they are going to probably have a difficulty finding a replacement, there just aren't enough people in
Australia prepared to work, there or many
places. They want 'clean' jobs these days. You are showing you are going through with your contract and that is the important thing. Have some more fun.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 20:42
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 20:42
Sound like you copped a dose of the dreaded 'samplers complaint'. It happens. I'd still give the boss a call and talk it through with him just out of courtesy. I try to never slam a door behind me as they say.
Out of ineterest how long were you out in the field for each shift? From experience the longest you can expect good production and morale from a crew living on the land is about 4 weeks. After that it all starts going downhill and tempers fray.
Aircon, good food, a shower and a dunny becomes essential after a while.
Where are you off to?
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 20:54
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 20:54
nahhhhhh nothing like that - that would havwe been cool. we work out of an old mine site with basic facilitys. if your gonna camp then camp, if your gonna live in civilisation then i want it to be civilised. Got quite a few issues but basically i want more challanging work (mentally not physically) and a camp with at least some mod cons ------ Like cold water in summer, water you can drink, a swimming pool, gym etc etc oh yea and not getting yelled and sworn at would be a bonus
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:22
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 22:22
I hear ya man. Living like a dog in summer can get real boring. I spent a summer up near the Coongan River crossing with a heap of dero's on a road construction job.
That yelling crap is not on either. You've made the right decision.
If you're keen to learn and get all the tickets you can be on huge bucks real quick. A good mate of mine is involved in electrical contracting for minsites and pulls in obscene amounts of dough these days.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 17:04
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 17:04
"Like cold water in summer, water you can drink, a swimming pool, gym etc etc"
you need a job with howard/rudd
Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:14
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:14
Hi Davoe - if you haven't already sent the resignation, of course keep it polite an formal, and say that you have accepted a position with another company which better suits your career advancement goals as well as your personal circumstances. Thank them for the time you have been with them. Have to keep them happy because you never know when you will need them to be a referee.
Do keep us informed as to where you are working and what you will be doing when you make the move. Good luck with the change - i hope it works out really well for you.
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:39
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 21:39
Give them 4 weeks notice and take the last three weeks off sick.
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:50
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:50
Brew,
You're a naughty person. We've already discussed the ethics of this in another thread,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
;)
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 17:05
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 17:05
no ethics involved if you get a doc's certificate
Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:16
Thursday, Mar 01, 2007 at 23:16
Davoe,
Here's my favourite "exit letter". It works every time,,,,,,,,,
"Dear Sir,
You can stick your job up my arrse. Any silly bugger like me can get a job working twice as hard as this for half as much money, any day of the week.
Yours faithfully,
Dick Whit"
;)
Bilbo - "The Managerial Hobbit"
Reply By: PradoTrev - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 08:11
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 08:11
Hi Davoe
A work college (read ex now) gave notice, handing the keys, credit card, and phone to the boss with a note that said I hereby give notice, boss read note looked up and asked how much notice, college looked down at watch and said about 15 min.
He still kept all his entitlements
Good luck in the new job
Trevor
Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 23:19
Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 23:19
Good luck in your move Davoe.
Have they come back with their better offer yet? I think that'll be the time to make it clear you really prefer a bigger camp and all the perks that go with it.
I know in my workplace recruitment is one hell of an issue, but it is actually retention that causes the problems in the first place - or too many people moving to go better jobs. At least if they understand why you're moving on, they have the chance of fixing it - maybe!!
Anyways, you're better off making decisions to make you happy - work is an important part of our lives, best to make it as fulfilling as possible.
Tim
Reply By: Member - Michael- Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 01:01
Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 01:01
What was the minesite? Iknow of a couple of bad ones in that area but the bodies on site helped make them liveable
| May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.
Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |