Laptop Choices

Submitted: Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 11:16
ThreadID: 42846 Views:2957 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
Looking into purchasing a Toshiba laptop for the big trip around Australia. I am interested in either the A100, P100 and Tecra laptops from Toshiba. In speaking with a consultant he has recommended the Tecra range as they have the 'Hard drive shock protection ("3D HDD Protection"), a "Shock Protection Design" and a " Spill Resistant Keyboard" additional to many other features.

My question is to those in the know - Do you think this is necessary or will the normal type laptops do the job ?.

Thinking mainly about when travelling over corrugations.

Alternatively one of the dealers has said - "extend the warranty from 1 year to 2 years" and if anything goes wrong you can get it fixed free of charge" Thats all good and well but nt many Toshiba dealers up Cape York or in the Kimberley !!!!

WIll probably take a back up Portable Hard Drive anyway.

Birdy

Reply By: navaraman - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 11:27

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 11:27
I've been using aToshiba M50 for about 6 months in the car and it's been fine. I was told it had a more robust screen than others which was handy (if true) although i now use it with a touch screen monitor and keep the lid closed when travelling.
Patrolman Pat
AnswerID: 224896

Reply By: Robin - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 11:27

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 11:27
Hi Birdy

In relation to this and your other posts Toshiba's can be run via a
good quality straight connection to the car battery.
I.E. - no need for adaptor , but you have to make cable yourself.
(just check on label on 240v adaptor that it stills says 15V - in case new model has changed).

I don't think you need any special protection and would'nt pay
extra , but I would take a several gig's in some type of memory card/Usb
storage device.

Always carried laptops in supplied case ok.

AnswerID: 224897

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 11:43

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 11:43
Hi Birdy,

Just dragged my P100 round the country for 6 months with no probs. Not as 'ruggedised' as the Tecras, but Toshiba seems to have a name for building fairly solid laptops anyhow.

Back up a good idea.

AnswerID: 224900

Follow Up By: Birdy - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 12:08

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 12:08
Matt,

Seeing as you have recently done a similar trip as we have, how did you find the P100. Looking at using it for mapping, video and photo editing, wireless internet and photo storage. I like the look of the P100 however not sure if the budget can stretch that far so looking at the A100/UO3 ! Where did you keep it in the cruiser, did it fit under the seat seeing as it has a 17" screen ? Did you have it running all the time for mapping?

Cheers again

Birdy
FollowupID: 485884

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 12:16

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 12:16
goodday birdie
if you are taking a backup hard drive why dont you store your photos on there
i am going through a similar exercise and have 2x 100gig remote harddrives to store all and sundry on to try and keep the speed of the lappy up by not overloading with photos and music etc

FollowupID: 485886

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 13:17

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 13:17
Birdy,

Didn't use it for mapping on the go as I have Oziexplorer on a PDA. Used the laptop for loading maps to the PDA, converting to Oziexplorer format, photo storage, some E-mail when wireless available, managing the iPod music, kids journals and the odd DVD on a rainy day. We didn't do much photo or video editing, just burnt it unedited to DVD and mailed it home for safe keeping.

It has a 100gig hardrive which is plenty. I think that if I was using it for mapping, that it is probably too big at 17". Depends how much other rubbish you have stored in the vehicle I suppose. Ours lived in the rear drawers when not in use. The other thing that worried me is that having the laptop mounted in the car makes you a pretty solid target for the light fingered brigade. A nuisance to stow away every time you leave the vehicle. The PDA is easy to pull out and shove in the centre console so at least it is out of view.

As far as wireless connectivity goes, it is great. But the areas you will be travelling in do not have huge (much) coverage unless you are going through a phone of your own. I think that in 6 months we found a couple of internet cafés that had a wireless option and one van park that had coverage for all the park ($5 for 7 days access which was pretty good).

Personally, I would be happy just to use internet cafés where available and your web based E-mail account, rather than take a laptop for that purpose. But as you want it for mapping, that is a different matter.

I am looking at the Qosmio F30 or Q30 to replace it which also gives the in built HD TV tuner and separate (2 x 120gig) hard drives. But they are at the top end of the price scale. Overall, for what you want to do, I reckon that a physically smaller laptop would be more practical, easier to shove away and not take up as much room in your vehicle. Most of them have all the wireless and editing features you want without the size or power consumption.

FollowupID: 485901

Reply By: Steve77 - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 12:25

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 12:25
Birdy,

I have worked for numerous mineral exploration companies and all staff who require laptops have had Toshiba Tecra's. Thats not to say they are happy to live in the dirt, but they do stand up well to being flown all over the country and many bumpy trips in the work utes. I would often have mine sitting on the seat next to me open and working in the ute while bush bashing to try and find old tracks.

Depends on the dollars as they are a little bit more expensive.

I would definitely go the extended warrenty. I have had two mates that have had there laptops (other brands) die (one mother board, one hardrive) a couple weeks over a year old. One had the extended warrenty, one didn't.

Hope that helps.

Steve..
AnswerID: 224906

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 12:51

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 12:51
Yep, go the extended warranty... 13 months after purchase my Toshiba fried the mother board, 3 weks later it fried the display... I had a 3 year extended warranty so all was good... Not putting Toshiba down, in fact I'll probably buy another one...
FollowupID: 485891

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 14:10

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 14:10
Hate to buck the trend but I'm in the business and I would buy an IBM over a Toshy. Tosh in my opinion don't make their machines as well as they used to, just a little observation of mine. Tosh used to the best by far but we seem to see a few faulty products nowdays and IBM seem to be the best. I have no loyalty to any of them, just my opinion. Toshiba wouldn't be a bad choice off course but if I had one I'd buy the IBM, certainly not the HP/Compaq or Dell. Be sure to allow plenty of ventilation (excluding dust) for both the laptop and the charger as they extremely reliant on their cooling. All machines have the shock protection , the IBM is very good, can be too good sometimes. IBM also win in the service department by a long way over the rest including Toshiba. HP/Compaq poorely noted for the off shore Pakistani/Indian call centre you need to go through.!
AnswerID: 224912

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:16

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:16
Can you suggest a model of IBM and an approx price?To be used for maps photos etc
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

FollowupID: 485918

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:23

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:23
Hi Mary, I would be happy to suggest some models and give you indicative pricing. I don't believe I should be selling you anything as these forums shouldn't be used for that sort of thing, however I'm sure your local IBM dealer would be able to match any pricing. If so send me your email details to deanw@emergingit.com.au
FollowupID: 485921

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:48

Monday, Mar 05, 2007 at 18:48
Do NOT get a DELL.........
there service in the bush is worse than useless :((

I had a Toshiba satellite for 4 years without any problems, bought a DELL prior to xmas and have all sorts of problems, often runs great but has many 'teething' problems, so I reformatted it and it's going again (for now) their phone service is unobtainable in most areas I have been staying recently.

performance wise they can be fully specified to run like the wind, and mine does, but you need service when you want it, not when you go down to Perth...

Should have bought a Sony 'Vialo' (sp)
FollowupID: 486384

Reply By: Member - John L G - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:50

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 16:50
I have an old Tosh Satellite which has done heaps of bush stuff without a murmer. Seems to be bulletproof
It was becoming a bit challenged tho with space being an old - wait for it - 4.5Gig harddrive but its quick when not too full of crap and if its just for storing Raster maps and photos, get rid of the antivirus and it becomes a speed machine.

Still, HD space was an issue and just as I was about to dump it, along comes the flash drives which lets me store heaps of stuff until I get home and then download on to the beast in my office.
AnswerID: 224938

Reply By: Baldivis Boy - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 19:33

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 19:33
Hi Birdy

I am an IM/IT consultant - and just wanted to put in "my 2 bits worth". Whatever laptop you buy, and I suggest a "name brand" with a decent warranty - make sure you get one with a DVD burner included. This means you can adhere to the 3 most basic rules of computing quite easily, that is "backup, backup, backup". No matter what brand of laptop you buy, it may still go "phut" at the worst possible time, and no warranty will cover you for loss of data - those wonderful pictures of the Bungles, or your video of sunset over the rock.

Re-writable DVD's are very cheap - less than $2 each, and will store a large amount of your data. Just keep them out of direct sun, and enjoy using your new laptop!

Just a side note with reference to "local dealers" - Toshiba (and indeed most computer suppliers) are all ex Sydney for parts anyway, so if it breaks in the Kimberley (I worked in IT in Broome for 4.5 years, and my new Toshiba "crashed" 6 months after I bought it) or Brisbane, they will probably still need to send the parts up to someone local, or worse, have you send the unit back to them.
AnswerID: 224969

Reply By: ellmcg - Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 19:38

Friday, Mar 02, 2007 at 19:38
Hate to trash a specific product but...

Getting the extended warranty is all well and good, if you can get them to hold to it. My family has had great trouble with Toshiba. As soon as the laptop in question was finally repaired to working order we sold it at a loss to avoid any more dealings with Toshiba.

We've stuck with Dell since then because of their 'complete care' package and not had any problems. I think they have a ruggedised version, and yes they're more expensive but I think they're worth it.
AnswerID: 224971

Follow Up By: Baldivis Boy - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 00:34

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 00:34
All good as long as the battery doesn't explode on ya....
FollowupID: 485959

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:57

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 11:57
I loved my Dell Inspiron 5150.
My wife and 2 mates also bought one.
Out of these 4 machines, only one is still working. The others cooked their motherboards. No more DELL for this little black duck....

The one that still works was handed down to my son and it runs 24/7 with music blaring out of it in his room. The ones that died were turned off every day and put to bed for the night then fired up as needed through the day.

Quite funny considering I had kept telling my son that laptops aren't meant to run all day every day because they get too hot due the lack of internal airspace...ah well.....anyway i was going the Toshiba path this salary sacrifice year....what about ASUS?
FollowupID: 486001

Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 00:40

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 00:40
Good question,

T'Firma has good points and so does B'Boy. I've been in the industry for a while and IMO they're all about the same. There is more chance of a breakage over 6mths in the bush chucking it about the car than actually having something break from poor manufacture quality.

Any 'brand' will do. Extra Warranty is good but depends on how much it is in comparison to the sale price, etc.

Personally, I'd go IBM, they haven't changed their design over several yrs and the box looking units last.

Alex
AnswerID: 224999

Reply By: Im.away - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 00:54

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 00:54
The answer to your question is dependent on how much harsh treatment your laptop is really going to get. Toshiba make very good laptops, but if you REALLY are going to do a lot of corrugation and bump work, then you cannot beat Panasonic Toughbooks.

When a Toughbook was demonstrated to me, the sales guy poured water over it and then dropped it to the floor from about one metre! It survived that treatment only to be picked up by the screen and shaken so violently that I couldn't watch!

Well, I purchased one because that is exactly the sort of treatment it gets when I'm working. I drive along gas pipeline easements that are little more that slightly clearer scrub than the surrounding scrub. The corrugations are horrendous, as are the washouts, hidden termite mounds etc.

I've had it for two years now and done 117,000Km of the roughest conditions you could imagine and it hasn't missed a beat.

It has built-in GPRS, wireless, CGMA modem (soon to be upgraded to nextG) and most importantly it has real serial ports, not converted USB ports. Glitch-free attachment of an external GPRS!! A docking station is available to securely mount the Toughbook in the vehicle.

You cannot break a Toughbook with a stick.
AnswerID: 225002

Reply By: CoopersRed - Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 08:30

Saturday, Mar 03, 2007 at 08:30
Just to add another "2 bits worth" (I have to make a mental note of that one Baldivis Boy TA :-), I think it's not really necessary to buy an expensive "rugged" labeled Laptop, as long as you aren't actually _using_ it under extreme conditions (e.g. while driving or in real dusty conditions).

Storing it in a driving vehicle is not a problem, just make sure to put it in a dust proof container (important!) and use a piece of foam mattress (ours was 40mm) as suspension.

Besides, I agree with the others, buy a brand name Laptop (not necessarily Toshiba, although they are surely very good quality). We bought an Acer Travelmate before our trip. One year, 50'000ks around OZ, Gunbarrel, Kimberley, Cape York, ... (almost) daily usage, such as burning CD's/DVD's, cutting & viewing Videos, preparing website, e-mail and so on. No probs at all.

BTW, I'm writing this message on this particular computer. It has been used on a daily basis ever since then (one and a half years). I'm still using it for business purposes (e-mail+Internet usage) so it's usually up and running for 8 to 10 hours a day.

Cheers Wolf
www.bush-sweepers.org
AnswerID: 225025