Japanese Dolphin Slaughter - somewhat off topic

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 09:42
ThreadID: 43095 Views:2303 Replies:19 FollowUps:27
Only view this after you've had breakfast, and let it settle, but please sign the petition.

Slaughter Video - warning, graphic images

Online Petition

I'm not racists, but as a race, why do the Japanese have a penchant for doing this and most other nations not?

Andrew.

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 10:09

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 10:09
How do you post an answer to that?????????
AnswerID: 226522

Follow Up By: Wetty - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:40

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:40
Maybe we should round all of them up and do the same? I'm sure we could get the sharks, whales and dolphins to have a feed of fresh Japanese sushimi!
FollowupID: 487413

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 10:34

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 10:34
Been happening for years I remember watching BTN ot school in the late 70s where they slaughter dolphins. Completly different attitudes. They have raped there waters and now justify the killing of whales and dolphins because they are competitors in a mostly dead ecosystem
AnswerID: 226524

Reply By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 10:43

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 10:43
That makes me sick, hard to watch but I think we should probably all know this stuff goes on. I am amazed they are getting away with this.
AnswerID: 226526

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:06

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:06
Spent about 30 years on and off working in the meat works as part of various design teams. Suppose in some ways, I am partly responsible for the death of a few million cows, so you lot can have steaks and snags on the BBQ.
We try and minimise stress on the animals because it makes them easier to handle, and helps to prevent tough meat. At least we stun cows before we bleed them. Takes a cow about 20 mins to bleed out.
This mob don't even try and stun them or kill them as soon as they can, or even handle them in small batches.
Some very inefficient practices going on here, creating problems and stress for every one and in particular the dolphins.
No controlled collection of the blood (guess about 25 to 30 litres per dolphin), very poor handling.

If they are doing this because they are concerned about fish populations being eaten by dolphins, and the dolphin meat and end products are not being put to good use, it is just murder and a blood lust.
AnswerID: 226533

Reply By: twabbit - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:27

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:27
Shame on the japanese.....and shame on us.for letting them do this.
Just thinking about the next time i jump in the car for a drive.....
I think i will sell off the cruiser...and get a Holden.
AnswerID: 226539

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 19:02

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 19:02
Maybe we should ask Toyota Motor Corporation and Nissan to declare their attitude towards this.

They make environmentally friendly claims - perhaps they should be standing up for it against the perpetrators and getting the gov't to crack down on them.

This is Toyota's 2010 Global Vision and Earth Charter. Perhaps they should be forced to stand up to it.

I think I will put something together to them on this.
FollowupID: 487426

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 19:22

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 19:22
Good idea, we should all email all japanese companies them and ask their position on this
FollowupID: 487430

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:37

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:37
At a risk of being labelled as racist, I believe this sort of thing is purely in their specific nature. The Japanese have been doing this sort of "bugger you" thing for hundreds of years and no other Nation can convince them otherwise, even though they only do it for "scientific research" Yeah right!

Kind of like Mexico with their sport of Bull Fighting, but that is another story.

At least ancient Rome came to terms and ceased their sport of "kill the Christians".

Pity some other religious "sects" can't do likewise and leave the world in peace.

Ah!.....feel better now.

AnswerID: 226543

Reply By: Member - John Thomas B (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:43

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:43
Thanks for posting this partition Andrew as am I ,most outdoor nature loving people would all be alarmed that this is still acuring.There seems to be a lot of Governements that are willing to break international law for there own financial benifit.America,Briton,Australia and Japan these area dangeres actions and we will see a lot more when Australia ellegaly sells uranium to china and india with the encoragement of the USA.They will be breaking the nuclier proliferation laws.
anyway
thanks from JTB
AnswerID: 226545

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 13:42

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 13:42
"we will see a lot more when Australia ellegaly sells uranium to china and india with the encoragement of the USA.They will be breaking the nuclier proliferation laws"

WTF has this got to do with the OT topic LOLOL
FollowupID: 487378

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:32

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:32
Gramps, I think JTB was alluding to the fact that yes Japan are behaving badly in this respect, but are Australia behaving any better in some other areas of international concern?
FollowupID: 487409

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:48

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:48
Barnesy,

JTB needs to learn a lot more about NPT. Firstly, it is a treaty, NOT law of any shape or form. China IS allowed nuclear weapons under the NPT. India neither signed nor ratified the treaty. So how exactly would Australia be acting illegally ???
FollowupID: 487414

Follow Up By: Member - John Thomas B (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 21:50

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 21:50
Tuesday, 19 December 2006

HOWARD AND RUDD MUST NOT APE BUSH IN TRAMPLING INTERNATIONAL LAW ON NUCLEAR

The Australian Greens have condemned the Bush administration's decision to once again trample international law by agreeing to export nuclear fuel and technology to India.

Greens' spokesperson on nuclear issues, Senator Christine Milne said John Howard and Kevin Rudd must abandon the globally reckless U.S. nuclear agenda, and rule out immediately the export of uranium from Australia to India.

"Either you respect and uphold international law or you abandon it in favour of a lawless world. President Bush may favour lawlessness but Australia should not.

"Australia's subservience to the US, especially on Iraq and climate change has severely damaged our international standing. We are becoming a global rogue, undermining international law and making the world less safe," Senator Milne said.

"India is a nuclear armed power and a non-signatory to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons. The U.S. India deal further damages an already weak international agreement and should not be condoned.

"President Bush claimed that invading Iraq would make the world safer and instead he created a debacle. Who is going to believe him when he says that this Indian nuclear deal will make the world safer?

"The world and especially our region will be less secure as a result of this deal.

"George Bush's argument to support this dangerous trade between two nuclear powers that it will provide opportunities for
American business is ethically and morally moribund.

"To further compound security concerns, ongoing negotiations with Iran and North Korea can only be serious undermined by the U.S India nuclear trade.

"Prime Minister Howard followed Bush into the Iraq war debacle - there is absolutely no excuse for making the same mistake twice," Senator Milne said.

The losing of true democracy is my concern the government's are not acting in the will of the people.Our human writes are at stake and being abused.
FollowupID: 487467

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 23:02

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 23:02
It all becomes clear now JTB. If you base your opinions on the rantings of the Australian Greens there is no hope for you.

Because Senator Milne and his ilk interpret the Treaty as LAW does'nt make it so.
FollowupID: 487486

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 12:09

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 12:09
I suppose you believe our current PM on international issues Gramps?

I find it amusing whenever the Greens have a point to make some people call them 'ravings' or 'rants'. The Greens are more outspoken about the slaughter of whales by Japanese than any other Australian party! Isn't that what this thread is about?

Open your eyes Gramps and work out for yourself who is telling the truth and who is bulls**ting people to get their own way.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 487538

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 12:59

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 12:59
Barnesy/JTB,

This thread started off about the slaughter of wildlife, something none of us agree with.

What I object to is you two idiots trying to turn it into a political sideshow. Take your political views and shove them where the sun does'nt shine. This is NOT a forum for dumb arse political comments such as those espoused by you two.
FollowupID: 487548

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 15:02

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 15:02
Do you think that having a thread on this forum saying how bad and naughty the Japanese are will stop them? All this can do is raise awareness of the issue which is commendable in itself.

Only international political intervention can stop them Gramps, it is THE central issue here.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 487569

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 15:30

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 15:30
Al, not the first time Barnsey has converted a thread like this. Have you seen such a big John Thomas before? Probably best to let go while you are ahead mate...;-)
FollowupID: 487573

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 17:54

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 17:54
P**s off John R. Stay away from threads that I'm in. I thought I made that clear the other day.
FollowupID: 487591

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 18:33

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 18:33
So bullying is your normal style Barnsey? I think it is Andrew's post.
FollowupID: 487601

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 18:58

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 18:58
LOL since when do you, Barnesy, decide who comments in what thread. We know you think you're special and some kind of "community conscience" but don't worry, it's all in your mind. It'll go away in time.
FollowupID: 487613

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:00

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:00
Sorry Barnsey, I shouldn't have said that.
FollowupID: 487614

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 20:47

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 20:47
I don't have any gripe with you Gramps. JBT was getting way off the point. I agree with you about the slaughter of wildlife. I also agree with many others in this thread who have also expanded on this issue a little.
FollowupID: 487631

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 21:02

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 21:02
No worries Barnesy. We'll let it rest. I've had my pills and all calm again hahahaha
FollowupID: 487636

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:03

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:03
Gramps, I agree to the points on slaughter of the sea mammals and interesting Australia is still on the line of Malcolm Fraser on the ban on whaling 28 years ago. Many resources are too much in danger.

It may satisfy Barnsey to some extent, I actually signed the petition early after the post went up. I know really he isn't interested in that though.
FollowupID: 487671

Reply By: garrycol - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:47

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 11:47
Don't get too high and mighty - our celtic brothers in the north of scotland still do it now - but to some sort of pilot whales.

I agree with the thoughts that this is absolutely not on but lets not loose sight that it is not just the japanese that do this - all countries that have thes actions in their history still do it - including our (white australians - with anglo heritage) own.

Some of our own commercial fishers have not problem banging a dolphin or seal on the head or shooting them if they see them as competition - or cutting off the fins off sharks and selling them for commercial gain - it is far more widespread than is reported

Garry
AnswerID: 226546

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 12:10

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 12:10
Garry,

Not disagreeing that shouldn't be done, just the way it is done.
See my post above.

Now what will happen if some aliens land and decide these humans don't look too bad for processing? I don't think we could complain.

Problem with darwinism, gives us an excuse to kill off the 'lower' species.

Now if I read J Gould properly, he pointed out that we have a misconception of our place on the tree of evolution. Chimpanzees are actually at the top, homo sapiens are a break off mutation that happened to survive. Humans can't just accept the fact so we rewrite it to suit ourselves.
FollowupID: 487370

Reply By: alleycat7 - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 12:06

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 12:06
And you really wouldn't want to see a video of the annual mutton bird (shearwater) slaughter that takes place around Tasmania.
AnswerID: 226547

Reply By: Groove - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 13:38

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 13:38
I was in Japan over January and have to say I have NEVER been in a country where the people are as courteous and helpful. They are fastidiously clean and polite, they don’t use their mobile phones on trains etc yet they smoke in restaurants like its going out of fashion.

On the other hand I was speaking to one bloke who simply could not believe that we shoot kangaroos and eat them. And don’t tell me that roos are shot humanely. So I guess its all relative.
AnswerID: 226556

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 14:57

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 14:57
Have heard several times of pods of wild dolphins protecting lost sailors at sea from sharks and guiding them into shore. These are amazing mammals.

Yes these things have been happening for centuries. But humans now have the ability to literally wipe out whole species within a few years.

The International Whaling Comission (IWC) is a corrupt joke. Obscure countries that have nothing to do with whaling join the IWC and vote with Japan. At the same time receiving huge financial aid packages from Japan. Of course they say it's all above board.

But to think Australia is perfect, well think again. Japan is doing a lot more than us with global warming. We were more active in the Iraq war, where tens (hundreds?) of thousands of innocent Iraqi civilians have been killed. Tell me the Iraq war is not a complete joke. Who will take us seriously when we complain about a few whales and dolphins!

My point is, yes this is bulls**t, but I don't think things will change soon, especially if Australia and our other allies continue to behave like we are in other areas of international affairs.

But don't let that deter organisations such as Greenpeace from fighting the Japanese whalers on this. I support them with my wallet.

Barnesy

AnswerID: 226569

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 15:38

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 15:38

This subject is not "Somewhat off topic". Thank you for brining it to our attention.

I among many other Australians love dolphins and I am appalled by this slaughter. My wife and I travelled to Monkey Mia and she got to feed one of the Dolphins. That is an experience she loved and will always remember.

I have signed the petition

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 226574

Reply By: nissnut - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:38

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 16:38
Never let Political Correctness get in the way of the truth........

NUKE THE BUGGARS.............Lionel
AnswerID: 226584

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:29

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 17:29
Hard to tell if you're on the side of conserving oceanic mammals or not Lionel. I think there is a difference between abandoning political correctness and out-&-out rednecked violence.
FollowupID: 487408

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 18:24

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 18:24
tried that, and it worked. we still speak english.
FollowupID: 487422

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 12:13

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 12:13
Somehow I don't think that dropping a nuclear weapon on Japan for a third time will stop them whaling and slaughtering Dolphins.

FollowupID: 487539

Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 18:06

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 18:06
The Japanese have been raping the seas for years in the name of research and it seems to get away with it.
research?????????? they take it home and eat it.
They have destroyed the Northern and now are working on the southern half of our world.
Just look how many whales, dolphins and southern tuna they take off South Australia, if they need that much for research they must be slow learners.
They are a self centred nation and to hell with the rest, it is about time the rest of the world stood up to them ( this includes the governments of the world ) to stop this raping and pillaging of the world's resources.
Greenpeace seems to be the only one making a statement.
Ray
AnswerID: 226606

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:47

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 09:47
Good comment Ray,

I remember an interesting news item whereby Japan apparently has an over-supply of whale meat. They are freezing it and storing it in increasing numbers. (Maybe they are stockpiling it for "the next World War".
The younger population are not consuming the meat to the extent that the "producers" would like and youngsters are now being "educated" into consuming the meat they are currently shunning.

As I said above, "scientific research?'........CRAP.

FollowupID: 487522

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 18:12

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 18:12
>it is about time the rest of the world stood up to them ( this includes the governments of the world )
>Greenpeace seems to be the only one making a statement.

That's true Kiwi Ray
FollowupID: 487596

Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 18:19

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 18:19
Just watched the video
Cruelty and barbarism
AnswerID: 226608

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 20:26

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 20:26
Andrew,

Just had a look and it is terrible.

The Japanese certainly have a lot to learn about most creatures that live in the ocean.

We spend a lot of time on Moreton Island and most afternoons we see pods of dolphins swimming by and they are great.

Have signed the petition although I suspect a lot more international type pressure would need to be applied to ever stop this type cruelty happening.
AnswerID: 226628

Reply By: Red One - Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 20:52

Saturday, Mar 10, 2007 at 20:52
Ever been inside an abattoir?
AnswerID: 226634

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 11:41

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 11:41
yes and i hyave never seen non farm bred animals rounded up from their natural environment and dunked into water (their foreighn environment ) towed around by a boat sometimes throats cut to kill and other times not it seems.
Sorry crap analagy but that bore no resemblence to any abbotoir i have been in
FollowupID: 487535

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 13:30

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 13:30
ditto
FollowupID: 487551

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:11

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 19:11
Interesting.

A few days ago we had a post about bonking in a rooftop tent which received, what?, 1000 reads in 24 hours? This post has received 400 in 36 hours.

In reality: few people give a toss - as long as they have their wide screen TVs and other consumer soporifics things will be OK - you were right George Orwell.

AnswerID: 226772

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 01:21

Thursday, Mar 15, 2007 at 01:21
on a side note, anyone know whats happening with the registration of the 2 sea sheapard vessels which returned to melb the other week ?? Saw the new vessel docked, nice big holes ripped in the sides up near the bow !!

Now theres some passionate people!!! Go Hard !!
AnswerID: 227575