this forums demographic

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 22:45
ThreadID: 43144 Views:3701 Replies:35 FollowUps:35
I have been thinking about the type of people that seem to be attracted to this forum and I think there would be a large proportion of people who run their own business. Given its a 4x4 forum it would be easy to imagine that other interests such as these would be fairly accurate as well

- camping
- trail bikes
- general rev head stuff
- shooting
- bush skills
- a love for australia and outback
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's

but my guess is that a lot of these types also run their own business, it would be interesting to see if thats about right. Most 4x4 people who dont run a business may not be so computer savy either so they are not here!

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:01

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:01
Hmmmm...............

Like most people I stumbled upon this website. That was waaaay back in 2002.

Self Employed..Yes was..now retired
Love of camping and travel to remote places....Yes definitely
Interest in some technical stuff...yes

Trailbikes, revhead, shooting, bushskills and (what are xboxes...lol)...definite No

Spend too much time on Forum but time is my own now and while I am at home...well....would prefer to be travelling though...life is a compromise...lol. Hate TV shows so log on twice a day to check mail and anything of interest on EO.

Try to help out where I can.

Tend to annoy some....lol

AnswerID: 226824

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:16

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:16
Willem,

You and I could be twins,,,,,,,,,,,,especailly with,,,,,,," Hate TV shows so log on twice a day to check mail and anything of interest on EO."

Take care,

Bilbo - " Life is more than a plasma TV hobbit"
FollowupID: 487675

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:16

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:16
xboxes are a modern technical device designed to make kids lazy fat, lack vitamin D and unappreciative of normal things in life, also allows you to relive WW2.
FollowupID: 487676

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:37

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:37
Ahhh Bilbo

A Rig Pic at last. Like the shot of your best mate!

Yeah were are probably twins or close to in age and mannerisms...lol

FollowupID: 487682

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:42

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:42
Willem

That little fella would break The Devils heart. I love him to pieces,,,,,,,,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 487683

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 15:15

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 15:15
goodday fellas
that doesnt sound like you willem "annoying others "

FollowupID: 487775

Reply By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:02

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:02
Hi F4Phantom
The wife and I run a tour business across the top end, we love the out door life style along with the flora, fauna and cultural aspects.
32 years living,working and playing in the bush has taught me many bush skills, both white fella way and black fella way.
We also love to travel both here and abroad.
The wife has the computer skills I just play when she's not looking and the young fella has out door toys.
Cheers Steve Top End Explorer Tours.
AnswerID: 226825

Reply By: Brian B (NT) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:09

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:09
Yes to all of the above.

I really wish I was retired too!!!

Until then we will continue to install roadsigns around the Brisbane/Gold Coast Region & escape for the occasional short trip away.
Brian B (NT now Bris)

AnswerID: 226827

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:19

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:19
F4,

How dare you!

This forum is not a demographic site. David doesn't allow those,,,,,,those,,,,,,those mucky pictures on here.

Go 'n wash your mouth out!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 226829

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:20

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:20
- camping - yes
- trail bikes - No - Road Bike - yes
- general rev head stuff - in a past life
- shooting - NO
- bush skills - OK
- a love for australia and outback - Yes
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's - Yes - but love my ipod

but my guess is that a lot of these types also run their own business - Yes
AnswerID: 226830

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:25

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:25
F4,

I'll give it a shot.

Have had to stop working at 47. Did a trade when I left high school as a carpenter. Worked in that area for a couple of years after I finished my apprenticeship and then went into the ambulance service. Stayed there for 24 years and left an executive position in July 2006. Scored a nasty cancer at that time and it has taken a long time to get over that but all is well now. It has left me with a couple of permanent problems which forced the state government to medically retire me.

While I am a bit limited I now work part time for my sons who are both electricians in their own business and even though I am the gopher I love it. I have flexible hours, days etc so it allows my wife and I to get away a lot and I am fortunate for all of that. It is also good to be helping the two boys get established. The wife and boys did it a bit tough when I first got crook and it was unclear what the future might bring.

To cover your points, my whole family love camping. We have everything from swags, tents, camper trailers etc, and we get away as a group and individually quite regularly. I am not into trail bikes although my eldest son is a keen motocross rider and has a frighteningly quick Yamaha 250. I know this because I hopped on recently and nearly came unstuck.

Not really into revhead stuff nor shooting at all. My two sons are now 25 and 23 and the youngest went heavily through the revhead stage owning a very hot Nissan Skyline which kept us awake on a lot of nights when he was out in it. This thing went like a bullet.

I can't ever learn enough bush skills and consider myself a novice in this area but I am willing to give it a try and learn. I love Australia in general in every aspect and I think that is the only way to really love your country. I don't necessarily like everything that is going on in the place but I think you know what I mean.

I have to tell you I own an Xbox and it is a great. Having said that I don't use it a lot and we don't take it away with us but in its place it is a lot of fun. I don't agree with kids being glued to XBoxes and computers all of the time as I think they need some good healthy time outside.

I spend a time on the computer of an evening as I am not much of a tv junkie.

That about covers that I think.

You are right, the demographics of a place like this are interesting.
AnswerID: 226832

Reply By: Luke SA - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:28

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:28
Hi F4Phantom,

seems to be a good topic you have thought of here

I do also have an intrest for those things you have mentioned........ camping, trail bikes, general rev head stuff, bush skills and the Australian outback.

I have just recently opened up a tyre store (with my brother) here in Adelaides north and am still working at Holden until the business starts turning over some good $$

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 226833

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:32

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:32
Brave man F4P.
Scary thought.
AnswerID: 226834

Reply By: Ozrover - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:35

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:35
F4 Phantom (I prefer the THUD, F105)

- camping - yep 40 yrs worth.
- trail bikes - yep nearly the same (road bikes as well).
- general rev head stuff - yep, can't help myself.
- shooting - long tome ago before new gun laws made it too hard.
- bush skills - same as camping.
- a love for australia and outback - ALWAYS.
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's - you can add the PSP to that, I'm sick of seeing the thing in my young blokes hand!!!

No don't own my own business, worked for a major company for 27 yrs & just got made redundant!
AnswerID: 226835

Reply By: twabbit - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:35

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:35
Other interests, sure, but are you saying that only those who own their own business, and a 4x4 and are, of course, computer literate so are on this site to read your presumptuous crap, are the only ones interested in a love of the outdoors, camping or trail bikes etc???

I don't understand the point you are trying to make? Are you trying to drum up some sort of business for yourself by finding out who owns their own business or who is 'savvy' enough for this site???

Frankly, I find your comments insulting and think you've come to the wrong place.

**Most 4x4 people who dont run a business may not be so computer savy either so they are not here!**

Maybe you should learn how to use spell check!

Mrs twabbit
AnswerID: 226836

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:44

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:44
Yeah I am trying to make an email spam list of everyone who replies and your on the top of the list!! I am going to send you 3 emails a day for the next 5 years.

Actually I am not at all offended by your remarks and I was really just interested because I have noticed that most people here seem to have very similar interests, also we get a lot of quesitons about tax and cars denoting that they own a small business. Then there is me, who is a classic for this site as well and compare very well to all the posts before yours. if you dont own a small business good on you, its probably because you can hold down a real job.
FollowupID: 487684

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:46

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:46
Geez Mrs Twabbit... you need a dose of Calisi

F4 was only making an observation and inviting some discussion.

Please go back to your burrow!
FollowupID: 487686

Follow Up By: twabbit - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:07

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:07
ok, ok, see how easy it is to attack a poor defenseless bunny......... seriously, F4 maybe a bit of savvy on your part wouldn't have raised my whiskers, it was the part about those non-business owners not being computer savvy enough to be here - I don't understand the need for this comment, my hubby is here all the time... No, I don't own my own business but live very much in the computer age, have a love for all things outdoors especially the 4by because it allows the escape from the computer age. The simple question about people's interests would've sufficed and not caused a single whisker twitch!

I'm assuming whatever business path people are on, we are all on this site for the same reason.......

Mrs twabbit
FollowupID: 487694

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:30

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:30
F4Phantom, I dont think your comments are insulting. You would have to be feeling insecure about yourself to be offended at that. Just because you are a business owner and even like mingling with other business owners, there is nothing wrong with that at all. So if anyone is feeling insecure and cant handle that, they should learn to deal with it, because as you and many others know, you can never be successful in business (or in computer savviness?), with that low-level of self-confidence. As our friendly discussions are not personal attacks, you obviously assumed people wouldnt take offense by pointing out the similar in demographics. On the other hand you could sell one of your businesses to Twabbit's husband at an affordable price so they can feel like they are part of "the club"
FollowupID: 487702

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:31

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:31
Where's Elmer Fudd...He has a bouble Barrel

FollowupID: 487739

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:45

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:45
Where's da wascally wabbit

FollowupID: 487741

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 11:01

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 11:01
Gramps
Got to hand it you mate . VERY GOOD indeed, nearly choked on my coffee when I seen that

FollowupID: 487745

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 11:28

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 11:28
likewise.
(Just hope Gramps likes Pretty Poodles)
FollowupID: 487748

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:40

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:40
well it could have been worse.
he can have said more stupid things like
engel are better than waeco
toyota are better than nissan
bfg are better than cooper
the list goes on lucky his only stupid comment was
**Most 4x4 people who dont run a business may not be so computer savy either so they are not here!**
FollowupID: 487808

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:44

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:44
F4Phantom
Don't forget to add the dislikes like .....
stuff made in USA
Jeep
Dodge Nitro
Ford F250
Hummer H2/3
Buick Enclave
Pontiac Montana
Mercury Mountaineer
Mercury Mariner
Lincoln Navigator
Cadillac Escalade
GMC Yukon
GMC Graphyte

and the Poms
Landrover
and when the letters gps appear the minds can only process Tom Tom and Navman

AnswerID: 226837

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:48

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:48
You have your detractors, Doug.....LOL
FollowupID: 487687

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:49

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:49
Man, stuff made in the USA you can say that again including their TV. I cant stand the way we seem to be more and more homogenised with their culture of crap quality and excess. our falcons and dunnydores kill their cars for build quality.
FollowupID: 487688

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:49

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:49
EH!!! Wots wrong with Land Rovers - oops sorry! I own one so I should already Know!! 8 )>
FollowupID: 487689

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:46

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:46
LOL Doug, you forgot

made in China :))))))))))))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 487742

Reply By: Member - BORGY.. (SA) - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:50

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:50
Hi F4Phantom

Camping - love it
Trail bikes - not anymore
Revhead stuff - well does it ever really leave you??.lol
Shooting - used to, pro fox shooter
Bush skills - never stop learning
A love of Australia - most definetley
X boxes and PS2's - nah not anymore

Unfortunately dont work anymore due to serious back injury whilst working at BHP years ago, so nowadays i spend my time plodding along at home doing whatever i can , love going on my yearly trips up north barra fishing and most of my other spare time is taken up helping my 2 sons out with their tyre store ...as in Luke SA above ..........Cheers .......Dave
AnswerID: 226840

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:51

Sunday, Mar 11, 2007 at 23:51
F4,

You're a regular here yes? Yes, you are. I know these things,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

I think you have a trolled a troll!

WTF is Twabitt?

My good friend "Mr F4" is only making polite & interesting conversation. Ignore 'em F4, they prolly own a RAV 4 with a sound system and an X-Box,,,,,,,,,and can't find thier way across the Nullabor without an in-dash GPS,,,,,,,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 226841

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:07

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:07
Maybe Twabbits are those things that we have the guns for! (Sorry, my husband has a lisp, so wabbits are what he calls the bunnies)

FollowupID: 487695

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:01

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:01
Hi Phantom

Self employed (farmers) but i have to work off farm as well to survive - would be retired and travelling if it wasn't for the need for an income.
Trail bikes - no, they're for kids (however big!)
Rev head - not really - like a vehicle that is big enough to do the job; don't drive for sport.
Shooting - don't take our guns away - but only for predators and necessary mercy killings - got over killing for sport when i left the teenage years.
Bush skills - grew up loving bush walking from a very early age - never got lost or bitten by a snake (love them too)
LOVE Australia and the outback, Australian fauna and flora (including all the creepy crawlies)
Don't even have games on my computers (unless you call ExplorOz a game) so no interest in x-boxes or similar, rarely watch telly, other than to be informed (news, weather).

People who don't run own business these days still usually need computer skills unless in a very manual job - most jobs have some computer use. Most homes these days have an on line computer.

AnswerID: 226848

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:11

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:11
regards the computer thing, if you can imagine someone who may use a computer at work, has one at home and all that, but you have to have a basic level of comfort with a computer to search out a site like this, not just read once, but visit every day, then join, then post, and keep posting. You are not just a user of computers anymore, your much more integrated with a computer taking up part of your life. I know my computer is on all the time and I use the net constantly. So my bet is that there are a lot of 4x4ers out there with all these attributes (bush, cars etc..) who use a computer as a tool but perhaps not so integrated as to join a forum like this, so they are not here right now. Business owners would be in general better at computers (in the older generations - all young people can use them) as in a small business you need to put your hand to all tasks. This does not in any way detract from any party, its just a stereotypical theory derived from what I have noticed.
FollowupID: 487698

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:54

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:54
F4,

Please take this in a friendly way, that's how it is meant.

I am a professional fire fighter. Now that, to me seems like a pretty basic job, certainly in relation to high tech electrical gear (we use a lot of water). In fact it is only recently that I have had to use a computer to any extent at work. Haveing said that I have had an interest in computers since the early 80's. I have improved my computer skills gradually over that time. Recently there has been a marked increase in my professional use of computers. This has brought with it access to computer training and IT personnel. I have made use of this access to improve my computer skills to the point now that I am able to assist others both at work and elsewhere with computer problems. I do not consider myself an expert but I know how to run a few programmes and can work most out, at least at a basic level.

When I look at the guys I work with the range of computer skills is wide and not easy to categorise. Some of the older guys are great on the 'puter some are terrified of them and would rather jump into a pit full of snakes than even touch a keyboard. The same is true for some of the young guys. I have a mate who until recently ran his own business (successfully) and still does not know how to turn on a computer.

That was bigger than I thought it would be, sorry.

Now to your demographic list.

camping love it give me more, more, more
trail bikes haven't played for some time, fire fighting doesn't pay that well but wouldn't mind another go.
general rev head stuff. if that means driving like a rat, grew out of that but still watch the V8's and like to check out some of the flash cars I see in the street and have calendars and posters of such vehicles in my home.
shooting never really been into it
bush skills hard one this, how do you measure this. Done a lot of walking over the years and a bit of canyoning. Never spent an unplanned night in the bush, but have come close. Never been lost, I prefer the term geographically embarassed.
love of Australia and the outback. oh yeah! I am determined that when my kids are asked about Australia, any part of it, they will be able to say "been there". Hardest thing we have done was moving back from Broken Hill to Sydney.
a hate of Xboxes and PS2 etc. love playing the games but won't own one.
FollowupID: 487744

Reply By: twabbit - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:28

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:28
F4

word's of wisdom for you to ponder....

" In the land of the blind...the one eyed man would be king ! "

let me know your prognostication is.
lol...... Glad im a simpleton. :)

Tony wabbit.

AnswerID: 226854

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:35

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:35
isnt that word too big for you twabbit? when you become Savvy enough to give advice, i am sure F4Phantom will let you know!
FollowupID: 487703

Follow Up By: twabbit - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:40

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:40
What a waste of time..and whom asked you to weigh in paj?..i suggest you go read the first post by f4......... it leaves a lot to be desired .......simpleton?..or just not good at expressing himself? At the end of the day?.i dont give a toss........go play little ones.
FollowupID: 487705

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:45

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:45
well that's the thing, twabbit, it IS THE END OF THE DAY, and you are a tosser... so don't say "At the end of the day, I don't give a toss" now we all know you are a liar!
FollowupID: 487708

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:46

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:46
I dont know what prognostication means, and I am not looking it up to pretend I do. Thanks for your wisdom. heres some more

if this sites stats showed a larger disproportinate number of people who visit do run a small business, you would be an outlier.

Ozrover owns the car I want and didnt run a small business so that is proof of success. Not many poeple own a small business, but those who do, congregate here because they are like minded. If I was actually employable for more than 3 months I would be sitting pretty in a company job with a company car. This whole small business thing was a sideline fact in a genral discussion of similar people.

check this forum out

www.dontownasmallbusinessandand/friggin/annoyed/about.it.com

FollowupID: 487709

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:50

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 00:50
Whats a wok ?
Its a fing you frow at a wabit when you haven't got a wifle.
FollowupID: 487710

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 01:08

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 01:08
Yair, G'day, You'll recognise me more by my Pampered Poodle (Isn't it Loverly ?) than much else.
Folks, this thread has taken a nasty turn, and shows signs as may commonly be witnessed in " Parliarment Hoouse" question time. (So who needs that..........)
Mrs Twabbit, I'm still a twit, but EO Members and Guests have selflessly helped me get a sight on this WWW thing.

Check my earlier post on this thread, follow Motherhen's (normally) tempered approach, and try to not take comments personally. Jeff H.
ps. I still do - but not as often. Chin up, eh. jh.
FollowupID: 487712

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:39

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:39
Jeff H
Ya better take that Poodle photo off, Dusty is breathing heavy

FollowupID: 487740

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 11:40

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 11:40
The Poodle is being teleported to Gramps' Camp for re-education as I type. (The little upstart wants us to buy a Troopie!! "More room in the back", it whines).
Sheesh, Thoroughbreds !! I hope Gramps sorts the mongrel.
FollowupID: 487752

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 02:29

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 02:29
- camping > Love it...
- trail bikes > Love it...
- general rev head stuff > Love it...
- shooting > Let my license expire, foolish...
- bush skills > Some, always learning...
- a love for australia and outback > Love it...
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's > Mostly...

Working for the man, too stupid to run a business...
AnswerID: 226866

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 02:41

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 02:41
I don't really see what running your own business has to do with computer skills.
My experience is the contrary ... the business owners I know have a hard time adjusting to the new technology and exploiting it. As an employee you have a chance of paid IT education, teachers, office workers etc etc have some sort of support network to learn ... self employed usually have to do it on their own and are busy with books, material purchase, paying bills, cleaning office, wiping employees @rses etc etc .. and have much less time to adopt new things although they might help and save cost ..

We manufacture and wholesale to over 400 retailers and still a majority of our clients do not use internet banking or email .. and they are self employed ...

Have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 226867

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:28

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:28
Actually we're just a lot of ratbags who love to offer advice and criticize.LOL
AnswerID: 226887

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:30

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:30
- camping - yes
- trail bikes - no or to quote Willem, "definite no"
- general rev head stuff - ditto
- shooting - ditto
- bush skills - yes
- a love for australia and outback - yes
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's - what are they?

- a lot of these types also run their own business - yes www.vividadventures.com.au
- computer savy - yes.

I expect to see a detailed statistical analysis at the end of this F4.

Andrew.
AnswerID: 226889

Reply By: Member - Banjo (WA) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:02

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:02
Whoever we are, and whtever we do, what skullduggery is built into these pages that makes it compulsive viewing?

There must be some of that subliminal propaganda programmed in that sends my fingers onto the keys that get me here too many times every day!

Banjo (WA)
AnswerID: 226897

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:37

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:37
self employed with 2 staff
fly fishing
sea fishing
antique furniture restoration (hobby)
stamp collecting (aussie only)
Hunting...feral pest eradication
Pistol Shooting
love the bush....just need to get out into it more
general revhead ...had a mini with supercharger....
wife & 3 kids to support...bugga
AnswerID: 226909

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:58

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 10:58
Just to cloud the stats a bit

- camping Yes, but never get enough opportunities
- trail bikes No, I'm not suicidal
- general rev head stuff No, the smell of high octane etc does nothing for me
- shooting Yes, one of my indulgences. Any feral is fair game.
- bush skills Does coming back alive and uninjured count?
- a love for australia and outback How could you not love both ?
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's Yes, has to do with pithpoor hand eye co-ordination :))
-own business No, could never put in the hours required
-computer savvy Far more than most

Like twabbit, I think your conclusion re not owning a business means one is more likely to not be computer savvy is false but that's just my opinion.
AnswerID: 226911

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:00

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:00
Gramps

"shooting Yes, one of my indulgences. Any feral is fair game."

We need you desperately in our street.............................LOL

FollowupID: 487800

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:04

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:04
Willem,

ooooops ...... maybe I should have specified "four legged" in that LOLOL
FollowupID: 487802

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 22:42

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 22:42
Willem, I thought that feral and his dogs gad moved away. LOL
FollowupID: 487865

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 12:19

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 12:19
I think you are all agressive, overweight, poofter hating individuals that have a low regards for abo's lol. So I can't understand why you would want to look around this place that belonged to Abo's and I'm surprised you have the energy to do so being so fat and all! hey hey it's a joke man...

Leroy
AnswerID: 226922

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 12:26

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 12:26
Leroy, last time you showered with me I told you not to tell anyone I hate poofters. Anyway I am just big boned with a slow metabalism.
FollowupID: 487756

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 12:44

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 12:44
(where'd that soap go F4).....eek!

Leroy
FollowupID: 487761

Reply By: Camoco - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 12:48

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 12:48
Hi F4,
you have many replies so far... so I'll throw mine in.

I have wondered just what makes me return here. I am returning more often than I really want to but it really is quite fascinating what topics come up and what the answers are. I have almost left a few times when things had gotten rough, but David seems to have pulled things back into line.

Your direct answer is

- camping . Used to a lot when young with the ol' man but never time enough now.
- trail bikes . I am a road biker. I have only eaten earth on a trail bike. Stay away now.
- general rev head stuff . I like to think I like it still but I like resto mostly. I do like a good hot rod though. The neighbour often has his mates over (all 60+ it seems) and they bring their toys.
- shooting . I hate it. I used to make gun parts for mates until I found out what I was making. Each to their own but I want something to hate and that is it.
- bush skills . Well I'd probably die if left alone, but I was good at cross country navigating. slipperies scare me but I am facinated just the same.
- a love for australia and outback . I love a sunburned country. I get to the centre (simmo) as often as I can (not very). I navvy and route plan for the odd fund raising rally.
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's . I hate my son in front of his (W/e only) but I do enjoy a good racing sim. (contradiction I am sure)

Oh and I hate most things Yank ('cept for the old Hot rods) but I do watch a lot of Nascar.

I am a Fitter/Gas fitter/Plant Maintenance by trade, a mechanical & structural Drafty, I spent 8 years as an IT admin, I was a graphic designer, I have owned my own Photolab for 14 years or so (open 7 days) but I work elsewhere during the day, I volunteer my "spare" time to my Lions club and church, and currently I am rebuilding (from the ground up) my in-laws caravan as a 9 month project. I took that on after building their kitchen. I am a sucker for helping I suppose when I really would rather be doing my own thing and getting to the centre of Aus.

I am well and truly under 50, but admire those much older getting about. I have an old mind in a younger body (although it's now showing signs of a trade-in).

A simple demographic category????? Yep Jack of all trades, interested in almost everything but can't afford to do almost any of it.

Cheers Cam
AnswerID: 226925

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:13

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:13
Interesting idea. Well here goes.

1. Camping - Yes
2. Trail bikes - Not anymore.
3. General rev head stuff - Not all. Commodores Vs Falcons. Who Cares?
4. Shooting - No
5. Bush skills - Yes
6. Australia and the outback - Yes. That red soil gets in you veins and becomes addictive.
7. A hate of xboxes and PS2s - I don't hate them. I find them boring.

I am employed by the Government in a middle management position.
Computer knowledge - yes

You may have forgotten the following:
4WD - Yes
Fishing - Yes (Only when the fish are suicidal)
Photography - Yes
Cities - Hate them
Alcohol - Yes as long as I do not exceed 2 standard drinks. (A bottle of scotch is a standard drink isn't it?)
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 226928

Reply By: Zig-n-Zag - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:15

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 13:15
F4Phantom

Ask a simple question and you can stir up a few peole who read all sorts of wierd and crazy reasons as to why you asked the question.

My dads like that, ask a questio and the response is usually "who wants to know?" My response has become "ASIO"or any other form of police.

In regards to your thoughts I will say
camping - in earlier days no, but now definite yes.
trail bikes - definite no.
rev head stuff - again in earlier stages of life in Adelaide, now limited to watching on TV
shooting - couldnt hit a barn at 60 paces.
bush skills - trying to learn some
love of Australia - wouldn't bother with Overseas as hell of lot to see here first.
x boxes and PSP2 - son has one and cannot be bothered to play shoot em up games and cannot hit side of barn anyway.

I have worked in private industry (building trade), local government, ran my own business, and now back in local government (good super scheme for retirement).

Had developed computer skills since 1980's when old Commodore 64 came out, with very little formal training on computers. Have not read my post fully so may be spelling mistakes but know where the keys are.

I personally think that the twabbit has indicated that they are in deed a wabbit by there post in response to your ponderings. as in anything\anywhere "if you do not like it, leave or turn it off, no one is forcing you to endure it."

Keep smiling and enjoy life, this is not a rehearsal.

AnswerID: 226929

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 15:47

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 15:47
camping /these days caravaning /travelling definitely
trailbikes kept falling off so gave it away
revhead love to take my daughters ss for a quick? spin
shooting yes always held a license mainly rabbits and foxes
FISHING YES but as some said above fish have to be suicidal
bush skills been geographically embarassed a couple of times but i am still here to talk about it
love for australia YES no interestin overseas to much to still see here
dunno about xboxes etc as we have a few games on the computor but never much on telly to drag me near (fishing shows and aussie travel shows )
SEMI SELF EMPLOYED ( SUBCONTRACTOR ) the bloke i have worked for for last 10 years struggles to turn a computor on but i must know a little bit as i spend more time than i should on this site

AnswerID: 226954

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 16:13

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 16:13
F4 I was talking to an EO couple that stayed overnight Sat night and ended their way hom yestdy and today and we were talking about meeting EO people and a general wariness about actually meeting people one only met "online".

The term "axe-murderer" was used a couple of times as in "Good to see you arent an axe-murderer."

As most repluied above attest we all have a love of the bush and things outdoors at heart and that displays our associated traits wich if not in all cases, in most cases is consistent.

I would never have met such a knowledgeable person as Willem, nor a guy I can call and say buy me a car, and trust him wholeheartedly, or such a great group of people that could lift me from THE deepest of depths of sadness and carry me aloft.

At our first EO overnight meeting I learned about tyres, networking PC's, 4WD's all from experts and all offered freely, many of us are diamonds in the rough and thats fine by me.

Our lives are defined not by what we do but by those who choose to call us their friends. In my heart EO embodies those things that make life worth going on living.

AnswerID: 226960

Reply By: F4Phantom - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:16

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:16
This has turned out to be quite a large thread indeed. I thank everyone who contributed and keep em coming if you want to tell us about yourself. I should add that I have not answered my own quesitons, although I doubt anyone actually wants to know I will do it anyway in case it looks a bit stand backish.

- camping - love it, was in scouts till age 18, every other weekend was a camp, we are so lucky to live here.

- trail bikes - riden a lot, about to get my own a honda XL250. It will compliment my 11 foot fibreglass digny for nearly the full set of action toys - 4x4, boat, bike but I still need the jet ski.

- general rev head stuff - I love interesting rev head stuff including electric cars but have no interest if a ford beats a holden or vice versa.

- shooting - like it, have not killed an animal and dont have a licence. I wish all ferals were wiped from this country, cats are devistating the dandynong ranges lyrebirds. kill em all.

- bush skills - can you ever have enough?

- a love for australia and outback - find me someone more patriotic and I will arm wrestle them to see who wins. There is too much to say about this place.

- a hate of xboxes and PS2's - like to use em, dont like what they do to people. moderation, Love WW2 games.

I forgot about fishing and all the other stuff, but yes, its all very exciting to get out and give it a go. I like this suicidal fish thing, I have not met any yet but I hope to.

As for the small business thing I actually do have one, I have had many jobs but cant seem to hold em for long so I didnt have a lot of choice in the end. I cant see one being better than the other but I can see that one suits one better than the other.

Now in case I have offended anyone, let me say this.

In the end though we are all winners arent we, why? because we are all individuals and that is what makes us equally special.*

*pajerotd is more equally special becauese he is an angry angry man.
AnswerID: 226986

Reply By: nissnut - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:54

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 18:54
Camping - yes
Bikes - yes trail and road
Revhead - yes anything with an engine
Shooting - no live and let live
Bush skills - enough to get by
Aust/outback - yes
Xbox PS2 - yes motor racing only

Computer skills - very basic
Self emloyed for over 30 yrs.

Cheers F4.........Lionel.
AnswerID: 226996

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 19:28

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 19:28
Hmmmmmmm I as usual am the square peg in the octagonal hole
I like:
Camping/caravanning
I'm a staunch Aussie patriot the likes of which have not been seen since Petor Lalor's day.
Computers. Oh yes they give me hours of pleasure...
I'm also a proffesional agent provocateur (not that any of you would have noticed)
I'm also into Aussie history, particularly mechanical "archeology" with a keen enthusiasm for all manner of mechanical apparatus but not including motor bikes or revhead stuff.
Women, I'm really into women or would be if my Cialis order would come thru...
Of course I have a love for Australia, all of it including the parts most people in here don't seem to enjoy, I mean when is the last time any of you went to Arounds beach near Bermagui and just layed back naked under the sun and really communed with nature???
My pet love is of course abusing PFT's and telemarketers...
Shooting; na did enough of that in Vietnam to last a lifetime and besides if I had a rifle I'd be locked up for taking out all the aforementiond PFT's and Muslim clerics, idiots, politicians and all others on "my list"...
Fishing I enjoy,
Boating I enjoy - unless some vyspft is sitting up the back yelling out stroke, stroke, stroke.
Australian Movies and old/nostalgic audio & film I love
and of course I get off as in really get off with theatre organs, you can drown out even the most striden politician with a wurlitzer...
AnswerID: 227002

Reply By: theanimal - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 20:42

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 20:42
for me

camping - yes
- trail bikes - No - Road Bike - no
- general rev head stuff - no- shooting - NO
- bush skills - OK
shooting - yes
fishing yes

- a love for australia and outback - Yes
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's - Yes - but love my ipod

AnswerID: 227027

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:00

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:00
Hi F4Phantom, I agree that there's a few that run their own business that visit the forum; It's the impression I get from following the forum.

Given that Exploroz is a website for exploring Australia, it's no big stretch of the imagination to say that many would have a love of outdoor activities (and there are plenty you haven't listed).

For me:
I don't run my own business
camping - since I was very young
trailbikes - no, but nothing against them
revhead - nup
shooting - in a previous life; saw too many mishaps. Nothing against it, though.
bush skills - average. Combined with common sense keeps me out of trouble.
a love of Oz and the outback - why else would we be travelling/camping/coming to this forum?
xboxes etc - don't own one but nothing against them; they're just a toy like mobile phones, gps, ipods etc use them but don't let 'em rule your life.
other outdoor activities related to travelling that I'm interested in - surfing, fishing, snorkelling, canoeing, bushwalking, observing flora and fauna, seeing new places, watching the sunrise/sunset and basically enjoying being surrounded by nature.

AnswerID: 227137

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:44

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:44
Forgot computers - no problems. Don't use them at work. Self taught on home pc; even type using all my fingers lol
FollowupID: 487960

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:18

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 15:18
- camping - Yep , not as much as I would like
- trail bikes - nup , hate the bloody things
- general rev head stuff - absolute rev head
- shooting - not anymore
- bush skills - not too bad, Scouts must be good at something
- a love for australia and outback - Yep
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's - Absolutely NOT. Love the things. Cant wait for the PS3 to arrive shortly.
Dont own or Run my Own business, Wage earner for the 23 years of my working life.
- Computer Savy - My work is based around puters.

-Observation , it seems , certainly lately , the age of the contributors here is increasing , certainly by answers here and questions in general.
AnswerID: 227144

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 16:40

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 16:40
camping - Yep , nowhere near enough and happy to move to caravans as I progress through the ages
- trail bikes – Not interested mainly been denied in childhood
- general rev head stuff – Yep just don’t seem to get to the drags either very often these days
- shooting – Haven’t been for ages but will look to get back into it – bluddy hard these days.
- bush skills – Average and happy to keep working at it
- a love for australia and outback - Yep
- a hate of xboxes and PS2's – Never liked them until I played a Wii recently.
- Being a public servant makes me self employed.
- Computer Savy - My work involves about 90% computer use.
Fishing – Not enough but looking to do more, used to live for this before I got married.
Hoping to get into fossicking and metal detecting, seems a good fit with camping
Always been interested in photography and art so this will also get a bash, again a good fit with all things camping

AnswerID: 227154