Farm Stay

Submitted: Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 01:35
ThreadID: 43154 Views:2068 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
Does anyone know a cheap farm stay (2 adults, 17 years old and 10 years old) within 200K of Sydney.

Nothing special - Say $150 night max.

A few chickens, cows, baby type somethings, perhaps horses for beginners.

Separate accomodation from host family.

Something to do after dark - town within 20K ot TV available

Cook our own meals OK

Son is learning to drive - gentle 4x4 conditions would be good.

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 03:58

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 03:58
Morning WDR,
It's all a bit quiet just now, eh. Ahh well,things flow and ebb.
Seems that you're copping more ebbs than flows . Hang in, the tide may turn.
Jeff.
AnswerID: 226868

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 04:49

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 04:49
WDR,

Try here or Google "farmstays" in Aust.
AnswerID: 226869

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 08:49

Tuesday, Mar 13, 2007 at 08:49
You will be terrified of some prices..

I wanted to do this few yrs back, got quoted $600+ for 2 days/1 night for 2 ad/1 kid - food extra.

Rang several places, adn they were trying to clear the national debt overnight. Gave up and licked JR's feet.. hes a lovely chap.
FollowupID: 487899

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 06:17

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 06:17
Used to be in the business WDR and it was fun. Think insurance premiums has reduced a lot of capability of the business owner to do what you ask.
Try www.austfarmtourism.com/index.html too, similar to what Gramps is suggesting. Host farms were part of what we were doing.
AnswerID: 226872

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:35

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:35
Visited a mate's farm once. He took it as an opportunity to get all the cattle yarded etc etc etc. By the end of the day I was...tired. All I wanted to do was say G'day and have a quick look around....had to knock back an offer to stay the week, I wouldn't have made it LOL
FollowupID: 487729

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:53

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:53
F'loosie, there can be an element of that of course. I think visitors here of the past few years though find they don't have a lot of work applied. You must have had skills to offer mate. I tend not to do a lot of manual work about these days. Sitting down and doing a uni course a few years back reduced my fitness more than I should have allowed.
FollowupID: 487733

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:59

Monday, Mar 12, 2007 at 09:59
No wonder I'm so crook. All those Uni courses, all those years. Maybe I can sue them...they should come with a warning LOL
FollowupID: 487735