Hells Gate Roadhouse is Closed

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 21:13
ThreadID: 43351 Views:4628 Replies:5 FollowUps:15
As from March 2007 for reasons beyond their control..
If this has already been spoken about please disregard this post..

Reply By: Voxson - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 21:14

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 21:14
Just to be on the safe side i will say supposedly... But pretty sure it has..
AnswerID: 228041

Follow Up By: Voxson - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 21:15

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 21:15
Hells Gate closes

Bill Olive, who runs the Gulf business with partner Leona, said keeping the roadhouse open was not financially viable after the State Government last year asked them to log alcohol sales.
"For people going back to Doomadgee, we could sell them only three cartons of beer per vehicle," Mr Olive said.

The managers also had to write down every alcohol sale in a log book.

"They (Liquor Licensing) only put that (requirement) on this place," he said.

"The Aboriginal people stopped coming."

He said people who bought alcohol at the roadhouse also stocked up on fuel, food and groceries.

The business had to be closed for five months of the year because of the Wet season but still had to pay public liability and other insurances.

"We just said we can't do it anymore, we're not getting paid to police the Liquor Licensing restrictions and we closed the roadhouse down at the end of November."

He said fuel would not be sold to the public but would be available to motorists only in emergencies.

The roadhouse is part of Cliffdale Station, which the Olives run, and is now a private homestead.

"We started Cliffdale Station in 1975, we built the station and built the roadhouse and leased it out."

FollowupID: 488818

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 22:20

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 22:20
any luck on info on the auto conversion/
FollowupID: 488827

Follow Up By: Voxson - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 22:29

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 22:29
I forgot all about it.....
I am so over this car already.....
I am ready for a 100 Series Landcruiser....
FollowupID: 488832

Follow Up By: Voxson - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 22:31

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 22:31
As from November 2006 actually the closure..
FollowupID: 488833

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 10:35

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 10:35
Doomadgee is about to have the Army come in and build a few houses for the community as part of the Fedral Government Nation building exercise. I wonder if they were going to get fuel locally or truck it themselves from further south.

They should be there from somewhere in May/June until October.
So if any one travelling in the area call in and say G'day, as I know of at least one Forum frequenter will be there. (no its not me)

They have been planning this since this time last year and it is an annual occurence that happens throughout remote Aust.

Sorry to hijack your thread Voxson but some might find it interesting

FollowupID: 488888

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 20:49

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 20:49
'I am so over this car already..... '

????????? What the.....the dream patrol of many! Care to elaborate?

Leroy
FollowupID: 488981

Follow Up By: Voxson - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 21:04

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 21:04
Hi Leroy,,,

I dont mean to be unappreciative,,, i am....
But all these years of owning Patrols and nothing else makes me wonder about the other side...
I drove my mates lifted 100 series the other day (5 inch) and it drove like its on rails,,,,,, mine drives like it is on jelly.....
Just a whole heap of little things...
Maybe i should have kept my comment as a thought.... *shrugs*
FollowupID: 488989

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 21:21

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 21:21
So another one has seen the light. LOL Must advise Roachie and Bonz to this fact.
FollowupID: 488994

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 23:03

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 23:03
Its not a light Des, its more of a burgeoning belly ache

FollowupID: 489026

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 23:07

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 23:07
But the belly ache just keeps gnawing away at you until you have to do something about it. Might as well get it over and done with now and save all that pain. I can see you now just cruising around at the challenge in you shiny new cruiser. Gee you look good in it too!!!! LOL
FollowupID: 489027

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 23:08

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 23:08
Its the yota thats a belly ache mate, and I WILL be cruising around the challenge in a Grierson Engineering 100 series hopefully, will see what it feels like to get back into a tough Patrol then

FollowupID: 489028

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:11

Tuesday, Mar 20, 2007 at 21:11
when I had the 7in lift in the GQ, and shocks on hard, it also handled like it was on rails, shocking some mates.. you can do anything if you have the time.

if your selling, lets swap boxes and bleep
FollowupID: 489402

Reply By: kimprado - Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 23:23

Saturday, Mar 17, 2007 at 23:23
Hi Voxson

Interesting post. I work in a position that supports business and economic growth.

Much of my time is taken up by re-educating uninformed Government representatives about the business realities of life.

Unfortunatly, the Glass Tower principle still applies.

Kim

AnswerID: 228061

Follow Up By: Voxson - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 08:57

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 08:57
I read what you say here but i dont understand whether or not you are trying to tell me something....
I saw a newspaper article and thought i would pass it on so people didnt budget for a fuel stop where there may not be one...Pretty bad place to run out of fuel...
FollowupID: 488870

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 11:12

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 11:12
There is another roadhouse quite nearby IIRC? I seem to recall there is one on either side of the border about 50km apart?

AnswerID: 228106

Follow Up By: Sparkie C - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 12:37

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 12:37
Mike if you are referring to Wollogorang it was permanently closed in 2005 when we went through, the nearest fuel would be Domadgee or Borroloola from memory
long way to be short of fuel.
Cheers Sparkie
FollowupID: 488902

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 13:07

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 13:07
>Mike if you are referring to Wollogorang

That's the one!

>closed in 2005

Ouch! Going to make the Gulf Road a pretty long and remote trip now.

Mike harding
FollowupID: 488904

Reply By: Voxson - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 20:41

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 20:41
There is a new roadhouse out near the road at Doomadgee.....So no problems...
AnswerID: 228189

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 16:59

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 16:59
Any similarity that this entire post has to the English language and comprehension of same , is by extreme good luck and nothing else.
AnswerID: 228836