Cameron Corner to Flinders Ranges

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 11:50
ThreadID: 43365 Views:7996 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
HI folks, planning a trip to Flinders from Sydney between Easter and Anzac Day with a friend towing his camper trailer with a Magna wagon. What are his chances of making it from Camerons Corner to the Strezlecki Track and then down to Arkaroola. This is assuming he can make it from Wilcannia to Tibooburra and out to the Corner. Also, has Wilcannia given LPG the flick as it's not showing up on the LPG outlets/trip planner website. Site link Site Link
Judging by other posts there should be quite a crowd at the Pound. Cheers, Warrie
Warrie

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 12:53

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 12:53
Warrie,

His chances are very slim. That is 4WD country once you get to the Strezlecki.

If you want to go to Arkaroola and the Pound stay on the sealed road, go via Broken Hill, Peterborough and Hawker.

AnswerID: 228116

Reply By: Diver1 - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 14:20

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 14:20
cannt imagine a magna going over the sand dunes out that way - 4wd country espcially towing.....not usre about the lpg at wilcannia but i know that going across the nsw qld border (east - west) the last place for lpg is bourke....(nest place as Alice for us on our trip...)

good luck and happy travelling what ever way you go..

Laura
AnswerID: 228122

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 06:33

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 06:33
Go Laura !

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 489058

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 15:16

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 15:16
Yeah your mate can take his Magna out to the Strzelecki and then down to Lyndhurst, Copley and the n east agin to Arkaroola. As long as he takes it easy and carries a few extra spare tyres. He might have to gun it over some of the dunes on the way to the Strzelecki.

He will not get to Arkaroola via Mt Hopeless and Balcanoona though as it is a 4x4 track only.

Cant help you with gas.
AnswerID: 228130

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 20:49

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 20:49
You are right again Willem but if I went that way in a Magna I would want to sell it soon after getting home.

Then again I would probably want to sell it pretty soon anyway.

FollowupID: 488980

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 21:01

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 21:01
Agree with Willem.
Been on that road a couple of times.
Told a friend with a 63 rambler ute, so he towed his 15' van back from Adelaide to Brisbane about 18 months ago, from Lyndhurst to Innamincka. No problems.
Road can be stony at the Innamincka end, so careful driving in a magna would be required to watch the sump and fuel tank.

Now the back road from Mt Hopeless (on the Strezlecki) to Arkaroola is a different story. Few creek crossings that might be a bit tricky, steep entry & exits, for a low clearance magna. A high clearance ute may be OK. Road can be stony too.

That is if it is dry. If it is wet, you would need to rethink the problems.
FollowupID: 488987

Follow Up By: fishaholic - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 22:14

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 22:14
yeah been up there a couple of times, the road to arkaroola is very rocky and some of the dry creeks can have small washouts in em, the magna could be fine, but he only needs to hit one a bit quick. I reckon he'd be better off going straight to lynhurst to flinders that way. Hope this helps, have a good trip
FollowupID: 489004

Follow Up By: Warrie - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 22:22

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 22:22
Thanks to all for your replies. Looks like my mate will remain a tar hugger. Was just trying to make a round trip. He will have to double back from Arkaroola to Leigh Ck and the tar. I'd still like to press on from Balcanoona up to the Strez tk, turn right to Merty Merty, Cam cnr, thru the Sturt NP and then Wilcannia and the long drive home. In Aug 05 we towed the '79 Swan van with a Pathfinder problem free from Wilpena Pound past Chambers Gorge and up to Arkaroola. So is the section north of Balcanoona any worse?
By the way Willem your trek note on Nilpena and Lake Torrens might be a goer for us. Our friends can sit in the back and enjoy the ride. Any more info or pix about it? Actually with pix in the SMH of a yacht on Lake Eyre its tempting to head up there from Arkaroola. Cheers, Warrie
Warrie

FollowupID: 489006

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 22:40

Sunday, Mar 18, 2007 at 22:40
Yeah I have a couple more pix of the place but it generally just flatness. Can email them to you. Contact me through my website below if you want em.

FollowupID: 489011

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 06:24

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 06:24
And if it rains you will have some fun.
AnswerID: 228241

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 09:01

Monday, Mar 19, 2007 at 09:01
Yeah Warrie.

The road up through Balcanoona and on to the Strez is probably not as good as the bit past Chambers but you won't have any problems if you take it easy.

Once you get ot the Strez it is a real easy run to Merty Merty and then there are a few soft bits between there and the corner but once again it should not cause too many dramas

AnswerID: 228263