ADSL!!!! Definitely worth the wait......

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:24
ThreadID: 43475 Views:3533 Replies:13 FollowUps:36
I hadmy router delivered this morning and, after waiting for who knows how long, I have Broadband at last.

I am on the basic plan with 256 speed which is a lot better that 50(or less).

Tomorrow I may have Wireless connected to the Laptop as well as I was advised yesterday that they are coming. Trouble is they made an appointment for 7th March but never showed up. Something about funding being stopped. But now funding is on again. We shall see, no doubt...lol

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:26

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:26
just watch your limits sonny...costs an arm n a leg if you go over
AnswerID: 228774

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:36

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:36
Aren't you suppose to be at work, young fella?

I have the basic package which slows the speed down if you go close to 500mb. My local ISP has been very accommodating over the 5 years I have been with them and have never been charged for going over. I don't surf the net that much anyway, just waste time here on EO..lol
FollowupID: 489506

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:40

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 11:40
just about to leave the office to go do some work ......at the gun club...the aircon has broken down...hahaha

no going back to old modem ....
FollowupID: 489507

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 20:33

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 20:33
I agree there No.1 my kids racked up a bill for $1,000 one month without knowing. Miught have also had something to do with and unprotected wireless router and someone hacking in.
FollowupID: 489635

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:03

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:03
what?...guess you did have a hacker
FollowupID: 489641

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:05

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:05
Willem
Great to hear your on ADSL , When I was on a 500mb limit I kept going over , it didn't cost me anymore but things were so slowed down I couldn't be bothered , I;m now on 5gb per month and 256 kb downloads,
It shines over dial up and you can use the phone at the same time.

AnswerID: 228780

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:37

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:37
I'm on 12gb per month @1500 kb downloads then slows to 256 kb downloads. It doesn't take long to download a heap of stuff and have it slow down on you. I have cracked the 12 gb about 3 times since I upgraded to it and I now will never go back to the lame 400mb that I started on a few years ago.

FollowupID: 489515

Reply By: Im.away - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:07

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:07
G'day Willem,

mate, make sure that your techies secure your wireless network. Last week I was at Harvey in WA and the motel I was staying at didn't have broadband. I jumped in the car with my laptop on and all of a sudden HEY PRESTO! it connected to an unsecured wireless network. I downloaded the files from my Server that I deperately needed and then I drove off.

Now I know what I did was wrong and, believe me, if I could have pinpointed the source of the signals I would have offered to secure their network for them, but all the same, I had to get that data and I took advantage of the situation.

Even if you live in the middle of nowhere, someone could still find and access your network. My laptop is always in my vehicle and turned on as it is my GPS display. It picks up wireless networks as soon as it is in range of them. It connects to unsecured networks automatically and I often find that my anti-virus program has updated itself and I didn't even realise it was happening!

My mobile phone does exactly the same thing - it too picks up and connects to unsecured networks. The thing is, my devices are secured so that anybody whose network I connect to, doesn't even know I'm there.

AnswerID: 228781

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:47

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:47
Many Public Libraries have a wireless network system and anyone can get a free password and hook into the system.
FollowupID: 489517

Follow Up By: Im.away - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:52

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:52
Excellent point. Unfortunately it seems to mainly be the libraries in major centres - and of course they need to be open when you need them. Libraries receive funding to do this, but I'm pretty sure that Willem would not like to be sharing his bandwidth with others.
FollowupID: 489518

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:53

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:53
We had 3 in our street that were unsecured... Found them while playing with the missus PSP. Tracked them down and helped them secure it, 2 of the 3 were installed by a major telco tech...??? I have gone for a walk at night with the PSP and it is truely astounding just how many unsecured networks are about...
FollowupID: 489519

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:54

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:54
BTW, welcome to the age of effortless downloads Willem...
FollowupID: 489520

Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:00

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:00
Yep, toured the UK last year, and frequently found unsecured wireless sites, which made it a breeze to do some surfing.
Re security, just make sure you choose WPA or WPA2 encryption when setting up your wireless connection.
WEP encryption can be cracked with relative ease.
Gerry
FollowupID: 489523

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:03

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:03
Ahhh...what is an unsecured wireless network????

One Wire have put a large aerial on one of the pubs in town and I am about 300 metres away from it. I applied for both ADSL and Wireless at the same time through different ISP's and have been told I am allowed to have both. Wireless is free for 18 months as long as you do not go online between 4.30pm and 8.30pm CST.

I may get a wireless plug in for the laptop at a later stage though I dont bother much with the internet when travelling.

FollowupID: 489524

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:03

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:03
Yep Gerry and the software to crack WEP is freely available on the net... Difficult to set up but a breeze once established...
FollowupID: 489525

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:07

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:07
Willem, when you set up a wireless router on your wired ADSL, you need to go through the steps to secure your signal when you set up the router... Just stops nasties from scanning your connection for tid bits of information like bank details etc... and also stops them from steeling your bandwidth...

It's something many on here could talk you through out of the forum if you need assistance.
FollowupID: 489526

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:33

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:33
Hi Blue

Still confused. Wireless here will go from my laptop to a piece of equipment up on my roof which catches a signal beaming out from a tower 300 metres away. Do I still need a router behind the laptop? My home computer is connected to ADSL via the phone line and I have my missus' computer networked to mine through the router.

Also would I need separate Anti Virus for the missus' computer as on dial-up this wasn't necessary.

FollowupID: 489534

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:40

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:40
It's OK Willem, your confusion probably has more to do with my not having slept yet from the long drive home from Sydney than anything else... Just went back and read everything, appears I omitted a few key points in my perusal...

You should find out what encryption is available for the wireless transmission, if any and implement it...
FollowupID: 489537

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 18:14

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 18:14
Willem,

The confusion is that there are two wireless networks.

Wireless ethernet - local networking.
Just as you hook up computers to a hub or switch so you can establish a local internal network at home or the office, you can replace a wire with a wireless system.(excuse the pun :o) I have done this at home so I can use my laptop anywhere in the house to connect to a printer and my modem.
You hook up a transmitter (wireless hub) and most laptops have wireless ethernet installed with the right transmitting hardware built in.
It is recommended that you put some security (usually a 'key', like a password) on these local networks so your neighbour can't hook in and see your computer or modem. They get free use of your modem (and your download allowance) if they do.

Wireless internet - modem on a wireless card.
Normally on a laptop. You can buy a card from Telstra etc that is a mobile phone and modem on a card. That way you can connect directly to the internet from a laptop if your system can find a mobile tower, whether it is Next G, CDMA or GSM.

Hope that helps.
I have a feeling you are having the 2nd installed on your laptop, so it will come with some security.
FollowupID: 489607

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:14

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:14
Thanks Oldploder

Your desription makes some sense.

I will insist that the techs install some sort of encryption to the Laptop.

FollowupID: 489647

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:24

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:24
Just re read your post Oldplodder

I am actually hooking up with OneWire ISP transmitter. I will have a receiver on the roof and that will stay in touch with the transmitting tower closeby. The receiver on the roof then runs by wire to my ethernet plug on the laptop. Hope this makes sense.

I suppose people could still hack into my computer if it is not protected???

FollowupID: 489654

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 09:56

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 09:56
Ok Willem,

The third option. :o))
Yes, you can also use wireless ethernet to connect to a ISP tower like you have.
There are a few security options on wireless ethernet. My son is getting about 20 kilometres this way with a directional aerial to a friend.

Make sure they show you how it is configured and note the settings down.
And make sure they tell you what security codes they use.
You know, the usual guff on new installs of any type.

And I get worried about the fancy electronics on cars?

Like your current rig pic, my parents were in Kruger about 20 years before you when they were living in SA. Always marvelled at their stories. They ended up on Oz after the Vorster govnmt came in.
FollowupID: 489733

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 10:17

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 10:17
Thanks again

Your parents must be 20 years older than me. I was in primary school in 1953..:-)

I came out here in 1968 and have been back for various reasons at different times to take in some of the parks etc. Haveen to most of the large parks in SA and Namibia.

FollowupID: 489741

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:20

Thursday, Mar 22, 2007 at 20:20
Hi everyone

Well the fella came and installed an aerial on the roof with a cable to my ethernet plug on the laptop. The cable is powered by a 240v charger.

He told me that the aerial has its own modem which is password protected and so there is little or no chance for a third pasrty to access my computer or my connectivity to the tower.

Hope he is right.

But so far the speed is only 100kbps compared to my ADSL of 256kbps

Its free installation and no fees for 18 months and no commitment beyond that so we shal see what transpired in that time.

FollowupID: 489874

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:09

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:09
Wow Gee !!..you may even have decimal currency down there soon... :-)
AnswerID: 228782

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:57

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:57
And you may upgrade to a Nissan soon....:-)
FollowupID: 489522

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:47

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 12:47
That's great Willem.

Some people are lucky. But for those of us that live way out in the sticks in suburban Adelaide and broadband is not always available. Telstra skimped when they were developing the area and there are not enough lines in with most users on pair gain systems. That and 7km to the exchange means ADSL is not an option.

Oh they did offer a wireless modem and connection to the 3G network, but the prices would have made Henry Morgan blush! My kids can rack up over 1Gb a month on ISDN dial up!

Pete, gigabyte poor, Adelaide
AnswerID: 228788

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:12

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:12
I would have thought that Broadband was everywhere in a city!!

We petitioned Telstra and at first they said too much had to be done to upgrade our exchange but then, with the sale of Telstra and all that, it was on the cards that there was a change of heart(oh yeah), that we would get it. It has taken 2 years to get this far with them.

I am lucky as I am only 150 metres or less from the Telstra Exchange

Broadband will cost me $35 per month. My ISP is wearing the connection and router costs as he stated that he fell outside the 'FREE' Telstra area. And it has taken exactly five weeks to get hold of the router through a comedy of stuff ups all around. Patience...one needs patience out here in the never never.....LOL

FollowupID: 489529

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:18

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:18
Ah Telstra. Parts of Aberfoyle Park, Happy Valley and Flagstaff Hill all have the same problems. Too far fromteh Reynella, Brighton and Coromandel Valley exchanges. Our local neighbourhood watch led a push to get Telstra to talk to us.

The bloke from Telstra who cam to talk to us at a public meeting was from the Barossa Valley. It turns out that Telstra has us all down as country customers. He told us that there is a low take up of ADSL in our area and this indicated that demand was low and it was not economical to upgrade the lines and exchanges.

Come again! We can't have broadband because connections across the whole of the three suburbs are lower than the national average which indicates demand is low and they can't then justify improving services. But people like those that attended the meeting can't connect broadband because it doesn't work in large areas of the suburbs. Joseph Heller where are you??

Pete, "at least I have broadband at work"
FollowupID: 489548

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:09

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:09
S'pose it will be traffic lights next in the 'Borough..........LOL LOL

-and if you get wireless does that mean I can sit outside your place and download heaps of stuff...........

Michael
AnswerID: 228792

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:44

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:44
Well we already have a Parking Inspector!!!

Rumours are rife that town is just about to hit the boom time. Maybe that mine is going ahead???

Don't think its worth the drive to my place for downloads...lol

FollowupID: 489538

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:31

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:31
Yep . that's about it , Yongala might get some too, but what ever don't let em knock down the Belalie

AnswerID: 228796

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:47

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 13:47
Neah...you lost me there Doug. What is at Belalie?
FollowupID: 489539

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:36

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 14:36
Willem
Sorry old mate, that remark about the Belalie was directed to Michael,
The Belalie is a hotel in his town and it is a beautiful old building from 1877.

FollowupID: 489554

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:13

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:13
my great gf (? or was that just grandpa) ..any how he was farming there for a while...in north belalie
FollowupID: 489646

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:24

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:24
256 speed. Ahhhhh the memories. It will be like greased lightning for you mate. I'm on ADSL2 which claims to have speeds up to 24000 but all i seem to get is about 7-8000. :)
AnswerID: 228825

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:16

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:16
Yeah but you are working class...me just old pensioner and have to watch pennies.

Still 256 is better than zilch...lol
FollowupID: 489651

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:25

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 15:25
If you love 256k ADSL wait until you try 1.5MB and then ADSL Plus 2 or Extreme..! ADSL Plus 2 can run up to 24MB.! Thats thousands of times faster than 256k. They say speed is a drug and I tend to agree with them, as does Ben Cousins..! LOL
AnswerID: 228826

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:26

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 17:26
oh great now we just get more cr@p quicker lol
cheers mate
AnswerID: 228840

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:14

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:14
thats all we get from you ..so suffer...quack!
FollowupID: 489648

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:17

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:17
Yeah Jemima....you had better Duck for cover....lol

FollowupID: 489652

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 19:12

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 19:12
congratulations willem

AnswerID: 228854

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:42

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 21:42
Willem,

When your guy comes to install the Wireless, make sure that

1) SSID broadcast is turned off

2) MAC address filtering is turned on

3) Encryption is the highest level available on your device

This way,

1) People driving down the street won't see your network

2) only your PC with its MAC address can connect to your router

3) makes your connection as secure as possible.

I only use 1 & 2 on mine and have never had anyone hack in.

Be wary also - 400 Mb sounds a lot, but many of the links on here are to videos which you will enjoy now, but you can easily go over and they can charge like wounded bulls as many have said.
AnswerID: 228892

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:04

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:04
It's nice
AnswerID: 228910

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:30

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:30
Hi ya Richard.
Have you been hiding
where's your rig pic

FollowupID: 489693

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:36

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:36
Out of site out of mind

I being screwed

it will all come out
FollowupID: 489695

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:41

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:41
Is someone giving you a hard time ...she..... .No we won't go there that's for you , anyhow keep on the bright side eh, Richard you only have 1 chance at life , make the most of it .

Doug

FollowupID: 489699

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:52

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:52
No she... it's the site
FollowupID: 489704

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:56

Wednesday, Mar 21, 2007 at 23:56