Camping with Dog - Tom Groggin etc

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 06:23
ThreadID: 43713 Views:5033 Replies:4 FollowUps:38
Hi guys,

Keen to camp with some friends who are limited by a 16 week old dog - too young for the kennels, and no option to leave with others..)

We are keen on some time at Easter around the Tom Groggin, Mt Pinnibar, Davies Plain area.

We know the dog can't go in National Parks, and we are limited to State Forest etc - from what I can see on the maps, Tom Groggin would be ok with a dog??

Any other areas we could camp with a dog? (that we could still access Pinnibar etc for a day drive without dog..)

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 07:23

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 07:23
Ivan you can camp at Buckwong Hut or Buenba Flat with dogs, there are a couple of other places over the range like Wheelers Creek Hut or Cattlemans creek which is about 500mtrs from Wheelers Cr Hut or Gibson Hut (beware of Tiger snakes there) these are just a few.

I'm not about Dogmans Hut(Tom Groggan Hut) on whether it's in the Alpine NP.

AnswerID: 230154

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 15:08

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 15:08
I forgot to add having the dog in the car is OK while going through a NP, you just can't let them out of the car, we have done this with ours and wait till we are out of the NP to let them STRETCH their legs, remember to carry little poo bags and have them on a leash too.

Tom Groggan campground is NP, so no dogs.

FollowupID: 491061

Follow Up By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 20:11

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 20:11
Yeah, I agree, watch out for the tiger snake living under the front step of Pinnibar(Gibson) hut. We camped there with our 8 year old Boxer over new years. Its just outside the NP area, and still a close drive to Mt Pinnibar. Most times I have been to this area Wheelers Creek hut camp area is almost always occupied. Gibson hut is generally very quite.
FollowupID: 491960

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 09:03

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 09:03
Don't wish to sound judgemental, however I really don't believe that dogs and the bush go really well together particularly in areas where there are known wild dog problems. I guess that many of those dogs - going feral - had to be owned by someone once who thought it would be OK to take a pet dog into the bush.
At 16 weeks, if the dog was old enough to remove it from it's mother, it's old enough to go into a kennel. Believe me, it's the best place for it. RSPCA run boarding kennels, bet they take young animals. You won't have to worry about snakes, baits, traps and trigger happy 'hunters' etc.
AnswerID: 230181

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 09:11

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 09:11
It would be more the fault of deer hunters using dogs with the odd one getting lost or the odd person dumping an unwanted animal. I would say most dog owners are responible who take their dogs camping.

Leroy - non dog owner.
FollowupID: 490980

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:08

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:08
I agree with DIO. It doesn't matter how the dogs get loose - as soon as there's a male and female loose you have wild dog packs.

Problems in our society are never caused by majorities - you say most dog owners are responsible - I agree with that, and they don't create the problem.

It's the minority that causes the problem.
FollowupID: 491009

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:17

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:17
Another vote here for leaving the dish-lickers at home. I love dogs as much as the next bloke, but they can be a PITA in a camp environment......at least to the others in your group who may not want their gear sniffed/licked/pee'd-on/muddy paws inside their tent/camper etc etc. On top of this there is the chance the damn thing will yap all bloody night, chase the native fauna etc etc.

Sorry if I sound negative, but I have seen it 1st hand.......another EO member (who shall remain nameless, but may recognise this little story) it was actually........he brought his dish-licker along and he thought it was a great joke when the damn stupid thing pee'd on another blokes bag of spuds that he'd left on the ground outside his camper trailer. No apology, no kick in the @rse, nuffin!!! The owner of the spuds gave the bloke a word of advice about keeping the mut on a lead if he didn't want it's rear-most orrifice redesigned into the shape of a Blunnie!!!!
FollowupID: 491012

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:38

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:38
I'm sure Ivan doesn't want a lecture on the do's and don'ts of taking a dog camping, he just want's to know where he can camp with dogs in the area he's asked about.
FollowupID: 491017

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 13:50

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 13:50
Fair call Baz, but heh, if nobody makes their thoughts known about these types of issues, then dog owners go blythely ahead thinking that everybody shares their desire to be slobbered on etc.

I'm not attempting to lecture Ivan or anybody else. I'm quite happy for people to take their dish-lickers camping with them.........just not where I'm camped please.

If what I have said is seen as being along the lines of a lecture, then I offer my sincere apologies.

FollowupID: 491043

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 14:29

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 14:29
I agree with Leroy, my little fella has been everywherem turns 11 in June and has not gone Feral
members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/dusty1.htm

FollowupID: 491053

Follow Up By: Kath21 - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 14:57

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 14:57
I fully see where everyone is coming from, but isn't one of the reasons some places say 'no dogs' so that the people who don't like dogs around camp can go to those places.... and I don't believe a 6 week old puppy should be put in a kennel, far to stressful for it.
FollowupID: 491059

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 15:44

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 15:44
It's amazing how people ignore things when pushing their particular barrow.

Doug's dog has been camping with him and hasn't gone feral. Well Golly Gosh - where did any of us say that happens. The discussion is about dogs that are left behind due to getting lost, running off, etc, and it's THOSE which have to go feral or die.

Kath is saying a 6 week old dog is too young to go to a kennel, but the dog in question here is 16 weeks old. That's a lifetime's difference in dog years.

I'm with Roachie - I love dogs, but detest those owners who allow them to remain untrained and hence become a pain to everyone else. I have the right to camp unmolested by someone else's pooch even in an area which allows dogs.

So the message to dog owners is - TRAIN them. They'll be happier dogs and won't spoil things for others.
FollowupID: 491066

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 16:11

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 16:11
This thread reminds me of that old phrase: "I'm not racist... but...."
FollowupID: 491077

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 16:29

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 16:29
I would rather people took their dogs & left their kids at home!
FollowupID: 491087

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 17:57

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 17:57
Gerhardp1
Hey big head did I say something that you don't agree with. well I'M sorry,sorry,sorry,sorry,sorry,sorry,sorry,sorry,sorry,sorry,sorry,sorry i upset your ego

All I did was read where someone mentioned the word Feral , all I ddi was say mines not gone feral yet ,,,,like you , P.I.T.A

FollowupID: 491115

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:01

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:01
Just what I'd expect from you Doughead.

Can't read or comprehend but can hurl insults. Go ask mummy for supper, there's a good kiddy. Maybe you'll feel better after some warm milk.
FollowupID: 491117

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:12

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:12
Gentlemen... please?

Gerhardp1: People who go to the trouble of taking a dog camping with them will usually go to considerable trouble to ensure their dog doesn't become lost - had I lost my Cav. in the bush it would have been like loosing one of my children and I _would not_ have left the area until I had found her.

Feral dogs are usually the result of deer/pig hunters loosing dogs or domestic dogs from country areas going feral and, of course, idiot people dumping dogs they don't want in the bush!

Those of us who care for dogs because we love them take great care of them.

FollowupID: 491121

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:16

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:16
Tis OK Mike. he just got let out of Kindy,

FollowupID: 491123

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:22

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:22
How did you know?

But all is good, as I passed the kindy exam today and now I am more qualified than you. I passed reading and comprehension, something you still need work on.

FollowupID: 491124

Follow Up By: Member - Robert A (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 00:47

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 00:47
I have always taken a dog or dogs camping where permitted and will continue to do so. Love hunting pigs. This is a free country.
People should be more worried about feral cat problems than dog problems.

I think I'm doing my part in protecting the Australian bush and wildlife. Hunting feral animals.

Dogs make for a great security system in certain parts of Australia.
I say find a good camp and Take your Dog, he or she will enjoy it as much as you do.
Just be responsible for your dog. I'm sure a young pup is not going to rip down a beast or sheep.

My sister has a book called camping with dogs. I think its only for Queensland but I'm sure they have one for down ther as well.

Enjoy camping with your dog.

Rob
FollowupID: 491200

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 09:05

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 09:05
Good thing about this country is the freedom, we have a 6month old puppy and she now goes eveywhere with us, including camping. She will continue to come camping with us. If your dog is well trained ,they usually behave better than most children.
FollowupID: 491231

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 09:09

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 09:09
Crazie
Good one mate , well said

FollowupID: 491232

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 09:30

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 09:30
Also, dogs aren't responsible for dirty nappies thrown in the bush, or piles of toilet paper!
FollowupID: 491235

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:37

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:37
I agree shaker but they are responsible for those turds you stand on on the nature strips and in the parks. Oh no that's not the dogs fault but the owners! We have those doggy dodo bags near bins on the tracks and owners don't use them as much as they should.

Leroy
FollowupID: 491300

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:44

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:44
Leroy
What a nice subject we have on here today , LMAO. well I will add that i've trod on a couple in my time and both were not from Dogs , In fact if you pull into a rest area for a coffee you won't take long to find out your near one while haveing a sanga, Reast Area's and Parking Bays are not healthy place's to spend time at ,

Doug

FollowupID: 491303

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:55

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 16:55
Doug, I agree .... we all talk about all the exotic & often unnecessary equipment to take camping, but why do people seem to leave the basic thing at home, I'm referring to a SHOVEL!

The number of places where you just need to walk a few metres away from a camp site to find a plethora of 'bush daisies'!
Surely a shovel is the first thing to be included in any camping list, so there is absolutely no excuse for not digging a hole, & you can also dig an extra hole for the 'doggy do' & fill it in when you leave.
I stand by my previous comment, the dogs aren't to blame, it's their owners.

There is an old saying that is just as relevant to dogs as to us, "if you don't eat, you don't s**t .... if you don't s**t, you die!
FollowupID: 491306

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 17:03

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 17:03
Shaker

Gawd damn it man , your beginning to sound like my old Man '
"if you don't eat, you don't s**t .... if you don't s**t, you die!

He use to say that a lot to me once , Havn't heard him say it for a long time now........, He's pushing Daisies up , ...................{Sorry Dad }

FollowupID: 491310

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 17:10

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 17:10
Hey Guys

I don't think there is anything wrong taking a dog camping, so long as it's done so responsibly and not in a National Park.

Taking a dog on a camping trip with others is a different story, Our family just finished a 6 week 14000km trip 1/2 way around Oz, when we got to Mansfield we picked up a family friend and his dog.

This was all planed prior to leaving home, we had planed 3 weeks to get home, but were home in 2, the dog was no trouble to travel with , but servely restricted the rest of our trip.

This did cause a bit of friction between friends, we are all over it now, so if traveling with friends and taking a dog in my opinion it is not to be taken lightly.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 491313

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:19

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:19
I'm a dog owner and would never consider taking him on any camping trip (nat park or not). I put it in the smoking category. Very unsocial.
FollowupID: 491341

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:36

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:36
A lot of people "own" dogs (is that possible?) but rather fewer fully relate to them.
FollowupID: 491347

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 22:23

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 22:23
Are they any more anti-social than:
Loud music?
Kids on mini-bikes?
Drunks & foul language?
Throwing stubbies & cans into fires?
& a lot more things that seem to have become part & parcel of camping in well known areas.

I have camped with people with dogs & people with kids, sorry, but overall I know which I prefer!
FollowupID: 491374

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:06

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:06
I agree with you Shaker and prefer people with kids also ;-) I would also go with a dog over all your listed antisocial behavior.

Leroy
FollowupID: 491437

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:25

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:25
I think people should just do what most of my neighbours do....go away for a few days and just leave your dogs at home to bark the whole time!
I love dogs but hate dog owners
FollowupID: 492001

Reply By: jhumphries - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:36

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:36
Tom Groggin is part of Kosi National Park. No dogs allowed there.
AnswerID: 230214

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:41

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:41
What about Tom Groggan Hut on the other side of the river, i know it's looked after by the staff of Tom Groggan Station, but is it in the NP.

FollowupID: 491018

Follow Up By: jhumphries - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:48

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:48
To my knowledge the other side of river is part of The Alpine National Park VIC or private land part of Tom Groggin Station. Ring Parks VIC for a answer.
FollowupID: 491021

Follow Up By: pt_nomad - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:42

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 18:42
thats correct, the vic side of teh river, dogmans hut, is in the alpine nat park so no mc pooches.
FollowupID: 491131

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 16:15

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 16:15
I think both sides of the river are NP.

Frankly my last (and final) experience of TG campground was that the youngsters, with electronic music systems, and tame roos were far more of a problem than a 16 week old dog would be.

I generally ignored the NP rules regarding dogs when my Cav. was alive - she never hurt anyone/anything or damaged the environment. Don't even think about bothering to lecture me on that one.

AnswerID: 230261

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 16:33

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 16:33
Mike, I am the same as you with our Golden Retriever, we have, on the odd occasion had him in a NP.
I believe in the old saying, that there is "no such thing as bad dogs, just bad owners".
FollowupID: 491089

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:35

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:35
So Mike what was so special about your dog, that you didn't have to adhere to the rules of National Parks?

Don't give me this crap about you dog not hurting the environment, how do you know that you dog didn't crap some where and leave a disease that could affect or kill native or endemic wildlife?

How do you Know your dog didn't leave ticks flees or other types of parasites in areas that could affect or kill native or endemic wildlife?

These rules were put in place to protect native flora, fauna and endemic species, they weren't put there to piss you off.

Until people understand this our native and endemic species are not safe for future generations.

Steve.
FollowupID: 491426

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:06

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:06
If they cause so many problems, why aren't the rules for everybody.
In many National & Desert Parks indigenous Australians have dogs, which more than likely do have "ticks flees (sic) or other types of parasites in areas that could affect or kill native or endemic wildlife?"
FollowupID: 491495

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:20

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 17:20
Standard hysterical response which imagines the bush is a clean, beautiful, unsullied place and everything there is just like Walt Disney portrays. Gawd...!

FollowupID: 491498