Dual Battery vs 75amp Thumper

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 19:58
ThreadID: 43782 Views:13490 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
Well I have gone over to the other side.... My much loved Troopy has found a new home and I have started a new project on a new Nissan coil cab chassis.

Naturally lots of needs wants (wish list). I was going to have a dual battery system fitted but am now considering purchasing a 75amp Thumper. Main use will be for fridge, lighting, and some inverter work. In my mind the mobility of the unit is the biggest plus and from the info I have received seems to be up to the tasks required plus more. cost is about the same..give or take.

I would be grateful to hear form anyone that has been down this path before to hear of your first hand experiences as to which way I should go.

Alex

Reply By: George_M - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:43

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:43
G'day Alex

I think you're really asking two questions here - DBS v power pack, and if you go with a power pack, which one?

The benefit of a DBS is that you fit it and forget it. It's always there for you to plug your accessories in to. To charge it you go for a drive.The benefit of a power pack is that you can remove it from the vehicle either when you're not using it, or when you're camped out under a gum tree somewhere. Both systems can be topped up from a solar panel.

The Thumper is a good product that some members of this forum will say costs too much just for a pretty box. There are certainly cheaper products available on this forum which give a higher battery capacity than a Thumper for an equivalent price, or cheaper.

I personally use a 75 A/H Thumper with an in-car charge kit.

Two reasons. With so many stories about cracks in Prado inner guards I wanted to keep the weight out of the engine bay; and when I camp I remove the Thumper from the vehicle and leave it under the previously mentioned gum tree, attached to my 40L Engel. Depending on the ambient temperature it powers the Engel for nearly (not quite) three days.I'll eventually buy a solar panel to keep the unit topped up when it's out of the vehicle.

I'm very happy with this.

My 2c worth....

George_M

Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 230531

Follow Up By: Member - Alex B - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:52

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:52
Thanks for that George, you clarified my question(s).
With the benefit of experience...would you go with the Thumper?And if not what would you go for?

Thanks again
Alex
FollowupID: 491366

Follow Up By: George_M - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 21:11

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 21:11
I must confess I bought the Thumper because it was an "out of the box" solution that really fitted with how I intended to use it - and no stuffing around.

It all depends on how you want to use it - what accessories, duration, etc.

Derek from Affordable Batteries (ABR) is a member of this forum - may be worth your while having a talk to him if you want more detailed information.

George

FollowupID: 491370

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 12:44

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 12:44
Gday George

FollowupID: 491460

Follow Up By: George_M - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 20:02

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 20:02
G'day Murray.

How goes with you and Wes?

I see your posts from time to time, and I always think "there sits a relaxed dude"!

You mentioned in a previous post that you were going to have a look around the Avon Wilderness Area after the bush fires.

Did you get a change to have a look?

George (and Julie)

FollowupID: 491533

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:36

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:36
We haven't made the time George , Darling always has something for me to do. I imagine that you have the same problems with Julie...Wes and i went up to Sunrasia Desert at Christmas and had a ball. Not enough time ..We intend to do an overnight run before we go to SA for the gathering.We better get on with it then as we are running out of time.
I had all the transmission oils change this morning at a mates garage for the rite price..
I must be off and pick up some shopping for lunch.
See you on the road.
Murray

FollowupID: 491667

Reply By: mj1 - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:50

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:50
Make your own power pack. The off the shelf solutions are big $$$ for stuff all power. I built mine to be a dual battery that I can take with me....................

I bought a battery box, threw in a 120ah fullriver, put in 2x 12v power sockets with a holesaw, put some circuit breakers inside the box and wired some big bad cable to and anderson plug on the side. Also put a battery monitor on the box. In the vehicle I plug it in and its a dual battery setup.... charges off the anderson plug and runs through a regular dual battery isolator. When 'I need mobility I just undo the anderson plug and away I go. I just made my own thumper with bits from the local springers..................

A thumper is 48ah and retails for $600..... my whole setup was $450 (including the dual battery isolator for the car) and has 120ah. All the same functionality, more than twice the power and heaps cheaper........................

AnswerID: 230536

Follow Up By: mj1 - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:52

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 20:52
sorry a thumper is 75ah but still not a patch on 120ah
FollowupID: 491365

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 21:01

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 21:01
Alex

As you are using a ute it is an excellent choice to follow mj1's advice and you get the best of both worlds for half the cost per A/H.

FollowupID: 491369

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 23:11

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 23:11
An interesting topic and one I have personal experience with.

Without intending to offend anyone, mj1 is giving a distorted view of the Thumper product.

The 48 A/h unit mj1 mentions is in fact the "outback" classification which comes in a 30 A/h or 48 A/h unit. similar product, made by the same Company. (Blue Apple)

Then there is the the "Thumper" range of portable battery systems which range from a 60 A/h to a 105 A/h unit, with or without a "High Cranking" feature.

The 75+ A/h unit (which I have) is about the most practical size unit for the majority of "portable" uses. The 105 A/h unit has its place but would hardly be classed as "portable" due to the extra weight, but of course, it still is.

OK, now let me state that I have the fortune of having both a "dual battery system" and a "portable battery system" both being able to be charged from the vehicle alternator. The only primary difference between the two, is one is portable and one is not.

The dual Battery system consists of an Exide Extreme (primary) battery and an Exide Orbital (auxiliary) battery controlled by a Piranha DBS150 electronic Isolator.
This was my first installation and still works OK, the only problem being the capacity of the auxiliary battery is limited to around 55 A/h for an AGM battery that will fit in the engine bay.

Then I had the opportunity (funds) to buy a Thumper for a good price at one of the 4WD Shows with the expectation that I could still charge the unit from the vehicle alternator while travelling, but was not restricted to leaving the fridge in the vehicle when camping.

So, the "dual battery system" and the "portable battery system" are both similar in principal, but given the experience I now have, I wouldn't bother with anything else but the "Thumper" portable battery solution plus the in-car charging system in future
installations.

The "Thumper" has the advantage of being regenerated by the eventual replacement of the smaller internal battery packs over time, without the need to fully replace the whole system. The "Thumper" now comes with a digital voltage display and includes
(in the 75 A/h unit, 3 ports to connect a variety of devices. Two of the ports are the "merit" style socket and one is the standard "cigarette" style socket.

If you have a solar panel to assist recharging while stationary, it can be plugged into any of the available ports.

In the "High Cranking" range of "Thumpers" you also have the ability to use it to jump start virtually any vehicle,, at a slightly higher purchase price, but I believe the factory has a similar A/h capacity range that sells for a cheaper price, without the "high cranking" capacity feature.

So, I am a believer in the product because I use it and could not be happier with my choice.

Two friends of mine "only" have the Thumper system, plus the in-car charging systems at their disposal. Although they both have the 60 A/h units and no other means of maintaining a charge, except running the Vehicle now and again, they are getting by quite comfortably.

For the record, I have no relationship, commercial, or otherwise, with the "Home of 12 volt", (Blue Apple) or the people running the business. I do "know" the boys behind the business as I have talked to them at some 4WD Shows when making purchasing decisions and one of the things I can say is that they really know their products and 12 volt technology in general and can offer qualified advice on whatever solution you may need.

AnswerID: 230555

Follow Up By: Member - Alex B - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 23:20

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 23:20
Thanks Sandman, you have helped me make my decision. Sounds like the high cranking Thumper will suit my needs very well.

Once again thank you for sharing your first hand experience.

Alex
FollowupID: 491381

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 00:41

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 00:41
Hey sandman, where did you get your system from? Mine was from TJM, the battery cradle used for the 2nd battery on my TD Jack (originally 2 battery system) housed a 60a/hr deep cycle. I now fit a 70a/hr AGM (Amptec) on the same tray, using same bracket, although a slightly bigger one will fit with the right bracket. Just thought I'd let you know you may be able to squeeze another in if your setup is similar.

For info, I carry a 120 a/hr AGM fully charged with me as a backup in case the 70a/hr runs too low, but it is not rigged to anything and I charge it when I have power available if I use it, but the aux lasts at least 2 full days even in heat with the 40L Engel (fridge not freeze) and charges really quickly with a 1/2 hr drive (although probably not fully) which we normally do as sightseeing anyway.

D-Jack
FollowupID: 491386

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 08:49

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 08:49
D-Jack,

I originally ordered mine direct from the manufacturer and have since purchased some other gear at the 4WD Shows they usually attend.

Although the manufacturing business is based at Strathalbyn, They have recently
introduced 2 retail outlets, one in Adelaide's north at Montague Road, Pooraka and one in the south at Kitawah Street, Lonsdale.

Any of their products can also be ordered over the phone or via email as shown on their Web site and will be shipped anywhere in Australia, probably even Overseas.

www.homeof12volt.com/

At one 4WD show where I purchased a 40 watt solar panel for a very good price, I was asked what size fridge I had and advised to try one panel first. If it didn't supply enough charge back into the portable battery system, then I could add another panel without the need for an extra control unit. The second panel would simply attatch by hinges to the original frame so I had a ready means of expansion.
I like that in a salesman, good honest advice.

FollowupID: 491417

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:13

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:13
D-Jack,

I just re-read your question and probably gave you the wrong information, albeit factual, as far as the "Home of 12 Volt" goes.

My original dual battery system was also installed by TJM. Because my Jack is the petrol version, it only had the one starting battery to start with.

A cradle was mounted on the firewall in the engine bay on the passenger side and they had to move the canister and reroute the airconditioning pipe to accommodate the second battery. The system is controlled by the Piranha DB150S Isolator.
The cradle size allows a wet cell deep cycle battery of around 80 A/h or the Orbital (55 A/h) which fitted with the help of some gentle manipulation and a little "bending" of the tray.

I have done some measuring and believe I can fit an Absorbed Power 75 A/h AGM battery in, based on its dimensions and perhaps an 80 A/h Fullriver, although the extra height (215mm) may cause a problem.

I still like the flexibility both systems give me. I usually start with the fridge connected to the in-car auxiliary battery and when I set up camp, transfer it to the Camper Annexe and connect it to the Thumper. I also connect a couple of lights as well, one a Piranha version of the Versalite and the other an LED light.

When I'm travelling, the fridge goes back on the auxiliary battery and the Thumper is available for things such as powering the compressor and 12 volt impact wrench, etc.

Works for me.

FollowupID: 491421

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:45

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:45
Sandman, I was just trying to let you know that you could probably fit a bigger battery in, but didn't realise that the 55a/hr Orbital was bigger battery than normal. What's the advantage if you get less a/hrs for a bigger battery?
FollowupID: 491429

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:45

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 09:45
Also not doubting the advantage of the Thumper, would have one if I could afford one!
FollowupID: 491430

Follow Up By: StephenF10 - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 13:15

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 13:15
If buying from the Home of 12v, ask about factory seconds. I saved $100 on a 48ah Urban pack and can't tell it from a new one.

Stephen.
FollowupID: 491467

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 23:12

Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 23:12
Alex B

I have both -

I use the aux battery for powering the fridge.

I have a RAPS 600W Thumper. Waeco don't market these anymore. They are made by Blue Apple in South Australia and marketed by Waeco.

I charge it in the car and then use it in the camper for lights, fan, laptop, etc. I was going to purchase a generator but they are not permitted in a lot of National Parks so I purchased the Thumper instead.

My advice to you is to spend a bit more money and purchase both.

Tjilpi

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 230556

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 08:14

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 08:14
I use Super Charge Gold batteries in all my vehicles and as a second battery in a battery box which I can transfer from vehicle to vehicle, having wired both vehicles the same. I have an isolator in the battery box.
So as far as mobility goes,"" under the gum tree" who is going to lift my 80 litre Waeco out of the vehicle full of food and beer and put it under the "tree" and the battery.
Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 230585

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 08:34

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 08:34
Have to agree. My fridge stays in the car...... firmly connected to the dual battery setup.
FollowupID: 491413

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:32

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 10:32
Here's another vote for the dual battery in car. I couldn't sleep at night knowing the fridge and battery are able to be moved while I sleep or go for a wee walk in the middle of the night. Don't need to ask a thief to take something and not having it locked up in the car is only inviting one to do just this, IMO.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 491439

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 20:38

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 20:38
Same here too. I have the starter battery (Supercharge Gold Series) under the bonnet and the 2nd battery (Fullriver 120 a/h) is in the cargo box, right next to the Engel and Maxair......with 8mm cable through the back of the cab to power up the inverter and HF radio which live behind the back seat of the dual cab.

The wiring at the Fullriver is a nightmare to the unitiated (after I promised I'd keep it neat this time too!!!!! hahaha). But it's all functional.

Re-charging is handled by an Arrid Twin Charge. The big downfall with my system is that I cannot easily use my aux battery to start the Chev (if the main battery fails for any reason). However, I do have 2 other Supercharge Goldies in the camper trailer....they'd be an easier option to get to if I had any problems up front.
FollowupID: 491549

Reply By: Member - Colin (WA) - Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 13:01

Friday, Mar 30, 2007 at 13:01
Hi Alex,
Your post was very help full as I was also trying to decide which way to go.
I have just booked my 100 series in to have a redarc duel battery solenoid with a 105 amp/hr battery fitted for $320. I liked the idea of being able to move the pack from car to car but after much deliberation decided that we don't really need it to be portable. As already mentioned the chance of theft is reduced if the fridge is in the car. good luck with which ever way you go.
P.S I don't need a battery tray as the car already has two starting batteries.

Col
AnswerID: 230632

Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:41

Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 10:41
For what it is worth (not much?), we had a 48ah Thumper which we bought with our first "play size" 4WD because we couldn't get a DBS in the vehicle, & because it was portable. It served us well for about 8 years & ran our 40 litre fridge on cool for about 2 days (usually turned off at night). We found the in-car charger could never get the charge up as high as the 240v supply could. In fact it never left being strapped in to the rear of the 4WDs as I used a long cord where necessary instead.
Now on our third 4WD and decided to fit a DBS and sold the Thumper through this forum. Had the new system 12 months now & are positive we made the right decision (for us) with the DBS. Also more room in the back of the 4WD for another crate of beer, Heathers' new hair drier, or something.
AnswerID: 230826