King's' Canyon : 'Hummock Grass' ??

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 31, 2007 at 21:59
ThreadID: 43855 Views:2550 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Anyone else remember back to the days when it was called "King Canyon" and "Spinifex"? (And the track into Chamber's Pillar was a tad different?)
Don't wish to appear Pedantic, David. Just checking.
( Maybe the mind is away on its own). Jeff. H.

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 00:23

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 00:23
No
AnswerID: 230917

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 01:03

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 01:03
Hummock grass lives! Yes!!
(Apologies again to David, kirra kirra Platypus Pass.I really did hear it as 'Spinifex').
Thank your Wife for the recipe please Willem : (even on Day 4, the brine off the olives is worthy of keeping).
CRACKERS !!:
Doug, Footyl and Gramps, can you imagine how fruitfull your lives could have been had you succumbed to the guiles of Judith's culinary skills?
(And Mrs. Willem, [may I call you er, Judith, Mrs Willem?] Hi, I'm Jeff, but don't let Hubby know ;bit of a faulty fuse line there, I suspect; just may go off at random. But more probably will prove to be a dud)
Best wishes for your imminent event. Shall contact you next time we're through (maybe 18 mths).
And to Willem, shall we both raise a glass to the newly named Hummock Grass?(And if not, why not? Sorry, I've been out of the loop for some considerable time)
Jeff H.
FollowupID: 491796

Reply By: disco1942 - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 00:28

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 00:28
Back in the late 80s the Nat map 1:100,000 series and the Australian Gazetteer listed the place as King Canyon.

AnswerID: 230920

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 01:07

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 01:07
Disco, you're a mongrel! You're not supposed to quote line and verse!!

Shees. There goes a perfectly good stir : taken out by a single round. Dam !!
FollowupID: 491797

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 08:32

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 08:32
In the 1980's, the Natmaps weren't worth a pinch of salt ..at least the 1:100 000 series weren't.
King ? Nope. Hummock grass, yes. Spinifix...hmm...well...ummm...I used to spell it that way but thats just me .:)))
FollowupID: 491813

Follow Up By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 08:59

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 08:59
Just a bit of trivia about this.
Back in the 80's, earlier than the 80's,and later, it was and probably still is policy at NATMAP to not show the "s" of names such as Billy's waterhole, Kings Canyon and so on. This of course was done mainly in the office and unless there was hard evidence from field inspections or from the relevant state names boards to the contrary. This caused problems as many places were signposted with the "s' in place.

Toolman
FollowupID: 491820

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:40

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:40
some more trivia:

Extract from "GUIDELINES FOR THE CONSISTENT USE OF PLACE NAMES IN AUSTRALIA" produced by COMMITTEE FOR GEOGRAPHICAL NAMES IN AUSTRALASIA in April 2001.

Section 4 - "Guidelines"

4.12. GENITIVE APOSTROPHE. In all cases of place names containing an element that has historically been written with a final -'s or -s', the apostrophe is to be deleted, e.g. Howes Valley, Rushcutters Bay, Ladys Pass. This is to facilitate the consistent matching and retrieval of placenames in database systems such as those used by the emergency services.

FollowupID: 491848

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 01:21

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 01:21
Jeff ya old bugger
King Canyon is still there, no one has pinched it yet.....have they, and wots this hummock grass, is it something one smokes .!!! ?? Jeff pull your self together Man , It's bluddy Spinifex ,Gawd damn it boy , Spinifex was the feature Horse at the 1967 Mt Isa Rotary Rodeo, Now they sure as hell didn't say over the PA that Jim Mcguire on Hummock Grass out of Shute No 2 ...... of course not, it was Jim Mcguire on SPINIFEX out of Shute No 2....!!
Sic im Dusty , go help Jess ...quick

AnswerID: 230924

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 02:19

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 02:19
Dusty, for a Boss like yours, I reckon he's done well that you've stuck with 'im.
Just imagine,L'il mate: In 'Merica, you could be driving around in a stretched Limmo,Paris an Stupid an You?
Jess reckons drop Stupid and feed off the slops : but that's Jess, eh.

Doug the modern name is 'Kings Canyon'. [Sorry. Can't recall if the "new locals" call it 'Kings' or 'King's' I would be interested to know when this travesty was formally accepted. As I knew it, it was King Canyon.
Alas I burnt all my maps (more charts, in reality), in about 1976. Not so young,but bloody stupid, eh.
And I can accept Willem's answer ...............no............
I suspect that Willem was "touristing" both pre and post 1974 in the Top End.. No worries there, and that is possibly why he missed some Govt changes re Centralia.
Live and learn, eh. Not quite (tempted to go 'quiet'......maybe I should). Yes. JH.
FollowupID: 491801

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:51

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:51
Jeff,

My fairly detailed Finlayson map of the area circa - 1935, shows the George Gill Range, Kings Creek, Carmichaels Crag, but no Canyon.

FollowupID: 491852

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 01:24

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 01:24
Sorry, I meant Damn!
Have just enjoyed yet another weekend near Imbil (an area to be flooded by the Traveston? dam on the Mary (near Gympie, if you're outer town: check HEMA). Jeff.
AnswerID: 230925

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 09:16

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 09:16
Hello Jeff H,

It's a very "humbling" experience being a part of Exploroz.

I get really annoyed when I read "Cooper Pedy" and "Ayres Rock" but then find that I called Cameron Corner "Camerons Corner" for years!!

I've never heard that Kings Canyon was formerly King Canyon....and wonder why the station nearby is called Kings Creek Station...was it called "King Creek Station" once and was Kings Creek once "King Creek"...it all gets too complicated really!

Just goes to show we never stop learning and even if we think we know we can always fall in a clump of spinifex or is that hummock grass!!

Doug T is right though....Spinifex was a champion!!

Viv
AnswerID: 230951

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:02

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:02
King's Creek, was named as such by Ernest Giles, on Wednesday 30 October 1872, after Mr. Fielder King.

Source: "Geographical Travels in Central Australia" by Ernest Giles. M'Carron, Bird & Co. 1875

FollowupID: 491857

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:14

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:14
Viv
Have you Noticed that too ,Gets right up me nostrils that does ...Seen on Imparja TV last year the itinery for the Seat Cover Man Cooper Pedy..GGrrr .
I lived at Nuriootpa for a while and my sis lives at Angaston, Notice how people will say NURIOOPTA again a GGrrr

Had my GGrrrr

Doug

FollowupID: 491861

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:23

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:23
Doug,

Some people around here call Walpeup....Wallapyup!!

Really, we all make mistakes don't we!! Pronunciation is one thing, as it's hard from just reading a word to know how it is said. Getting the spelling wrong though when in black and white on every map it's Coober Pedy. That really gets me! Until of course I come a cropper like with Cameron Corner..and the "s".

Would be nice to be perfect but much more fun to be human and err a bit every now and then!

Viv

FollowupID: 491864

Reply By: Hairy - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 09:57

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 09:57
Gday, Bored are we?

Spinifex, Triodia, a hummock grass of arid Australia, covering twenty per cent of the Australian continent. Although not technically Spinifex, it is commonly referred to as such.

As for Kingssssss Canyon, Like Vivien said its KingS Creek and KingS Creek Station
so I would suggest giving the Conways a call before anyone considers changeing the name.

Now is it Fritz or Devon?
Is a scallop a slice of Potatoe or seafood?
AnswerID: 230963

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:08

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 12:08
IT'S BLUDDY FRITZ ....FRITZ...I grew up with FRITZ,Balfours Cakes, Amscol Icecream, and Amgoorie Tea

FollowupID: 491859

Reply By: disco1942 - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:24

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 11:24
When it comes to name confusion there was one west of Sydney that was perpetuated for over a century. There was a place called "Emu." (No not the one where the Poms let their bomb off.) The school and post office were both labeled Emu. Then along came the railways and they labeled their station Emu Plains. A few years ago the gloves came off and all have settled on Emu Plains - after all those years.

AnswerID: 230975