Submitted: Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 21:55
ThreadID: 43899 Views:3478 Replies:20 FollowUps:25
Its worth a look at www.headlightson247.com

I drive most of the time in the country with them on

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:01

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:01
Got to agree - much easier to see oncoming vehicles, especially now that my eyesight has dropped back a notch.

Too many dark cars on the roads these days - they really need headlights on during the day.
AnswerID: 231104

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:11

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:11
We were here back in 1974 with Volvo day running lights were we not?
AnswerID: 231109

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:15

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:15
Well done mate, I reackon Richard gets the EO Yehhh for the day for the most sensible post of the day

Doug

AnswerID: 231111

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:25

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:25
Yep agree Richard, I have them on almost all the time when out and about.

Good to see you're back from holidays and posting again. :-)

AnswerID: 231113

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:47

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:47
yer some things you just can't give up

like the post below

who gives a...

If I had my way...

FollowupID: 492038

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:42

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:42
Oh no not another dogooder trying to make my life better, haven't we got enough rules and regulations as it is. I'm sick of this crap!
AnswerID: 231118

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:48

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 22:48
So if doing good is bad, then we should all do as you say, which is bad, but in your eyes that would be good? Then if everyone did that, they would still be, by your definition - a "dogooder" - so you would still be complaining!
FollowupID: 492039

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:15

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:15
LOL, ok, easier to put my lights on than listen to that stuff :)
FollowupID: 492045

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:17

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:17
Hey Ray whats with the new moniker??? :-)

No more Mad Dog or You beaut Hilux Ute for you???

FollowupID: 492046

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:27

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:27
Don't want to get stuck in a rut at my age with young kids John, I felt like I had to break free from my online persona. I'm no longer a member and EO is no longer my home page, maybe I'll be a member again in the future but at the moment life is just fine without it.
FollowupID: 492048

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:32

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:32
Yeah well change is as good as a holiday so they say.

Good to see you're still around.

FollowupID: 492050

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:45

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:45
Yer

Just another none member hiding behind some wank name

;-)
FollowupID: 492051

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:01

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 09:01
Very good Richard and to think you used to be such a quiet and well behaved contributor, now you're just another smarty :)
FollowupID: 492079

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:28

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:28
now that's not nice

i would have to be one of the nicest person you have never met...

:-)
FollowupID: 492227

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:12

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:12
Gotta say that i agree with you richard.
There are way to many times whilst driving the truck( the real proper big one...lol) when i just dont see cars on the road, especially at sunrise or sunset.
In particular, when trying to turn right onto a road and trying to see if any cars are comming, whilst looking into a rising sun. Armadale Road here in Perth is real bad for that, there are a few sectionss where the shadow is dark enough to hide a car that i dont see till it is right in front of me.
The shiela doing this is a down to earth sort of person and deserves a pat on the back for trying to do the right thing.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 231127

Reply By: Mike - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:16

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:16
have been driving with head lights on 24/7 for the last 10 years in the country and city, it has been encouraged in WA for some time, when we went east last year we got flashed all the time from other drivers not used to seeing head lights on during the day,
AnswerID: 231129

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:24

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:24
yes that's why I only use mine on the country and when I get into Melb I turn them off. Too many people flashing their lights at you.
It was a recomendation from the guys that ran a driving course at work to use DRL.

Leroy
FollowupID: 492047

Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:25

Sunday, Apr 01, 2007 at 23:25
I'm using them every day here in K.I. when driving/touring .... I have beee many times in the situation of nili overtaking a vehicle and discovering the other side of the roar a back/dark car coming .... "not happy Jane!" .... if only the idiot was using the lights on ....
In Italy they are conpulsory ... not sure how many life saving but good idea anyway!

Luca
AnswerID: 231131

Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 01:38

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 01:38
I use them all the time in Sydney. Very occasionally I get flashed but it means that they've been noticed.

No risk of leaving them on with Toyota's system where they go off when you turn the ignition off and open the driver's door.

AnswerID: 231134

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:17

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:17

Is in my toyota

Troopys are good but dumb... lol
FollowupID: 492222

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 05:25

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 05:25
I try to use mine as much as possible.
If it gives you that extra 1/2 a second to avoid a bingle, then that's good, and it helps with judging the distances too.
Whilst in Norway, in 2003, I noticed that all headlights are hard wired into the ignition switch, and it is an offence to remove it.
Gr8 innovation,, Not too sure how many other country's have it, but I wish it was here.

AnswerID: 231136

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 06:39

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 06:39
I agree Bucky,

When I have to lower my standards and drive the Old mans bombadore it is a luxury to not have to flick the lights on.

I reckon that it wouldn't cost the manufacturers that much to make it standard for the lights to switch on when cars running.

FollowupID: 492054

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 07:30

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 07:30
The Telstra vehicles and some hire cars in SA had a mod called headlights on fitted to theircars. Me thinks it's a good idea, The older Volvos had parking light on everytime the ignition came on.
AnswerID: 231148

Follow Up By: Scoof - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:47

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:47
Hi I reckon it would be a pain in the ass to have the lights come on when ignition is on.
Imagine starting the car at the drivein to keep warm,(for those of us that still have a drive in to go to) or sitting in the car waiting to pick the kid's up and the lights are on because you want to listen to the radio.

Great safety idea when your driving maybe when you select 1st gear or drive the light come on ???

Cheers Scoof
FollowupID: 492115

Reply By: landseka - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:32

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:32
I agree it is vital to have lights on in daylight hours for safety, add to this they should be turned on anyway in times of poor visibility - rain, fog etc.
How often do you see ppl in the morning driving to work at first light, the sun has not yet risen but because they can see where they're going they figure that they don't need lights on?
My only gripe with 'lights on in daylight' is there are too many ppl that don't seem to realise they are on high beam. Perhaps this is why some ppl get 'flashed'.

Neil
AnswerID: 231185

Reply By: Alan H - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:52

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:52
I was stopped by the cops for a "licence check" on Albany Hwy, WA about 10 years ago and the cop said "You've got your headlights on, didn't you know?"
"Yes" I replied " It's for safety reasons as other cars can see us better at a distance".
He just shook his head, gave me my licence back and walked away. To me that just confirmed the standard of policing on the roads in WA.
On country roads I think it's essential but I'm not a believer in lights being wired to come on all the time.
In places like Sweden and others in northern Europe with very gloomy days it's good sense.
Alan.

AnswerID: 231193

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:21

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:21

Must agree with you

To me that just confirmed the standard of policing on the roads in WA.

there isn't any (that is policing) just pull you over when you're done something wrong..

to late by then

FollowupID: 492223

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 11:20

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 11:20
I agree, a great contribution to overall road safety. If you can at least see the other road users then you have a good chance of avoiding them.
It makes me wonder though, why don't we see members of the road trasport industry also subscribing to this practice. I have regularly seen heavy vehicles - including many wide loads travelling the highways even on sunset and into twiglight without their lights on. Sometimes they will respond to me flicking my lights on and off and actually turns theirs on. Other times they continue oblivious to the world around them. What's wrong with them? I thought that being professional drivers they would take every precaution possible in order to contribute to road safety and actually enhance their profile in the community - particuarly with other road sharers. Seems that there are still too many cowboys behind the wheels of heavy vehicles
Oh well, perhaps one day!
AnswerID: 231198

Reply By: Juzzy - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 11:33

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 11:33
But I thought we just had a Lights Off Australia campaign!

Now I'm confused :*

AnswerID: 231201

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:50

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:50
Do you happen to live in Sydney Juzzy ?
FollowupID: 492118

Follow Up By: Juzzy - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 13:47

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 13:47
Yep. Why?
FollowupID: 492132

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 14:01

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 14:01
Because we had no lights off campaign where I live but I heard about the happenings in Sydney, good job too. I live in Suburbia and I'm gradually getting my lighting onto solar, all the exterior lighting is done, goes on and off automatcally every night.
FollowupID: 492133

Follow Up By: Juzzy - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 14:06

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 14:06
I thought it was meant to be Australia wide.

Well, we were actually camping in Newnes and I turned off the camp light and sat by the fire :) Preferred it that way too!

The solar panel solution you have sounds great - I wish the cost of panels would come down though.
FollowupID: 492134

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:35

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:35
Hi Richard
This is gonna sound like an April Fools thing but...
When I have the headlights on on roughish ropads & terrain, I do tend to 'blow' globes- especially QI- heaps more than on the blacktop.
My only explanation is that with the lights on- the filament is glowing and hence more succeptable (sp??) to vibrations??
I can drive around town for years and not blow a globe, but when 'tripping' I can go thru a couple of globes per trip.
Your comments are welcome !!
AnswerID: 231209

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:45

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:45
aaah, what pressures where you running?

he he :)
FollowupID: 492114

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 14:17

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 14:17
My trucks run on corrugated roads 180 days a year with their lights on.

I run 40 psi front and 42 psi rear no blown globs yet, and lets not turn this thread into a tyre pressure thing.

Steve.
FollowupID: 492135

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 16:57

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 16:57
Steve,

I don't think it is a tyre pressure thing it is far more likely to relate to the brand of fridge he is running.

FollowupID: 492160

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:16

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:16
Signman

I had the same proplem with the spoties when thay where on at nigth they would bounch around all over the place (the beam that is) because of the vibrations

So I would turn them off and that would stop it

;-)
FollowupID: 492218

Reply By: Smdger - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:49

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 12:49
I've had some good on-track arguments with my wife over the past decade or so on this issue. She always drives with lights on.
Last year we drove across Canada where cars are all wired for automatic lights on. At first a novelty, but after a couple of days in the Rockies the benefits were very clear. You get used to seeing cars a long way off then anticipate them around the next bend, but a moving black dot blends into the background too easily.
Bugga! She was right! a-bloody-gain!
Smudger
AnswerID: 231216

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 16:56

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 16:56
If she is like mine Smudger she is right allllllll the time.

FollowupID: 492159

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:27

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:27
In regard Canada.
If it's big and doesn't have lights on, it must be a bear or moose?

Loved that brochure the rangers used to hand out in BC.

Brown bears can't climb trees, so climb a tree if you can to escape.
Black bears have hooked claws and can climb trees, so all you can do is play dead, and they might knock you around a little.
Brown bears can be any colour from light brown to black.
Black bears can be any colour from medium brown to black.
So the only way to really know is to look at the claws.

I don't know if I would want to be close enough to see the claws!

Had a Canadian friend visiting who loved camping, worried about our snakes and dingos.
He reckon bears are no problem. What you are used to I suppose.

Oops, sorry for pinching the thread.

Yes, lights on, especially whne the majority of cars are dark blue or dark green and just disappear into the bitumen.
FollowupID: 492165

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 06:55

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 06:55
Yep

I drive my lights on on dull days in the country.

Trouble is old busted arse Nissan doesn't have a light alarm and at my age it is easy to forget they are on when stopped somewhere....lol

AnswerID: 231344

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:04

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:04
At your age

both the Troopy and work Lux ute don't have light alarms on the and I'm leaving them on all the time (go in pay for the fuel come out and there on dam)

Robyn seems smart enough to turn them off,, most be a bloke thing... LOL

FollowupID: 492467

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 10:06

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 10:06
I never turn them off. It's just common sense. Should be compulsory ADR on all new vehicles. The 100 series turns off as soon as the door is opened and the keys are out. It's not hard.

BTW, that must be 'Lynne the truckie' from Eoin Cameron's breakfast show on 720 ABC. She's a classic.
AnswerID: 231389

Reply By: ERIC DRUMMOND - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 07:55

Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 07:55
Great idea any wiring info to do this.
AnswerID: 232103