Companion Dog

Submitted: Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 07:57
ThreadID: 43907 Views:5539 Replies:8 FollowUps:33
A friend intends to head to Cape York later this year from down south, he has now had his dog classified as a "Companion Dog" that is similar to a guide dog.
My concern is that will he be able to take his dog to the cape and indeed into other national parks along the way. I know that there are dog friendly camping areas along the way but don't want to get caught having the dog with us.

Thanks in advance
Rocky

Reply By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:04

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:04
Hi Rocky.

If you ring your National Parks and Wildlife office, they will tell you that a companion dog is in the category as a guide dog.

All you will need is a permit to travel with the dog in these areas, As I'm not a big fan of dogs in a N.P, I do sympathize with people that need these dogs.

Please ask your friend to be responsible with their dog.

Hope this helps Steve.
AnswerID: 231180

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:55

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 10:55
Companion Dogs can be of great assistance and reassurance to those in the community who require them. If travelling north, PLEASE be aware that you MAY be travelling into areas where poison baites have been dropped - used to control 'wild dog' populations. MANY domestic dogs have died needlessly over the years. If only owners took a couple of precautions such as keep your dog on a lead at all times, be aware of it's activities and in some situations you may be reassured by placing a muzzle on your dog to prevent it from picking up baits. As for National Parks, really, no place for dogs.
AnswerID: 231194

Reply By: Bungendore - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 14:05

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 14:05
We are in NSW and am interested in how you get a dog classified as a Companion dog. please advise. Also if NSW NPWS or Qld NPWS has agreed with allowing Companion dogs? From my research, they are not considered the same.

Thanks.
AnswerID: 231229

Follow Up By: turbopete - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:11

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:11
Hi Bungendore To get a dog classified as a Companion Dog u need to attend an obedience school for dogs that is ,if u look up your state canine association or local dog clubs they will point u in the right direction, It takes time and patience to train the dog,the dog clubs dont give C/D certificates out with the corn flakes
FollowupID: 492143

Follow Up By: turbopete - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:19

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:19
ACT Companion Dog Club website. ... site map » · sponsors », © A.C.T. Companion Dog Club Inc. Canberra, ACT, Australia.
www.actcdc.org.au/listlinks.asp?cat=ADC - 13k

there is a club in canberra u can contact,i got this offa google,just enterted canberra dog club
FollowupID: 492145

Reply By: turbopete - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:02

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:02
Quote from Dio "As for National Parks, really, no place for dogs." that is a ridiculous statement. A controlled dog should be accepted in national parks,,,

As a matter of interest how many plastic bags,empty bottles/intact or smashed do dogs leave in parks and how much used toilet paper do they let loose to foul the enviroment ,I have yet to see a dog shooting holes in road signs!! have u Dio and so the story could continue.

A CONTROLLED dog does not worry other animals, humans who should know better do,

To conclude dogs are better company than a lot of people i know
AnswerID: 231253

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:17

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:17
Dogs are kept out of nat parks as much for their own safety as anything else. Most/all nat parks/nature reserves in WA are baited
FollowupID: 492144

Follow Up By: turbopete - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:24

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 15:24
Davoe Hi .uncontrolled dogs eat baits ... controlled dogs dont.....There is no way my dog would take food from u or anyone else
FollowupID: 492146

Follow Up By: Kevern - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:40

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:40
Good on you, well said. About time someone said it. I for one am sick of seeing snot nosed brats of kids running around screaming and yelling and coursing all sorts of trouble when I can't take my dog who is well trained and behaved and never out of my sight when in the bush. If it where up to me I would have children band from National Parks.
FollowupID: 492167

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:47

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:47
turbopete
The main problem is they're Paranoid about all dogs , Over the years I have learned what people don't know they don't worry about

FollowupID: 492170

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 19:10

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 19:10
"If it where up to me I would have children band from National Parks. "

Cant win - I have a dog and 2 children - looks like Ill have to stay at home - bugger:)

Any plans of banning nagging wives? May as well make it a clean sweep. (just kidding Darling)

FollowupID: 492185

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:32

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:32
Oi Greg

Was there ever a follow up report of the bogged Landcruiser out there in the never never???

FollowupID: 492228

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 10:18

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 10:18
Hello William - just posted on the thread in question. Nothing exciting to report...apart form the fact that Pilbara is in bloom after rain.

FollowupID: 492317

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 10:20

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 10:20
Sorry Willem - I spelt your name wrong - wish this forum had edit function.

FollowupID: 492318

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 16:24

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 16:24
I know this probably isn't the right thing to say but my dog goes everywhere with me when I am traveling or camping national parks or not but my dog is very very well behaved and never gets away with anything.
AnswerID: 231266

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:13

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:13
People that take guide or companion dogs into N.Ps must obtain a permit, there for they must obey the strict rules that apply.

Any body else that take dogs into N.Ps are irresponsible more many reasons, most of which have been posted on thread 43876.

Steve.
FollowupID: 492163

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:40

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 17:40
Gday Sam,
I dont so much these days as my new dog has a tendencie to attack things but I used to take my healer everywhere.
Major tourist parks I wouldnt take a dog but out in the middle of no-where I cant see aproblem with it. (As long as your dog is controlled and out of sight.)
FollowupID: 492168

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:11

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:11
So... "Companion dogs/Guide Dogs" are OK in an NP - other dogs (wild ones excepted) are not.

I'm having a problem with the logic here... unless the argument is simply that one should obey the letter of The Rules?

FollowupID: 492172

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:22

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:22
Its kinda like this......
yea yea yea we know your dog is the best behaved thing and never does this that or the other ---- But what about the rest???
Its just like saying why cant i ride my 4 wheeler in a national park down the beach/ Im responsable.
Well you just have to compare the difference between camping at the Duke of orleans caravan park to camping at thomas river to see why.... Its coz the vast majority are idiotic idiots with no respect for anything else.
If you could take dogs into NPs the rangers would be powerless to stop every flanolette wearing wife beater taking his 3 massive rottys in and laugh while they chase the roos around and bail up your missus when she gos to the dunny. And keep you up all nighrt barking./fighting and going through your stuff
bit extreme i know but the fact is most dog owners are obvlivios/dont care how much of a hassel their dogs are to others
FollowupID: 492174

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:32

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:32
So... Davoe... what do you do when you're on planet earth?
FollowupID: 492177

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:34

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:34
I went to potters gorge last time i was on Earth. its the first time i have camped in a spot that allowed dogs and i knew that coz i could hear them constantly fighting
FollowupID: 492178

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:42

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 18:42
Hey Mike

I am well prepared for this question.

In the original thread it seemed the people had made up their mind to take the dog into a N.P, but were worried about being caught.

So with that in mind, I thought it would be better to advise these people that they could obtain a permit.

This would bind these people to act responsibly with their dog, provided they were responsible people.

I as you know am passionate about no dogs in a N.P, The powers that be allow guide and companion dogs N.Ps, as I stated under strict permit conditions.

I have never seen a guide dog in a N.P and have seen very few companion dogs.

Its not double standards on my behalf it educating people to be responsible.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 492181

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 19:03

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 19:03
Hi Steve

>Its not double standards on my behalf it educating
>people to be responsible.

I could not agree more.

Steve: we all understand the ethos behind the banning of domestic animals (not just dogs) from NPs and I'm sure we all agree with that ethos... BUT... herein lies the detail: a controlled dog in an NP is most unlikely to cause any issues - after all it's perfectly permissible to take them into State Forests (in Vic at least) and native animals have no knowledge of the boundaries between State Forests and National Parks - and we have a lot of those in Vic.

The issue is not dogs but people. And that is _exactly_ where your statement, above, comes into play. W@nkers will always be w@ankers whether they have a dog or not and there is nothing one can do to change that (this side of a shotgun :) Your recent statements regarding the mere presence of a dog in an NP being a significant threat to natives are not correct. What is an issue is people who allow dogs to run wild - simple as that.

FollowupID: 492184

Follow Up By: turbopete - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 19:53

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 19:53
A permit system will succeed if the dog has a companion certificate or better.. there are many grades of certificates

as to the owner/handler ....generally if the dog is well disciplined so also (probably) is the handler. we take great pride in our dogs and ensure our dogs are well behaved
FollowupID: 492196

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 20:03

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 20:03
Has anyone been to Mititjulu recently?
Last time I was there there were more starving camp dogs than there were people!
The larger dogs were eating puppies!
Now thats double standards.
FollowupID: 492199

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 20:10

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 20:10
They'll operate as nature intended - simple as that.
FollowupID: 492200

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 20:44

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 20:44
turbopete

I have always been of the opinion that dog handling/training schools are more for the owner.

We wonder today why kids don't respect any thing, well perhaps it starts with them seeing their elders disrespecting the law, simply because it doesn't suit them.

So you are happy to see people break the laws of a N.P and by taking their dogs, in doing so you would be happy to see them teach their kids its ok to break the law.

I bet you wouldn't be happy, when one of these kids come to your place and take your pride and joy, or robs your house.

Make sure its all locked up tonight Steve.

FollowupID: 492209

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 20:54

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 20:54
Hi Steve

So the whole thing is about "The Letter Of The Law" rather than dogs in NPs.
Thats fair enough but don't try and create a moral confusion between the two.

FollowupID: 492212

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:17

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:17
I don't believe dogs should be allowed into N.Ps for a # of reasons posted in 3 different threads this week.

I also believe in the laws that stop dogs being allowed into N.Ps.

So there is no moral confusion there.

You have challenged my way of thinking but you haven't given me a reason as to why I am wrong.

The challenge to you Mike is, Give me a reason as to why you believe the Environmental Protection and Bio-Diversity act is wrong, and why you believe dogs should be allowed into a N.P.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 492221

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:47

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:47
Hi Steve

Dogs _are_ permitted into National Parks - see the points above and also the legislation in Victoria in regards to hunting dogs in the Alpine National Park.

So the challenge to you Steve is to show why controlled dogs should not be permitted in other National Parks?

FollowupID: 492230

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:48

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:48
And what about Indigenous Dog Owners in National Parks with their miriad of underfed and mangy dogs hanging about. Kakadu used to be like that way back. Maybe not so any more?

Go to Parngurr in Rudall River NP. One bloke has 33 dogs in various stages of decay, but still alive.

I think that a permit system for National Parks should apply to people who wish to take their dog with them on their travels. Dogs are man's best friend and have been domesticated for thousands of years. It is only fair that they should be able to travel with them and not be restricted from entering certain areas.

The rest of the arguments don't wash with me. If dogs are controlled properly by their owners there should not be an issue.

If only we could stop people from littering...................................
FollowupID: 492231

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 00:20

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 00:20
Mike please read the following

Your search - legistation in victoria in regards to hunting dogs in Alpine national park - did not match any documents.

So I googled this.

hunting dogs in Alpine national Park.

I found this.

Alpine National Park
The Alpine National Park has the greatest range of flora and fauna of any national park in ... Dogs and other pets, and firearms, are not permitted. ...
Site Link - 20k - Cached - Similar pages

So I looked on the site and found this.

Leave dogs, cats and other pets, and firearms, at home.

Apart from guide dogs, national parks around Australia with few exceptions do not admit dogs, cats and other pets. This is mainly to protect native wildlife. Dogs and cats are not native animals. If they escape in a national park they prey on native animals and birds. Feral (ownerless) cats and dogs cause havoc as it is. Even the scent and sounds of dogs and cats are enough to scare off native wildlife. In addition domestic animals may spread diseases to native ones, and vice versa.

As well, many people do not like the disturbance, danger and droppings associated with dogs.

There are parks where dogs are permitted, generally on leads and under control. These are parks other than national and state parks - regional, metropolitan and reservoir parks. Many local councils are also working with residents to identify areas where dogs may be taken, both on and off leash.

The reason for the ban on firearms in parks is obvious, but it should be noted that there are a few areas in national parks - such as in Alpine and Lake Eildon - where deer hunting with guns, under strict conditions, is permitted.

Thank you Willem google was my friend

Steve.
FollowupID: 492237

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:30

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 09:30
Willem .... you took the words right outof my mouth regarding the indigenous population.

Until we have uniform laws for all AUSTRALIANS, I will take my dog whenever & wherever I wish.

I wonder how many of the indigenous Australian's dogs have been vaccinated, wormed or treated for fleas & other parasites????
FollowupID: 492300

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 17:28

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 17:28
Hi Steve

You are correct, I was wrong, hunting dogs are not permitted in the Alpine National Park although firearms are. I had confused the Alpine NP with the Howqua Hills Historic Area which borders the Alpine NP and dogs are permitted in there.

However a brief Google does show a few NPs where dogs are permitted and (not included in the links) also the Jerusalem Creek Camping Area of the Lake Eildon NP permits them. So my point still stands in that dogs are permitted into NPs.

http://www.nt.gov.au/nreta/parks/aboutus/pdf/4_2_pets_in_parks_policy.pdf

Site Link

FollowupID: 492401

Reply By: kiwicol - Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:09

Monday, Apr 02, 2007 at 21:09
Good on ya Davoe couldnt agree more, a well behaved dog only has to bark a couple of times to scare off the native animals around the camp spots, and the amount of people with well behaved dogs that say that their dogs dont bark!!!!!!!. Col
AnswerID: 231324

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 11:43

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 11:43
....... and we don't scare them with noisy diesels, loud music, generators, kids screaming & yelling, mini bikes etc etc etc. ??
FollowupID: 492326

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 16:23

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 16:23
mini bikes arnt allowed in national parks. And your point about generators and kids screaming just proves the point. If SOME people cant control themselves having an uncontrolled dog is gonna make it a whole lot worse.

Most popular campsites have resident natives (who hang around for a feed - thats another story) who arnt scared off coz they know slow old humans dont pose a threat. A fast paced barking beast with a mouth full of teeth that hasnt lost the hunting instinct is another story
FollowupID: 492383

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 18:07

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 18:07
One of my pet hates is people feeding native animals around campgrounds.

DO NOT leave food waste around campsites - you bury your toilet waste so bury, burn or remove your food waste. I always dig a sump near the "kitchen" where washing-up water and the rinse of saucepans etc goes. Feeding native animals is bad for them - they don't need it, they know how to survive in the bush a damn site better than we do!

To be realistic: it doesn't matter (in an ecological sense) what happens to semi domesticated native animals anyway as they are no longer part of their "pack" and will teach their offspring wrong habits - note the roos at Tom Groggin!

FollowupID: 492409

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 18:36

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 18:36
we currently have problems with dingos Where i work. They roam through the camp and steal crib bags, chew shoes etc etc. Some people have been feeding them especially after barbies. they are about to get reeely tough on it (education phase is over) but a cull will also happen. Apparently you have to know what you are doing
-if you kill the dominant pair of the pack indiscriminate breeding amongs subordinates will occur inceasing numbers
- If you blow them all away then Cat numbers increase
FollowupID: 492414

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 07:30

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 07:30
Isn't this turning into to a sticky subject. Simple fact is dogs aren't allowed into national parks if I do take mine to the national parks she doesn't leave the back of the ute unless its bloody hot if were at a swimming hole the dog comes too but she would live in water if she was given the chance. So she isn't hard to control. But there are alot of idiot's out there that think there dogs are well behaved but there not the problem with that though is they are the dogs that eat the baits and die.
I'm certianlly not recomending everyone take there dogs to the cape.
AnswerID: 231350

Reply By: Voxson - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:20

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:20
Lick a bait or get bitten by a brown snake or similar and they are DEAD.
It's only a $75 fine for having a dog in a national park and getting caught.
It is not an offence to drive through a National Park with a dog if you stay near on on the road because National Parks dont own the roads or a certain amount each side,,,, could be 5 metres or something like that...
Leash, Muzzle and you will be fine...
Hey it costs $99 to cross the Jardine, so $75 for your little buddy seems worth it, and that is only a possible $75....
AnswerID: 231498