my soapbox for the night

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 19:57
ThreadID: 43962 Views:2728 Replies:12 FollowUps:22
two things - cyclists/road rules. And ridiculous worksafe guidelines.

I personally want to see all those cyclists behind bars who cause dangerous havoc for pedestrians by flaunting road rules. The guy who ended up killing the old bloke on beach road should be charged with culpable riding, and so should everyone in the cycle pack. And so should everyone who continue to cause such danger. They had the gaul to excuse themself by saying they couldn't stop because everyone else was riding still. Ok, well, I'm going to drive straight through red lights and knock over any cyclists I see, just because the other cars on the road are still moving.

Next, just saw my local council letter regarding green waste. As of this year, they can no longer pickup small branches in collections because it is too "unsafe". Give me a bleep ing break. Instead, residents have to haul their own green waste to the local tip. Thats fine with me, so when I hurt my back by picking up that little stick and find myself in the unfortunate position of not being able to work for the next 3yrs because of my injury I shall sue the hell out of the councl for imposing such a hazzard on me at my own property.

here end'eth the soapbox

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:01

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:01
Unless you have a bad back already, I wouldn't wish it upon yourself so readily. As the quality of life with one sucks.

Trust me

Disc Fusion Operation next week

Kev

AnswerID: 231491

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:05

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:05
Had one 17 years ago, best thing I ever had.......but perhaps not for everyone.

Best of luck Kev.

Michael
FollowupID: 492438

Follow Up By: R Cabeza - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:07

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:07
matey, point is my 1yo son can pick up heavier things than the ultra conservative worksafe guidelines deem unsafe for fully grown fit strong men. Seriously.

FollowupID: 492439

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:12

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:12
But what about doing it repetively for thousands of households.

Light objects cause more injuries due to poor posture due to the person thinking that it is only light it'll be right. Until one day the wrong move and the once good back packs it in.

Try asking the council to supply green waste 240L wheelie bins for all green waste that can be collected by a truck along with the normal rubbish truck that comes around.

Kev

FollowupID: 492440

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:14

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:14
Not sure what the beach road accident was all about Richard, but cyclists in general rile me up.

The road rules must be applied rigorously if it suits them, but its ok for them to ride up through a queue of cars stopped at lights and across against the red if they reckon the poor nerds coming the other way can weave around them.

Always happy to hug a lane and not let cars past, turn suddenly without signals and they wonder why motorists get annoyed with them.

Personally, I give them a wide berth, stop to let them turn or go past and make sure I cannot be blamed for the consequences of their stupidity.

Cyclists are winging like mad because the M2 in Sydney has been widened, and their prerogative of a lane to themselves has disappeared. poor dears have to use the ordinary roads that we mere mortals have to use all the time. Sad.

In all honesty, they should be banned from major roads as you cannot trust them to not wobble into your path.

That's my whinge for the night!

Max.
AnswerID: 231494

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:46

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:46
here,here Max a cyclists drive up the road, in his car, comes across his mates three (3) abreast doing 5 ks going up a hill say it takes them 5 minutes 400 cars behind him at this stage does he get frustrated, I wonder.
I have a problem with people who do not and will not abide by the road rules.
Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 492453

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:38

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:38
Ok, I'm a member of a cycling club,

First of all I do agree that cyclists should obey the rules of the road and that the death on Beach Road was tragic. The cyclist responsible should be charged according to the law. The excuse of being unable to stop because of the forward momentum of the pack is understandable if you'd ever been in the middle of a pelaton. Stopping suddenly causes multiple accidents. This isn't being said to excuse any of them from running through a red light and causing a death. The leaders of the pack should've stopped and obeyed the rules.

My club and I do our riding on country roads and we always ride two abreast only and as close to the side of the road as is safely possible. It's amazing how many motorists pass us so closely that we could touch their sides. Like you said, how do they know we won't wobble. Sometimes with a vehicle approaching, another comes from behind us and passes without crossing the white line. Surely in cases like this, the seconds that it would've taken to wait for the oncoming vehicle to pass would not have been too much to ask. A couple of seconds for them, our lives for us.

It's the responsibility of all who use the roads to do so with courtesy and safety.

It angers me that some cyclists do not do the right thing and reflect badly on those who do.

Just as I wouldn't blame every motorist because some morons almost run me off the road, so I would hope that all cyclists would not be blamed for the idiots that flout the rules.

Viv
AnswerID: 231505

Follow Up By: R Cabeza - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:47

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:47
yes, my comments are limited to the idiot ones
FollowupID: 492454

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:59

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:59
Well said Vivien. It's a two way street and idiots on both sides :)))))
FollowupID: 492462

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:00

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:00
When I was a kid we were always taught to ride in single file and remain on the extreme left of the road at all times.
In my view two abreast is one to many on a road being shared with other traffic.

Where I live they ride two or more abreast quite often and in the ten years I have lived in this area two bike riders have been killed in this fashion.
I am forever dodging idiot bike riders who believe that they have the same road requirements as cars and trucks and ride without any consideration of other road users.
The arrogance of the riders who killed that poor old bloke mentioned in this thread is in my view quite typical of the vast majority of serious bike riders I see these days.

FollowupID: 492463

Follow Up By: IanM (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:19

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:19

I think it is a bit of a two way street - on many occasions I have had to take avoiding action to avoid a collision with motorists who are not paying attention / being smart alecs / showing the cyclist his place / are in a bigger weapon.
It was the stupidity of one rider who killer the elderly gent, not all of them.
Hop onto a cycling forum and you will find that all the posters on there are as appalled as you are by the behaviour of the rogue element, so do not assume that all riders are the arrogant types you think they are.

IanM
FollowupID: 492471

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:40

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:40
Ian I understand your comments and concerns but I said....

"is in my view quite typical of the vast majority of serious bike riders I see"

Vast majority does not assume all.

I live in an area that is a semi rural environment which is very popular with the bike fraternity and the vast majority show nothing but contempt for other road users.
It will be only a matter of time before another is killed.

FollowupID: 492475

Reply By: IanM (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:43

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:43
Gents

I think you will find that there are stupid cyclists around who give the responsible ones a bad name. In much the same way that there are 4WDers who do silly things, both on road and off, who give all 4WDers a bad name (read the thread "No wonder 4WDers have a bad name).
Please do not give cyclists a hard time while on the road - it could be me!

IanM
AnswerID: 231509

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:46

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 20:46
I do not think weight comes into picking up sticks in green waste. Being poked in the eye or having a vein ripped open in the arm or being stabbed in the stomach by a sharp stick poking through a plastic bag all constitute a health hazard.
AnswerID: 231512

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:03

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:03
What a crazy rant.
AnswerID: 231517

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 10, 2007 at 13:37

Tuesday, Apr 10, 2007 at 13:37
thinkin the same thing meself

FollowupID: 493437

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:20

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:20
Bike riders can and do get charged for not observing road rules. I was given a fine many years ago for riding through a Stop Sign in Cairns.
I believe I was safe as I slowed down to a crawl, looked both ways and continued. We told the police we had slowed down to an almost stop and they agreed. But we did not come to a full stop. We did ask what constitutes a full stop? And did we need to put our feet on the ground? They told us no we did not need to have our feet on the ground but our body had to show signs of have a forward motion whilst the Bikes were stopped.
Anyway I was very peeved off about it and it taught me a lesson. I can't rember if I lost points though.
AnswerID: 231522

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:57

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 21:57
A full stop would, "to be in the exact same place for two consecutive instances of time."

FollowupID: 492479

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:14

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:14
Isn't being in the same place for two consecutive instances all just a matter of relativity?
FollowupID: 492487

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:24

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:24
Please forgive me,
Naturally it is assmumed there will be no loss of mass of the vehicle between the two consecutive instances of time, also the rest of the universe should be considered to be in equilibrium with the vehicle ie. normal rules of space time continium apply.

FollowupID: 492493

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:45

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:45
Einstein should have got drunk at night. bleep , it all makes sense right now.
FollowupID: 492504

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 09:01

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 09:01
I think the law states you have to stop for 3 seconds, in some states anyway

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 492543

Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:45

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 22:45
I was driving to work one morning with 3 rolls of sisolation in the roof. I threw the first roll up and checked to make sure it didnt fit under the side rails and it was alright. Threw the others up and took off toward Glen Helen. On the way out there is a stretch of road were it is really bad for overtaking (right were the local cycling club prefer to train) and I come across a group of cyclists who I sat behind for about 10 mins until I found a spot I could SQUEEZE past.
When I final got to work I realised 1 roll of sisolation had slid out from under the rail and was hanging out about 600mm! ( I was only missing them by about 500mm.) If any of them were a fraction taller they would have been dead.
I ride a motorbike and treat everyone on the road like they are about to do something stupid or are out to run you over!
If I were a cyclist I would avoid riding on the road were I live because there are plenty of bike paths and the cars and trucks will ultimately come off better.
I realise the cyclist amoung you might not agree but I think bitumen roads and especially the busy ones were really built for vehicles.
AnswerID: 231551

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 23:35

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 23:35
I ride a bike to work, and vehicles other times. I'm fortunate that most of my bikeride is on a bike path.

Re safety: There is no way that Cyclists, Pedestrians and Vehicles should share the road. The cyclists and pedestrians will always get killed. Riding a bike on a main road or highway is just waaaaay too dangerous. No matter what the rules, or how careful the drivers are, its too easy to kill a cyclist.

The numbers of bikes seems to be increasing - we just need more decent bikeways to accommodate them.
AnswerID: 231560

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 23:45

Tuesday, Apr 03, 2007 at 23:45
Maybe they should pay registration fees to get them?
FollowupID: 492514

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 00:04

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 00:04
Or a few tollways :-))
FollowupID: 492516

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 09:52

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 09:52
I often ride my bike to work, and whether I ride or I drive I still have to pay registration.

Having said that I wouldn't mind paying bicycle rego if it meant more safer bikelanes, and cyclists and vehciles wouldn't get in eachothers way.
FollowupID: 492551

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 16:28

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 16:28
That is how a lot cyclists think, but if you rode a motor bike instead of driving your car, it has to be registered.
FollowupID: 492607

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 16:44

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 16:44
Like I said, cycliing rego wouldn't bother be, altough that still would not get idiotic cyclists off the road. All cars are registered and there's plenty of idiots, so that's not going to solve your issue.

The rhretoric against cyclists and 4wd's is frightingly simmilar.
They shouldn't be on our roads.
They're too slow.
They should have special licence / rego
Have no respect for other drivers,
They take up too much road and are difficult to overtake..

I'm guessing that the cyclist who runs red lights and weaves in and out of traffic is the same person that would rip up tracks and leave rubbish at campsites. If someone hasn't been brought to respect the people around them, then there's not much we can do about it, no matter what they drive.

R.
FollowupID: 492610

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 16:53

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 16:53
I don't really have an issue, I was just being the Devil's Advocate!

But I do sometimes get annoyed on windy roads when riders sit 4 or 5 abreast & refuse to move over.

Commonsense should dictate that cyclists should ride single file whilst inside double lines, but then commonsense has probably never really been the basis for law making.

As far as bike rego is concerned, a bicycle can do a lot of damage both to vehicles & pedestrians as has been recently evidenced. If they had rego & third party insurance as a minimum, then at least the people that they injure would have some chance of redress.

I also agree that in all walks of life there will rednecks whose behaviour will compromise their peers.
FollowupID: 492611

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 17:07

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 17:07
Yes well, riding 4 or 5 abreast is illegal anyway. The maximum is 2.

What I have found however, is that the closer I ride to the kerb, the closer the cars pass me. The worst offenders are chicks in small cars. They think that because their car is small, they don't need to move over at all. Never really had any problems from 4WD's. Well except for one, but it was a lexus 4wd so it never goes off road anyway.

oh, and most of the club cyclists that ride in packs, have insurance.
FollowupID: 492614

Reply By: Member - Rossco td105(WA) - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 01:26

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 01:26
Hey there all,

Following this post with great interest! I will point out that this reply isn't aimed at any one specifically, I just want to make the point that different people have different tastes, and chose to spend their time in different ways!

As a cyclist, and a four wheel driver (and the owner of a heavily modified Subaru 4WD turbo vehicle) it is quite disconcerting to hear a few people saying that they don't believe that one group of road users should/shouldn't be allowed to use our roads to go about their daily activities. I believe that there are a minority who spoil things for the vast majority. Maybe tolerance for those who do the right thing, and better policing for those who don't, may be the answer.

Do I agree that some-one cycling, who causes the death of a pedestrian, should be punished to the full extent of the law, if at fault? YES. Just in the same way that some-one driving a motor vehicle, (or swinging a baseball bat at some-ones head) and kills them should be.

I also ride to work every day, and chose to do so because it is quite expensive to drive any of my cars on a daily basis. I guess it's also better for the environment (although not one of my major reasons for doing so). In the eyes of the law, I am treated as non registered vehicle, and have to obey ALL of the road rules (and do so) and I can be fined, just as any vehicle user if I break them. Why should I not be allowed to ride my bike when I am obeying the rules of the road? When either riding or driving I regularly see clowns from all camps doing stupid things, it amazes me, but, there are still more people doing the right thing. Again, those not doing the right thing need to be stopped. Those doing the right thing should be allowed to carry on doing so!

I ride in a road cyclist group on a Saturday morning for training, and see some really stupid behaviour by some of my fellow cyclists. Such behaviour occurs, but is quickly sorted out by the regular cyclists in the pack, not only because it gives cyclists a bad name in the eyes of fellow road users, but also because it is dangerous to the rest of the riders in the pack. Do I agree with their stupidity? NO. Do I agree with motorists who come past yelling abuse when the pack is doing the right thing? NO. I am pretty sure any-one in a car will be a lot better off in a collision with a bike! Do all motorists behave this way? Definitely not.

I don't ride regularly on foot paths because there are many pedestrians who are easily startled whilst walking with "I-pods" or simply day-dreaming. Some even get abusive and yell "get off the footpath". If a recreational cyclist injures one of these people on a dual use path, who is to blame? Does this mean that a person who chooses to ride their bike should not ride on the foot path? Nor should they ride on the road? Where then should they ride? Anybody have trouble with congested traffic in their city?

My wife and I pay vehicle registration on four vehicles, only one of which is used for daily transport (her vehicle). The others are used for touring and track days. Surely I have a right to use this countries roads, seeing as I help pay for their upkeep? Surely everyone has a right to use the roads if they are doing the right thing. I don't think any one wants to be stereotyped as a crazy bike rider, souped up sports car hoon, or toorak tractor driving soccer mum if they are in fact a law abiding citizen!

I'm very sorry for such a long winded reply, many years of taking flack due to my taste in 4WD's, sports cars and bicycles has made me a little touchy when someone feels the need to question my right to use any of them.

Please consider those who are able to "do the right thing".

Ross Brown.
AnswerID: 231567

Reply By: macka2 - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 02:48

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 02:48
Richard,
Understand how you feel but if you put the sticks though a mulcher or run them over with the mower then put them in compost bin with other kitchen scraps your plants would love you so would Mother Earth remember tread lightly.
macka2
AnswerID: 231572

Reply By: Justin - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 13:49

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2007 at 13:49
I wonder if your rant is a troll? - if so, it has got me in!

I am a cyclist and a 4wd er.

The person who killed a pedestrian on the street, absolutely should be (and is being?) charged with the applicable offences.

However, put things in perspective - regardless of fault how many pedestrians/cyclists were killed last year by vehicles? (Scrubby would know!) Now ask yourself how many cyclists killed pedestrians? (or anyone else for that matter!). I doubt it would be more than one or two.

Bike riders should obey road rules and occasionally this is enforced (I should know, have been fined for running a red light while working as bike courier). I would agree that is the norm to see bike riders break the law, but then I would say in most instances most drivers break the law several times on an average trip home anyway. The difference is, the driver breaking a law (speeding, failing to stop, not giving sufficient room when overtaking, using a mobile and so on) is thhat more often than not is endangering the life of the innocent people around them. A bike rider breaking the law, while they can endanger someone else, are much more likely to cause serious damage to themselves than a innocent bystander.

I ride 3kms to work every day, and on average 2 or 3 days a week I will have a motorist endanger my life by failing to give way at a round about, running a red light or not giving sufficient room to overtake. I ride on relatively quiet backstreets, so generally am not deliberately putting my self in harms way. Of cause I am biased, but I can't remember the last time I endangered someone’s life (apart from perhaps the risk drivers having a heart attack from shock when the see me 2 feet in front of them in roundabout after they failed to look and give way before entering - or is it the abuse I subsequently hurl back at them?)

The rodies you see on the road (I'm a MTBiker for the record) often do seem to block traffic and slow things down. But they often take up the middle of a lane for their own safety - because of the motorists who are unwilling to pass them at a safe speed or distance. I know on some roads I ride on I too will take the middle of a lane because I have had too many near misses. Remember nearly all cyclists own a car (two in my case) and pay rego, so they have has much right, if not more to be on a road - particulalry as they don't cause nearly as much wear and tear on the road, are much cheaper in accidents (ie no panel damage, fewer deaths), and are doing something beneficial for their health, unlike the majority of car drivers...

And then the environmental thing, at least a cyclist, (a road rider in this instance) is choosing a form of transport or recreation that has significantly less impact on the environment, unlike us 4wders (me included) who travel large distances in 2 or 3 tonne vehicles burning fossil fules to travel on unsealed roads causing erosion, spreading weeds, squashing bilbies as we go, and all the while not getting much exercise and having an early death from heart disease.

I know who, for my future children’s sake, I would rather encourage to use the roads!

Oh, and as an aside to the comment about cyclists being kept off road. In cities where this is done, it has been found that the drivers actually become worse - partly because they forget how to interact safely with cyclists when they do appear on the road, and partly because the drivers start to think they own the road to the exclusion of riders (just like the cyclists probably think they own the cycle path to the exclusion of pedestrians). I have noticed this in Sydney and Perth, where Sydney drivers, while far from being safe, are safer than Perth drivers who don't see nearly as many cyclists. The smart cities develop safe roads that bikes and cars can share - in the long run this reduces the issues.

J.
AnswerID: 231628