Submitted: Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 18:08
gazand CJ
Has anyone camped in this reserve? There are three
camp sites on the NPWS website and I'm interested in whether they are picturesque, easily accessible or full of bikies, drunks with dogs etc.
My wife and I are scouting around for camping areas where we can take our new camper within a couple of hours of
Sydney. We are pulling it around with a Prado with 2 small kids inside (4.5 and 2.5 years) so take that into consideration if access is an issue.
Gary
Reply By: Member - Boo (ACT) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 19:57
Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 19:57
Hi Gary,
Depending on what you are looking for and when, have a look at the following website, we go here quite a lot with our kids, whilst they are older (13 & 11) any age would have a great time. There are hot showers and
toilets, right on
the beach if the weather is warm enough, although yours would just have a ball playing on the sand etc.
There are kangaroos & wallabies wandering around the
camp ground all day long and then at night while your sitting around a
camp fire you may have a possum or two drop in for a visit. Sometimes emu's wander past. There isn't any electricity so you would need to be self sufficient.
Depending on when you want to go they are often not all that busy if you can avoid holiday times.
www.beachcomberpark.com.au/
Kerrie.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 20:05
Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 20:05
I reckon that this place should become an advertiser on here.
As there is enough of us that recommend it, it looks a million dollars from the web site but I still haven't made it down there to
check it out.
It is definitely on the to do list.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 23:13
Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 23:13
The big problem with this one is it is a long way from Karuah.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo (ACT) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 23:44
Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 23:44
It may be a long way from Karuah, but the request was for camping locations within a couple of hours of
Sydney, this may be a little over 2 hours but definately still within the realms of possibilities.
Kerrie
Follow Up By: gazand CJ - Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 08:24
Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 08:24
Thanks Kerrie, I'll put that down as somewhere to
check out towards the end of the year when the weather warms up.
Gary
Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 22:21
Saturday, Apr 07, 2007 at 22:21
Gary,
I live in the Hunter and sorry have not been to Karuah
Nature Reserve.
Karuah NR is mentioned in Lewis and Savage "Camping Guide to NSW" Boiling Billy Publications reprint 2006. They say there are two campgrounds Little Mountain and Tattersals, neither have facilities and they recommend to use your own portable
toilets.
There was a place we went recently that also may fit your bill, Chichester
State Forest, also in one of Lewis and Savage's books, "4wd tracks close to Sydney". If you would like some more detail send me a note. We have been there and it was great, you can
camp in one of the camping areas near the numberous rivers in the area and do some 4wd tracks.
Another place we found about a year ago east of
Mudgee is
Dunns Swamp, it is not really a swamp but a most picturesque
dam. It is a NP and has facilities, walks, swimming, canoes etc. If you cannot find a reference to its location let me know.
Happy camping to you all.
Follow Up By: gazand CJ - Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 08:38
Sunday, Apr 08, 2007 at 08:38
Chris,
I've been to
Dunns Swamp probably 20 years ago and my recollections are that it was fabulous then, so I'm glad to hear that it hasn't changed much.
We were at
Newnes last weekend and camped in the main area as we didn't realise that there were other
camp sites across the river towards the
ruins which are less crowded because of the 4WD access only. Whilst we had a great spot nestled into the bush, it was still pretty noisy and we were awakened in the middle of the night by hoons tearing around the
camp site dragging each other around behind their cars on an improvised sled. Such a shame because
Newnes is truly beautiful.
Will give the CSF a go at some stage. Went up to the Allyn River last April and had a fun time keeping the leaches off the kids, but such is life and it was still a beautiful area.
I think I'll still head to Karuah in a couple of weeks. Evidently it mustn't get visited much. I'll let you know what I think.
Gary
Reply By: Gronk - Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 20:19
Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 20:19
Probably no leeches, but plenty of mozzies ( read lots and lots of mozzies )
Went there a month or so ago and as soon as we got out of the 4x4 we got attacked, so we went to .........
But as for camping spots 2hrs nth of
Sydney, there are heaps of
places, some might be 2 1/2 hrs !!
Send me an email and I will suggest a few for you..
Follow Up By: Gronk - Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 20:21
Monday, Apr 09, 2007 at 20:21
Sorry greig40@iprimus.com.au
Reply By: gazand CJ - Tuesday, Apr 10, 2007 at 09:08
Tuesday, Apr 10, 2007 at 09:08
Cheers, I will drop you an email for your favourite campsites.
Gary