Vivid Adventures needs an off-road trailer
Submitted: Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:51
Andrew from Vivid Adventures
Well, expansion is on us... we keep filling the 100 Series Cruisers which means we need off-road trailers for what we do.
What we are thinking of is 7x5 with dual loop 7-leaf springs with highish sides (18") and with lids and roof racks (for picking up firewood et al).
One supplier is suggesting we build it in aluminium and showed us one that has had a lot of use and looks in pretty good condition and seems to be doing a good job. It is hard to tell how hard it has been used all the same.
It has 7mm RSJ 200mmx75mm approx drawbar that goes right back to the
suspension mounting and it has a good looking tubular chassis. It has 3mm aluminium rolled chequerplate ...
So, if you saw this shiny thing - or quickly not so shiny thing, would you think it would make a good off-road trailer for the whole 9-yards -
Kimberley and
Kakadu water;
Simpson Desert and
Great Australian Bight sand, High Country and
Otways Mud and Rocks ... etc.?
Any inputs on aluminium trailers much appreciated!
Andrew who suspects he might need to duck for cover on this one.
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 03:11
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 03:11
Mate just a thought but how about a second vehicle (ute) that is shiny and new that can hold 400 litres of extra diesel, on top of it's 180 litre fuel tank (1500 km range) 170+ litres of water, tools, recovery equipement under the tray, plus a driver to take up the rear that understands the requirments of another photographer and has a mechacics trade to boot???? oh and forgot to mention already has already got 20mil public liability?????? Talk to me if your interested and want to expand that big :)
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 03:30
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 03:30
Oh PS it's not that thing in the rig
pic that looks bogged either. Did reverse it out without any difficulties. went and checked out the 70 series ute today. will get a quote in the next day or 3. lucky I still have 2 toyatas in the backyard that can remind me of where a 4wd can really go :)
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:12
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:12
Thanks P,
Where are you putting the extra diesel and water, BTW?
How long were you quoted for delivery of the 70 series?
Andrew who is keeping extfilm in mind.
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:54
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:54
Hey Andrew,
At the moment I have a 200l fuel tank on the back of the Nav that has an electric pump...... Am looking at getting another. I could simply just get a 400l tank but as you know you always try and keep fluids seperate in case it splits or gets a hole. Then you haven't lost the lot.
As for water the Nav has a stainless 20/30l tank under the tray and I usually carry at least 5 20l drums....... May try and see if I couldn't fit a bigger one underneath.
Am also looking at trying to fit a slide out under tray bbq too.
They gave me a rough time of 6 to 8 weeks but they have not got back to me on a price yet.
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 03:30
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 03:30
Hi Andrew,
My thoughts on ally trailers has always been that if something does go wrong in the sticks, a steel one can be welded up somewhere as there are lots of places/propertys that have a welder, but very few
places could weld ally and i think if you are going to belt the living daylights out of a trailer for a long time, i think steel will last longer.
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 03:40
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 03:40
good thinking Pesty one..........
can always do some welding with 2 batteries and a rod if need be........
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:09
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:09
Thanks Pesty - this is the issue I hadn't thought of.
Good friend Willem was first to remind me of this issue by email.
Andrew.
Follow Up By: Member - Russell H (WA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:04
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:04
Not a trailer I know, but I had a Patrol ute for work and it had an all-aluminium gull-wing box setup on the back. We couldn't stop the bugger from cracking - almost always along the welds.
The other problem was that anything that rubbed against the aluminium would cause this black powdered aluminium to rub off and it would get over everything and was difficult to remove.
I would advise steering clear of aluminium.
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 06:51
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 06:51
Hi Andrew, When I was doing tours I had a 8x4'3 steel trailer built. Rolled checkerplate guards, and full checkerplate floor, 2x seperate lids with racks (great for 6' table). Couldn't break it, some roads in the territory actually destroyed cans of food but never the trailer.
I wouldn't touch alloy as said too hard to weld in the bush.
Tour Boy
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:09
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:09
I went through a similar thought process for a work trailer in 2005. I got quotes everywhere and ended up with a nice caged 7 x 5 from Modern Trailers in Lonsdale. I was happy with their service and product. It has been parked outside near the sea since new and is only showing a little rust where the chains have rubbed the paint.
(The one I would have liked was $5,500+ and was hot gal dipped, dual axle, etc etc, but the budget would not stretch that far.)
Alloy sounds nice, but I agree with the above re bush repairs. You can get steel welded anywhere.
Pete
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:14
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:14
Hi Pete,
I liked the Modern Trailers setup too - I was out there yesterday, but they are taking a week off next week (the whole factory), and I need it by 23rd.
Andrew.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:36
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:36
Andrew,
I would also have to go with the addition of a second vehicle rather than a trailer.
Some of the
places that you go are not trailer friendly,
Vic High Country and
Simpson Desert are just two.
There are some good points for the extra vehicle.
You would have a extra person to help with vehicle break downs,
camp set up, assistance with customers, a lot more can be done with one extra person.
The down side.
Finding a driver and vehicle that would be available on a casual basis. Ideally you would want some one who has a Patrol or Cruiser ute that was set up to carry all the gear that you would have in the passenger vehicle. Some one who could work part time, at any time of the year, for the duration of the trip, know some thing about photography, loves travelling, meeting people, bush mechanic, very good sense of humour, and gets on
well with people of all walks of life.
Best of luck, but if the trailer is the way you want to go, a steel galvanised trailer with a long draw bar, independent
suspension with shocks and electric brakes.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:02
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 09:02
G'day Wayne,
I see you ain't left yet - see you up in the
Kimberley I guess.
Interestingly we have pulled a trailer through
Vic High Country, Simpson and on a lot of beach driving on the bight. Probably the High Country is the most difficult.
We have a second vehicle which is either running other tours or helping out with overflow situations and both are 100 series for comfort - we don't like sitting sideways so don't put our customers through that ;-)
The trailer is for when we have full vehicles one way or another - and it seems to come upon us at the last minute ;-)
Andrew.
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:03
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:03
Oh what a pity,
young Andrew. I could have been the back-up vehicle and trailer.
But I am going on a jaunt at the end of the month as
well, so can't help out.......'sigh'........
Why don't you Hire one for this trip while you get the real one built.
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:44
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 15:44
Hot dip galvanized steel is the way to go. Aluminium will fatigue crack.
Reply By: Scrubcat - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:28
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:28
Might I suggest that the wheels on the trailer need to track the same as the towing vehicle, if it is a different wheel span you could have problems in any soft going.
As others have said alloy is no good if you need it repaired in the woop woops.
Cheers ,
Scrubcat.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:30
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:30
Thanks Scrubcat ... yes, we have the track running the same as the vehicle.
Reply By: Eric Experience - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 22:13
Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 22:13
Andrew,
Trailers are a pain in the****. The new Canter is about the same price as a cruiser but will carry all the gear you will ever want. The new turbo motor is not as fast as the cruiser but on long trips it is only minutes behind at each stop. If you
test drive one that's empty you will think they ride a bit rough but loaded they are good. More reliable than a cruiser/ trailer and use less fuel. Eric.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 07:36
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 07:36
Hi Eric,
Yep - PIA.
Canter is on the cards for next vehicle.
Andrew.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 00:11
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 00:11
Gday Andrew,
Tregs at Underdale make good offroad trailers and they stand the
test of time -
mine's 47 years old - 1960 model!
But if you wnat something more like a Chuckwagon, then Adventure trailers and campers might sell you their basic setup without the bed and tent.
phil
Reply By: rolande- Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:42
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:42
G'Day Andrew,
Best set-up?
track trailer
Look under products, then commercial products to see the trailer for you
Rolande