lancruiser 105 standard - safari turbo etc.

Submitted: Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 06:50
ThreadID: 44255 Views:3970 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
I’m in the throws of considering our next family 4by and one of the options I have put on the table is a second hand (non turbo) 105 cruiser. My rationale is that I can purchase the vehicle <60000Km add a turbo and all manner of other good toys for similar cost of a newbie without the toys (patrol or cruiser – though I wont buy a 3l Nissan). Thinking of the poverty pack cruiser as it has a live front axel and has less in the department of electronic give me troublry.
I have briefly looked a pricing on aftermarket turbos. Dearer than I guessed, but still be do-able. So my question is : Does any one have experience / comments on fitting an aftermarket turbo to the LC105 1HZ motor, do they make this vehicle a viable proposition in terms of power, economy and reliability? Comments on other aspects of the vehicle are also most welcome.
The turbine manufacturer claims of power and torque make it sound like a reasonable option.
I would want to deck the vehicle out as serious family off road touring wagon, but also revert to stock wheels for towing a 5m boat on the other weekends.
Paul.

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:19

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 07:19
Hi Paul,
Dad put a Denco turbo and glycol intercooler on his 105 GXL (rigid front) and it now pulls has 3t van better than his old 1.8t van and no turbo.
Tour Boy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 233063

Reply By: png62 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:47

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:47
I've got an AXT Turbo on mine and couldn't be happier. Better fuel consumption than flogging the non-turbo and travel everywhere in a higher gear. Tows really well - often have to look to see if the trailer is actualy still there, because the torque comes on so low in the rev range - you don't have to flog it to keep moving along nicely. As you say lots of toys bolted on makes this option a better value, more capable tourer than anthing I could find. Go the 105's !
AnswerID: 233072

Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:51

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 08:51
The downside is that the 105 has the lighter gearbox (same as a Prado apparently) rather than the heavier box fitted to the factory turbo's.
As these boxes do sometimes wear prematurely in non turbo vehicles the addition of a turbo might hasten the wear factor especially if loaded.
AnswerID: 233073

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:42

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:42
This was the rationale for me going to a GU 4.2 turbo from my old 100 series cruiser. That thing spat gears twice in 18 months for me but I am the first to admit some degree of over use from the drivers behalf. The box was making strange noises and would have gone in for another rebuild if I kept it but I traded it instead.

Also for the original poster, make sure any after market turbo is done properly as the 4.2 cruiser can cook pistons if not done properly. A nice option is to supercharge these cruisers to really make them go. Tad more expensive than turbo only but if you are going to i/cool it as well, it may be in the ball park? This would really put the g/box to the test IMO. Personally I think it would be worth waiting until the proper release of the 200 series as this should increase the numbers of 100 series available second hand and also reduce purchase price a little.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 493973

Reply By: Andy - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:03

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:03
Hi Paul,
I have a 2000 GXL with a/market turbo and all the touring accessories. I will be selling it in the next few weeks when my new car arrives. Give me call if you are interested. 0418 372729
AnswerID: 233109

Follow Up By: pt_nomad - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:51

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:51
Opps - I clicked the wrong button.

Thanks Andy,
Its a bit to long in the tooth at 2000 vintage. Why are you getting rid of it? What are you thoughts on the vehicles suitablity for a family tourer? Did the after market turbo cut the mustard long term ?
Ta
Paul.
FollowupID: 493974

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:58

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:58
Paul I wouldn't fend off the earlier models to quick. Depending on the km's any year model is worth a look as the the only things that changed over the years in the base models is the look of the dash and probably the grill. I have a 01 model and a guy at work has a 2006 and the only thing I can pick is the instrument cluster. Save some more bikkies on an earlier model and spend more on kitting it out. Mine has 260k and I'm in the process of looking at installing a turbo to mine. You won't go wrong with one though. Good luck.
FollowupID: 494079

Reply By: pt_nomad - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:33

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:33
Thanks Andy,
Its a bit to long in the tooth at 2000 vintage. Why are you getting rid of it? What are you thoughts on the vehicles suitablity for a family tourer? Did the after market turbo cut the mustard long term ?
Ta
Paul.
AnswerID: 233114

Reply By: Member - John L G - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:38

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 11:38
My son's GXL100 live axle has an after market turbo and intercooler fitted.

Superbly smooth power plant with heaps of the readies under the bonnet and even more so now that he is running gas as well.
AnswerID: 233117

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 14:57

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 14:57
Like Peter says, with extra power and towing, the R151F gearbox becomes the weak link. You can also get the 1Hz live axle model with a stronger auto box in the GXL, but they were not common.

Alternatively, the 6 cylinder petrol models (FZJ-105) have the live axle, the heavier H150F gearbox (or auto) and can be bought very cheaply. While it will drink a bit more fuel, your maintenance costs are less (10k servicing), and you might find this beast to be more reliable than a turboed 1Hz. The range is still pretty good if you replace the subtank with a 180litre replacement tank.

phil
AnswerID: 233147

Reply By: Member - Rossco td105(WA) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 22:07

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 22:07
Hey Paul,

I'm pretty happy with mine as well. The wife, dog and I do quite a bit of touring with it, and it is a very capable vehicle. We went 'down' to the STD after a GXL, due to some trouble with a water crossing and the electrics not mixing, simply meant more money left for modifications.

As others have said, get the turbo done properly (mine is heavily modified) and you won't look back. Given the tyre size I run and some of the driving we do, I haven't had a prob with the gear box yet, though I do change all the oils regularly and try to treat it with some respect. Towing in fifth with the extra power may be a problem?

Good luck with the decision making,

Rossco.
AnswerID: 233236

Follow Up By: pt_nomad - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:30

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:30
Thanks Rosco,
Was just looking at you rig page, many of mods you have completed are on my list. Dunno if it was agood idea to show the missus the photo with 4" and 35's - The first question was "do we really need that?" ha ha, but of course we do my dear.
Thanks Paul.
FollowupID: 494315

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:06

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:06
The 1hz turbod conservitively, will last for ever. The 100 has a gearbox problem if it is loaded up and /or drove hard with turbo. The old 80 DX box (same as 100 t/d) will bolt in though, so it isnt a drama...the 1hz in all models is still live axle. The difference is amazing turbocharging the 1hz, another option is to buy a complete driveline from a late 80 series turbo diesel...after installing, you will have a "best of all worlds" cruiser with oddles of power, and unbreakable gearbox. The motors share thesame block.
AnswerID: 233446

Follow Up By: pt_nomad - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:18

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:18
Dozer,
Thanks for the reply. This is pretty much the position I was arriving at. If I purchase the unit at a reasoanble price and at some point in time find I do have trouble, then I get a box from the wreckers reco-ed. Good to know that the 80's is the same - lot more box's available.
Intersetingly we (trouble and strife + 3 billy lids) checked out friends vehicles today- 100 gxl 4.7 cruiser and a Patrol. Sized up both for the rear leg room and all important boot space.
We currently drive a S1 Discovery, using some crude measurements: the patrol is 24% biigger and the Cruiser is 46% bigger then the disco boot. Using same measurements, Cruiser boot is 18% bigger than patrol.

Given the Cruiser after market turbo power and torque compared to the 4.2 patrol, the cruisers significantly larger size and comments such as yours, the decision is becoming a no brainer - Cruiser.

Paul.
FollowupID: 494307

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 15:29

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 15:29
Hey guys

Over the last couple of days I've herd a bit of talk on the forum about the 100 series gearbox being a problem, I have 2 100 series 1 has done 250000 km and the other has 290000 km both gearboxes are quiet as a mouse.

They have both been used to tow camp trailers and the boat, So can some one tell me the problem that I don't have.

Now the troopy is another matter.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 496906

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:03

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:03
Steve, they mean the gearbox is noisy when the vehicle is running, not when its sitting under your carport mate!

FollowupID: 496914

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:36

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:36
Now Bonz I think your jealous because I can park my Trucks up for 5 months and go and go on Holidays.

I have a nice photo of you and your family at Ubirr I will send it to you.

Have a nice day and GO PIES.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 496920

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 17:25

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 17:25
Steve im presuming you have a 1hz without turbo....
FollowupID: 496930

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 17:29

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 17:29
Hi Dozer.

4 of them.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 496932

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 23:01

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 23:01
No Steve I would never be jealous, mate appreciative, thankful, rapt, in awe, but never jealous. My email is bonzinc at iprimusdotcomdotau, love to see the pic. I havent stopped raving about Ubirr and ACTUALLY being able to see it courtesy of your big heart mate.

FollowupID: 497009

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 23:28

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 23:28
Hey bonz

The pics are on the other computer all turned of so I will send them tomorrow.

Yeah I know you're not jealous.

I'm Actually in trade negotiations with the minister for finances, I'm after a new boat, to take you fishing next time your here.

So far it's cost me end of year trip, a ministerial trip to Germany and my sole, So it better be the best fishing boat in the southern hemisphere.

Which brings me to another point more related to this thread, last week I borrowed my mates 5mt Quintrex boat, I towed it from Darwin to Kakadu with the 100 series that's done 290000 kms non turbo, we sat on 120 kph no problems.

Cheers Steve.

PS the Pies won.
FollowupID: 497014

Reply By: joff1 - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 15:18

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 15:18
Great thread,

I'm looking at the same thing myself to tow a 3t van around the block. I'd rather spend the extra on extras, if you know what I mean, than spend it on a factory TD with the IFS. The idea is to have a self sufficient off roader for those forays away from the van but still capable of towing the whole shebang to the next major stop.

I have just one question to add. Does anyone monitor exhaust gas temperature? I have read that these things with a load on can get pretty hot and EGT over 500C is bad?? others say 650C. Anyone shed any light?

AnswerID: 235750

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:08

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 16:08
I am currently driving one with a DTS turbo on it and it runs about effortlessly

AnswerID: 235756