Whats the new Hilux 3LTD like?

Submitted: Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:23
ThreadID: 44280 Views:9828 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
Has anyone got the new hilux 3.0L TD?

Can you give me the run down on them?

Are they ok for touring, whats there wheel travel like after fitting after market suspension, has anyone put the 4" lift in one? (the pros & cons) please.

From looking at the specifications on the 3.0L Hilux on paper it seems it would kick my GUIV 4.2L TD butt. Is this the case in a line up between the two?

Ok lets see opinions, Hilux 3.0L TD vs Patrol 4.2TD (covering all areas, engine performance on/off road and vehicle capabilities off road we will give the Hilux a head start with a suspension upgrade a big lift.)

Babs.

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:36

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:36
Hey Babs
I own a td prado and I serviced at my workshop a TD Hilux October 06 model today. My Prado has a safari D Tronic fitted. Both autos.
The hilux definetly pulled better and had quicker pick up on acceleration than the prado.
Noise inside is considerably more but the hilux was the base model. The engine is not as quiet as I thought it would be but is a smooth unit.
As for suspension I don't think you will get a 4" lift. My Prado has a 50mm lift in rear and 40mm in front, lovells and bilsteins and considering the hilux front is identical, it will be great with a lift.
The only thing I didn't compare was wheel rolling diameter. With smaller wheels you will have heaps more pick up off the mark. The hilux has 16' wheels and the prado 17". I will have a look at the next one as this company just bought a heap for their fleet.
Hope this answers a few of your questions.
120scruiser
AnswerID: 233198

Follow Up By: babs - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:44

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:44
Cheers 120scruiser, good info there is a 4" lift available for them it is by Snake Racing.
FollowupID: 494076

Reply By: Batman69 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:53

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 20:53
Babs,

I have just traded a 3lt GU on a new dual cab Hilux 3lt TD. So far very happy with Hilux, IMHO out performs the GU in every way except in outright offroad suspension travel. It has a much more user friendly gearbox, with much better gear ratio spread. The Hilux uses about 35 - 40 % less fuel than the GU in all forms of driving. The engine is quieter, smoother and less turbo lag than the Patrol. Just got back from the Grampians and the vehicle returned 10.4l/100km, fully loaded with camping gear. GU would have been anywhere around 13 or 14l/100km.

I looked at the 4" lift and it is very expensive and needs an engineers certificate, way too much hassle and in IMHO not worth it. 40mm lift with any other setup would be enough for anyone but rockhoppers. I reckon you would get better value getting front and rear diff locks!

A couple of things to think about with the Hilux - the speedo is very inaccurate about 8k out at 100k, there are two alarm chimes that annoy the hell out of me, one is the seatbelt chime (not good if you are plodding around a paddock spotlighting) and the second chime is the door open with keys in ignition and motor off. They are my only beefs with the car.

I wouldn't go back to a Patrol.

Batman.
AnswerID: 233208

Follow Up By: Graham & Lynne - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:33

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:33
You can remove the centre of the speaker that causes seat belt alarm to activate
FollowupID: 494086

Follow Up By: steve - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:44

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:44
Hi Batman,
There was a very helpfull guy offering info on how to disable these alarms on the overlander forum a while back. I used it to stop both the seatbelt and key in alarms that annoy the hell out of most hilux owners. Less than five minutes to do both and can be restored in the same time.

Babs,
I would also recomend the Hilux as a great tourer when set up properly. Our T/D xcab SR5 has the usual changes to wheels, tyres, suspension, bars, winch, lights, canopy, drawers etc and serves us very well. Not as capable as the cruiser/patrol (or the Prado we had before it), but that's a different market. Done Vic high country, Fraser Island and lots of general camping and boating with it and am very happy overall. The only dissapointments are the fuel ecconmy, around 11.5 l/100km not 8.5 as Toyota say, but there's a lot of extra crap hanging off it too, and not having cruise because its manual.

If a ute is what you need/want I don't think you will get much better for general touring and day to day use.

FollowupID: 494092

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 08:18

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 08:18
Batman - to kill those chimes:

Seat - under the driver's seat, look for two wires heading into a plug up under the seat. Pull the plug, and the seat belt chime is gone.

Keys - remove the housing on the underside of the steering column. Two or three screws, for memory. There will be a similar two-wire plug sticking out of the bottom of the ignition coil. Nearest the key, pointing down to the floor. Unplug that, and the key chime is gone.

My dealer put me on to these, and my sanity is restored. Pulling these plugs I'm told affects nothing else in the vehicle.
FollowupID: 495354

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:38

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:38
There's a forum out there for the new Hilux's. I'm afraid to say I've got no idea what it's called.
AnswerID: 233221

Reply By: newlux - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:56

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 21:56
Check out www.newhilux.net

Heaps of info on the new hilux there including instructions on disabling those two annoying beepers.

Go the new lux!!!

Mick
AnswerID: 233232

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 23:16

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 23:16
Mick,

Thanks heaps for the link - problem solved. Both annoying beepers now terminated. That is fantastic info.

Boffins at Toyota dealership said they couldn't fix either beeper - what goons. Probably just towing the company line though.

Now all I need to rectify is the speedo inaccuracy

Batman
FollowupID: 494118

Follow Up By: wheeler - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 06:30

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 06:30
I have just bought a td sr dc and have fitted an ome suspension and 265/75r16 cooper st. is now spot on, when measured against my gps.

Dtronic is definitely required when fitting these tyres.
FollowupID: 494144

Reply By: Member - Graeme (NSW) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 22:12

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 22:12
I have over the last six months have driven and towed a 3T trailer with a 3L new Hilux from Maralinga to Port Lincoln, Leigh Creek, Broken Hill, Dubbo, Coffs Harbour, Sydney etc and have been impressed by the sheer grunt, fuel economy and general comfort. As long as you remember they are not a hardcore 4WD due the limited ground clearance, I have grounded it a few times from Ceduna to Maralinga, but was due to the nature of the track in places. it is an ideal vehicle for what it is designed for and that being a powerful, competant average duty 4WD with car like handling and comfort. We are also using a 78 series Toyota ute as well and the driving difference is like night and day. It is unstoppable off road but by comparison with the Hilux is a pig on road. Horses for courses or what tickles your fancy
Cheers Graeme
AnswerID: 233238

Follow Up By: babs - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 00:52

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 00:52
Hi Graeme, thanks for the info.

You know I want my cake and want to eat it too, the power sounds great and the comfort but I want it to perform off road, would a big lift and big tyres solve the problem? (And maybee throw in a diff lock or two)
FollowupID: 494134

Reply By: Member - David B (QLD) - Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 23:00

Friday, Apr 13, 2007 at 23:00
One thing to remember the hilux is a 1ton ute.
Power to weight is good.
I'm very happy with mine.

http://www.sydneycitytoyota.com.au/WhatsNew/downloads/toy1524_060_001.mpg

Dave.
AnswerID: 233247

Reply By: TOB - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:53

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:53
mate of mine bought a 4wd 3.0td ute. Done 12000km and had new diff, new clutch and 2 new injectors. Make up your own mind.
AnswerID: 233290

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:56

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:56
I have and its on order
FollowupID: 494168

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:56

Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:56
I don't know a lot about them , have to be better than the 2.8 , yjey look good but If I were in the market for a Dual Cab i would give a good long look at the Mitsubishi Triton

AnswerID: 233292

Reply By: Member - Bushpig - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 21:13

Tuesday, Apr 17, 2007 at 21:13
How to disable the alarm for the seat-belts. Ofcourse you should allways wear the seatbelt when driving, but on occasions it seems terribly annoying

This is how you do it:

Turn power on and set counter to "ODO"
Turn power off
Turn power on, within 5 seconds, press and hold the trip-reset button
After 10 seconds, fasten the seatbelt
Release the trip-reset button

.. the display should now change to "B-off", turn power off and release the seatbelt.

The alarm is now disabled. To enable it again, you have to disconnect the battery for a period

Jack
AnswerID: 234070