nz fly /motorhome holidays

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 07:15
ThreadID: 44557 Views:3983 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
morming all
just wondering if anybody has done 1 of these holidays and what the motor home comes with do you have to cart all your own bedding across the water or is that sort of thing supplied

ps ad doesnt say which brand of motor is supplied

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:14

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:14
I did it in 2003 and the unit came with all you need as far as utensils, bedding etc. You could hire a TV for $50.00 and other stuff like outside tables and chairs etc.

I am heading over there again in May but will hire a motor home when I get there as we will be spending the first ten days with a Kiwi mate we met when they travelled Aus.

AnswerID: 234883

Reply By: floody - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:46

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:46

My wife and I are heading over to Enzed to do the south Island in one weeks time.

We are doing the motorhome thing with Tui. They tell us to just bring film and sun block. Found them to be the only company that honoured their quotes in travel magazines and there bond waiver was twenty dollars as opposed to the thirty and thirty five dollars per day quoted by the others. They also include diesel tax in there daily quote.

Floody
AnswerID: 234888

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:45

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:45
Floody, don't worry about the sun block. Bring a warm jacket and insect repelant. Winter has arrived ! 13 in the cool places with a max of 17 degrees in the warm spots this week.
FollowupID: 495880

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:47

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:47
Floody, I should have mentioned that sun block will be useful if you are on snow.
FollowupID: 495881

Follow Up By: floody - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:08

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:08
Kiwi Kia

I will substitute the sunblock for long johns.

Thanks for the weather report.

Floody
FollowupID: 496097

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 16:34

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 16:34
Floody, drop me an email nzrees@yahoo.com Might be able to give you a couple of hints about places to see on your travels.
FollowupID: 496125

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:52

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 08:52
Compare Campers in NZ

AnswerID: 234889

Reply By: Leroy - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 11:18

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 11:18
i went over last nov and hired an Apollo motor home. Had a great time and it's the best way to see everything. It has everything you need including linen, tea towels etc. Have a toilet and shower. I didn't know much and had no experience with chem toilets and i now reckon they are a good thing. There was a tv (couldn't get it to tune in though but not a bad thing really) microwave, air con, and roof leaks!!! (the leaks cost extra)lol. If there are 2 of you go the 4 berth for that little extra room and you don't have to pack up the bed every morning before eating.

Leroy
AnswerID: 234912

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 13:03

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 13:03
Steve,

I don't know if it suits you but the CMCA put out a club mag called The Wanderer and in that mag you often see o/seas people swapping their rigs with people here in Aus so each other can travel the others country with similar setup motorhomes. Maybe one of the Kiwi's would like to see Aus in your van while you see NZ in thier rig????

Maybe worth checking out the CMCA website if this may suit.

Regards, trevor.
AnswerID: 234928

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 17:15

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 17:15
I have holidayed in NZ numerous times, love the place and the people, despise the roads, the poor (pathetic) standard of driving, lack of direction sign posts, absence of armco safety barriers even on high mountain roads, lack of speed advisory signs on roads, almost complete lack of overtaking lanes and to really top it all the presence of motorhomes makes driving on NZ roads a very risky affair. You really do take your life into your hands when trying to overtake them, negotiate them or cope with them. Motorhomes are frequently referred to as 'road lice' and are a bigger hazard on the roads that you could ever imagine. Don't know why, perhaps something to do with people being on holidays and oblivious to surrounding traffic, road conditions, hazards etc. Best advice I can give you if you go ahead with the hire, try to keep your speed up to the road limits, use your mirrors constantly so that you can be aware of traffic built up behind you. Lots of apparent 'bush/free camping' spots noticed throughout our travels so such camping must be (or is) tolerated by the authorities.
If this will be your first trip to NZ, make sure that you take plenty of film (35mm and video tapes - if applicable) with you as it is a lot more expensive over there. There is heaps to photograph and film, fantastic scenery and many very pretty country towns. You will really enjoy it.
p.s. if not already obvious, I have never holidayed in a motorhome in NZ so can't give you any specific help in that regard. Good luck with it.
AnswerID: 234948

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 18:46

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 18:46
DIO, The bad drivers are all foreigners on holiday, to save a world war I won't mention their nationality. Direction sign posts and speed advisorys are everywhere - moreso then Australia ! Overtaking lanes have been found to be a road hazard as those darn tourists speed up when the come to them and slow down again when the lane ends ! I would like to shoot the bas....s
FollowupID: 495951

Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 20:50

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 20:50
DIO

I have seen your same reply cut & pasted onto more than more one forum in the past.

Having just returned after a wonderful 3 year, 85000km motorhome holiday in Aus, I'm just wondering, have you transposed the words NZ and Aus???
If you really have "holidayed in NZ numerous times" all I can suggest is that you must have had your eyes closed half the time.

"lack of direction sign posts, absence of armco safety barriers even on high mountain roads, lack of speed advisory signs on roads, almost complete lack of overtaking lanes" - then you haven't travelled much in Australia off the main roads have you?
"Motorhomes are frequently referred to as 'road lice'" - I have lived in NZ for 58 (sorry 55) years and never heard of 'road lice' - even Mr. google has trouble.
"film (35mm and video tapes" - you still have those in Australia? :)
The rest also applies to your great country.

One thing I have noticed on our return is that NZ drivers do tend to be arrogant on average - less policing?

Gob & Denny
I don't think you will have to supply you own bedding etc.
Even if you did, it may be less expensive to purchase here rather than pay freight charges at your end.

Enjoy your travels.

Neville

FollowupID: 495981

Reply By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 17:34

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 17:34
We did the motorhome trip to the South Island last June and had an awesome time. We used to bag them as for oldies but found it fantastic to bush camp in the snow when it was _12 outside. We used Easy Go which is the budget section of Pacific Horizon. We recommend that you stay your first night near the pick up as we had a couple of minor things that needed fixing and they tell you everything in such a hurry that we needed to check back on how a few things worked . Ask for more blankets if you sleep cold. We got 9 doonas!!!! and used 6. Depending on the time of year , doing your own shopping online worked for us. We had a proper gas heater for total independance and bought a cheap electric one as well. Watch out for companies that only lend portable gas heaters as they are pretty useless. have a great trip but do rug up in season. Cheers. Chris.
AnswerID: 234954

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:50

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:50
Steve,

Have done it and recommend this type of tour of NZ.

Our friends and us decided on a four week tour of New Zealand a few years ago.
We didn't "take a package" as such. We booked the Air fares and the Motor Home separately.

Any of the major players will give a competitive deal. This is one of New Zealand's strong points in tourism and they all do it extremely well. The Caravan Parks are well set up to cater for motor home parking and some have "onsuite" facilities.

The four of us decided on a six berth "Barbiemobile" for reasons of space. It is something you are living in for some time. With four people, the beds are readily accessible and the living/cooking section in the middle is free for use at any time.
Actually, we spent most of the time cooking outdoors on a BBQ provided.

As others have said, all of the Motor Homes come fully equipped. The only thing you need to do is call in at a supermarket (and bottle department) to stock up on "essentials" before you take off.

Both the North & South Islands are unique and it is hard to judge how long to spend in each area.
The North Island has Aukland, the Bay of Islands, the Kauri Forest area and also a lot to see around Rotorua. (Don't worry about the sulphur smell, you'll soon get used to it)
If you are into Trout Fishing by fly, this area is the "Mecca" of trout fishing at the southern end of Lake Toupo at the RiverTongarero. We spent three days fishing there after promising the girls we would spend a corresponding amount of time snow skiing with them on the South Island.
The South island is probably more scenic and the "Mecca" for snow skiers. (Yes, we gave the girls sufficient time on the slopes and actually enjoyed it ourselves).
Queenstown is a great place to base yourself if pursuing snow activities, in season of course. The South Island also has attractions such as Mount Cook, Milford Sound, and the Glaciers of Franz Joseph and Fox and a helicopter flight out of Fox Glacier village is highly recommended.

A couple of tips based on our experience.
Depending on your particular interests, decide how much time you will spend on each Island.
After working this out, book your passage on the ferry between the two Islands.
This is important, especially if you have a larger "Barbiemobile" like we did as sufficient space to ferry you across cannot be guaranteed.

Guys,
You are going to experience an exellent means of exploring New Zealand.
One other tip I can think of which we "fluked".
We had booked into a Motel in Auckland, near the Airport for the first night and before picking the Motor Home up the next day.
Close to this motel was an "attraction" where you travel through via an enclosed cab of some sort and view a variety of penguins in their "natural" habitat. This place also had a replica of Douglas Mawson's Hut and was a facinating tourist attraction.
Locals may be able to provide you with the correct name of this place if you are interested.

The locals are great, although they have a funny way of expressing the English language:-)

Sorry about the rant, but you fired up the memory bank.
Must get across there again soon.

AnswerID: 234976

Reply By: stan2nz - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 10:11

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 10:11
Hi Steve
I live in NZ and if you are wanting info maybe i could help, need to make contact thru email ok
Stan
AnswerID: 235079