Farm Sitters ????

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 19:21
ThreadID: 44575 Views:12224 Replies:10 FollowUps:7
Hi Ladies and Gents,

Let me be frank.... We retired early and are comfortably off. We live in a nice canal front, NSW north coast but don't eat fish, so why fish. I am bored !!! hence our recent requests for different adventures... Go back to work .... NO!

I are contemplating spending the equivalent of 4 bottles of Ballantine scotch on joining Farmsitters.com but are more worried if our credentials match the farmsitter site ... Can anyone offer advice ?

I used to teach Industrial Arts (can fix most things temporarily) and Computers. Know that farms exist somewhere beyond the city limits. Am reasonably fit and sub 60 (just). Can ride a motor bike if it comes to checking out dams and troughs etc. Flexible re timing for farmsits. We have a caravan and 4wd to assist a leisurely getting there and back etc. ***This could be a problem will need to travel to the farmsit with our 2 fox terriers and take our chances with snakes etc (kenelling them costs us $1000 a month up here and they are family). They can stay in the caravan if necessary each night.

Any recent relevant advice please ??

SKI'er

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:15

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:15
SKI'er or is it Frank?

If you are worried about your credentials then why bother with the exercise. Four bottles of scotch is $200? or more. Does it matter? If it matters then you are probably not willing to take the plunge...:-)

As a farm sitter you would not have to do much except to see that the operation ticks over while the owners are away.

Most farmers/ station owners would like to have reliable, sober and enthusiastic Farm Minders irrespective of their age, colour, creed or level of fitness.

AnswerID: 234987

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:20

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:20
Thanks Willem,

You must pay alot for Scotch where you are. In Ballina the weekly special was 4 bottles or $100. Its a good special

Re farmsitters - also a $100 - see final retun of thanks post.

SKI'er
FollowupID: 496067

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:33

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:33
Yep, I wasan IT manager before I retired and ended up babysitting a cattle station in the Kimberleys for 5 months during the wet season.

Just need a bit of mechanical knowledge and be game to have a go.

AnswerID: 234993

Reply By: kimprado - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:44

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:44
You would'nt "sit" my farm with that attitude.

Kim
AnswerID: 234995

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 18:36

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 18:36
Hi Kim,

Stil sulking and holding a grudge because I ticked yo off about your poor manners/

"What do yo call a dwarf with a chip on his shoulder ?... someone who thinks he is tall...

Anyway, according to one of your recent posts for i thought you were away trialling a pet resort this weekend. Didn'y you pass the obedience test?

SKI'er
FollowupID: 496154

Reply By: ellmcg - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:51

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 21:51
Sounds like you've got plenty of skills.

I can see your point about the farmsitting website. I did a free trial on a house-sitting one (could see posts but not contact them until I paid up). Not a lot came up to really push me to hand over money.

Have you looked at other forms of advertising? No idea of prices, but I would look at putting a classified in The Land. There are a number of free classifieds sites on the web too.
AnswerID: 234996

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:22

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:22
Check out the house sitting section on the caravaners forum. Small acreage sitting comes up occasionally, and may be the way to get experience with the animals, and references for the future. I have seen opportunities come up on the various caravanning forums from time to time.

Site Link

AnswerID: 235002

Reply By: Member - outback2 (WA) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:38

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:38
We joined farm sitters a few months ago..We were hesitant about outlaying the joining fee without being able to vet the site first to see if it was functional and credible...We bit the bullett and joined...a pleasant surprise, lots of prospective sitters and also positions available..I believe it is good value and a reputable site

Ultimately the choice of sit and sitter is betwen the individuals... we are about to trust our farming property for the first time to total strangers..however they do come with previous testimonials and we have spoken with them etc..the rest is gut feel and how bad you need a break I guess!

if you have some life skills, in good health, competent and confident why not give it a go...you are not going to be a farmer...so need to panic about what you dont know...just be upfront about your limitations and expectations...no property owner would leave someone unsupported without neighbours etc to call upon for advice..in many cases it is more about the property not being unattended and only performing light duties that you would do for your neighbour in town....except there maybe be a few more watering points to check and animals to feed than you are used to.
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 235009

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 19:38

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 19:38
Thanks member outback 2 ,

Just the sort of response I hoped for. Sent the CV and the cheque off today,.... not aiming for WA though.... our passports have expired.

No just a jest.... we intend to be in WA April 2008. On my 50th birthday I climbed the Bi-Centennial tree. I remember being awed by the vista at the top and promising myself that I would I would do it again on my 60th as well.

There may be a farmsit that wants us near Pembroke.... in which case we renew the passports.

SKI'er
FollowupID: 496178

Reply By: Smudger - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 00:05

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 00:05
SKI'er,
Thanks for putting us onto this operation, been thinking I'd like to do something like that myself. There must be heaps of cockies who need a break but after so many years of drought can't afford to pay a temporary manager. What a great, simple way to help out! Mate, like you my career has been city based, though I have spent some time as a visitor on farms, where the cockies reckon I'm nuts when I spend the day working with them and call it fun. Seems to me if you present yourself honestly, it's up to the people on the other end to make a decision. Good luck.
(Sounds a better option than dragging a boat between water holes on the Murray)
Smudger
AnswerID: 235033

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:25

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:25
Hi Smudger.

Still going to do the Murray thing but will wait until the river gets more water in it.

AdelaideGeorge hit on the perfect solution re getting back to your vehicle when you are downstream. On a trip from headwaters (lets say A) to Mouuth (Z) Begin and launch at B and motor upstream to A. Leisurely drift/motor back to B pick up vehicle and move onto C

Se genaral thanks post re Farmsitters.

SKI'er
FollowupID: 496069

Reply By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:36

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:36
Thanks everybody for your thoughts and especially those that gave some insights into the Farmsitter site,

Farmsitters is advertised in the RW Williams magazine....It really is a suck it and see situation. I will send off the cheque ($100) today and put a new update on the site on lets say June 1st and update everybody to how things progressed.

Had another thought - if a farmer wanted a really good break on the coast - in a part of NSW where you can still see green fields and fat contented cows - our place would be empty because we would be at his place. Will include this swap idea in my CV.

SKI'er
AnswerID: 235071

Follow Up By: ross - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 20:21

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 20:21
It would have been nicer if you could pay the fee after you been offered a position.
FollowupID: 496189

Reply By: kimprado - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 21:19

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 21:19
SKi er

I don't sulk, nor do I have a chip on my shoulder mate (no time for that crap).

My response was directed towards your opening remarks about grog. I like a drink as much as the next man, but I'd scrub the whisky off your resume if you want to farm sit.

Farm sitting is relative easy, providing the sh*t does'nt hit the fan while the owners are away. You'll also need to convince the property owner that you have appropiate skills.

Don't know where your going, but there are some very hard nosed farmers/Station owners out there that'll need a lot of convincing before they assign a caretaker role.

Kim
AnswerID: 235191

Reply By: Member - Andy Q- Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 23:03

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 23:03
we are farmsitting at the moment, for 3 mths. It was posted on explore oz last year.After a few emails, exchange of photos and a phone call we were accepted and we accepted the position.We arrived allowing 2 days overlap,and they gave us a BBQ to meet neighbours and friends who could be of use to us. It's worked out very well, everyone is very welcoming.
We see that the 9 animals are fed as well as playing ball with their 2 big dogs. We also slash and whippersnip to maintain the property. We have 2 terrier type dogs ourselves and were worried about how they would manage. One of them fits in well but the other has had snarling standoffs so to avoid disaster we fenced off part of the veranda and garden for her personal use.
By word of mouth we are securing further farmstays for later this year and next winter and will travel in our rig in between.
A warning though, we met someone who is on a long farmstay, the owner has stayed away longer and not sending enough money back to feed the animals, so she is forking out her own money now.......what to do in that situation, eh?

yours, sally [andy's wife]
AnswerID: 235206

Follow Up By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 10:28

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 10:28
Thanks Sally and Member Andy Q,

Thanks for a great insight. I sent the cheque and the Farmsitters profile form off yesterday. I'll back it up with an update post in about a month.

The dilema about the farmer extending his away time and not sending enough money would be a problem. I am presuming the extension of him being away and his farmsitters stay on was negotiated because just like yourselves picking up other sits you may not be in a position to stay on.

We met a nice couple at our towns Bowling Blub who sit houses whilst maintaining their (small & boxy - their words) over 50's villa on the NSW Central Coast. They were leaving Ballina the next day awhen their owner was also due back and driving home to leave their car before busing it to Sydney to fly to Perth to begin a sit in a flash river front home in Perth for 2 months.

I suppose it works both ways suppose you couldn't fulfil the full term of your sit for whatever reason.

Thanks again
SKI'er
FollowupID: 496316

Follow Up By: Anne from Drysdale River Station - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:38

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:38
Not returning and not sending money is a low stunt. She should give them a set date ( very soon) and a firm ultimatum, return or send money or I walk out and report you to RSPCA for the animals. Must be prepared to do it not just threaten, animals will be ok once it's reported.
No excuses can cover that lousey trick.
cheers, Anne
FollowupID: 496554