Submitted: Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:00
Brian B (Mackay Qld)
Replacing my electric boat trailer winch with a hand winch.
Why you may ask?
Well, it was put on by my 80 year old grandfather before he gave the boat to me, and to tow the boat with another vehicle you need an anderson plug setup. The winch is to slow, and yesterday at the ramp when pulling the cable out to retrieve boat, i got about 6 inches and the rest was tangled on to the axle of the spool.
I have now accidentally discovered i can drive my boat on to the trailer no worries and use a winch manually to tighten the boat onto the winch post rollers.
My boat is a 16ft fibreglass halfcabin with a 70hp yamaha.
Just want to know which ratio i should buy and will still do the job if i have to wind the boat on all the way manually?
Thanks for your suggestions.
Reply By: lambo - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:39
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:39
when i had my haines v19c/135 mariner (now sold), i had a jarret 3 to 1. my 15 foot quinne/40 yammie has a jarret single pull. i reckon 2 to 1 wud be fine
Reply By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:55
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 19:55
Brian B (Mackay Qld)
Ratio is not the issue here, capacity is.
Its simple really, you find out how heavy the boat is with all the gear in it including fuel, safety gear, fishing gear etc and buy a winch to better that weight in a horizontal pull. By bettering the weight by a minimum 20% you account for the slope of the trailer on a ramp.
IE total weight is 1000kg buy a 1200kg winch. regardless of ratio.
total weight is 1500kg buy a 1800kg winch.
An appropriate winch, will have, an appropriate ratio.
And go for a webbing strap not cable, it feeds better and it wont kink and weaken.
ALL
winches are rated in horizontal pull, NOT vertical pull.
Colin.
Follow Up By: Inland Sailor - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:15
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 13:15
I agree with these comments!
Jarrett have a 3 gear model 1:1, 5:1, & 10:1. I have this model on my boat find that I can use all ratios at various times.Its good to have the extra option with the 3 gear model being only slightly dearer than the 2 gear type [Around $20.00 more] and is available from
places like Whitworths and Bias. I have also seen them at Supercheap as
well.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 00:42
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 00:42
The manual
winches I have seen and used have dual ratio drives.
You can wind the slack up quickly on the higher retrieve ratio, then move the handle to the other drive for a slower, lower ratio retrieve.
I would talk to a Boat
chandler for the finer details.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 12:49
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 12:49
Gday Brian
I think the dual speed mentioned above is the go, although I would go for one of the hi tec ropes over the seatbelt, the seatbelt has a habit of getting folds etc, although I would prefer the seatbelt to the cable.
Another option....I find (as you recently did) that driving on is the easiest, and just use the winch to nip it up. As I have an electrick winch on the car, I'm getting a reese style hitch on the front, as I sometimes launch and retrieve over steepish river banks at times. This will give me th option of lowering the trailer and all over the bank (Spare tyre can be used as a jockey), and also the electrick winch can be used (carefully) to pull the boat onto the trailer if its pretty steep.
A little different with a glass boat, you may need to be a little more careful with it.
A few pics in my rig profile of the trailer if interested
Cheers Andrew