Submitted: Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 14:59
Member -Signman
I think
the horn in the Troopy has been thru a few too many rivers & bogholes- and sounds like a choking galah..
Whats a good replacement horn- that would scare the shyte out of a camel at 50 paces??
Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 15:20
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 15:20
I don't think you could go past "Aooogah" Always puts a smile on my dial when I hear that. Or if its camel shyte you are after, could ya put one of those big semi type horns under ya bonet?
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 15:46
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 15:46
*Aooogah* Lol
or hearing the sound of The Dukes Of
Hazard blaring across the valley while your taking in the tranquilty !
Reply By: Member - Chris D (Newcastle) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 15:33
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 15:33
Try your local ship
chandler, some of the yacht horns are a hoot.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 15:33
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 15:33
Always had VW horns.
They are sealed, and have a circular plate on the outside that makes the sound.
Have had
mine since 73, keep transfering from car to car.
Makes a good sound.
Works under water too.
Have seen similar ones around.
Have to be careful using it in the city, witht he 2 standard horns and the third VW one, it makes pedestrians jump.
Looks like this:
http://www.classicveedub.com.au/images/SpareParts/electrical/98-2030-B.gif
Reply By: Member - John L G - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 16:31
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 16:31
That's a good question as I have the same problem. Thought of some air horns but not a lot of room to mount these in a 75 series.
I await an answer to your question...
Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 16:42
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 16:42
Why not make a BIG statement?
Get one of those bl**dy great big air horns that are fitted to roadtrains, mount it on the side of your rack and scare the shyte out of everything in hearing range.
It's guaranteed to clear the road in front of you.
Better still fit one on each side of the rack
Disco
Reply By: Member - Stephen F (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 16:45
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 16:45
Yes i agree
the horn in the troopy just doesn't serve the truck any justice, also what horns are legal i had a mate with a truck horn in his torana, boys in blue disconnected it saying it was illegal
Reply By: Oz Travellers - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 17:00
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 17:00
When I had my 75 series troopy I got rid of the pathetic electric horn & replaced it with Air Horns. As someone said, not a lot of room in the engine bay but I made a bracket and installed it near the front left hand side, high up. I have a
pic. of it if you'd like it. A decent horn for a big truck!.Sparky
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 17:07
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 17:07
Signman,
The standard troopy horn sounds like it came off a motor scooter. I tried airhorns and they were shagged after afew dunkings in the mud.
Went to the wrecker and found an 90's model LTD falcon. They have two hella horns that sound as good as airhorns if not better and they are still going 4 years or so on. All Fords have nice loud horns, about the only part I like on them ;-) Either that or BMW, they have great sounding honkers also. Shouldn't cost you more than $20.
Matt
PS, some train horns would be the ultimate if you can be assed seting up tanks/pressure switches etc.
Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:25
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:25
How GOOD would a train horn be.....I have always wanted on on my car!! HE HE HE ;)
Stefan
Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 18:51
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 18:51
Never tried it but Ive heard Viagra is really good for a horn.
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:17
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:17
Yup- tried that, only lasted 5 minutes though !!! :-)
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 14:20
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 14:20
*Yup- tried that, only lasted 5 minutes though !!! :-)*
bleep e it must be a big one then ! lol
Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:28
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:28
Must have been blowing it too often.
Sorry Ill stop there!!
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 21:46
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 21:46
Hairy, you should try the Cialis Horns they work heaps better than the other brands, the Cialis one just keeps honking & honking...
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 20:15
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 20:15
Go down to the wreckers and try some out from the old holdens. I used an EJ Holden horn for years and it had a nice loud note without going over the top.
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 21:36
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 21:36
I had for a while the penultimate warning device; A tram gong... Clang clang clang...for something to give people the irates it was fantastic, caused absolute chaos in
Melbourne and
Adelaide but got some weird looks in
Brisbane &
Sydney. Weirdly a gentlemen in Uniform suggested that if I quietly removed it he would take no action....
Now I have the Ultimate warning device, hop along to tricky dicky and purchase his "steam Whistle" kit. The one I got is brilliant, totally controlable and adjustable so you can have the configuration that one finds on ships that has a lot of hissing as steam escapes before the full diapaison (that'll have ya googleing) blast, or the ever popular railway locomotive style, as soon as you "pull the cord" a clear resonating blast can be heard for
miles. I have
mine running through an amp and then played via a speaker mounted behind the bumper. The reaction from motorists at railway Xings is simply worth all the tea in the
Daintree, irrespective if there are 2' dia trees growing between the tracks...
As to scaring Camels, if these are centralian camels who remember the original Ghan then they would scatter, usually to a point directly in front of you though.
If you can find a "manned" railway station it works very
well around those too...Oh and it razzes up the staff at Maccas drive thrus as
well.
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:31
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:31
HAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHHHAHAHHAHHAHAHHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA That is a classic, i have to have one
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 16:18
Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 16:18
What a tram bell or the electronic steam whistle?
This is the current kit: Site Link not nearly as good as the one I bought but still sounds very realistic especially thru an amp and a decent speaker.
Tram bells are hard to get these days, Its those goddam yankee trolley enthusiasts could try Ebay but you would pay a premium price.....
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 22:08
Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 22:08
Hi Signy,
I agree, the horn in my Troopy is in the words of my 14yo daughter "lame"
Try, Horn
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Robnicko - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 10:40
Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 10:40
Signman..........
I have an 95 model 80 series and for a big car the horn sounds like a little hatch back. Last year I bought my wife a Mazda 6 which has a great sounding horn, similar to ones on BMW's and Mercs (very loud and deep sounding).
All I can say is her Mazda 6 sounds like a Landcruiser and my landcruiser sounds like a Mazda 6.........
Mind you, $32000 is alot for a horn...
Rob