WA is best by far for all the important stuff in life
Submitted: Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 14:43
V8Diesel
Just thinking about this subject and I wanted to let you all know that when it comes down to what really matters, WA has it all over you trendy eastern stater's.
Best non alcoholic beverage - Masters Choc-Milk by a country mile. Tried 'em all at one stage or another and there simply is NO comaprision. Almost got into a fight over Farmers Union once. Tsted like goat's bleep strained through a bus drivers sock.
Best pie - Mrs Mac's plain beef or the square
supermarket Bakewell's. Four 'n Twenty pphhhhttttttt Made for old ladies who support Collingwood and have no teeth.
Best crumbed cheese sausage - Dorsogna. Old and crusty from the roadhouse bain marie. mmmmmmmmmm Makes for a perfect after dinner 'cigar' for the non smoker too.
Best icecream - Pauls
Billabong. None of this nancy eastern states Steets Golden Gaytime in WA thankyou very much. Plain, simple, cost effective and of robust construction.
Best beer for humour - Emu Export. It's the most flatulent concoction known to mankind. Tastes OK when ice, ice cold too. Good for headaches as
well.
It all should be clear to you now. Read it and weep. WA is best!
Reply By: samsgoneagain - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 14:58
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 14:58
those meat pie boat things that mrs macs make are good too. pitty wa's gun laws suck too much.
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:57
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:57
Nah, after the confiscation of '96 they did a 180 and our gun laws are now pretty good compared to the eastern states.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 06:06
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 06:06
yep no tafe courses and all i have to do to keep my guns is shoot once in 8 weeks not try and keep track of how many times i ve used what gun etc
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:21
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:21
And what proportion of WA'a
population weren't born in WA ? Seems to me that a lot of WA's yummies aren't due to the native WA people LOL
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 00:44
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 00:44
around 1% why
Reply By: Robin - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:30
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:30
You are kidding V8 , I couldn't wait to leave the place a few weeks ago when it was 40+ every day in early march.
And I won't even mention the poor quality of the Soya-cino's I had trouble finding !
Follow Up By: Transient - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:39
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:39
We couldn't wait for you to leave too.
Follow Up By: Transient - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:49
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:49
Sorry Robin, that post of
mine could be read without the humour I had intended when writing it.
You're all welcome here anytime.
Just to add to V8's list, we've been supplying the rest of the country with the best AFL players for decades too.
Follow Up By: Robin - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:12
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:12
No worries Transient but I hope you keep Ben Cousins over there.
Follow Up By: Member - peter C (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:30
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:30
Hah, Bennie was born in Geelong! Chris Judd - Victoria, Mathew Pavlich - SA, Jeff Farmer - WA. Lots of WA stuff is the best tho!!
Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:30
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:30
But we still cant get a decent steamed dim sim from the fish & chip
shop.
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:37
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:37
Tend to disagree with the chocalate milk........ You have obviously never been to Vancouver (British Columbia) in Canada. Have drunk choccy milk all over the world including your WA brand and although it has been 7 years since I last had one from Canada I can still taste it today.
It is that good I can not wait to get back there in 2010 just for the milk....... Ok maybe the winter olympics might have a bit to do with it but the choc milk is sensational
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:58
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:58
I'm not a lumberjack and that's OK.
Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:44
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:44
Masters Iced Coffee - a whole meal in acarton!! I have to buy a dozen before crossing the NT border just so I dont have to subject myself to their horrible tasting stuff for my morning fix..
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:59
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:59
It's as good as beer!
Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:48
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:48
Back before I emigrated to the east it was Peter's Icecream, Peters Pies and Browns Choc-milk. How could things go so wrong so soon over there? I was too
young to drink but understood Swan Lager was ok too.
Toolman
Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:58
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 15:58
'Best icecream - Pauls
Billabong. None of this nancy eastern states Steets Golden Gaytime in WA thankyou very much.'
Actually a Queensland based company, now owned by Italians.
Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:07
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:07
no. best icecream-
home brand vanilla mmmmmmmmmmm
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:01
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:01
Those unpatriotic fools! Everyone knows, especially Banana Benders, that we Aussies sell our family owned companies to faceless Japanese consortiums. It's the Australian way.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:17
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:17
Gotta agree with much of it, as an eastern stater .. but Mrs Macs pies???? ... C'mon. I'd rather eat my boots. But Tassie kills the rest of Oz for pies in their various styles, types and flavours.
Mrs Mac ... bleuggghhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!
Jack
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:50
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:50
LOL more bleep envy from WA :))))
Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:15
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:15
lol, who's he trying to convince, us or himself. Sounds like he's not a happy camper Al
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:17
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:17
Yep, definitely sounds like it Ray hahahahaha
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:55
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:55
Coming from south Oz The first thing I noticed is they cant do a Pie with sauce in Wa!
I asked for a pie with sauce and I got a pie with a packet of sauce WTF! what are you meant to do? remove the pie and smear the sauce on top then put it back in the bag? (all while you are driving of course) to make a huge mess?
In SA they would use a suce bottle and pump the pie full of sauce the way its suposed to be
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:09
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:09
But what about those pie floaters with chunky peas. Us South Ausies can win any flatulence competition anywhere in the world after a serving of them.
They can say what they like about their baby chocolate drinks but I know people who have driven thousands of K's for a Farmers Union Iced Coffee.
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:12
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:12
Farmers Onion.......blechhhhhh Overly sweet, gluggy, plastic tasting vomit.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:25
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:25
I have to say that WA has so much going for it, its not funny.
I loved the place......... Except for the following couple of things.
1. The price of Dim Sims are just extraordinary!! $1.30 plus as opposed to .70 cents here in Vic.
2. No 24 hour
supermarket shopping. How backward is that for such a progressive state?
3. Your meats pies are OK but they do not match Beaumont's from Geelong here in sunny Vic.
Follow Up By: marcus - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:38
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:38
Not to mention the best four wheel driving in Australia is here in Victoria.
Take it bush or take it back
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:13
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:13
This post is a TROLL and I'm gonna report you to......er.......somebody.
You have a very limited focus on life but I guess that's what happens when you are secluded in the remote western end of the Country:-)
WA is not a bad place all the same, but you can't be serious in your comments about Mrs Mac's pies. You obviously haven't tried the Villies product.
And I don't know, or care, about the Choccy milk which I thought only children drank anyway, but Farmers Union Iced Coffee leaves all others for dead.
So there!!!
Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:01
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:01
>but Farmers Union Iced Coffee leaves all others for dead.
I have to agree there, First thing I buy in SA is a farmers union, last thing I buy when I leave is about 10!!
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 07:58
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 07:58
Villies pies are the best.
Pete
Reply By: Garbutt - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:51
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 19:51
Sorry you blokes (and blokesses) but I travelled every state in Oz and consider my self a sewer of pies. The best pie is Oz in the curried scallop pie from the Salamanca Market in
Hobart. Full stop.
GB
Reply By: The Explorer - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:02
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:02
Pies are off topic, suggest you all
www.topix.net/forum/food/pies
PS V8Diesel - was it you that wanted some maps scanned? Please contact me direct.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:18
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:18
Wasn't me Greg but thanks anyway.
A pie
forum - now ya talking!
Reply By: blue one - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:05
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:05
And I thought the only wind in WA was the Doctor.
Reply By: kwozz - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:32
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:32
Amen brother
Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:23
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:23
The best pies in the country are the
home made ones from the
Bark Hut Inn, on the Arnhem Hwy, The best Iced Coffee is Pauls Iced Coffe made in
Darwin.
Marcus if you think that Vic has the best 4wding in the country, you've never left
Melbourne.
V8 there's only one other thing to say GO PIES.
ROTFLMAO.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:39
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:39
Anyone remember the old Bovell's pies made at their
bakery in Bay View Terrace in Claremont? Now they were a good pie.
I love pies so much. I'm not really supposed to eat them anymore but some times I squeeze in a sneaky one when the dragon's not watching. Ahhh for the good old days.
Mate of
mine was hitch hiking once and the big Kiwi singer Ricky May gave him a lift and while he was driving ate 4 pies in a row. How that for a brush with celebrity. Not bad ehhh.
Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:49
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:49
And where is Ricky May now ????
(sorry just my warped sense of humour)
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:52
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:52
Ahhhhh......good point.
Back to my small portions of healthy food then. Bugger.
Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:17
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:17
Umm, i think Ricky is somewhat slimmer than he used to be, i think???
Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:15
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:15
Can't coment on all that, can say emu = emu piss. Pie's?? with all our local bakers here, anyone who eats a massed produced pie would have to have rocks in their head!!. :)))
Reply By: Strahan - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 03:55
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 03:55
WA = wait awhile -still 1970 over here!
Reply By: Gossy - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:12
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:12
11 years in the Army. 2 years in
Darwin. 9 in
Perth (swanbourne). Yes
Perth is a fantastic place. Freo, Cottesloe, wedge island, down south,
weather etc etc, but I always called
Adelaide home.
Our cost of living in
Adelaide in awesome. A friend of mine just paid the same amount of money for a block of land at Karrinyup (
Perth) as what I paid for my land (and a larger block) and a 4 bedroom double garage house in
Adelaide. The mining boom in
Perth has killed the concept of luxury living for the majority in
Perth.
yes
perth has alot going for it (as do all
places) but the cost of living in
Perth now has put in down the scales a long way in my books now. No point having the best pies, cheese sausage, beer (prefer redback anyway), milk drink etc if you can't afford it!!
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:35
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:35
Its all relative things might cost more in WA but you earn a heck of alot more. I am in my 2nd house. If I stayed in SA I would remain the working poor - those with a full time job who dont earn enough to get ahead. I started my apprenticeship with 2 other guys I am streets ahead of now - my only regret is i didnt get out of SA sooner
Reply By: Gossy - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:18
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:18
agree, many people are doing well (thats the theory of the word "boom"). Booms dont last forever. All of a sudden your $500,000 home is worth $300,000 but you still have a $400,000 mortgage.
The resources boom is due to 3rd world economies growing rapidly (India over 30% growth!). This will eventually stop and then what?
S.A. will experience the same problem soon with Uranium mines expaning and new ones being dug (Roxby Downs). Some country towns are already experiencing a housing boom up north. I just hope that those people don't over commit with their finances because booms don't last forever.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:26
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:26
Not the case in WA the housing boom in the East was based on nothing at all NSW is in recession and
victoria is stagnating. People are pouring into
Perth the moneys good, housing plentifull , weathers good and believe it or not compared to elswhere in the state the housing and rents are cheap. As for comodaties coming down in price on a long term trend ----- Yep as likely as oil getting back to $15 a barrell
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:33
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:33
I think Mr Woodside, Mr BHP Billiton, Mr Rio Tinto and Mr Alcoa amongst a legion of others would beg to differ. Capital investment is massive everywhere north and south.
My money's going into Uranium shares. Global warming c'mon.