rear vision cameras
Submitted: Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:25
tojo73
does anyone have any suggestions or photos as to where to mount rear vision camera monitors in the front cab area of a 100 series cruiser. thanks
Reply By: Aknot - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:40
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:40
Hi Tojo
I have an 80 series and realy the only place is on the dash, more importantly the position of your camera, I put
mine in the centre of my number plate (waterproof of course) I can see everything behind me and it is positioned for viewing my towing hitch I get it perfect now every time.
Regards Barry
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:08
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:08
Use the supplied bracket and mount it to the ashtray.
Easy to remove when needed.
Derek.
Follow Up By: tojo73 - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 16:57
Monday, May 07, 2007 at 16:57
thanks derek for the reply, i already have a brake controller fitted in the ashtray area, I've solved the problem by mounting on the windscreen with a suction mount from polaris
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:26
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 18:26
There are also rear vision monitors that clip over the rear view mirror, or onto the visor.
I find the one that clips over the rear view mirror to be the most practical.
When you are reversing, where do you normally look?
Here's an example for you:- Brash Imports
Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 17:02
Monday, May 07, 2007 at 17:02
I bought one of these off Ebay and its a bit heavy for the 100 series mirror and the mirror keeps tilting down. I've got to work out how to tighten it up.
Apart from that it works
well.
Reply By: kwozz - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:25
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:25
Gday Tojo
I've been looking at heaps of different camera setups for my 100 series and for me it looks like one of the below units from ebay seem the the most practical. I have an aftermarket stereo in place and a 2nd DIN spot under it to fit it in, so not sure if this will suit your application but hopefully it helps. Im looking at getting the first one (black) with an extra camera for the camper.
ant
Item number: 220107306939 and Item number: 220106747672
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:19
Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 22:19
Both units are a wiring nightmare.
No cables, where do you get 12v for the camera and why change your radio / cd for a TV with no cd or radio.
Be very careful of these units.
Make sure you know what you are buying.
Derek.
Follow Up By: kwozz - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 21:41
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 21:41
Gday Derek
12volts would come from my battery, surely cant be hard for a sparky mate of
mine to run rca cables to the camera, and the existing unit would still be there as I have a second din radio spot?
$300 better off in the back pocket as I see it.
Ant
Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 17:28
Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 17:28
I have a visor mounted one from Polar, is works great does not block any vision as I have it mounted on passenger side & when I look at it its the same blockage of vision as the window pillar &
snorkel. It also folds out of the way & out of sight.
Its left on most of the time an does not worry the passenger
Reply By: tojo73 - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 16:47
Monday, May 07, 2007 at 16:47
I purchased a kit from Derek Bester @ ABR in brissy last november. Excellent product, great back up, but mounting the screen was a problem due to the fitting of a prodigy brake controller in the ashtray slot. overcame the problem by purchasing a suction mount from polaris, $25, and mounted on the far left bottom of windscreen. works great. thanks for all the replies
Follow Up By: tojo73 - Monday, May 07, 2007 at 16:50
Monday, May 07, 2007 at 16:50