Forum.
All advice appreciated.

Daza.

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 08:44

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 08:44
Daza,

Canon 350D is the camera that I use. Takes a good photo, easy to use and can be set on auto or manual.

I also grew up with the Box Brownie. Takes a good photo, easy to use and is set on manual.

AnswerID: 239652

Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:43

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:43
The Canon 350D has been superceded by the 400D ..10.2mp and on special for about $1300 with a 2 lens kit. Some of the pics you see in magazines are taken with these camaras. They're idiot proof, I've got one!
FollowupID: 500651

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:09

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:09
Shut up will ya, next thing you will have the youngun's going into Harvy Normans asking if they got any Box Brownie's, Our secret will be lost forever, Hey remember the excitment of when the prints arrived in the mail and how pi$$ed off one was if 2 or 3 were over exposed or blurred

FollowupID: 500662

Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:26

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:26
Never had a fuzzy one Doug!

..Hey OT Tell me the value of Explore Oz membership to you. I'm thinking about it.
FollowupID: 500667

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:37

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:37
Smudger
The value of EO is what each person would think, some people get a huge amount if Information from others, plus you can pass on what you know, and you you can have some heated debates, stupid debates, and really good sensible debates with other members, One thing I remember is the fact that this is only a Forum , if someone pi$$es you off I just ignore them after a while, BUT apart from the Forum which is only a minor part of EO take into account the enormous amount of information that is on the website for us, the Tourists, Pilot Drivers, Truckies, and the general public , Just go to the main HOME page and see what's there, Yes for $50 I think the value is very good .

Doug

FollowupID: 500672

Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:18

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:18
But I'm doing all that as a visitor!
What I'm trying to figure out is, why become a member?
FollowupID: 500721

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:28

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:28
Smudger:

I have been a member for a number of years and I pay up to support those that do the work to put this whole site together, maintain it and update it for us. Yes, you can sail along as a visitor, but I just have a principle that I pay for what I get, and am happy to do so.

That is what I prefer to do .. and others are also free to make their own minds up.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 500739

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:46

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:46
Jack
Your wasting your time, did you read what I said in FollowupID: 500672. well that time has come and gone.....lol

FollowupID: 500748

Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 00:48

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 00:48
Smudger,
when we were still lurking, reading the forum saved us $1-2000 last year. Our house stove (gas), which is 14yrs old now, was not working well, it wouldn't light up unless we stuck a match right in the burners, took 4hrs to cook a roast (family dinners were embarrassing) and we were about to toss it out. I was reading the forum one night when a question about regulators for camp stoves was raised. The follow-ups made me think.
Called the plumber for a look see, made an app't for a week later. Took one look at the regulator, disconnects same, says it's illegal! He had to disconnect it by law even if I didn't want to get it fixed. I said fix it, NOW, please. Twenty minutes later, all fixed, stove working better than when it was brand new. Guy (certified gas fitter) who connected gas originally, put used regulator on tank. Plumber showed me the old one and the insides were disintegrated; he said that our particular model was already obsolete when it was installed.
Stove still going strong, money not used for new stove put toward camping accessories >cheesy grin<.
As the others said, you get value from this site.
OzeSheila.
FollowupID: 500838

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 02:32

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 02:32
I guess you also donate money for using Google, Google Earth, give money to a mortgage broker etc etc.
It is an admirable principle to stick by, but most websites are covered by using advertisers to pay for the priveledge of flogging you stuff, and a lot of other services we receive in the community are provided by others with an ulterior motive.

Still it is a great forum that I enjoy muchly, thanks to the members and advertisers generosity!
FollowupID: 500844

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:07

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:07
G'day Daza,
How much do you want to spend??

For Value for Money, I reckon it's hard to go past the Fujifilm Finepix range...
There are several models, so you can find one to suit just about any budget:)

FWIW, the first photos I took were taken with Mum's old Box Brownie around 50 years ago... said camera is now in my possession, and still works!!.. (haven't tried to buy a film for it lately, though;-))...

Ed. C
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 239656

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:11

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:11
Hey DAZA

My wife has a Olympus Camedia c-725,It has 3 mega pixels and 8x optical zoom.

I have a Fuji 3500 it has 4 mega pixels and 6x optical zoom, these are to be easy to use and were about $350 each.

We now have a Cannon 400 D SLR with a 18 to 55 mm lens and a 75 to 300mm lens.

The new camera is great and takes fantastic photo's, The camera lenses and 2 gig card was about $ 1800 and worth every cent.

The top 2 are great for happy snaps and the other 1 we use for promotional photo's.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 239657

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:36

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:36
A good bit of advice is only buy a digital camera that is made by a camera maker EG: Fuji Cannon Olympus Nikon etc.

Don't buy a camera from a computer maker.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 500628

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 02:14

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 02:14
G'day Steve,

I think you have to be careful with generalisations about camera makers. I don't own one (I have a Canon EOS20D) but I've used Sony cameras and there isn't anything wrong with them. I see Sony have SLR's in their lineup now as well.

Russ.
FollowupID: 500843

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:28

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:28
Daza, depends on what you are prepared to spend, and on what you want to do with the camera. We have used a 5Meg Panasonic FZ20 for a few years and been very pleased with it. With a x12 optical zoom range, the antishake lens, and capable of focussing down to a couple of inches, it handles every challenge we've pointed it at. It's current big brother the 10Meg FZ50 will cost $700+.

AnswerID: 239660

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:54

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:54

I will take all of your advice on board, I dont mind paying for good quality
equipment, its better to get info from people who are like minded and similar
interests, than some sales people who just want to sell a camera to get
there quota up for the month, I HAVE NOTHING AGAINST SALES PEOPLE.

THANK YOU ONE AND ALL FOR YOUR INPUT.

Daza
FollowupID: 500631

Reply By: Philip A - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:58

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 09:58
I have had a Fuji Finepix A210 for several years.

uses 2XAA batteries. If you forget to charge you can buy some at the local shop.
Linking to computer is automatic at camera end

dislikes
Slow to warm up
Slow to take photo after shutter pressed
3x zoom is really not enough
Too thick to put in pocket
The best pocket compact at the moment IMHO is the Panasonic with 10xzoom which costs about $540.
When you talk of SLR typre cameras you are really talking a different ballgame, as you need a lot of commitment to lug them around, but of course the do give better shots and have multi megapixels.
BUT I find I only ever use 1Meg as the files are too big to email otherwise and 1 meg will be sharp on A4, and who regularly blows up more than that anyway?.
Philip A
AnswerID: 239666

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:04

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:04
Now listen ere ya BOOFHEAD , if an old prick like me can use a Sony then surely you can ,

Got me doubts about that Wayne bloke though, we didn't see any spring changin' photo's...........

Doug

AnswerID: 239670

Reply By: joc45 - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:09

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:09
The models keep changing so rapidly, that anything you are recommended is probably already obsolete!!
Apart from the obvious lens quality, a couple of things worth considering are the ISO capabilities of the sensor. Many quote capability of 400 ISO, only to give a pretty grainy performance at that setting. I use a Fiji Finepix F10 (now obsolete) but it does 1600 ISO (the later version does 3200 ISO). What this means is that at 800 ISO, the pic is still pretty good quality. I sometimes use the natural light rather than flash, and this sensitivity of the CCD is worth it.
The other thing I miss is a proper viewfinder (rather than relying on the LCD screen, which is difficult to see in bright daylight). Sadly, most pocket cameras have dropped this option.
Of course, an SLR digital will give you all you need, both with sensitivity and viewfinder.
Check out this website (one of many) which does reviews:
camera reviews
Gerry
AnswerID: 239673

Reply By: obee - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:13

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:13
6 megapixels will give 35 mil quality. After that you want to be thinking of very large prints and a new large hard drive if you gonna keep them all. Even 6 will fill up a lot of space.

My old and was expensive 2 meg Canon has served faithfully even if some of the pics needed that extra couple of megs for quality snaps. Not much chop for blowups but.

Stick with a good brand name from them what have always been in the photo business and read all the reviews on the net.

Owen
AnswerID: 239674

Follow Up By: joc45 - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:22

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:22
Hi obee,
I lamented the demise of my old Canon Ixus 330, which was 2MPx, and a great little camera. Recently blew up a pic from it to about 500x350mm for the living room wall, and was amazed at the quality (pixels were aliased in the enlargement process, so no pixellation of the pic).
Sadly, the zoom locked up and that was the end of it. Had it in a thousand pieces, but the little 6mmx8mm zoom motor was too much for me to tackle.
Gerry
FollowupID: 500647

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:56

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:56
Gooday,
Have just purchased an OLYMPUS SP55OUZ, a ripper, only been about a few weeks, 7 megapixels, about the best Zoom on the market for a compact, 18times (yes 18) ,Optical + 5 X digital. Get a brochure, they claim photos on it are taken by this camera, that's what sold me. Is simple to use on auto, has heaps of features I will never use. Cost between $7-800 depending where you get it. Got mine at duty free on way back form NZ last week.
Cheers Boroma604.
AnswerID: 239680

Reply By: Kevern - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:31

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:31
If all you are after is a happy snap camera then you don't need to spend big bucks, most if not all the entry level cameras will do the job , but there are a few out now with facial recognition so they would be perfect for happy snaps of the family.
AnswerID: 239713

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 16:15

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 16:15
Will the person who stole my Box Brownie please return it.

I saved every penny of my pocket money for weeks to buy that sucker.

For a Digital baby, I'd get something with 5mp and 10x Optical zoom. Make sure it has lithium rechargeables or 4 AA cells so you will get 500 or so shots before the battery dies. Get a 256Mb card and you will have sufficient space, but they are cheap now so it's not a budget buster to go bigger.

AnswerID: 239721

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 16:32

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 16:32
Daza

Look at the quality of the lens. Most well known brand names use quality German lenses.

Big mega pixels aren't essential for holiday snaps. My first digital was a tiny and cheap BenQ 1.3 mega pixels, and i can show the pictures on a 19" monitor with perfect clarity. Present cameras are 5 and 6 mp, and can make big enlargements, or crop a small feature in a photo and bring it to full size with clarity.

Optical zoom is useful - most have 3 X as standard.

Get one that takes standard sized rechargeable batteries - eg AA. Most of our electronics stuff uses AA or AAA, with the cameras using AA, and i have a small battery charger which charges both sizes.

Get one that you can readily buy memory cards with around 1 GB capacity, and buy a few. Imagine the climb to the top of a mountain with fantastic views, then running out of memory in you camera.

Then go out and practice with your new camera - costs you next to nothing to do a run of snaps and look at them on your computer until you learn what works best for you. Have fun and lots of it.

AnswerID: 239723

Reply By: Markymark - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 16:42

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 16:42
We have a Canon S3 IS. You can just point and shoot, or there's heaps of different things you can do if you want, plus it has a 12X zoom. Currently under $500 in most places. The pictures are great.

Check out these sites for reviews:

www.dpreview.com/

www.imaging-resource.com/

Mark.
AnswerID: 239726

Reply By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 17:16

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 17:16
If you want to pay for the postage, you can have my kodak 2mp DC280 great starting digital camera, comes with all the cables ect plus two memory cards. I reckon $10 would cover postage. Member message me if you are interested.

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 239734

Reply By: PajeroTD - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 17:56

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 17:56
You can always guarantee on these forums, as soon as somebody asks for advice for a good easy to use camera, people will say BUY A DIGITAL SLR!!! COS I HAVE ONE!!
Don't buy a digital SLR, unless your serious about photography and going to buy some good (expensive) lenses.

Have a look at the Panasonic TZ3 and Ricoh Caplio R6, both are pocket sized cameras with large optical zooms with a 28mm wide, 7 megapixel. The Panasonic uses a Leica lens.
AnswerID: 239743

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:40

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:40
You can always guarantee on these forums, that people will not read every post properly and then generalize about what people say.

Hey PajeroTD where did any post above say "BUY A DIGITAL SLR!!! COS I HAVE ONE!!".

I explained the 3 camera's we have and there uses and price no more no less, my follow up was info that was suggested to me when we first looked at buying a camera.

By the way NOT 1 post above suggested that he buy a digital SLR, All the above post are good info based on personal use.

Think before you post crap in the future.

Steve.
FollowupID: 500728

Reply By: Smudger - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:07

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:07
I have a digital camera, know (-ish, always learning) how to use it, and have even had some pics published in magazines. But after this lot (above), even I'm confused.
First up, make a value judgement on the type of pics you want to shoot. Keeping in mind that all pics shot on didgital cameras can be emailed and shared on the net.
Happy Snaps for the album - couple of hundred dollars . Go for highest megapixels and a brand name - Fujipix is good baseline. Usually small handy little cameras that can easily slip into your pocket. They can produce some great shots. Frankly, this sounds to be what you're looking for. You can have a heap of fun and produce some amazing results with PhotoShop programmes on you computer.

But if you want to take your photography further ..let's say:
Amatuer with intent ..to enter comps and maybe join a camera club, or Semi Pro, try and sell some pics ..Digital/SLR - $1300+ ..I recommended Canon 400D in an earlier reply ..Ricoh is also well respected.

Pro cameras start at $3-4k+ for camera body alone (ie: Canon 5D) then $1-2 K + for lenses. Only consider top Camera brand names.

It's a bit like buying your first computer, caravan or 4WD. You've gotta decide what you really want to do with it, then get the sales guy to convince you that his product will do the job.
The guy on this link uses a canon 5D with pro lenses - he's a very talented amatuer
who's only been into photography for a couple of years. Watch for his exhibition comming at the Sydney State Library. www.folkeandersen.com/
AnswerID: 239745

Reply By: Smudger - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:15

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:15
I have a digital camera, know (-ish, always learning) how to use it, and have even had some pics published in magazines. But after this lot (above), even I'm confused.
First up, make a value judgement on the type of pics you want to shoot. Keeping in mind that all pics shot on digital cameras can be emailed and shared on the net.
Happy Snaps for the album - couple of hundred dollars will buy you a camera that you'll love. Go for highest megapixels and a brand name - Fujipix is good baseline. Usually small handy little cameras that can easily slip into your pocket. They can produce some great shots. Frankly, this sounds to be what you're looking for. To extend your photograhy experience, you can also have a heap of fun and produce some amazing results with PhotoShop programmes on you computer. (Adobe Photshop Elements, I think around $100, you'll be amazed at what you can produce from ordinary shots)

But if you want to take your photography further ..let's say:
Amateur with intent ..to enter comps and maybe join a camera club, or Semi Pro, try and sell some pics ..Digital/SLR - $1300+ ..I recommended Canon 400D in an earlier reply ..Ricoh is also well respected.

Pro cameras start at $3-4k+ for camera body alone (ie: Canon 5D) then $1-2 K ++ for lenses. Only consider top Camera brand names.

It's a bit like buying your first computer, caravan or 4WD. You've gotta decide what you really want to do with it, then get the sales guy to convince you that his product will do the job.
The guy on this link .. www.folkeandersen.com .. uses a Canon 5D with pro lenses - he's a very talented amateur who's only been into photography for a couple of years. His site is worth lookign through. also, watch for his exhibition coming at the Sydney State Library.

AnswerID: 239747

Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:21

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:21
As I used to say back when I was a rocky-jockey ..it was so nice I had to say it twice. Sorry folks, don't know hy that happened. After I edited and spell-checked too.
FollowupID: 500723

Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:26

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:26
Ooops, just saw a blue ..I think that Thomas Folke anderesen uses a Canon 20D, not 5D as I said. He has a number of other cameras, but I believe that this is his work horse.
FollowupID: 500724

Reply By: Markymark - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:37

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:37
I've already posted above but I recently went through the camera buying process 6 months ago. I read every review I could, on the Internet (such as links I stated before), magazines and IT sections in newspapers. I wanted to make sure my hard earned cash wasn't going to be wasted and me disappointed.

The Canon brand continually came up as excellent cameras, usually at the top of their respective categories. I wanted a good zoom but couldn't afford a SLR so I went for the model above with 12X zoom. Since then newer models have came out in other brands and this camera still rates at the top.

Some family members were also after a new camera so I suggested they check out some Canons. My mother-in-law got the Canon A710 IS, 7MP, 6X zoom and she's impressed with the great pictures it takes. She didn't want a bigger model like mine and this was a happy medium between zoom and camera size. The sister-in-law bought the same camera and she's equally impressed.

If I were to buy one for point & shoot only, I'd get one of their IXUS models, which will fit into pockets no worries.

No I don't work for Canon, I'm a teacher!

There's certainly good cameras in other brands, just do your research and be confident the one you're buying does the job you want for the quality and price you're happy with.

Mark.
AnswerID: 239750

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 21:09

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 21:09
Probably the big question is P&S (Point and Shoot) or DSLR (Digital Single Lens Reflex). Both have fully auto functions however the DSLR also has manual functions which can be used more effectively for better shots when you get the hang of things. If you are happy with snaps P&S is the way to go however if you are like me who has taken much more of an interest in photography in recent years a DSLR may be the better way to go. I moved from P&S to DSLR 5 years ago and have upgraded twice since then. When you have decided on the type of camera a site like
Digital Photography Review
will allow you to compare cameras and make a decision.
AnswerID: 239799

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:53

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:53
Daza - Stefan has made an excellent offer. Kodak are very easy to use, and 2 mp will give you adequate clarity for travel and family snaps. They are an ideal first digital camera. When you wear that one out, you will know what features you want in your next camera. Also, as someone also brought up, with a higher mega pixel camera, you will most likely use less size and pixels. Low mega pixel cameras are more than adequate for normal sized photos, and you fill up your memory too fast if using a 6 or 7 or so mega pixel camera on maximum mps for all your snaps.

AnswerID: 239831

Reply By: S&N - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 23:19

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 23:19
hi DAZZA, we have a canon ixus60. its a 6 mp, easy to use, point and shoot. wife loves it as it fits in her handbag and can be grabbed easily for shots of our baby daughter. i think they are about $300-$350 now. also you can get the ixus65 and 70, which are 6.5 mp and 7mp

would recommend to anyone!
AnswerID: 239838

Reply By: Willem - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 08:50

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 08:50
I have a Canon A60 (now obsolete). El Cheapo. Cost about $300 a few years back. It has taken thousands of pics which I download to my laptop when travelling. Last year while trying to negotiate some rocks in the Calvert Ranges I dropped it. It fell about 3 metres and bounched down a gully and in to a small crevasse. I retrieved it with difficulty. For a whole day it squawked and complained and wound itself backwards and forwards and then it settled down and is still taking good 2 megapixel pics. The missus has a Sony at around the same price with 4 mexapixels.

So if you are not into specialised photography, the cheap ones do just as well and are simple to use. But buy a brand name real camera and not a computer companby manufactured one.

AnswerID: 239871

Reply By: RichieK - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 23:56

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 23:56
Just bought a Panasonic (Lumix) DMC-TZ2, 6mp, 10x zoom (down to 28mm, the main reason I bought it, and the zoom goes to 13.8x with lower than 6mp res). Paid $590 inc card, very happy.

Rich
AnswerID: 240247

Reply By: Auntie - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:15

Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:15
We started out with a Canon Powershot A75 about 3 years ago. Now outdated.3MP and 3 zoom. Takes beautiful photos. Felt the need for a bigger zoom so bought a Fuji Fine Pix s6500fd around the $500.00 mark. 6MP and 10 optical zoom, and face recognition. A great toy. SWMBO now uses the Canon and I the Fuji.We don't need 2 cameras, but I don't need 7 fishing rods either !! If I miss something, she'll nab it. Learen all the cameras facilities. You'll get far better shots. Enjoy.
AnswerID: 240354