Ceduna Camping

Submitted: Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:39
ThreadID: 45422 Views:10709 Replies:15 FollowUps:35
I have been told that it not 'healthy' staying Ceduna due to the number of high chain link fences that campers need to hide behind. No mention of any problems in a search of recent posts.
Has anyone been recently or are there better places to make a base for a week or so?
I was planning to go August/Sptember.

Reply By: Member - Ray - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:56

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 10:56
Thursday is not a good day to be in Ceduna.(pension day)
We were there for the oyster festival last Sept. Had a great time BUT we had a break in in the mobile home parked next to us while the occupants were sleeping.(There was a group of 5 cops in a cabin about 20 metres away)
There was a sports carnival on during the festival and it attracted a huge amount of indigeonous spectators from the area. So it was constant boozing and the resultant antisocial behavior was disastrous. 99.9 percent of the locals are well behaved good people but be prepared for the odd bad few.
AnswerID: 239679

Follow Up By: bbuzz - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:32

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:32
THanks. It was suggested we stay outside along the beaches. Guess a little exploring will answer that.
FollowupID: 500648

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 01:23

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 01:23
Sorry to disapoint the tourists doug but I couldnt care less if i am called a racist coz i have more than enough PERSONALL experience to tell me the more blackfellas the more crime
My advice would be to try around the Denial Bay area
FollowupID: 501038

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:08

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:08
You tourists amaze me , if your going to bypass towns because of hearsays then stay home and have a home invasion , So now it's Ceduna too , along with Wilcannia,Bourke,Walget,Newman,Halls Creek,Meekatharra,Mt Isa,Normanton,Pt Augusta, Alice Springs,Tennant Creek,and on and on the list goes, go out and enjoy our Country , be more vigilant and look after your property , The whites can be just as ruthless in the light fingered antics,

AnswerID: 239682

Follow Up By: bbuzz - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:34

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:34
Fair enough. Last thing you want is to be is up all night waiting for a hassle. No body goes looking for a situation if it can be avoided.
FollowupID: 500649

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 12:13

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 12:13
Hey bbuzz

I 100% agree with Doug on this one.

If you ever get humbugged for smokes or a dollar, just do what I do, I point to someone about a hundred mts away, Then tell them no I don't have any but he does.

Or you tell them you only have a card for the ATM and make sure your not standing next to one.

Just remember this Black fellas make up 1 % of the 20000000 people that live in this great country of ours, they couldn't be responsible for all the crime that happens.

Just get out there and enjoy it, if someone says don't go there go there, if someone says don't do it do it and if someone says you wont like it you will love it

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 500652

Follow Up By: Member - Ray - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 12:25

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 12:25
What are you on about mate? Read my reply and if I'm a tourist what the bloody hell are you? Who died and made you the worlds greatest exprt on racial harmon
It's not heresay I have stayed in Ceduna over 10 times.
FollowupID: 500653

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 12:57

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 12:57
Ray
I don't know who your reply was directed at , If was at me I speak as a Tourist and as a truckie and as an Escort Driver because I do or done them all. And from travelling this country since 1954 as a kid then as an Adult from 1966 and doing up to 200,000 klm per year in some years and still doing in excess of 100,000 klm a year I think I do know what I'm on about. I'm already up to 8000ks this month, As for Pension days I lived in Mt Isa for 3 years at not once was approached by White or Black so that far outdoes your 10 stays in Ceduna , If anyone is to blame for the Aboriginal situation of today it is the White Governments bending to pressures from White activists, and bloody Do-Gooders, And lastly NOBODY DIED FOR ME, that BS don't wear with me and I detest it .

FollowupID: 500659

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:54

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:54
i was going to comment on the 'nobody died for me' but realised, if you've been on the road since 1954 then you might not get the whole picture. cheers
FollowupID: 500749

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 20:05

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 20:05
oldmagpie2
Please feel free to fly in here and make your comment, you know ....spill the beans ...C'mon, but don't crash land,

Doug

FollowupID: 500755

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:05

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:05
Doug T

I have lived in both Ceduna and Port Augusta.

They are great towns and the people that reside there are great the same as in most areas in Australia.

Wherever you go there is a small percentage of people that cause problems and can give towns a bad name.

I would have no hesitations in staying in Ceduna.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 500795

Reply By: disco1942 - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:42

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:42
bbuz

3 km along the beach to the south is the Ceduna Shelly Beach CP. It is on 55 acres of land, mostly vegetated sand dunes. the facilities are unusual in that they are spread around the park and consist in the main of hand basin, shower and pedestal in the one room (3 rooms to a block.) There were a few camping sites over the big dune with ocean views last time I was there, however by a quick look at the FPA listing they have "Luxury Spa Beach Front Villas @ $180.00" that may have displaced them

It is just too far out of town for the rascals to worry about. The road out to it is sealed but turns to gravel shortly after that and it does not go to indigenous housing so I have not seen any of our burdders out a long it.

AnswerID: 239689

Follow Up By: bbuzz - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:21

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:21
Thanks. Thats what I was really looking for - I must be more careful on how I phrase thngs in future!!!
FollowupID: 500690

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:39

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:39
bbuzz,

This is where we stayed and it was great. We found like minded campers staying there who were happy to chat and share info on places to go and things to see. We were there over Easter an couple of years back and while the park was reasonably full we had heaps of room and no queuing at the amenities.

The arrangement with the amenities whilst unusual was very good. I wish more places would set things up this way.

The only criticism is that it was a bit short on grass but the sand was clean and the ground solid enough to hold regular pegs.

FollowupID: 500747

Reply By: slush - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:55

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 11:55
i have an uncle who lives there and he said it no problem, yes pension day is best to stay clear of but all in all its no different to most other places. just don't leave anything lying around and don't walk around by yourself at night. (you would'nt do this at any new place you did not know)
AnswerID: 239691

Follow Up By: bbuzz - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:23

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:23
Thanks. That makes sense and its true - we are careful where we go and what we do, so YES it shouldn't be any different.
FollowupID: 500691

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:59

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 18:59
umm, country town, yep i'd fell quite easy about walking about by myself at night. If i couldn't, well i just might be thinking the place is not so flash.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 500731

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:06

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:06
Sadly, Ceduna has not been a nice place to stay for me for years. Call me a naieve tourist, or a bl**dy idiot, but after a non violent but unpleasant episode several years ago, I now avoid the place.
The Alice I'm not phazed by, and Halls Creek on pension night is noisy. But Ceduna ? A beautiful area with some great people. Sadly there are also people there who are not great, especially after a few drinks.
Now one could easily say that it's no different to many places elsewhere, but my personal experiences suggest otherwise.
I've only stayed there about a dozen times. Maybe I've been unlucky or stupid.

Exercise a tad more care when you're in the area, and try and have a great time.
AnswerID: 239702

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 14:00

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 14:00
Footloose
You don't have to go to any place named today on this post, If your an 80+ year old lady they will come to you , bash the living Schitt outa you for a few lousy dollars as has been the case 1 in Brisbane and 2 in Perth in the last 3 weeks, The poor old soul in Brisbane was attacked with a cricket bat, what a low life piece of scum the attacker is,and here some of us are worrying about a few harmless Ceduna-ites ,

FollowupID: 500676

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 14:13

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 14:13
Doug, yep totally agree. Pink green blue white and black, there's good and bad everywhere. That's why I avoid the big cities and places I've had poor experiences with.
In fact I live around one of the worst places for violence and muggings. But I know where to go and not to go to minimize my chances. In places mentioned I don't have a choice.
FollowupID: 500678

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:06

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:06
You can rationalise it all you like ..... The fact is, that these places have problems that travellers should be aware of.

We were recently in Wilcannia & all but sh*t ourselves!
FollowupID: 500685

Follow Up By: bbuzz - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:26

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:26
Yeah it is all true as everyone has an experience. I will be aware and look out as you do. Looking forward to the whole area anyway as it has had some raves from lots of people.
FollowupID: 500693

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:31

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:31
Shaker, here's a strange thing. I had brekky there last year and didn't have any problems. Guess I must be the only traveller who hasn't.
FollowupID: 500695

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:46

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:46
I guess you can only take it as you find it, we were there (Wilcannia) on court day, with a friend that had electrical problems & the repairer was only about 200m from the courthouse.
FollowupID: 500697

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:54

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:54
Shaker, a mate used to do the police comms there. He wouldn't stay a minute longer than necessary.
I've been through a few times, but never stopped before because of its reputation and the feeling the place gave me.
So I was quite surprised when I stopped for brekky and didnt have any hassles. The cook was telling me that the only way to save the town was tourism. If I had of had a mouthfull at the time I probably would have choked :))
FollowupID: 500702

Follow Up By: Member - Ray - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 21:32

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 21:32
Footloose
I did a quick trip Perth to Cairns 3 weeks ago.Stayed in Alice with rellies who have been there for about 25 years. Lots more problems there now even with the new drink restrictions.
It is a real PITA not to be able to buy packaged booze before 2pm if you are passing through and don't know the rules.
FollowupID: 500782

Reply By: warfer69 - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:50

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 13:50
What amazes me is that i was'nt born here but have been here since i was two..I own properties and have worked hard up until my injury which was'nt my fault..

Now i'll be buggered if i'll let some a-hole intimidate me to the point of not feeling at home..As far as i'm concerned this is my home..If i want to walk at night i do..I want to go here or their i do...

I'll never go down without a fight if provoked and i'm sure a lot of this forum would'nt/ dont let these ratbags ever control your life ....

My grandfathers brother had a double barrel shotgun under his bed concerned that some moari was going to jump his back fence and he had in his mind that he'll blow the black bastards head off in his words... sixty odd years of worry for what-something that never happened !

Go where you like and see what you want to see !

AnswerID: 239706

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 14:40

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 14:40
Sorry Buz, but I agree with many other comments, get out there and enjoy.
My cousin owns the big 4 caravan park in Ceduna, and he is an ozzie white person, and has no chain mesh fences to lock you in.
Hundreds of parks have fences anyway, usually to stop white people sneaking in to get up to no good !
I highly recomend a visit to his park, in fact here is his number, he is approachable, ring him (Brian) and talk to him 08-8625 2150.
He is also an ambulance volunteer, so if you want to hear stories, try that subject if you think camping in a caravan park is going to be a problem!
I will be there for a week in June with 2 of my grandsons and I feel as safe there as lots of other places.
Yes from time to time there have been a few problems in Ceduna, but hell Adelaide, Sydney, Alice Springs, etc etc etc all have problems. I feel as safe parking my rig in Ceduna as I do in Adelaide.
Ceduna has a large police pressence and is as safe as any other multi cultural town.
Yes you could get broken into or approached with not so good intent, but that could happen in any town in any state, just depends what lowlife lives or visits there.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 239710

Follow Up By: bbuzz - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:28

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 15:28
Thanks. I have told these people of all the comments and they apparently had one bad experience and left. I intended to poke along the coast for a few eeks anyway so I don't have any worries now. As you say - be careful.
FollowupID: 500694

Reply By: kimprado - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 17:12

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 17:12
Ceduna a problem town? What a Bloody load of rot! Some of you fella's need to get off your proverbial bum and experience the World!

BBUZZ, don't listen to all this piffle. You'll be ok in Ceduna. have a good trip.

Kim
AnswerID: 239732

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 17:55

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 17:55
I have been to Wiluna, Wilcannia, Ceduna and Bourke. Ceduna is no problem at all. I lived just out of town here for 18 months. Always asked for a smoke by the locals pension day or not. When i was a smoker I just never smoked in the street...........simple. Ceduna has a safer feel to any of the other towns i mentioned but i would stay in any of them.
AnswerID: 239742

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:02

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:02
spoke to quite a few shop owners back in the 80's in ceduna, they said they wish there was "open season" once a year! Just what i heard.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 239762

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:12

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:12
Lyndon K

I don't know who you spoke to but I lived in Ceduna in the 80's and it was only from a very small minority that I heard that sort of rubbish.

I know you said it was "Just what I heard". Ceduna is a wonderful place to live in and a wonderful place to stay. No place is perfect and there is good and bad everywhere. The good in most places makes the bad insignificant.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 500797

Reply By: Member - Jack - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:24

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:24
I stayed a couple of nights in Ceduan on my way around Australia last year (April) without any dramas. First two nights were just out of town right on the coast. Sadly, there was a bit of a mice plague, so we packed up and headed into town where we stayed in the Big 4 mentioned earlier. That was excellent!!!

But in tha time we had no difficulties, nobody approached us for anything, and we wandered the streets (in daylight hours) quite happily. We did not walk aroundof a night because we were having dinner and resting.

Go there, stay, and enjoy it .. I doubt you will have any troubles.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 239766

Follow Up By: bbuzz - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:38

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:38
Thanks guys. Will be there as soon as work lets me go! Suppose a bankroll might help too!!
FollowupID: 500746

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:57

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 19:57
This is to all those superior people that say I'M NOT RACIST, BUT...

As I said above there is over 20.000.000 people living in this country.

1% of these people are blackfellas.

Hypatheticaly Now, let's say 5% of the population go out on pay day and get bleep faced and make bleep s of themselves ( I believe this is a understatement ).

If EVERY blackfella got drunk on pay day that would mean 200.000 people, that means there is still 800.000 whitefellas getting drunk on the same day as well.

AnswerID: 239777

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 20:55

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 20:55
I'll drink to that !
FollowupID: 500770

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 02:09

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 02:09
"As I said above there is over 20.000.000 people living in this country.

1% of these people are blackfellas."

Site Link

check these statistics then of prisoners 1992-2004,
1800 per 100,000 ab
100 per 100,000 honky

not sure whos figures are correct, but put together it means that a blackfella is 1800 times more likely to end up in jail?
18 times the rate per 100,000, and 1% (times 100)?

Just out of curiousity Doug, as a trucky or Escort driver, you would rarely stay overnite in the heart of any town would you? Most stop out of town I thought as there are few facilities for a Road Train to stop in the middle of a small country town?

Just some observations of the debate!

FollowupID: 500842

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 00:55

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 00:55
Steve from Top End Tours,
I have been watching this post with interest and having friends that are indigenous, I have stayed out of making comment but believe that your figures try to simplify the problem a tad to much.

I think we would have to be ostriches with heads in the sand if we didn't concede there is a problem Indigenous communities in some rural towns and even some area's in some capital cities. How can you use those percentages in all the places around OZ. In Borroloola for example the indigenous community way outnumber corcassion's. Of course the opposite can be said about West Lakes in Adelaide. When travelling this great country there are certainly area's best not wondering around in, including some that have been mentioned but also places like Cabramatta etc.

Most times I would feel totally secure in Ceduna but I must add that we were their on the 24th of April (night before Anzac Holiday) and were advised by the local constabulary, if we wanted a peaceful night it would pay to camp out of town, I believe it would have been fine a day before and probably a couple of days after. You have to use common sense and not go over board either way, when travelling this great country.
FollowupID: 501037

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 01:29

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 01:29
Ive heard him mention Newman ....... WTF he would never have stayed there rather Capricorn about 18km to the South in Protection
FollowupID: 501039

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:51

Sunday, May 13, 2007 at 22:51
Geez, try walking down Pitt street Mall in Sydney at lunch-time. At least a dozen approaches from people trying to get you to sign up to some charity, then there are the people on almost every street corner begging for money (many are not genuine - just making a living out of it).......and that is before we start on crime!

I'll be thropugh Ceduna next year and wil be sure to check out the Big 4.

AnswerID: 239830

Reply By: Willem - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 09:15

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 09:15
In all my years and many hundreds of thousands of kilometres around this country I have never been hassled by anyone.

When I lived in the NT I always stopped for the 'cuz'nz' when they were broken down on the road. Have pushed many a Falcon or Commodore with the bullbar for miles...lol

One day a dark figure ran out of the bushes in to the middle of the road near Yuendemu on the Tanami. I stopped. He wanted a lift in to Alice. We were driving a Suzuki. I said sorry there is no space but he looked deeply into the little car. I suggested if it was that urgent he could sit on the bonnet for the next couple of hundred clicks and I would tie his hands to the bullbarso he didnt fall off. With a wry smile he declined.

I have been to Wilcannia on a few ocassions. Have stopped by the river to rest. Have stopped to refuel on pension day, stopped there at night, and have never had an issue with anyone. Ceduna is a lovely sea side town and I have passed through there a number of times as well. Have never had an issue with people there.

I suppose I am used to seeing and dealing with indigenous people and many others of other cultures. City folks going away from their home base into the big wide world are fed bigoted, incorrect stories from bigoted people and they then come to the wrong conclusions.

But it is good to ask the question here on ExplorOz as you may learn something about your country and rest assured that it is by far the safest place to travel in the world.

AnswerID: 239882

Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:26

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:26
William

Reading this thread, I don't think its so much a bigoted thing, but more related to inexperience.

Like you, I've never had a problem (apart from a few altercations in the pubs when I was young).

I've sat down and had a bit of a yarn with the Abo's in many towns, and not once been asked for anything. In fact we're had a bloody good time. In most cases I could'nt understand one word they where talking about. But we had a lot of laughs (probably at my expense).

Met up with a couple of Abo's in Ceduna last year, got talking and they invited me back to their house. Had a really good night with really good people.

I think first timers and those on the tourist trail, are intimidated by a new experience and have difficulty engaging the Abo community through a sense of apprehension.

Kim
FollowupID: 500991

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:31

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:31
I think that the word Abo is a derogatory term although it can be contrued to be a shortened version of the original. It shows a disregard for others even though you are espousing as being as one with them......... and Don't bloody call me William!!!
FollowupID: 500994

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:40

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:40
Hey Kimprado

If you were half as experienced as you say you are with these people, you would know that calling them Abo's is offensive and derogative.

FollowupID: 500996

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 01:39

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 01:39
Sorry but this just aint true in the real world
I have met many people from all over Australia and the world in Kalgoorlie but sadly the story from all is just the same
Upon arrival they cant believe the level of rascism
- after 3 monthss they not only understand but they appolagise agree and join in coz they now know the truth
Al those that disagree - well i have seen you all and seen the changes you are no different just havnt had life experience
FollowupID: 501040

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 08:24

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 08:24
Davoe

Pardon m'seur???

What isnt true in the real world?

And to which part of this thread are you replying to?

FollowupID: 501060

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 10:17

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 10:17
Never mind
Dont drink and post, it seems like a good idea at the time
FollowupID: 501070

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 09:37

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 09:37
From everyone's travels..who has really been accosted, molested, damaged, threatened in fear of their lives?

I know I haven't and I've stayed in Borroloola, Halls Creek, Newman, Bourke, Top Springs, Fitzroy Crossing,Kalumburu, Seisia, Burketown, Wiluna etc etc... I've stopped for fuel or lunch at Wilcannia and other places with so called "bad names".

We've also always stopped for anyone along the road that needed help no matter colour or creed.

I might be incredibly naive, but I've never been in real danger and never heard of anyone else. I mean real danger, not just imagined, or hearsay.

Just go out there with an open mind and enjoy.

Viv
AnswerID: 239887

Follow Up By: bbuzz - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 18:57

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 18:57
Ok guys. Lets call this Forum entry quits. Its all been said and I'm sorry I started it.!!!
I will be going to the Big 4 and having alook around ina nd out of town to see for myself.
Thanks for all the comments - it was good to clear the air and at least everybody had a chance to hear many different opinions.
NOW - no more please.
FollowupID: 500942