Does tyre diameter change you speed or you speedo

Submitted: Monday, May 14, 2007 at 19:59
ThreadID: 45481 Views:3420 Replies:11 FollowUps:34
A mate and I are at discussing tyre diameter, As to weather it changes you speed or just your speedo.

Reply By: stan2nz - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:16

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:16
maybe this will help, if you have 13" wheels and then replace with 14" wheels it will make the speedo read 10 miles per hour slower than the car is traveling.
Speedo will say 40 MPH but the car will be doing 50MPH
Hope that helps
AnswerID: 239999

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:20

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:20
Happened to me on my Ls test. Had 16" rims on the excel with 13" stockies (thats not tyre diameter though). But at the end the instuctor said he could swear I was speeding to most test but when he looked it was on the speed limit and that I should get it checked. I said "Yep sure thing will look into that straight away" while in reality I was thinking that perhaps he should get his hand off it... at least while on the job :))
FollowupID: 500963

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:25

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:25
Steve,

Hope you are joking!

When you change something real - what would you expect to change. Reality or the indicated reality?

Muddy
AnswerID: 240003

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:25

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:25
My mate has an OKA`and the other day I drove it with the larger tyres on it it did 90kph flat out.

He put a different set on it after smaller diameter and now seems to have no torque and speed seems to be slower 75/80 kph

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 240004

Follow Up By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:43

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:43
hi Steve
you have got a gps hook up and go for drive
cheers Reggy 2
FollowupID: 500974

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:49

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:49
The only GPS I have is in my boat.

Steve.
FollowupID: 500977

Follow Up By: Coolman - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:21

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:21
Tow the boat trailer behind it! :-)
FollowupID: 500988

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:30

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:30
I knew that answer was coming.

Only if you sit in the boat and check it. LOL

Cheers Steve.

FollowupID: 500992

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:57

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:57
Gday Steve....could still be done with the boat towing, just reset the max speed on the trip computer for each run (if, of course, your GPS has that option)

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 501032

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 08:53

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 08:53
Hey Steve, you run "Top End Explorer Tours" and you don't have a GPS? Where do explore then, the shopping centres???!!!!
FollowupID: 501062

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 11:43

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 11:43
Hey D-Jack

No I don't have a GPS and I don't need one.

I use a T1 Theodolite and a Tellurometer I also have a 100 link chain and aerial photo's.

I only put a GPS in the boat after I dropped the sextant over the side and couldn't find a replacment for it.

You must be pretty nieve to believe you need a GPS to Explore this country.

EG:Cook, Flinders, Blaxland, Lawson, Wentworth, Eyre, Leichhardt, Sturt, Stuart, Burke, Wills, Giles , lets not forget Len Beadell and the many others that walked this country before GPS.

Steve.
FollowupID: 501082

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:21

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:21
Well I don't have one either. And I don't think I've ever been called 'Nieve', although I don't really know what that means - does it mean getting close to night time???
FollowupID: 501104

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:42

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:42
Year I made a typo get over it.
FollowupID: 501108

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 17:16

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 17:16
..and another!
FollowupID: 501128

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 17:52

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 17:52
As you seem to know so much about me and my business...
:-?
...maybe you can tell me why I would need a GPS?
Would it possibly help me with my dyslexia?
FollowupID: 501138

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 22:04

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 22:04
Steve, I'm sorry I carried this on so far. I think that's the problem with e-correspondence, you don't get to see the look on my face or hear the flavour of my communications. If I had said it to your face you wouldn't have taken my comment the way you did. I see I've taken it far enough. I don't have a GPS, I don't know anything about them. All I know is that you need a GPS to go anywhere remote in this country - just read this forum! My comment was supposed to be a clever play on the fact that so many people have them, and the abundance of 'shopping tours' available.

But then you made a typo in a response having a go at me for mentioning your typo - I just couldn't let that go. Maybe I'm being too much of a smarty rectum.

D-Jack

p.s. As I said, don't know enough about GPS to comment on it being a cure for dislecksya!

FollowupID: 501198

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 22:31

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 22:31
Hey D-Jack

As we say up here jobs right.

The reason I took offence, is because I started my business 7 years ago with $500, I worked hard and now run 4 trucks and employ 4 drivers.

As you say your comment was tongue in cheek, So no hard feelings.

I will be more vigilant with the spell check.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 501213

Reply By: Member - Fizz (NSW) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:47

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:47
80kph is 80kph, regardless of tyre size. If two otherwise identical vehicles with different sized tyres are doing the same speed, the wheels with the smaller diameter will be turning more rapidly than the larger ones. The percentage by which wheel B will be going faster (or slower) than wheel A will be (diameter difference) divided by (wheel A diameter) x 100. The speeds shown on the speedos should also differ by this percentage.

Here's a related problem, and I'll post the (very surprising) answer tomorrow:
Imagine a string that just fits exactly around the equator of the earth (ignoring mountains etc.). Cut the string and insert a bit of string 1 metre long. Now somehow raise the 1-metre longer string so it is the same height above the equator all the way around the earth. How high above the equator will the string now be?
(That's the same as asking if the earth's equator were 1 metre longer, how much bigger would the earth's radius be?)
The answer is scarcely believable, but it's correct!
AnswerID: 240016

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:12

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:12
Sir Sir Sir........I have the answer!!!

Cya
FollowupID: 500986

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:24

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:24
0.15915457 meters

you can send the prize to 15. ga... st bel...... wa

FollowupID: 500989

Follow Up By: brett - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:26

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:26
assuming the earth is about 40,000K around the equator I reckon the radius would be about 15cm bigger, or did I miss something?
FollowupID: 500990

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:44

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:44
dam I used the Dia not circumference DH

No it's 15.915cm
FollowupID: 500998

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:07

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:07
Mr Doe , Mr Kovak and Brett . You can all go and stand in the corner till playlunch .
FollowupID: 501143

Follow Up By: Member - Fizz (NSW) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:46

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:46
Spot on!

Most people guess that you wouldn't be able to measure the height, it would be so small.

The surprising thing is that it doesn't matter what size a circle (or sphere) is, a 1m increase in the circumference (or equator) will give an increase in radius of about 15.9cm (=100cm/2pi). Applies to a tiny ball bearing, a soccer ball, the sun, and even Beetlejuice.

Said the other way around, a small difference in the diameter of wheels doesn't make much difference at all to rpm and speeds etc.
FollowupID: 501149

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 20:27

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 20:27
Hi Mr Willie

That's Ms Doe to you......... :)

Cya
FollowupID: 501166

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 20:32

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 20:32
Deer me Ms Doe . Please accept my apologies for this appaling mistake . Please give my regards to Mr Mud .
Willie .
FollowupID: 501168

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:19

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:19
Yes and that Richard KOVAC, Mr Kovac died 2 and a haft years ago (my dad)

Fizz yes 1/pi/2=0.15915457 I left school when I was 15 yoa...LOL

FollowupID: 501184

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:17

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:17
Please disregard this thread, after double checking the diameter difference is not worth worrying about, it must be something else.

Did I mention that we were discussing this over a beer or 2 when I asked.

Cheers Steve.

AnswerID: 240021

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 07:17

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 07:17
ha ha ha

like a chip to a flock of seagulls!
FollowupID: 501045

Follow Up By: Sarg - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:15

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:15
Put a few numbers into this to give yourself some idea of the differences diameter makes to you speed.

www.1010tires.com/TireSizeCalculator.asp
FollowupID: 501182

Reply By: Froilan - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:23

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:23
Steve,

Your speed does not change, however your speedo shows you the incorrect speed. I recently upsized my Prado 265/65R17 oem tyres to 265/70R17. The result was when my speedo says 100kph, I was actually travelling at around 103kph. Depending on how the cops feel when they get you on the radar, it may be enough to be booked. The higher your speed, the higher your speedo variance is. On a recent trip to Fraser Island, on 110kph freeways, I kept my speedo to around 105kph. I checked my speed using those 5km test on the side of the road, and got the same result. 105kph was around 109kph.

I recently had the speedo adjusted by a mob recommended by Toyota. They did a GPS check of the speedo and confirmed the difference was around 4%. They adjusted the speedo and the Prado is now more accurate. When my speedo says 100kph, the GPS showed 99kph. Godd enough for me!
AnswerID: 240024

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:53

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:53
You oughta try running 315/75R16s on a vehicle meant to wear 265/75R16s. Difference in speedo is about 12k/h......I gotta be REALLY careful untill I can get a new cog for my speedo sender
FollowupID: 501000

Follow Up By: Member - Rossco td105 - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:55

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:55
I'll second that,

mines just over 10% out, which means at the 110kph speed limit (and indicated on the speedo) I'm doing just over 120kph which is frowned upon by the constabulary.

Rossco.
FollowupID: 501014

Follow Up By: George_M - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:22

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:22
Froilan

Who did your speedo adjustment for you?

I'd find that information helpful.

George
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 501021

Follow Up By: Froilan - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 07:44

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 07:44
George_M,

The mob Toyota recommended was General Auto Instruments at Lidcombe NSW (I am Sydney-based). You can get the number in the whitepages. They used a GPS instead of a treadmill 'cause the Prado is full-time 4wd. They had a treadmill for a 2wd only. Apparently the treadmill is more accurate than the GPS.

I used a mates car on 80kph and 100kph cruise control before and after the adjustment, and the work done seems to do the trick. The 5km freeway speed check test also confirmed the speedo adjustment.

FollowupID: 501053

Follow Up By: George_M - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 11:21

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 11:21
Thanks mate - much appreciated.
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 501079

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:14

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:14
It changes both..........
If you used exactly the same amount of accellarator pedal for both tyre sizes, the larger diameter one would most likely be slower & the speedo would read lower than actual.(depending on gearing & power of the vehicle)

Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 240047

Follow Up By: Robin - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:16

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 21:16
Gotta agree with that

FollowupID: 501183

Reply By: just_cruizn - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:34

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:34
How accurate are them GPS....?
Mine always says 5 kmh less than the speed of the car, it's a handheld and I take it with me in everyones car.. Garmin etrex vista c
AnswerID: 240054

Follow Up By: brett - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:40

Monday, May 14, 2007 at 22:40
Most cars speedo's over read as I think the ADR for speedo accuracy says you can over read by 5 or 10% but under read is 0%. By fitting 75 series to my pajero the speedo still over reads by 1 or 2K, with stock tyres the speedo is out by more than 5%
FollowupID: 501010

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 07:31

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 07:31
Brett,

you are one of the lucky ones. My NP Paj was out by 11%. I fixed 3% of it by using larger diameter tyres.

Russ
FollowupID: 501047

Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 15:41

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 15:41
just_cruizn

Google is your friend.
Search for "gps speed accuracy"
Links 1,2,3 and beyond.

Easy
FollowupID: 501111

Reply By: Allan JJ - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:51

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:51
I have used this page to check before.
If you know your original diameter size in inches
you type your new size in and the speed you are going.

It then gives you a new speed reading

Site Link

allan
AnswerID: 240186

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 09:23

Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 09:23
They are both related.

If you keep your speed constant, your speedo will change
If you keep your speedo constant, your speed will change.

eg
On original tyres you travel 100km/h and your speedo shows 100km/h.

On new tyres you travel 90km/h your speedo shows 100km/h
OR
You travel 100km/h and your speedo shows 110km/h

AnswerID: 240272

Reply By: kiwicol - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 10:17

Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 10:17
of course your speedwill change your wheels are gears in the total configuration of the drive train, change any gear in the system ie diff ratio or gearbox your speed will change, look at the gears on a push bike. Col
AnswerID: 240282