Benno4
My family and I a doing a
Brisbane, Ayres Rock rtn trip. I was just wondering if anyone has had anything pinched or know of
places where I should be mindful of. Ive been told that I need to secure my fuel and
water is this true????
Reply By: Benno4 - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:25
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:25
Sorry, I mean Security
Follow Up By: turbopete - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 16:05
Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 16:05
i suggest u lock yoyr
water tank ,cos people pixzxz in the tanks .... Peter
Reply By: Hairy - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:39
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:39
I wouldnt be too concerned about your
water but definately lock your fuel in and around Alice, and dont walk around after dark!
Reply By: Peter - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:41
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:41
Benno4
To be honest in 30 years of travelling and
camping the only time we've had any problem was last year when we stayed in Dubbo for a night. The car got broken into but we did recover everything. Travelled a lot through the outback and never had any concerns about losing fuel or
water, although with the current drought the
water may be more of an issue than fuel! Be aware where you leave your vehicle etc. and access to your fuel and
water and I believe you will OK. I'm more concerned with
parking the car in the city than in the sticks
Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:59
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:59
You obviously haven't been to Alice for a while...
The other night a lady chased of sniffers 3 times within an hour before calling her husband home from work!
Some car yards were leaving fuel out next to cars because they just couldn't afford the damage getting done to cars while people were trying to siphon them.
I had my car siphoned while it was parked in front of a friends place.....and so on, and so on ,and so on.....Alice has changed!
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:05
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:05
Hi Peter, yes Ill agree with you there, never been broken into except at a motel at Dubbo. We stayed there on our way back from holidays to go to the zoo, come out in the morning to find the passengers door handle hanging out the door. Wasnt impressed to say the least few choice words and never did go to the zoo was too bleep off I wont stay in Dubbo again seems to be getting worse. Id rather stay out of town seems to be alot less happening. It is obviously locals and tell you if I had cought them I would have wrapped the tyre lever round the back of there heads bloody scum bags. Reported it to the cops and even they said they were having some major trouble in the town with theft, abuse, and break n enters, and damage and break ins with all types of motor vehicles. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:12
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:12
Agree with Hairy as when we went to fill up at a servo we went into pay and by the time we walked back out there was two of them rummaging through our console and glovebox looking for smokes draged one out by the hair the other by the scruff of his neck and with held myself from punching the shi##er out of them. When we were driving off they spat at the windows and one was hanging onto bullbar yelling out to give him smokes I just give it a gutfull then hit the brakes then ran over his foot on the way out didnt stop kept going. I wont mention who they were but you would have a fair idea. Make sure you lock the vehicle when even refuelling. They will even pick up the nozzle out of the bowser and try and get every drop of fuel out of the nozzle to put in there cans around there necks diesel or petrol but more petrol. We had diesel but still got the drops out.Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:14
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 23:14
Once upon a time there was a "stolen" generation, now it appears in some
places for there to be a "stealing" generation!
Remind me not to visit Alice, just imagine what international tourists must think.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 12:52
Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 12:52
While on the Stolen Generation.... Dont forget to buy your flower for "Sorry Day"
Reply By: Benno4 - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:45
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:45
Thanks Hairy,
I'm travelling with my wife and two
young children and I guess we both have concerns.
Thanks for the advice
Benno
Reply By: Willem - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:47
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:47
If you are carting fuel outside of your vehicle then a chain and lkock should be used to secure. Don't think anyone would steal your
water.
Most thefts, committed by a variety of people, are opportunistic. Make sure that any valuables are not visible when you
park in public
places. I put a cap over my GPS for instance, when parked. I also remove my MP3 player to a secure area in the vehicle. Don't leave cans of drink lying visible in the vehicle as
well.
Our dog normally sees off any people who get too close for comfort...lol
Brisbane would probably be the most dangerous place followed by other
places and including Alice. :-)
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:41
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:41
Willem,
I agree, some
places in
Brisbane are worse than Alice. Had a vehicle stolen and one broken into, both in
Brisbane, no events in Alice to date, (touch wood). When in Alice, we make sure that larger valuables are locked tight and smaller valuables are removed, just like we do in Brissie,
sydney etc. We also leave our vehicles, as much as possible, in the secure
camping grounds in Alice and catch a lift into town. Just use common sense as you would in any strange town. I'm 6ft2" and 115kg but I still dont walk around certain parts of Brissie at night.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 09:20
Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 09:20
To quote a friends song, "Never have, probably never will but that don't mean I don't think about it late at night when I've got time to kill." (The Lees, Time to Kill)
I have only ever locked up the camper trailer. It was parked in my sisters driveway in
Sydney at the time. I have only ever lost gear to crooks once. That was in
Port Lincoln. My fuel is carried on the outside of the CT and is not locked but it is diesel. That said I am careful and always try to suss a place out befroe I leave the vehicle. I usually set up
camp as soon as I arrive in a town. If staying in a CP I try to pick ones that belong to a recognised chain and that appear to have some form of security in place.
After that its just commonsense not to advertise those expensive toys we all carry.
Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 12:48
Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 12:48
10.00 last night...
Bang crash on the roof...
I run out the front to see what was going on and so do 3 of my neighbours.
And there he is, an aboriginal bloke about 20 to 30 years old standing in the middle of the road. What they do is throw rocks to see whos home or too scared to come out and then they help themselves ( found out latter he already had helped him self to one of the houses but wasnt satisfied so he kept going.)
Just wasnt his luck day day.....wrong mob of houses....Yep, we caught him!!!! If he comes back tonight he wont be on his own im sure. ( and to the doo-gooders, no we didnt gang up on him, we politely took turns, and gave him a breather between rounds!). Finally go to sleep 2 hours later and police finally rolled up and woke the neighbourhood again. Worst thing though you sleep with one eye open all night
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 13:27
Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 13:27
"politely took turns, and gave him a breather between rounds"
ROTFLMAO
Things obviously have changed Hairy, but there has always been a problem in the Alice, even when we lived there in the late '70's early '80's.
A mate of
mine was woken up in the early hours of the morning by an aborigine walking around his bedroom flicking a cigarette lighter on and off. By the time my mate got over the shock said offender had taken off like a rocket.
He could not have been too drunk or under an/any influence 'cos he took his shoes off before breaking in.
Ahhh the memories.........
Michael
Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 22:30
Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 22:30
As hard as it is you have to try and laugh.
A bloke down the road (works with my Mrs.) is leaving town because someone murdered someone on his front pourch the other day.
Jeeze... a few litres of blood strewn around.....kids a bit traumitised but hey.... they werent hurt.....just, the realies didnt like it ( visiting at the time).
There is always a
bright side..... I might get his job and the bloke from last night still has time to come back.