Waeco Cooler / Fridge

Submitted: Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 13:28
ThreadID: 45504 Views:6424 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
G'day Waeco owners

My brother-in-law has bought what he calls a Waeco Coolpro. He tells me it will cool things to 30 degrees below ambient temperature, cost $300 and has 40 litres capacity. He wants to take it to Birdsville and beyond in July.

It sounds to me like it isn't a true fridge but a cooler and I wouldn't have thought it would cope with the temperatures of Central Oz and he's going to be drinking warmish beer.

Does that sound right? Has anyone tried one in Central Oz or up north?

Dodgin

Reply By: Voxson - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 13:34

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 13:34
It is not what you would want for 4x4 trips...
No compressor- No good....
AnswerID: 240129

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:28

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:28
Not to mention the amount of power they draw is ridiculous.
FollowupID: 501107

Reply By: Robin - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 13:52

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 13:52
Hi Dodgin

I suggest he converts to a drinking good reds , some of them are ok warmish.

AnswerID: 240132

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 15:48

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 15:48
Hi Robin,
We were having a little chat about fridges the other week, about the one I got for $150 from Rays camping. Anyway had to take the cover off the other day to retrive something that my youngest had dropped or (placed) down there.
They run a Daewoo compresser, hence the $150 price. But is has done some trips now and is working like a champ

Cheers Stefan

FollowupID: 501112

Follow Up By: Robin - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 16:00

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 16:00
I was wondering how that turned out Stefan - I think you ended up with quite an effective system at a very good price.

FollowupID: 501113

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:00

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 14:00
I have and have used the same thing, only smaller capacity. Now use a fridge.

They work okayish, just dont expect it to cool your beer. They work best if everything you put into it is cold. It kept milk etc at an okay temp, but not icy cold, just cool. If going to a warm place, I found it beneficial to stick a frozen water bottle in it to help keep the temp right down. Location is important for the coolers, as they do only cool to 30 deg etc. If placing in a car, ensure their is adequate ventilation behind it as they do get warm, and if the air around the fan gets warm, it maens that it wont be able to get as cool. Good unit for day trips, weekend trips, but not so good for extended trips, especially when you will be consatnly restocking from a warm supply of goods.

Personally, I would stick with a good esky or if budget permits a fridge.
AnswerID: 240134

Reply By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 15:35

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 15:35
I have an Engel 80 Ltr fridge freezer for all the cooling and a Waeco 6ltr cooler on the front seat.

I transfer any cold drinks or nibbles required for travelling for the day from the Engel into the front seat before I leave and top up as required. The little Waeco is OK, as stated above if the drinks are cold upon entry, and is fantastic for passing drinks and nibbles over the back to the kids but, as already said no compressor not good as a full time fridge.

Toytruck
AnswerID: 240148

Reply By: Olcoolone (SA) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 16:58

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 16:58
Hello Dodgin,

With the "30 degrees below ambient temperature" you have to remember if the fridge is inside a vehicle that is where the ambient temp is recorded from, hence if its 40 deg.C inside the vehicle your beer is going to be 10 deg.C and your ice creams melted.

Regards Richard

P.S Your brother in law isn't going up there in a 2wd car with low ground clearance, standard radial road tyres and no communications or recovery gear is he?

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 240164

Follow Up By: Dodgin & Weavin - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 17:41

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 17:41
No Richard.

He knows his 4wding, just not his fridges.

Dodgin
FollowupID: 501137

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 20:00

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 20:00
J U S T checking

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 501160

Reply By: Dodgin & Weavin - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 17:54

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 17:54
Thanks All.

Confirmed what I thought.

I think I'll lend him our fridge - if we decide we can live without it for 3 weeks that is. Its become nearly as important as the steering wheel.

Dodgin
AnswerID: 240179

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:36

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:36
There is other ways of doing a fridge in the car other than the $1000+ most spend.
I bought a 240v only Waeco fridge/freezer for $150 brand new, running through an inverter. Total cost with fridge, inverter, cables ect came to $400 excatly. Has worked very well so far and with huge cost savings. Worth a thought and the power consumption is only around 10% more than a 12v fridge

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 501147

Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:35

Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 18:35
G'day Dodgin,
My Brother had this same argument, I had a CF50 waeco he had a 30 sumthing ltr Tropicool heat or chill unit, we went through the Simpson, up to litchfield, kakadu, across the gulf development track and as soon as we got to Cairns, he bought a waeco CF 50, a 105 amp hr deep cycle batt and we wired it up for the run up the creb in the caravan park while our lovely other halfs caught up on some much needed clothes washing.

Before we had even gotten to coober pedy He had switched the thing off and he hasn't used the thing since.
Just can't cool quick enough, took hours of driving just to cool a few drinks down and that was with the aircon on full blast!
AnswerID: 240185

Follow Up By: Dodgin & Weavin - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:03

Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:03
Thanks heaps.

Always good to hear from someone who has tried something first hand whether it has worked or not. I'll certainly pass on your experience to the bro-in-law.

Dodgin

FollowupID: 501307