CAMPER TRAILERS
Submitted: Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:49
SonofBigAL
Which Camper Trailer Manufacturers to people prefer.
Reply By: GeoffMc - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:53
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:53
My CT of choice ............
www.australianoffroadcampers.com.au/
Follow Up By: viv - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:39
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:39
Mine too !!!
Viv
Follow Up By: Dave B (NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 23:51
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 23:51
Mine too!
Just speaking to them today, they quoted November delivery if ordered now.
Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:54
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:54
why not!
www.ultimatecampers.com.au
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:55
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:55
Do a Google search. There are about 40 Camper Trailer manufacturers now
I am sure every one would like a
Kimberley Kamper but at around the $40,000 mark it is for the wealthy only. Ultimate Campers are around $45,000.
Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:42
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:42
Willem, I agree the Kimberly is a great piece of engineering, but only for the wealthy !!!! I wish I was - I looked at the enonomy of a caravan and staying on the black stuff and paying to stay in caravan parks as opposed to
FREE camping in the bush and figured a small extra capital outlay would actually save money - additionally the
Kimberley seems to hold its value better than others
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:24
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:24
I think the
Kimberley is over weight , too long and too heavy on the draw bar for a serious off road trailer.
Willie .
Follow Up By: mattie - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:46
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:46
if u had a ct that weighed 980kg(all of the ct with hard floors similar to the kk are all of similar weight) i think u preffer to have 150kg or more on the tow bar rather than 50kg like everyone seems to preffer. the more weight that u can share with the tow car the more traction hence a more serious off road ability and less chance of the ct ever pulling the tow car off course. But u have to up grade your
suspension but if u are a serious 4wder then the standard
suspension will not be adequate.
MATTIE
Follow Up By: Gronk - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:46
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:46
Don't know where you get the 40K price tag for a KK from ?? They start at 26K and of course go to 40K but thats with all the bells and whistles !!
Mine weighs ( an escape, a "cheapie" ) a ton fully loaded !!
Someone mentioned a trak
shack !! Won't be too far shy of a ton loaded either !!
And towball weight is approx 100kg's !!
Tow it with a crdi Terracan and tows like a dream, but with any fair dinkum 4x4 trailer, the only thing that will limit your offroad experience is the ability of the 4x4 to tow the trailer......
Someone mentioned that the KK is for the rich ?? Approx the same price as the other brands but you must compare apples with apples when looking at CT's......don't look at one for 20K's and think its as good as one for 30K, just think of what your budget is and determine how much you can afford !!
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:26
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:26
Gronk
You are contradicting yourself!!!
"Don't know where you get the 40K price tag for a KK from ?? They start at 26K and of course go to 40K but thats with all the bells and whistles !! "
So 40K wasn't off the mark!
Follow Up By: Gronk - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:40
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:40
No, you are quite right, but its like saying that a new Commodore is a bit dear at 57,000 but knowing full
well you can get one for 35,000 !!!!
Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:57
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 15:57
I bought a Trak Shak CT in
Adelaide last week so my choice of CT would be ????
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog My Position Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:25
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:25
Mine too , especially in the rough stuff . Downside is they take longer to put up and pull down than many designs .
Willie
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:49
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:49
I don't know how long it takes you Willie but I can set
mine up in six minutes. It folds in about the same.
I haven't seen any quicker than that.
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:04
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:04
Hard to go past a Camprite for a family IMHO
Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:23
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:23
A box trailer with a tent !!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:26
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:26
Correction : Hideously overpriced Boxtrailer with a tent.
box trailer $800
Tent $1000
gas stove $100
bottle $50
Reply By: SimonW - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:24
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:24
Kanga DL campers, with hartop / independant
suspension / galvinised / kitchen & under20k.
Cheers Simon.
Follow Up By: SimonW - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:40
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:40
what is you problem, you ask for peoples preferance not a comparison or spec list.
What a wally response.
Reply By: SonofBigAL - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:36
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:36
Im Just going by Experience with camper trailers. If i like something ill swear by it and make sure other people know about it too..
Reply By: lc_120man - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:40
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:40
www.tambocampers.com.au/ (The Cooper Model)
Follow Up By: Fragle_Rock (VIC) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 08:28
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 08:28
I'll second that, ours has been fantastic and the after sales service is exceptional.
Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:29
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:29
I'll third that and my other 2 mates who bought one aswell will
forth and fifth it!!!!
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:56
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 16:56
My Trak Shak is over 10 years old and still going strong. Cost me $12,500, so in 10 years that is an average of $1250 per year. It will end up being less than half that because I will keep it for a few years yet and when I do sell it I will go close to getting my money back.
I have looked at many others including the Kimberly but nothing I have seen offers as much accomodation, is as easy to set up and is built as tough.
Follow Up By: The Fox - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 05:38
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 05:38
Had my Trak Shak 9 years, paid $9800 and after $600 respray, sold if for $13000. Have Carry Me Camper for last 4 years, but now have grand kids and wish we kept the trailer.
Loved the coil
suspension, height in storage area (can stand jerrys in there) and everything very robust (including hinges and catches).
My wife and 2 daughters took the trailer by themselves a few times. Can't reverse it, so unhitched it and pushed it onto sites. Have noticed others with huge storage boxes on draw bars (needed cause no storage height in trailer) that you just can't pish around on grass. Tried to help one fella push his, and both my family and his couldn't budge it cause of weight on jockey wheel.
Trevor
Reply By: Philip A - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:18
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:18
I just bought a 10 year old Campomatic for $10,000.
By the stickers it has been everywhere man.
It is perfect, with no sign of wear anywhere. The independent
suspension is perfect, and the Koni shocks are fine. And the canvas is perfect( with a reproof).
Darn, I had to get a new tube in the Jockey wheel, and I am switching the LC splits to Land Rover wheels. LC splits with 750s weigh 38KG each !!!!! . I also had to replace the bulbs and taillight lenses as they had lost their colour.
While it lacks the pizzaz of new campers with stainless kitchens etc, it has stood the
test of time. The new ones look very similar in basic design.
It seems over designed in every way.
So if the new owners of the business (Trakshak)have kept up the standard, then if you want a hard floor, I think a Campomatic is great.
Regards Philip A
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:32
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:32
I second that.
I recently sold my 1998 Campomatic, and in some ways I think it was better than the new model from the new owners. I think they have tried to cut some costs, but that's just my feeling.
Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:46
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:46
And I third that ,we recently bought a 2001 model campomatic
ranger , has been
well used but still in spot on condition , have done the same re changing wheels and tires ,went for 15" cruiser shod with 31x10.5 same as our cruiser ,ended up with same rolling dia as the original lc splits ,ours by the way has the "stainless kitchen ect "
Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:37
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:37
I bought my Campomatic 2nd hand in 1989 and it had already had a hard life. Sure hasn't had a rest at our place...
We have kicked a lot of tyres on new camper trailers over the last 18 months and spoken to a lot of owners and sales people. I'd have to say that for service and professionalism, it would be hard to beat the efforts of the T-Van mob and the Australian Off Road Camper people in Caloundra.
I'll just keep buying lottery tickets and settle for our old clunker for the time being...
Reply By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:48
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 17:48
I know 2 different people brought trailer from a mod in
Gawler and they are sick of going back for rework. I won't name the name of the company here, I can in person.
Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:07
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:07
Which trailer do people prefer?
Hell! What a bloody question! It's a bit like , How long is a piece of string?
Better half and I spent a lot of time researching. We went to all those little regional shows, then the big one at Rose
Hill, twice. We phoned and emailed various manufacturers fro brochures, we did lots of looking , checking comparing and measuring.
We finally purchased a Hall's Camper Trailer, so obviously the answer to the question is "Halls".
Now! How long is a piece of string?
The answer is affected by so many variables that its impossible to answer.
If you are going to stay in van parks with access to electricity and water the answer is one thing.
If your going to
free camp then the answer will be another.
May I respectfully suggest that you have a good long think about what sort of camping /touring/travelling you might be doing and then post again so that we might actually help you get what you need rather than what each of us already have.
Meant in the nicest possible way.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:22
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:22
Read the post again....the poster is promoting his father's business!!! It was a spurious post trying to elicit talk to compare their product with peoples favourites.
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 06:25
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 06:25
Willem I have read the post 3 times now how is it promoting his dads camper trailers.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 08:31
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 08:31
Have sent you an email explaining process
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 13:06
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 13:06
why not post it as I can't see either! But I don't mind the banter as I'm maybe in the market for one soon.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 13:14
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 13:14
Too bad then.................
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:18
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:18
yes I supose it is. Gee you're a cranky ol' fart at times!
Leroy
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:04
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:04
Ah
well Leroy, it is something you may aspire to...................
Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:37
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 18:37
In a word ..... Track!
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:41
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:41
I agree ... I am just about to buy one.
Jack
Reply By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 19:48
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 19:48
There is only one......
Kimberley Kampers.....
www.kimberleykampers.com/
Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 19:49
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 19:49
This is a list of most manufacturers....
www.campertrailers.org/manufacturers.htm
Follow Up By: Gronk - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:53
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:53
Two people.....KK is top of the list and is why everybody else has been copying them for the last ten years...
For a family......go for a soft floor with plenty of room !!! ( or a Camprite, good cross between a flip over and a soft floor )
Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:08
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:08
Having recently spent $29000 I would have really have to say Adventure offroad campers
www.adventurecampers.com.au/
Reply By: DMH122 - Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:13
Wednesday, May 16, 2007 at 20:13
Have a look @ the Sundowner.
Reply By: dan26aus - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 00:35
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 00:35
i just bought a gulfking a fortnight ago..... I researched alot of campers in the price range that i was willing to spend & i just couldn't go passed it.....
Good Luck
www.gulfking.com.au/
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:37
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:37
Mate, any camper has got to be better than no camper. There are that many out there to suit different budgets, styles etc and these days the trend is also to make your own should you not find anything that is totally to your liking.
We're picking up our All Terrain next week, best one we liked at the Rosehill Show under the 20k mark. It's also on the Fraser Island DVD produced by 4WD monthly.
www.allterraincampers.com.au/
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:43
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:43
Oh yeah the Complete
Campsite was a very close second
www.completecampsite.com.au/
And never got the chance to see a
Tambo but I reckon we would have liked it.
Mind you our set up is for 2 adults and two anklebiters, so room, ventilation (big windows) and bug proof construction were some of the major things we looked for.
For a multitude of different designs also
check out the "manufacturer" link and "members campers" from the website below.
www.campertrailers.org/
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:22
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:22
The female ones....
Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:45
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 12:45
Most people will prefer the one they have, including me. Not a Brand name but a DIY...bought an off road trailer..added Chinese top..added my own accessories..
cost less than $5k. Just completed a 13k outback trip & it performed faultlessly.
I prefer to spend my dough on the sights ,fuel etc rather than tow around $30/40 k
worth of Queen size bed.....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:27
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:27
I agree, and when you talk to some people, their $40k only goes out 1-4 times a year!
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 07:52
Friday, May 18, 2007 at 07:52
G'day Barry and Bruce,
there's a market there, so they will sell.
but yep, I cannot fathom the prices. it is true that "custom" ones will not sell as quickly/easily as "brand" ones but I have not forked out much anyway and enjoy customising it for my gig. One of these days I'll get some pics of it on my profile.