Caravan Park Toilets

Submitted: Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:02
ThreadID: 45594 Views:4162 Replies:15 FollowUps:24
Hi Just returned from holidays around Victoria, beautiful senery, wonderfull people, many great destinations.
But at most caravan parks had bloody awfull toilet blocks so old they must have been built in the 1950s full of rust and rotting panels with tiles falling off and in one place the cistern was on a 45degreee angle, explaining to my wife she said her's was the same.
Is it that the owners spend all thier money on cabins and really don't care about the van side of the park.
With 20,000 vans being built each year one would think there's enough business for us.
All these star ratings mean nothing, except pools, playground and cabins, when all we caravaners want is, No 1 clean and comfortable modern toilet blocks.
What do others think and who can we complain to.
Danman

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:10

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:10
Hmmm there's a one in five chance of getting a toilet thread up tonite..........

Always look on the positive side....Did you manage to do what you went there for?

Yes? Then it was a good result! Move on to the next van park
AnswerID: 240637

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:50

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:50
Hope they had paper and not just gum leaves
FollowupID: 501575

Reply By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:13

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:13
Better pick a better style of caravan park or ask to check out the toilet blocks before paying your monies, Big 4 offer money back within the first hour if you are not happy
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

AnswerID: 240640

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:14

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:14
4 weeks ago I crossed the country from QLD to WA around the south coast
6000km all together ... spent all nights at caravan parks and have not has a single bad experience .. they close a bit early sometimes and the Hahndorf one was a bit older (the owner said that before they took your money and you had a chance to look - but was still ok) ... some were a bit older but not like you describe and all pretty clean .. well you should go camping in France .. then you will know what rubbisg camp grounds are like ... and dirty toilets ...
have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 240641

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:58

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:58
Couldn't agree more about dirty toilets in France. One on the banks of the Seine not far from the tower was`the worst caravan park I have ever stopped at any where in the world.
FollowupID: 501580

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:08

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:08
yep they are pigs as far as camping toilets go ...
will be over again next year with the motorbike, thats one thing I am NOT looking forward to ... actually interesting enough it varies a bit depending where you are in France ... I found the center (the mountains) a bit cleaner .. bad is it really in the cities and along the atlantic south coast. The northern coast was a bit better whenever I was there ... I spent quite a bit of time all over France .. well the wine is cheaper than water so you flush with red :))

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 501584

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:42

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:42
Yes it does vary, just watch where you tread in Nice, dodging dog poop on the foot paths is an art.
FollowupID: 501589

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 23:29

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 23:29
We 'bush camped' in Europe as often as we could (that was many years ago), but couldn't avoid CPs to see cities like Paris. What an experience!

FollowupID: 501598

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:19

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:19
Dare I say you must have been unlucky if that was the standard you found at most van parks on your trip. On all our recent stays we've found it to the contry, in fact at the Beechworth caravan park you could almost eat off the toilet floors. Feel free to dob in the offending parks Dan if their facilities are below what they advertise.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 240643

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:46

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:46
Your only in the bog for one thing.. Your not camping in the throne room...

the reason they are in hideous condition is to assist you in speeding up what needs to be done :)~

Shower blocks is a different story.
AnswerID: 240648

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:56

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:56
Part of the reason is uncouthed people like me go into the scrub for a week or so then use the Caravan Parks just for one night for washing clothes etc, of course whilst there I tend to use the bogger, usuall blowing a couple of louvers out of the windows and occassionaly the doors off LOL
FollowupID: 501578

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:51

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 21:51
Only stayed at two CPs in Victoria. One was Ashley Gardens in Melbourne prior to going to Tassie. Toilets and all facilities clean and very good. The other was at Nhill, and this was an exceptionally good toilet and shower block - one of the best.

Vote with your feet (rather wheels) - inspect before booking in; if the block is unsatisfactory enough to spoil your holiday - tell them so, and move on. I always tell them what i think is good and/or bad about a CP, and that i will give them a good or bad rap on the Internet (CaravanersForum and Badgers), and do so when i get home.

AnswerID: 240650

Reply By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:08

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:08
Just spent over 3 weeks in the North of WA. Spent 5 days in caravan parks. Didn't go near one toilet block as van has full toilet and shower. Discovered a variety of black water outlets though.

I hate even the best caravan park toilet blocks, having been using them for over 50 years and long as I can remember.

The best one had piped music which saved embarrassment when visiting the "stalls"

I have lost count of the number of electrical shocks from shower taps I have received from poorly/ rotten earth systems fitted to the 50's built blocks.

If you talk to the caravan dealers, the major interest for new vans is for those that have full en suites like ours. I now know the reason why.
AnswerID: 240654

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 23:57

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 23:57
It's funny how you say you hate even the best caravan park toilet block.

Yet your signature says Bush Camping - Meet the real Oz

Just my observation.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 501600

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 09:01

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 09:01
No need for exhaust fans in the bush, and the bushflies provide entertainment during the event.
FollowupID: 501630

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:49

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 22:49
It's not only the caravan parks.

Today I had no choice but to use the bog at The Glen Shopping Centre at Glen Waverley.

The toilet stunk to high heaven of urine as soon as the door was opened. It was absolutely disgusting.

Unfortunately I had no time to complain at the office, but I can probably find an email address tomorrow and I'll give them a serve.
AnswerID: 240661

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 08:01

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 08:01
Hi, I work at Centro HO at The Glen, I'll let the Centre Manager know. BTW, The Glen has received numerous awards for its maintenance and service facilities, those blocks get cleaned every hour - unfortunately you can't prevent the punters bleep on the floor! Nevertheless, its unacceptable and I'll have a chat with the Manager and have a look around myself today.
FollowupID: 501619

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 23:32

Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 23:32
I'm pleased to see travellers complaining about sub standard facilities that they often pay through the nose for.
In years gone by I'd be told to pull my head in. If you don't like it go elsewhere etc etc etc.
But really folks, little will change unless you make a noise. And that noise will be much appreciated by those who follow. You don't have to whinge, just tell it like it is.
The cleanest toilet block I've seen in Australia , was at Crystal Falls tourist resort in Cairns. They even had *fresh flowers* in the mens ablutions...and before you start, it wasn't a broken mountain sorta place LOL
AnswerID: 240666

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 09:41

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 09:41
"broken mountain " LOL
FollowupID: 501639

Reply By: Member - Andy Q- Friday, May 18, 2007 at 00:03

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 00:03
G'day Danman,

Yeah! there is some great scenery throughout Victoria and the people aren't so bad either and yes not all of the parks come up to scratch in the amenities department. Recently we travelled from Warburton(Vic) to Maitland, NSW the parks we stayed at were all clean and well maintained especially the ones in Vic, we did not stay on the H/way but the parks in Omeo, Nariel to name but two were well up on my list.
If you want to complain write to the park concerned and also their local council. Tell the parks that you have sent off a letter to the local council this may get some sort of response........now if we all complained wouldn't that be something!!

andy
AnswerID: 240671

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 00:57

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 00:57
I don,t use caravan parks that much ,but I was once told that the best way to judge the standard of a van park is to visit the toilets and I find that is generally a very accurate guide.Also although I am from Perth the parks I have stayed at over the years Iwould say generally there is a better standard over East---only my opinion.Iprefer to be out bush where I can go to the "toilet block" with no complaints.
AnswerID: 240676

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 01:52

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 01:52
I will add my bit by saying that the caravan park at Wave Rock in Hyden (WA) was the worst I have had the misfortune of paying for.

$22.00 a night for an unpowered site and having to camp on gravel/sand, on a slope, with no shade, closest water tap or bin was at least 100 feet away, and the worst toilets I have encountered. In a situation where we ask visitors from other states and other countries to see our wonderful WA, I was embarrassed and extremely disappointed.
AnswerID: 240680

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:04

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:04
hmmm.. planning on staying there! Are there any alternatives?
FollowupID: 501642

Follow Up By: Member - peter C (WA) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 16:28

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 16:28
I think the alternatives are the motel in town or bush camping. However I suspect Muzzgit msut have suffered school hols or similar peak/crowded time. You could be luckier.
FollowupID: 501712

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:17

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:17
We stayed at the Wave Rock Caravan Park at Easter.

They have opened a new toilet block which was spotless and I checked out the old toilet block as well - also spotless, and a large adjoining covered area between the two blocks which had a camp kitchen, tables etc. They even went to the trouble of matching the brick colour by special order.

Although no grass in the park (which is quite impractical in a very low rainfall area), the sand was raked and clean no dust.

Large trees do not grow in that area, although there were appropriate vegetation (all native) in the park, and adjoining, which was consistent with the natural environment considering its proximity to Wave rock.

There are also about 10 new ensuite sites with covered adjoining verandas with pads, water, power points etc. Dont know what these cost. They flew tradesmen in from the east to do this work because of the severe shortage in WA.

The cost was $30 for a powered van site, the service was excellent with the park manager offering to park the van (I didn't think I looked that old), and the proximity of the park to an international tourist destination (50Mtrs) and the interesting museum/store were added attractions.

We payed $30 a night at Point Sampson and 80 Mile Beach CP's last week and the week before so I dont think the $30 night at Wave Rock was excessive compared to other parks offering similar prime locations.

The CP is owned and managed by the local shire. Obviously they have a new council who listen.

Proves that things change, and the latest information on any destination should always be obtained.
FollowupID: 501774

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 09:36

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 09:36
Stayed at Ayr C/P which is council owned and i recon it was the cleanest faciclities and best shower of all I've ever stayed in. I spend at least 2 months a year away for the last 18 years.

Phill
FollowupID: 501845

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 08:06

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 08:06
I'll add one to the list, and not Victorian, West Australian. The public toilets at the Fremantle Town Hall were a disgrace, Tegan refused to go in. Not only did they stink, but the men's toilet had faeces spread on the floor and in the doorway, a young mum who was wanting to change her baby was in a dilema as to what to do, until Tegan pointed out that Myer was nearby and in the words of a 7 year old "they'd be clean mum, let's go there".

Most CP toilet blocks I"ve been in are OK, considering the high use.

Lyn
AnswerID: 240692

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:02

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:02
"until Tegan pointed out that Myer was nearby and in the words of a 7 year old "they'd be clean mum, let's go there".

Crikey, a regular shop a holic, or the power of mass media :))))
At 7 , I couldn't have told you the name of any store, and I certainly wouldn't have known the condition of the loo.
FollowupID: 501641

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:13

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:13
Hi Footie,

she has regular shopping days [girls only] with her aunties, so perhaps it's a bit of both...either way, she was correct.
FollowupID: 501645

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:18

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:18
Hi Lyn, she sounds like a little cutie. And when she grows up and travels o/s, she'll instinctively know to use the Maccas loos on the continent :))
FollowupID: 501648

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:47

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:47
She will indeed...she is a cutie, but a bit of a sore and sorry one, second day back at school, fell off play equipment and broke her wrist, so, since Tues evening, we've been back and forth to drs. etc, and she now has a you beaut fibreglass waterproof cast on her arm....
FollowupID: 501654

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:11

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 12:11
Give her a cuddle, and tell her you know a man who broke his ankle and was so old, that he nearly broke his neck when they gave him crutches. LOL
FollowupID: 501663

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:53

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:53
Maybe you should have stayed holidaying in Wa. You seemed to have had a great time and no problems.
Jenkie

FollowupID: 501794

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:14

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:14
Ah well Robyn, as "Lucy" would say chit happens....though the thought crossed my mind as well :))
FollowupID: 501832

Reply By: HGMonaro - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:05

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:05
Wow, two comments in one thread that all Victorians aren't just unwanted tourists to the north.
AnswerID: 240711

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:15

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 10:15
Stop complaining. We've already made you mob honorary Queenslanders :))
FollowupID: 501646

Reply By: spudseamus - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 11:53

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 11:53
A great caravan park with clean everything is the park at Eldarado --the best ive used
AnswerID: 240733

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:30

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:30
Most unique is at park at Barn Hill Station (TV show with 2 bowling greens a couple of years ago0 which is 130k south of Broome.

Open air toilet and shower block.
Top spot.
Pedro
FollowupID: 501759

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:59

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 21:59
Happened to be there at the time, visiting from Qld. Watched them bowling for a competions at the time which was delayed off and on on each day because of the 7 inches of rain at the time. Made a great trip to the camping area driving through big water crossings and red dirt. We were one of the groups fishing on the beach at the time of the filming.
Jenkie

FollowupID: 501796