Valve fitting

Submitted: Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 15:13
ThreadID: 45754 Views:4212 Replies:11 FollowUps:15
Someone must have one of these. I remember years ago watching Jack Absalom on the idiot box, he used to pump up his rear tyre to about 80PSI and had a air line that he connected to this tyre with a fitting and on the other end he had a normal tyre inflater fitting.

My question is: I am trying to make a similar hose with a air blower on one end to blow away some of the dust from the back of the camper when we stop. I have the hose and the trigger nossle, what I need is the fitting that goes on the inflated tyre, of course this has to also compress the valve so the air will flow out.

Any ideas where I can get one??

Reply By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 15:32

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 15:32
Check the Archives. It was talked about a few weeks ago.
Not hard to make. Try Superchep or Repco for the parts.
I have used my hose from the Bushranger and added (not sure) a female fitting on the other end. The bushranger hose locks onto the tyre stem.
Vince
AnswerID: 241598

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:36

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:36
you can always go to supercheap and buy one of then $8 compressors and use the hose and throw the rest away
AnswerID: 241619

Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:45

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:45
G'day Blaze,
I remember this episode you mentioned although I would be very careful as the pressure in the spare will increase in the outback sun.......Ka BOOM !

Just some thing to keep in the back of your mind.

AnswerID: 241622

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:58

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:58
Not to sure I would be worried about that Grandpa, I am informed that in up to 70deg direct sunlight it would only increase pressure by 25% and that a good tyre (no cracks or perished etc) can be inflated on a normal rim to 200psi without risk.
FollowupID: 502553

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:31

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:31
Not sure I'd go inflating tyres past heir rated maximum (eg 50 psi for BFG A/Ts if I remember). I'd be worried about the ability of the tyre to run on the highway if it has been abused like that.

Surely 50 psi will give you enough blow to clean the back of the CT?

Max
FollowupID: 502608

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:51

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:51
My son left his new soccer ball in the back yard in Broken Hill last year. We were sitting eating lunch when I heard a muffled bang. When I went looking to see what it was I found a flat ball wtih a big hole in the side.

No it had not been all that hard when he left it there and no it was not the middle of summer, probably late Sept or Oct. I accept that a tyre is probably stronger but I would not have believed it would happen even to a soccer ball, I have never seen it that sort of thing happen in Sydney.

FollowupID: 502658

Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:14

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:14
Just something for the guys running cheaper or old tyres as spares to think about mate, A lot of people keep a tyre that is far from acceptable as a spare. If you look back a little you will find a thread or two about spares getting bulges or popping out in the sun. As you have said, a strong tyre will be able to handle it.

Cheers"

AnswerID: 241631

Reply By: Member - Andy C (WA) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:21

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:21
Jack in his 2WD man sigma wagon! That too brings back memories for me!

That's the first time I saw a "bog" bag and Jack with a flat battery - jacking up the back and wrapping a rope around one of the rear wheels and "pull starting" the sigma in fourth!

Mybe that's why I got a manual Navara?

Blaze - the science is good with the spare air - but a cheapy compressor can save you alot of heartache!

Andy
AnswerID: 241633

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:38

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:38
Hi Andy,

I agree with most of what you say but running straight off a compressor doesn't have enough flow. I have a high quality Compressor mounted to the vehicle already
FollowupID: 502650

Follow Up By: Member - Andy C (WA) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:38

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:38
Sorry Blaze - just re-read your original post! "blowing dust out of the camper"! What you (we) need to do is prevent the dust entering to start with - easier said than done!

I have a Navara twin cab - with fibreglass canopy over the weld body ute bit.

After "one" day on a track, the bloody thing gets full of dust and after two weeks, you could imagine!

I have tracked the problem down to the "venting" of the ute sides so any moisture is evaporated reducing the rust factor (well that's my theory). This is well founded by the evidence that when I do a big muddy patch, there is evidence of mud within the back of the ute - where has it come from?! And that's where all of the dust comes in as well!

So - I have seen camper trailer fridge enclosures with scoops (in and out) protected by a normal engine air filter (both sides). That's good when you're doing 100kmph, but when you're doing 10kmph through bull dust - it won't work that well with my Navara or your camper!

So - what we need to do is create an internal air pressure greater than the dust coming in - simple - now how do we do it?

There are "caravan" vent fans that work on 12V - that exhaust air from a smelly caravan. My thought is that if I mount one the other way (ie pushing air in) with an air filter (car type), I would create appropriate pressure to negate the entry of dust from the road etc!

What do you think?

While I have duel batteries that could support this, it could also be augmented by a solar panel.

When I talked to the 12V Shop a year ago, they really didn't understand why I'd want to put an exhaust fan in upside down!

If we can solve this problem - We'll make a million!

Andy
FollowupID: 502668

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:47

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:47
Hi again Andy,

I must have lead you down the wrong path :-) I don't have any of the trouble with dust ingression into the camper just all over it. May be I'm getting soft but on a mid 30deg day when you pull up to setup camp, with persperation on your arms you start to setup and the external dust turns to muck all over you. Even if not sweating I prefer not getting dust all over me when setting up. As I said I'm getting older and SOFT I guess.. LOL
FollowupID: 502673

Follow Up By: Member - Andy C (WA) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:55

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:55
Bugger - and that took me half an hour to type!!
FollowupID: 502687

Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:36

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:36
You could always just buy a valve extension from most tyre or auto shops, the plastic or steel ones can be modified easy enough to be clamped in a peice of hose ? Very cheap and easily obtainable?

Site Link

Just have to remember to wedge the valve plunger in the down position.
AnswerID: 241638

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:48

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:48
Now there's a thought Joe, Sounds like a plan. Tell me if you know. Do these extentions depress the valve that is in the original fitting or do you remove this valve and put just one valve in the extention?

If it depresses the valve its definately the go...

FollowupID: 502656

Follow Up By: Member-Granpa Joe - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:50

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:50
The extensions come with an internal plunger that depresses the valve in the tyre's valve stem. Just tweak/modify the plunger in the extender so that when the thread is just starting to take hold on the valve, it will push the valve fully open when the extension is completely wound on.

Now you just have to work out how to flare the other end of the extension a little so the hose won't fly off (hose clamp should be fine)
FollowupID: 502841

Reply By: Grungle - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 19:55

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 19:55
Have a look at my photo's on my rig page.

Site Link

(Exploroz won't let me open my own photos to link to)

The first one is an inflator for seating beads but to also connect a airhose to for other things. You have to remove the valve and then screw on the adaptor. Inflate and then you have a low restriction air reservoir or can seat beads easily.

Cost me $5 from a guy who visits tyre shops to sell his warez. Very handy item.

AnswerID: 241670

Follow Up By: Grungle - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 19:59

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 19:59
Try this:

!MPG:3!

FollowupID: 502592

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:02

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:02
Supercheap/Repco/Autobarn/Autopro (one or all of) already sell something that you attach to your spare tyre with hose and fittings that will probably do the job. Can't remember the bloody name though :((((
AnswerID: 241722

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:50

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 22:50
Tx Gramps,

I will check with Autopro tomorrow
FollowupID: 502680

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 07:09

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 07:09
Blaze,

While lurking in Supercheap I noticed the whatchamacallit I menyioned the other day. It's called Spare-Air ( around $30 ). It's just a piece of tubing with the required fittings at each end that might just do the job.
FollowupID: 503429

Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 23:27

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 23:27
Dont have a Super Cheap within 200k's but I will give them a call after the weekend, TX for the info.
FollowupID: 503590

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:04

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:04
I see this as a pain in the ass , why not wash it with a bit of water , if you let air out then you have to stuff around putting it back in , or swish it off with a dry rag,
and another thing Jack might have had 80psi ...maybe, check on the firewall before you blow your head off.
I have 2 spares each one has a max of 60psi, thats what I add when going into Dune country and then the compressor will only have to add a small amout to finish the job,
A truck tyre blew when next to a service ute ,the left door was open and the blast of air blew the right side window out, Compressed air can be lethal ,

Doug

AnswerID: 241888

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:50

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:50
Geeeze Doug I'd be pretty worried if I blew my head off with 80 or so PSI in a tyre. Lets look at a couple of examples. Not sure if you have seen anyone using PVC pipe to carry around 100 to 120 psi but I've seen heaps and the average mountain bike tyre is inflated to around 60psi, check out the wall thickness of these tyres and the amount that his held onto the rim bead... If you buy one of the medium sized compressors from Repco/Bunnings etc etc have you seen the light yellow plastic tube that they use for an airline.
FollowupID: 502908

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:31

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:31
Blaze,
Have you considered one of those high volume 12v inflators used for airbeds with a fine nozzle on the end? I haven't tried it, but the flow may actually be greater than you'll get out of a tyre, and it would be a lot less hassle.
AnswerID: 241905

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 22:40

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 22:40
Probably right Phil... Maybe even better just give a dustpan and brush to SWMBO LOL
FollowupID: 502950

Reply By: Old Gold - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:58

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:58
G'Day if you go to your local tyre shop or someone who sells ag supplies you should find what you are looking for. I have a hose made that fits so i can inflate one tyre off another if need be.

Cheer's
AnswerID: 241917