Submitted: Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:41
diesel dave
Hi folks, I live in
Brisbane and I wanna start small and work my way up, I want to do a trip around QLD first to see how we go, I wanted to go up the coast to the top then on our way back go inland but I don't have a clue on where to go, what to see, where to stop etc. so I'm in need of people who have done trips around QLD and seen what it has to offer. I will be travelling with my partner and our 1 yr old and another 4WD. If anyone can help out with ideas, place's to see, where to stop, even if someone has a step by step trip they've done before it could help, I'm 24 yrs old so I'm keen for nearly everything QLD has to offer for age's between 1 - 80. I don't know what else to put down so I'll leave it at that.
I'd like to thank everyone in advance for all the help and info you can give.. if any
Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:55
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:55
Hi Dave,
Important info - when do you want to start, how long have you got and are you towing at camper or van?
Follow Up By: diesel dave - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 11:08
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 11:08
Hi John 'n' Min
I'm not planning on leaving for at least another 6 months, The longest trip I've done is to Fraser Island. I have as long as it take's to this trip, I'll be towing a offroad camper.I own a nissan patrol GU 3ltr turbo diesel.
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:55
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:55
Hi Dave,
I'm sure there's plenty of people on here who can give you some tips. In the meantime, there's plenty of research you can do looking through the three topics at the top; 'treks', 'topics', '
places'. Then check out QLD tourism websites etc.
Reply By: Member - Richo (FNQ) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:59
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 12:59
Hi Dave
In relation to the top (
cape york) do a search of the
forum there has been plenty of great information of late relating to that area.
Google some of the areas you may like to see that will help with some of the attractions available and may help plan your trip.
There is so much to see and do, just get a rough plan and take it as it comes, it works for us.
Richo
Reply By: John R (SA) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 13:44
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 13:44
The
places I usually enjoy the most, are those where I arrive with no expectations. To me, overplanning (depending on where you're going) can diminish the excitement because I have a good idea of what's coming. The exception to this is trips like
Cape York, Canning etc - anything where serious planning is required.
However, if I were in your boots I'd do enough research to find out whether there are any such
places requiring advance planning, also the odd site worth seeing around qld then set off.
If possible, don't be too rigid with time. Have intermediate targets to keep you poking along, but I am not a fan of nominating which town I have to be in each night in case we find something interesting along the way which ends up taking a day or two unscheduled.
Most importantly, enjoy the journey!
Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 14:21
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 14:21
G'day Dave
You "wanna start small and work up" - with a trip to CY and then back inland! Mate that's not exactly small :-) You're jumping in at the deep end. Good on ya. Planning is part of the fun. I actually hope you don't get a step by step off someone else because that would deprive you of some of that fun.
Tourism Qld have heaps of info - get on the site and get a hold of the brochures. Go to the EPA office in the city (160 Ann St) and grab brochures on NPs and state forests.
Check out the vast quatity of info on ExplorOz.
Buy one of the free/cheap campsites books (available here or bookshops).
Good luck and have a safe and enjoyable trip.
BTW - I hope you're allocating a month or two for this - it isn't exactly a short distance.
Cheers from the Moose
Follow Up By: diesel dave - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 11:37
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 11:37
How are ya Moose
I certainly am jumping in the deep end but hey you gotta learn to swim some time.
cheers for replying mate you've given me exactly the info I'm chasing
well probably 3/4.
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 15:04
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 15:04
Mate,
Did a similar trip a couple of years ago.
Brisbane to
Innisfail with a few stops along the way;
Inland across the
Atherton Tabelands out to the Undara Lava tubes;
South to
Hughenden on the Kennedy Development Rd;
West to
Richmond to see the Dinosaur centre;
South to
Winton with side trip to Lark Quarry;
Longreach;
Winton;
Birdsville;
WInton;
Charleville;
Brisbane.
Most roads are sealed and easy to do in any vehicle.
Going up to the top (
Cape York) is a fairly major trip which you should plan to do on it's own.
Can give you a more detailed itinerary if you wish but will need a bit more time than I have at the moment.....
Cheers...
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:38
Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 18:38
Hi Dave,
If you are planning on the cape then may I suggest to allow at least three weeks north of
Cairns to be able to see and enjoy this wonderful part of the country (more if you can).
You can help us to help you if you tell us your accomadation preference (tent/no shower-camper trailer/no shower-caravan with everything ect ect) as some of the spots will not be suitable for large caravans and other spots where you should have most of your own facilities.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:01
Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:01
Hi Dave,
More important info omitted. When do you want to go?
In imminent departure....If you intend to stay in caravan parks best check ahead for vacancies - it is "Mexican Season" Southern states people that book out solid many Queensland CP beginning June through to end of August even end September.
Before I get the flack I am a
Ballina based Mexican.
SKI'er