Submitted: Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 10:34
Hairy
Just a warning to anyone coming up for the Finke Desert race or any other reason....THE COLD IS HERE!!!
Yesterday got to a maximum of about 16deg.m and down to 1deg. over night, and its gunna get colder.
So bring your woolies.
Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 10:48
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 10:48
Wimp! :)
I spent a week in -5C last year in the High Country.
"1 deg C! If we'd 'ad 1 deg C we'd 'ave been in 'eaven!" :)
Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 13:39
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 13:39
-6 at Finke last year!
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 14:03
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 14:03
Coldest I've been in was -22C in the UK in about 1983, had a week of unusually cold weather. Had to change the starter motor on a Ford Escort Estate lying on my back in the snow and working for 10 mins. on and 5 mins off to allow my fingers to get some feeling back into them - damn! but it was cold!
Mike harding
Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 10:52
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 10:52
Morning all
Below freezing here in
Tamworth too. minus 2 last night with a nice little frost to go with it. But ya gotta expect that in winter. Ah it would be nice to be a real
grey nomad at this time of year, pack up and head north for a few months til it warms again. Maybe in a few years LOL
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog My Position Send Message |
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 13:55
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 13:55
Very cold here too. Last night it got down to 19deg here at
Mission Beach. :-))
It is officially winter now of course.
Might have to get a blanket out soon, possibly have to have look look where I put the long trousers away to last August.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 14:03
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 14:03
Bastard! :)
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 16:40
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 16:40
Mongrel, I hope the moths have eaten holes in your blankets and trousers.
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 14:58
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 14:58
Yep got down to 22 last night and days are a balmy 32->35. Might have to invest in a jumper soon. B;oody winter
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 16:41
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 16:41
Another bragging so and so. I hope it snows on you.
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:09
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:09
Nah Des, bragging has nothing to do with it.
Squizzy and I are simply stating the facts.
After all that's what this
forum is all about facts, facts and more facts.
Bragging and half baked opinions just don't enter into it. Hehehehe
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:16
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:16
>After all that's what this
forum is all about facts, facts and more facts.
In my experience the last thing about 70% of the people on this
forum want is "facts" - most of them simply want a "feel good" answer. I suspect we are not in serious disagreement GoneTroppo?
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:25
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:25
Geeeeeee..........I'm surprised to hear you say that.
I don't know about you Mike but I always take everything here as gospel truth:-))))
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:27
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:27
Don't get me started!!!! :)
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 17:06
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 17:06
Hmmmm
we are still using the air con at night up here at
jabiru,,, just joking we stopped using it two nights ago,, it got down to about 22 lol
Regards Bob
Reply By: The Bigfella - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 17:56
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 17:56
Come to
Bathurst in winter. Last year we had a couplke of -10 frosts.
We have a great climate (-10 in winter and 40+ in summer).
I would have our climate any day over living anywhere on the coast.
Coastal weather is either p1ssing down rain, blowing a gale or high humidity.
I will have my frosts and high summer days over that any day.
The Bigfella
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:22
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:22
I'm with you Bigfella. Hate Huimidity but don't mind dry heat.
Vince
Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:41
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:41
You're joking !!!!!!!
On the Central Coast ( straight east from
Bathurst ) we rarely get temps over 35 in summer and in winter it usually gets down to a chilly 10 but sometimes can go as low as 1 brrrrr !!!!!
Humidity ??? Not when you have a sea breeze !!!!!!!
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:22
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:22
It's quite funny when you're living up
Darwin way, if one day it's 36 and the next day it's 34 you really feel the difference and welcome the slightly cool change LOL! And if it hits 19 degrees during the day in the dry season it's bloody freezing!
We've moved from
Townsville to
Cobar, and yep winter is starting to bite, but it's not so bad really,
well not yet anyway, I guess you gradually aclimatise to some degree. The road trip to
Albany in a months time will be - why on earth we decided to do it in the middle of winter!
It's nice living in a hot climate and not having to worry about clothes (
well you know - long clothes) and it's also nice rugging up under the doona & putting on that warm jacket down south.
After 40 degree tepms here in the
Cobar summer, winter is a bit of a welcome & vice versa too I reckon.
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:57
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 18:57
G'Day, Hairy. I usually end up in the Alice about June/July. Can be colder than a freezer at night, there.
Coldest I've ever been in Oz was near
Oodnadatta. We just piled the bedclothes over the kids and sat by a roaring fire until the sun came up...by crikey that was cold.
Coldest I've ever been elsewhere was in Scotland...but thats another story.
I hate the cold, as I feel it easily. But there again, coming from Qld my blood is thinner:))))))
Reply By: kimprado - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:59
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 19:59
Hairy
Quite balmy down here in the Village today. The sun was out, the Daffodil's are blooming, the birds are chirping and the
population is content.
Kim
Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:54
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:54
Gday Kim,
Sounds like a nice day to sit out in the daffodils with a Latte and do your knitting. LOL
Follow Up By: kimprado - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:18
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 19:18
Gidday Hairy
Have a bit of a problem knitting the socks with the two Star Pickets. Bloody things knocked over my Latte and burned the Daffodils!
Kim
Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:32
Saturday, Jun 02, 2007 at 21:32
Its funny how you adjust to the climate where ever you live, I live in
bathurst also and we think its guite balmy if its gets to 16 in winter, I hate it when its gets over 25.
When we go to Tassie they think I am a wimp because I dont wear shorts and tshirt when its about 5 deegrees lol
Cheers pete
Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:57
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:57
Our problem is it was only a couple of weeks ago we were still getting high 30s
Reply By: Bongo (Darwin NT) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 13:28
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 13:28
Gidday Hairy,
This morning it got so cold up here that I had to turn off the ceiling fan at about 5:30am; it got down to 23 degrees. I was in Alice a few weeks ago and just about cooked walking from the Telegraph Station to
Simpsons Gap along the Larapinta Trail. We had to get extra water dropped off at the Geoff Moss
Bridge.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:17
Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:17
Yeh mate the temp. dropped pretty quick.