Hands Free Phone rule change

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 01:42
ThreadID: 46334 Views:2009 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
As a followup to Post 46242 and the debate on the interpretation of Australian Road Rule 300, I mentioned that the rule had been recently amended to allow "hands free" use of mobile phones in a vehicle while driving.

Well wow, the SA Government have actually reacted quickly following a Supreme Court decision whereby a bloke got pinged because he "touched" a button on his phone, sitting in a cradle, to answer a call.

As of midnight Sunday the State rule/interpretation has been brought into line with the National rule amendment, to allow the use of hands free car kits. I believe this also includes the "act" of pressing a button to answer, or complete a call.

An article in today's Advertiser states that clarification was warranted because the original intent was to stop people from holding the phone to their ear, or texting while driving and not to stop the use of mobile phones while driving altogether.
The implications for all people, including tradies, etc. who rely on the use of phones as part of their business, or work practises was the telling factor.

Geez, Mike's government has really impressed me. They have used LOGIC.

Wonder how long it will take the other States to bring their rule in line with the National rule.

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 07:25

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 07:25
Sand Man

"Geez, Mike's government has really impressed me. They have used LOGIC."

That would be a first for Media Mike. Must have been someone else that used it - I can't believe that Mike would use LOGIC.

Tjilpi

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 245057

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 07:39

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 07:39
"Mike's government has really impressed me"
For once?...

wish they'd done that with the trams......

did you hear about the logic in making myponga reservoir dam wall higher so that it can hold more water.......there aint enough rivers or creeks to fill it )the govt has admitted this) but we can top it up with water from the murray they say....duh!!!!
AnswerID: 245062

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:52

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:52
Yeh, that was a real dumb response wasn't it.

Actually, the present Government scares the crap out of me.

FollowupID: 506242

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 08:28

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 08:28
Sand Man,

Are you saying it will be legal to use a mobile phone in a vehicle even if it requires you to touch it to accept or terminate a call?

I really can't see why, if you rely on a mobile phone for your business, you can't stick your hand in your pocket and pay for an in car kit that automatically mutes radio, answers and terminates phone calls. They're only a couple of hundred bucks and won't break the bank, besides being tax deductible etc etc etc.

This is not a complex, hard to resolve issue. The only problem is with tight arses !!!
AnswerID: 245073

Follow Up By: DIO - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 09:05

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 09:05
1. Apparently so

2. Not wrong, be a business related expense anyway - that right tax deductible

3. Simple to resolve. Yeah plenty of them around.

Like many things, now you'll find heaps more drivers using the HAND HELD phones to makes calls. Why becuse the Govt. said we could. These are the same people (the brain dead ones) that we have to share roads with and whilst they are on their phones, just hope to hell that they brake in time at the lights and don't rear end you, or they see the stop sign in time and actually stop, or they don't drive into the side of the train or tram you might happen to be on, or they stop at the pedestrian crossing or school crossing to allow pedestrian to cross safetly or you don't meet them head on out on the highway as they blindly overtake oblivious to all and sundry and so on. These examples are typical of the types of accidents happening regularly on our roads as a direct result of drivers using mobile phones whilst driving. I reckon it's time the Govt. got serious and imposed ZERO tolerance on such offences. 12 demerit points and a substantial fine ($500 or so). Similar action to this was recently taken in a Sth East Asian country (think it might have been Malaysia) as they had a MAJOR problem with driver/phone use related accidents. Overnight the problem was almost completely solved. Says something for decisive action and firm leadership doesn't it.
FollowupID: 506155

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 16:09

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 16:09
Al,

Yes, that is what the clarification is about.

Forgetting the histerics of how people use a mobile phone within a vehicle for the moment, let's consider the "act" of touching a button to answer a call. This "act" is no more distracting than a driver adjusting the volume on their radio, or changing stations, or turning their wipers on.

As far as people forking out for a hands free kit that auto answers, you may be a little unkind to some folks out there. As well as the car kit needing this feature, so does the mobile phone itself. Not all phones have auto answer.

Making a call is something different again. Regardless of how good your phone and car kit is, none of them will allow a hands free call. The best solution available requires the driver to press one button to enable the voice call feature (if it has been set up) then it's all hands free.

The modification to the road rule is to more clearly define the boundaries of mobile phone use within a vehicle, so that the Police and Court officials "get it right".

And, you don't even need a car kit. A blue tooth enabled ear piece is just as good a solution as far as "hands free" use is concerned.

FollowupID: 506248

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 23:23

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 23:23
I wonder what the lawmakers are about. I have seen people in their cars where they just are not concentrating on where they are going and are looking to the others in the car. Tending children and the like.

I must also say, I have been driving on occasions where I have had to answer questions with high intensity answers that talkng on a phone seems lightweight in comparison. The whole area seems mal-driven at times.

They are chasing people with phones but leaving plenty of others because they don't drop into a box quite so easily.
FollowupID: 506337

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 23:39

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 23:39
Sand Man,

Can see your point to a degree but disagree elsewhere. I doubt that there are many phones that "can't" auto answer. Nokia have had it for a loooooooong time. I think your lawmakers have made it rather difficult for the long suffering Constable Plod. Did that driver tap his phone once, or twice, or ...... bugger it, book him and be damned !!!!

JohnR,

I laugh when I see some whacko in his/her newish BMW, Merc, etc etc etc with a mobile phone pressed to their ear. Bugger, looks like the family fortune would'nt stretch to getting an incar kit (or bluetooth for that matter).

I ignore the phone completely while I'm driving so it would'nt worry me if they quadrupled the fines and shot offenders at dawn hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 506338

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 09:24

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 09:24
no logic with vic premier" mirror"
AnswerID: 245080

Reply By: howie - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 19:25

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 19:25
i still think that the major problem is not that people have only got one hand on the wheel, but that the driver can be distracted by engaging in a chat/discussion on the phone, whether it be handsfree or stuck to his earhole.
i see erratic driving every day from people who are obviously on a handsfree call (unless they like talking to themselves).
they were having a blitz in perth last week and got 1 per minute with phones on their earholes.
AnswerID: 245210

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 20:00

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 20:00
And the difference of someone singing alone to a song on the radio is what? I don't agree with people holding a mobile or driving with one hand on the wheel, but to push a button and to speak and then drive with both hand on the wheel ... to me is no issue.

FollowupID: 506295

Follow Up By: howie - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 23:44

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 23:44
the difference is huge.
if you don't know what i mean,or are too naive to have noticed, most people who are on the mobile while driving seem to have part of their limited concentration focused on their phone call and not the road, whether handsfree or not.
any form of distraction is detrimental to good driving.
don't try and kid me you have not experienced this yourself.
it is more prevalant in cities.
sing as much as you want.
there are some things that do not detract(read-does not take many brain cells) much from driving well (eg eating).seems to take up very few cells.
the stats recognize that having 2 young-uns in a car chatting away is a recipe for disaster, and some states want to ban multiple young occupants in cars at night.
there are a few instances where i will answer a call (handsfree of course) from a friend who wants to know what time you will be at the pub. easy answer
but i will not engage in a discussion with eg the bank manager about a mortgage proposal whilst driving.
the human brain cannot handle such things.
as well as some of the other gadgets people fiddle with whilst driving, i find myself perpetually watching for other drivers making odd movements and decisions.
what happened to the old days when all you had was a AM radio to fiddle with.

FollowupID: 506339

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 06:57

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 06:57
Your response is not worth a response.

FollowupID: 506347

Follow Up By: howie - Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:38

Thursday, Jun 07, 2007 at 22:38
scared of entering a debate?
facts too much?
wasn't having a personal go at you brian but its getting scary out there on the road.
FollowupID: 506543

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:59

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 08:59
Not at all ............. Scared to debate don't flatter yourself. I simple don't have the time to waste where in the end we will agree to disagree.

Rather put my energy into getting ready to go on my trip.

FollowupID: 506611