Interchangeable tires for big trip....

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:02
ThreadID: 46346 Views:4509 Replies:8 FollowUps:13
May be a stupid question but gonna ask it anyway. Currently got Cooper A/T's on the 4wd and was going to get A/T's to match the vehicle for the off road Camper Trailer ...Then I was watching a 4wd DVD last night about 4wdriving in Tassie and it dawned on me that my A/T's are probably not the best tires for mud/clay.

My train of thought was A/T's on the vehicle and STT's on the camper trailer with 2 x STT's as spares. This would then allow me to use the A/T's for sand driving etc on the 4wd with the STT's on the CT and then when we hit mud - I can put the STT's on the 4wd and the A/T's on the CTrailer.

Just a thought.......maybe I would be better sticking to one tye to do the lot...what would those in the know recommend ???

P.S - This is not meant to be a debate about which BRAND of tires are best, merely the types of tires ie All Terrain vs Mud Terrain etc

Hooroo

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:47

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:47
Well Portley,

It may be stupid but I have been thinking about it for some time.

While I was living in Broken Hill it didn't seem to make sense because I was doing plenty of driving in conditions that needed the agressive tread pattern. Now I am in Sydney and a mud tire on Canterbury Road seems to be not quite ideal.

I am seriously thinking of putting some AT's on the car at the next tyre change for similar reasons to those you express.

One of the arguments against it while living in the Hill was that with 8 matched wheels and tyres I did not have to worry about swapping them back if I did change one on a trip but that seems less important now.

AnswerID: 245120

Follow Up By: Anthony - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:05

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:05
I will be fitting STT tyres to the 4wd later this year before our trip (Nov’07) and am thinking of fitting the same to the camper trailer.

While I live in the suburbs of Melbourne, I think the Cooper STT will be ok for around town driving, as I believe the silica tyre compound (I am told) provides good grip on wet tar.

I’m thinking that I should buy 8 STT tyres (and rims) instead of 6, so that the camper tyres are interchangeable with 4wd. The other key benefit, one spare is mounted on the rear door of the 4wd and the other on the rear of the camper. This means I don’t have to lift a tyre and rim onto and off the roof rack.

Cheers Anthony
FollowupID: 506207

Follow Up By: Portley - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:36

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:36
Yep thought the same but the have heard the STT's arent too good on sand. As we are in WA and the majority of our off road driving is sand, the AT's appear a better choice and thats the original reason we got them. Only really think we will be needing the STT's along the east coast and Tassie sometimes. For WA the AT's will be the go.

FollowupID: 506213

Follow Up By: Anthony - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:08

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 14:08
4X4 Australia did an article during 2006 which compared tyre tread patterns (HT, AT, Mud) on different conditions (sand, mud, rock, steep etc) at different pressures. They compared the Cooper ST with STT on sand, which was dry on top but damp below the surface (about 150mm ?).

I was interested to read, that with the damp sand below the surface, the STT's performed quite well on sand. Their thinking was the STT tread pattern cut through the dry surface layer to find good grip in the damp sand.

I don't expect that STT's would do that well on dry sand with on damp layer nearer the surface.
FollowupID: 506222

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:03

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:03
Although I am no longer a Cooper fan, the STT's are very good in all types of sand escpecially if you drop the pressures down to 15psi

I have 5 Coopers to swap for a slab of 30 VB.

FollowupID: 506233

Follow Up By: Anthony - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:55

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:55
Willem, if your STT's were 245/70-17 then you would have a deal.
FollowupID: 506243

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 16:00

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 16:00
Arrrr...sorry.....265/75/16
FollowupID: 506244

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 12:34

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 12:34
I'll take that swap Willem!

FollowupID: 506842

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:53

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:53
I didn't have a trailer, but when I had the Prado I had 2 sets of 4 tyres - one set of muddies and another ATs. Carry the ATs as spares for the muddies and vice versa. As long as they are the same size, theres no major problem.
For the 79series, I'll probably get a set of 4 MTRs later this year to go with the 4 Silent Armours once they are wearing down.
AnswerID: 245122

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:59

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 12:59
Makes some sense Portley, but I probably wouldn't go that way
because STT will wear fast and slide more easily on trailer anyway
and personnaly I'd prefer the car to skid before the Trailer whiplashed
(bitumen) espically if you have ABS.

A set of snow chains will eat the 4 STT's anyway in mud/clay but if I was
buying more of those tyres I'd move towards the ST compromise.

AnswerID: 245124

Follow Up By: Portley - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:41

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:41
Hadnt thought of snow chains but probably a very good option. That way could take all AT's which would be better for Highway and sand and use the chains in the muddy stuff (if needed).

FollowupID: 506215

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:17

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:17
G'day Portley
Do you really think that you will go to the trouble of swapping tyres? I think you would find it to be a huge inconvenience whilst on a trip. How much mud/clay are you expecting? What sort of terrain? Whilst you were watching a Tassie video you don't say where you'll be going.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 245127

Follow Up By: Portley - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:44

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 13:44
Doing the big lap mate over 12 month period so will encounter all types of terrain.

Probably would change the tyres over along the east coat when needed, only have to pull in to a tire joint before we head off to the mud.

Only prob is the 2 tires on camper trailer will be different to the 4wd. Thinking that as long as the 4wd has the 'right' set of tires on, the CT only has to folow behind.

FollowupID: 506216

Reply By: downtools - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:02

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:02
g'day Portley,
A few years ago we took 2 years to do a lap round oz.
At the time, to be honest, I didn't think about tyres that much and may have just been lucky, but this might help.
We drove a 60 series cruiser with all the gear, wifey,and two kids.
Before we left Sydney I fitted the old faithfull with, Bridgestone "Desert Duelers" on new alloy rims with 2 spares.
Even though the tyres were worse than useless in mud it didn't stop us going anywhere. Cape, the gulf, all over the centre, Gibb River Rd etc. We didn;t spare the truck or tyres. 2 years, 75,000 klms, 1 puncture(staked), and replaced 2 tyres(worn out) in Perth.
I know now that these tyres are easily staked, ok in sand, very weak side walls and soft tread and would never buy them again.
My point is a GOOD set of A/T tyres will take you anywhere(almost)with a little care, and most of your driving will be bitumen anyway.
I definately would keep all tyres the same, watch your pressures and have a ball.

Cheers Nifty
AnswerID: 245141

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:05

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 15:05
I run matching rims and tyre size on the Nissan and trailer. If need be I can interchange any wheel between the two.

AnswerID: 245142

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 13:13

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 13:13
Hi Willem,

when we purchased our camper-trailer we did the same as you...we specified the same wheels for the camper as we had on the vehicle. All good. Then it became time to trade the vehicle in on a new one and guess what? The wheel sizes on the new models are all larger...grrrrrrr! Can't put the smaller wheels on the new car because the brake pack won't fit.

So we bit the bullet and purchased a different brand of vehicle anyway. Now if we want to match the camper again it will cost us $3000.00, something I'm not going to do - as much as I'd like to. Nah, once bitten, twice shy. We'll just carry enough spares for each.

Russ.
FollowupID: 506845

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 18:02

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 18:02
Correct me if I am wrong, Russ .......$3000 for 3 tyres and rims?....Ouch!

FollowupID: 506887

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 22:22

Sunday, Jun 10, 2007 at 22:22
G'day again Willem.

The $3000.00 was to do the job properly....New swing-arms on the camper's independent suspension to match the track of the new wheels of the new vehicle, new axles and hubs, new wheels and new tyres.

I figured that unless I did it all 100%, there was no point in doing any of it. That's just me I guess.

Anyway, as it happens, the camper tracks behind the Landy beautifully and I just have to put up with not having the interchangeable spares.

Russ.

FollowupID: 506935

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 09:12

Monday, Jun 11, 2007 at 09:12
Oh OK....hahahahahahaha

Bugger. Yes thats not worth the effort. See what you mean.

FollowupID: 506958

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 17:09

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 17:09
Admittedly I mainly do touring out west and around SE Qld.
(Make that not enough touring lately.)
Not that much real hard track work.

I run 10 rims for 3 axles. Car and C/trailer.
Allows me to take 2 spares on a trip with good tread, and have two rims with low tread I am running down around town.
They are all numbered,and I keep a log book of which ones have been on what axle when, so I can keep track.
All are 16x6 nissan rims (95/96 RV) with 235/85/16 10 ply tyres.
Have one set of mild AT tyres (4 off) for general use and reasonably aggressive ATs (6 off) for touring. Well that was the idea when I set them up over the last few years.
Swap them over when I needed them.

Finding I am not swapping them over as much as I thought.
Tending to keep the agressive tyres on the back, or running out the low tread tyres on the back when around town, and keeping the mild ATs on the front.

Trying to ensure that the tyres don't get much more than 5 years old, maybe 8 at the most.

So reckon if you just run the agressive on the back and the less agressive on the front, and swap over to something more agressive on the front whne you need it, it would be OK. Gives you reasonable breaking and steering on the bitumen that way.
Changing 4 tyres at a time gets a real pain. Besides the cost of setting them up.
Yes, I have a high lift trolley jack at home that lifts one end or the other,but getting them out of the stack, and just doing the change, then restacking them takes time.
AnswerID: 245164

Reply By: S&N - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 21:15

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 21:15
we have stt's on the vehicle and the trailer. i would go same tyre all round, if you get too many flats, you can dump the trailer, use its tyres to get somewhere to have them repaired and then you have the same tyres allround still. it would make the most significant difference if the trailer has elec brakes and you are actually "using" the traction. thats when you will see it bog into sand (thats my opinion, someone correct me if im wrong!)

dont mean to sound like im patronizing you, but make sure the vehicle has the same rim size and stud pattern as the trailer or all of this discussion is academic anyway!!! LOL
AnswerID: 245240