Future Gray Nomad needs Ideas

Submitted: Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 16:57
ThreadID: 46433 Views:4938 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
Hoping that a few of you on here can offer ideas to assist.

We have a van and 4wd and have caught the bug to do the Graynomad thing in a couple years when my SWMBO retires and our finances improve.

Last year I had shingles and cataract operations and was unable to work but I am now fully OK and want to find some paid employment soon. My last job I held for over 12 years was in a specialist IT area down south and the very few openings in this field here are well filled. I have not had recent experience in the art of getting a job so some advice on what worked for you might help me.

I have answered many possible positions on Jobsearch without success. When an employer advertises they seem to have set the skills they are looking for and negotiation is difficult if not impossible. Feedback is minimal. Would blind calling by email or in person help? Who do I ask to see?
My resume is fairly detailed IT – do you think this would put potential employers off if they see it?
Should I be honest about my age – or a little loose and are there any complications in this?

Any suggestions appreciated.- mine arent working to date

email me on graynomad4@gmail.com

Dave.

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:09

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:09
I wonder if David needs a travelling assistant??

Kev

AnswerID: 245649

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:28

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:28
The IT industry is a very strange one at times Dave.

It doesn't seem to matter how slilled you may be in a particular area. If you haven't got that piece of paper that identifies you as a CNE, or an MSCE, or the like, your chances are that much harder.

Kids straight out of their Uni course with that piece of paper, but no experience whatsoever seem to get chosen over the more mature aged, but skilled person.

Good luck anyway Dave, maybe you will come across an Employer with "old style values". Many Employeers still fail to realise that they may only hold on to an employee, until that employee finds another job that pays $1 more and then they are gone, whereas the older person is more settled and happier with his (or her) lot and could provide the Employer with longer term value.
Hopefully, that is changing. This is not restricted to the IT Industry either, but in all areas of employment.

I work in the industry and see this all the time.

The best advise I can give is to contact some of the IT Agencies, rather than "Jobsearch". Once you have gone through the interview stage, the Agency will then have you "on their books" and it will be in their own interest to attempt to place you in suitable employment. Even though this may only be for a contracted period, more work may then follow as both the Agency and potential Employers realise the work skills you bring with you to a job.

Register with as many Agencies as possible and hopefully something will pop up.

Good luck Dave.

AnswerID: 245650

Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:50

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:50
Hey Grey Nomad,

Pat and I are in our 3 year on the road and my last involvement with the 'real world' was in IT.

We work at Mt Dare for part of the year, other pubs and businesses for other parts of the year and are map technicians in between.

Work in a MacDonalds, Subway, Hotel, Motel, Tourist facility in almost anywhere in outback Australia. 2 pre-requisites, 1, approach the business to ask for a job and 2, get over being fussy.

We are having a ball and have never been happier meeting heaps of splendid, interesting people. We have low overheads and needs and no longer have a home.

Try it.

Ian@Mt Dare
AnswerID: 245654

Reply By: Member - John G- Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 18:14

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 18:14
G'day Dave,

I agree with Sandman's approach.

I'd also suggest you buy the current edition of the book "What Colour is my Parachute" and follow the good guidelines in that book to put together a concise CV that you can send out as a 'cold call' and that you can modify for job applications.

An option may be to read the book and absorb its ideas, and then pay a professional to help you put the CV together. People sometimes baulk at this, but for the price of 2 x BF Goodrich AT tyres, you should be able to get a professional end product.

As well as contacting the IT contract people, you could also send the CV to public and private sector employers with big IT areas, then follow it up with a phone call. You don't say what your specific skills are - are there any small firms that might be able to take you on in a self-employed category? If you get work as a sole trader on the occasional contract or casual basis that might be attractive to some companies and it also allows you some freedom to travel.

Are there any contractors in your area that offer IT tuition in the home - e.g. for Grey Nomads who want to take a laptop with them and need to know what wireless means, and how to plug in the USB GPS, and how to find and use hotspots?

You need to be prepared for prepared for plenty of rejections, but perseverance will pay off - you only need one offer to start with.

Concerning age - would you really want to work for someone who was prepared to discriminate against you because of your age?

Best of luck with it all

AnswerID: 245660

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 22:57

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 22:57
Hi Dave

Many employers do discriminate against age, although they'll just say tell you they had a lot of very good applications. Don't put your age, or anything that is going to show your maturity. They generally don't recognise the value of experience and wisdom. When i was working in the employment industry, those i helped with job applications always got the job - i never did which i put down to the age factor.

Best way to get jobs is by word of mouth; after many unsuccessful job applications, my last two jobs were gained because someone heard about me and rang.

Personal approach works much better than any other method. Follow up and show enthusiasm, because employers get so many people asking about employment so they can tick the boxes on their Centrelink forms, and may discount an mailed application, or a once only visit as just this.

Good luck in getting a good job so you can make a mint, retire and go travelling.

AnswerID: 245720