I'm going for a drive

Submitted: Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:32
ThreadID: 46435 Views:2946 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
I think I would have to be the most excited person on the continent today.

I've knocked off work early and have started to pack the ute. It's gonna take me a while.

I'm going bush where I belong - I can smell the spinifex I reckon from here.

I've never been to Newman but I'll hope to be there by Sunday night.
Rudall River then for a recon. I haven't got time to stay to long but should see enough to plan well for another trip in the future.

The complete Talawana Track to Windy Corner passing the CSR, Midway Well and maybe Winnecke Rock if I can find a track in. Also that big Connely crater.

Then I'm going to have another crack at finding Patience Well. This well has tested my patience for long enough. I have additional information I have been holding in secret for a couple of years now - though it still will be needle in a haystack stuff.

Whilst in the area I will go to these coords - 51K 751892 7401628. I spotted a strange white spot there on google earth and I want to know what it is. I have a aerial photo from 1987 and it is on that one as well but is not as easy to find as it is in black and white. So whatever it is, it has been there for more than 20 years. To me it looks like what would be left after a drill rig has been through but who knows???

I havent told anyone until now I am going to the area as I didn't want the "Enemies of Freedom" to formulate a plan to cut me off at the pass.

I will then cut cross country to the very remote Nipper Pinnacle to have a look and also try and claim the nearby confluence which has not been logged yet.

Alfred and Marie Range, very famous, very romantic and I want to go there.

Then across to Mount Cox, Mount Colin and then I will try and find Warri Well. I might add I have aerials for Warri and Patience calibrated into the PDA so I can search via "moving map".

Then to Wiluna via Gary Highway, Gunbarrel Highway and Carnegie Station Road (and a few other minor deviations along the way).

My passenger who has planned this trip with me has pulled out at almost the very last minute due to ill health so I am doing what I have mentioned above alone and solo.

From Wiluna I am picking up a passenger who will keep me company on the long slow road back to Perth. This route to Perth will take in substantial areas of the Goldfields I have never been to including Lake Darlot, Lake Barlee, Pigeon Rocks and Mount Jackson.

This is the plan as it is now.

Wish me luck, and I'll hopefully be able to provide some sort of trip report when I get back.

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:39

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:39
G'day Al

You take care out there!! If you run into trouble let me know and I'll mount a rescue mission...:-))))

AnswerID: 245651

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 19:02

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 19:02
Thanks Willem,

Hopefully I wont have to call you - everythings checked on the checklist except maybe my sanity. :))

FollowupID: 506688

Reply By: Member - John L G - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:42

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 17:42
Have a great trip Equinox and am in Newman at the moment. Weather absolutley superb. Perfect days and cool nights.

If I wasn't chained to the Hospital I would jump in the passenger seat. Rudal you'll love and the Alfred Marie ranges I did about 20 years ago and special country. Did a retrace of Giles journey and makes one respect those guys.

Take care and have fun..

AnswerID: 245652

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 19:05

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 19:05
Hi John,

I'm looking foward to the nice days - and I have lots of blankets for the cold nights.

Your right those explorers did it pretty tough.

FollowupID: 506689

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:17

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:17
Yes have a good one

don't fined too may things LOL

AnswerID: 245699

Reply By: landseka - Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:39

Friday, Jun 08, 2007 at 21:39
So....you will be back by Sunday week then?

lol

Neil
AnswerID: 245706

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 08:18

Saturday, Jun 09, 2007 at 08:18
I am sitting in Sydney. Rain pouring down outside, blowing a gale my camping trip for the weekend has jsut been called off because the others are concerned about the weather, probably justified.

Equinox,

I hate you. :-)

AnswerID: 245731